h1

“Movin on Up”

November 15, 2006

John14:1-4  “Let not your heart be troubled: ye believe in God, believe also in me.  In my Fathers house are many mansions:  if it were not so, I would have told you.  I go to prepare a place for you.  And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and receive you unto myself; that where I am, there ye may be also. And whither I go ye know, and the way ye know.”

John 16:33  “These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace.  In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.”

Romans 8:18  “For I reckon that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared to the glory which shall be revealed in us.”

Before writing this morning, I glanced through some other WordPress blogs in the “recently updated” column.  One was by a republican activist who is very very knowledgable as to the workings of the political realm.  There was, naturally, a right leaning slant as a persons set of beliefs will determine how they present their contentions.  (Matthew 12:34-36)  This individual, is very concerned for the state of things in this country, and seemed to be allowing the results of last Tuesdays elections to cause remorse.  As a former political junkie, I remember such moments.  During my season of rebellion, the republican party became a “pseudo religion” and my contentment was linked to the advancement of conservatism.  I praise God for waking me out of a deep slumber and getting my affections back where they belong; on our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.  This world can never ever bring lasting contentment.  People can let you down, politicians can be “bought” regardless of whether their name is followed by a (D)  an (R) or the occasional (I). There’s so much money involved; so many voices seeking favors, that to have a purely honest system in this realm is impossible.  As a result ,corruption is rampant, as it has been since the beginning of history. 

“All these things will come to pass.”   This phrase has been repeatedly coming back to me for months now, as to get our affections on the world to come and to not obsess about things that will soon “be no more.”  This world can never bring lasting hapiness and if you become overcharged by its institutions, you’ll be on a continuous roller coaster of emotion.  I speak this from experience.  I remember being depressed when the Clintons were in office and I remember being jubilant when the republicans took both houses in 1994.  These events vere both very temporal and if my heart had been right with God at the time, I would have spared myself a lot of grief.  When you follow the political theater as I did for so many years, you run the risk of going nutty.  When you place an over abundance of loyalty to any of mans devices, you set yourself up for a fall. 

I havent been to one in years, but we used to attend Detroit Lions games.  (I still don’t know why)  Usually they would lose and on the way out, everyone would be grumbling about this blown play or that missed tackle.  Gripe, moan,, whine and lament about a game that has absolutly NO SIGNIFICANCE WHATSOEVER in the realm of the everlasting.  Oftentimes while heading back home, we would stop at a rest area or restaurant only to find more whining and complaining by folks who had been to the game.  Folks who, after all of these years, should be accustomed to the Lions getting crushed.  It was silly then and it’s silly now to let such frivilous things get you down.  These things will one day be gone.  The last football game will end, the last vote will be tabulated, the last oath of office will be uttered, the final bribe will change hands, and all the glory of man will come to nought. 

I Peter 1:23-25  “Being born again, not of corruptible seed, but of incorruptible, by the word of God, which liveth and abideth for ever.  For all flesh is as grass, and all the glory of man as the flower of grass.  The grass withereth, and the flower thereof falleth away:  But the word of the Lord endureth for ever.  And this is the word, which by the gospel is preached unto you.”

An inheritance incorruptible.  A world without ending.  An everlasting realm where rust doesn’t corrupt, moths don’t consume, and thieves cannot set foot.  This is a truth that while we know it’s real, we find ourselves unable to “wrap our mind around it”  (a phrase often used by Steve Quayle)   Forever with Jesus Christ who paid for our sins with his own blood.  I find it being repeated often, but if you have your heart fixed on him and on the world to come, nothing in this realm will “get to you.”  Just like Paul and Silas who were in the deepest part of a Philippian jail, and fastened with chains.  They were singing praises to God in the midnight hour with a joyful heart.  That joy would have remained even without the earthquake. 

Isaiah 26:3  “Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace whose mind is stayed on thee: because he trusteth in thee.”

Today is November 15, 2006 AD.   This means that your final moment in this life is one day closer than it was yesterday.  You’re older than you were yesterday and if you see tomorrow, you’ll be older than you are today.  (see; the world can depress you)  The book of II Timothy was written as Pauls physical life was soon to be ended.  He exhorts us to be about the business of the gospel and to not be overcharged with this life.  As mentioned before, it’s impossible to be “so heavenly minded that you’re of no earthly good.”  That statement is as erroneous as a statement can be.  A person whose truly heavenly minded will be about their Fathers business instead of spending too much time blogging. (I needed that; trust me.)  Paul had a testimony that should stir us up to ber about the things that really matter.

II Timothy 4:5-8  “But watch thou in all things, endure afflictions, do the work of an evangelist, make full proof of thy ministry.  For I am now ready to be offered, and the time of my departure is at hand.  I have fought a good fight, I have finished my course, I have kept the faith:  Henceforth there is laid up for me a crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, shall give me at that day:  and not to me only, but unto all them also that love his appearing.”

Whenever I read that, I’m remember all of the times when I haven’t been as diligent as I should and how many souls have not been reached as a result.  The old song “I need Thee Every Hour” is so true of us all.  I praise God for his forgiveness, but we all need to strive more in reaching the lost.  That when this life has run its course, we might have a like testimony as the apostle Paul.  If we are truly keeping our affections on the world to come, being about our Fathers business will be our foremost desire in this life.  Not falling in line with the traditions of men or becoming ritualistic, but doing everything to reach out to a dying world with a pure heart, in all sincerety.  Another passage from II Timothy; one that I write down often.

II Timothy 2:24-26  “And the servant of the Lord must not strive, but be gentle unto all men, apt to teach, patient,  In meekness instructing those that oppose themselves; if God peradventure will give them repentance to the acknowledging of the truth.  And that they may recover themselves out of the snare of the devil, who are taken captive by him at his will.”

I need to close out for now.  Keep looking up.  This world is soon to see troubles like you cannot imagine in your most detailed dreams.  Keep your eyes on Jesus and on those things which are in the realm of the everlasting.  One more very familiar verse.

II Corinthians 4:18  “While we look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen: for the things which are seen are temporal; but the things which are not seen are eternal.”

Leave a Reply

