h1

Follow Thou Me

September 27, 2006

We live in a realm where diverse voices fill the atmosphere and a new doctrine seems to come along almost daily.  Where folks are entangled with the traditions of men as though they were in a stockade.  A world where “religion” causes a man to follow another man and not seek God out of sincerety.  Many today almost seem to boast about a particular “church” or a particular preacher; just like in I Corinthians 3:3-4 which reads:

 “For ye are yet carnal: for wheras there is among you envying and strife, and divisions, are ye not carnal, and walk as men?  For while one saith, I am of Paul; and another, I am of Apollos; are ye not carnal?” 

I’ve been guilty of this at times; being with a particular body of believers and subtly, a feeling of “pride” will sneek in unawares and in your heart you almost take on a feeling of being “more spiritual” than others.  Pride is a deadly poison and must be guarded against fervently.  As you grow in Christ, the danger increases.  I found this out the hard way when I moved from Norfolk VA back to Michigan.  In my heart I really felt that I had grown past the dangers of backsliding.  I found out that I wasn’t as strong as I thought and ended up in a state of rebellion for over thirteen years.  I praise God for bringing me out of it in March of 2004, however, I still have complexities in my life that wouldn’t be there if I had remained obedient. 

We absolutly must follow Jesus completly and not allow pride to take up residence in our heart.  (Remember pride was the original sin.  Lucifer became prideful and wanted to set on a throne above God.  That one sin resulted in all of the pain and heartache that’s in the world today.)  I was reading in John today at the end where Peter sees the disciple who was leaning on Jesus at the supper.  Peter asks Jesus “who betrayed you?  And what will this man do?” (that’s paraphrased)  John 21:22 reads “Jesus saith unto him, If I will that he tarry till I come, what is that to thee?  Follow thou me.”  In other words don’t worry about it.  Follow Jesus first and foremost. 

I was in the navy at the time when the Jim Bakker fiasco came to light and guys were constantly asking me “what about that Jim Bakker guy?”  My almost cookie cutter answer was always “well, first of all, I live for Jesus; not Jim Bakker.  Second, you’re going to stand before God one day and I assure you that Jim Bakker won’t be one of the topics that he discusses with you.”  Men can fail you.  Jesus never fails.  He’s never on vacation and he will save you to the uttermost if you trust him.  Jeremiah 33:3 is a verse that I quote often but it’s so true.  “Call unto me, and I will answer thee, and show thee great and mighty things, which thou knowest not.”  If you set your heart to follow Jesus in sincerety, the Holy Ghost will guide you into all truth and bring all things to your rememberance. 

Leave a Reply

