h1

Close Encounters

November 29, 2006

Genesis 28:16-17  “And Jacob awaked out of his sleep, and he said, Surely the LORD is in this place; and I knew it not.  And he was afraid, and said, How dreadful is this place! this is none other but the house of God, and this is the gate of heaven.”

When a person has a “deeper than average” revlation of God, it’s without a doubt a very humbling experience.  The Holy One of Israel who has no beginning of days and never changes.  Those who are born of the Spirit will have an ever increasing understanding of God and will know his presence at greater levels as they keep their hearts with all diligence; seeking him in spirit and in truth.  But to have an overwhelming revelation of Gods glory will be a life changing experience to be sure.  Afterward, you would be unable to ever look at the world in the same light that you did before. 

Daniel 10:5-8  “Then I lifted up mine eyes, and looked, and behold a certain man clothed with linen, whose loins were girded about with fine gold of Uphaz:  His body also was like the beryl, and his face as the appearance of lightening, and his eyes as lamps of fire, and his arms and his feet like in colour to polished brass, and the voice of his words like the voices of a multitude.  And I Daniel alone saw the vision: for the men that were with me saw not the vision; but a great quaking fell upon them, so that they fled to hide themselves.  Therefore I was left alone, and saw this great vision, and there remained no strength in me: for my comliness was turned in me into corruption, and I retained no strength.”

Of course, your first encounter with the most high was the day that you repented of your sins and asked Jesus into your heart.  On that day, at least in my case, my understanding of biblical concepts was nearly zero.  What I did learn that day; the truth that had me literally sitting on the edge of my seat and listening to every syllable that the preacher said (he was a guy on television by the way.  I know how strange that must sound)  was that I was a sinner in need of a Savior.  Jesus Christ; the Son of God came into the world and went to a cross to pay for that sin.  If I would repent of my sin and if I would ask him into my heart with sincerety, he would save me and write my name in glory.  My conversion was instant and it lasted.  It wasn’t an overly emotional event at the moment; in fact the first thought that popped into my head right afterward was “this won’t last long.  Give it a couple of days and you’ll be back to yourself again.”  That thought, which came from the pits of hell, actually served a purpose.  I remember, at that moment “determining in myself” that I was really serious about this; that I was going to serve the Lord Jesus Christ who died for my sins.  A couple of days later, I told my mom about it and she confirmed that she had noticed something “different” about me during the past two days.  It was real; it was the one moment in my life that stands above all others and if you’re born again, it’s the same for you.  It was later that I was baptized while in San Diego.  It was eleven months later, upon my first visit ever to a pentecostal church, where the Lord baptized me in the Holy Ghost, during prayer, before the service even started.  (It happened FAST!)  After that, I was baptized in the name of Jesus, which is the scripturally accurate way.  As you grow in the Lord and increase in understanding, he becomes more and more present in your life.  But it’s that first step that really stands apart from all of the rest.  The day when you woke up a sinner and went to bed a saint.  (Just ponder the profoundness of that.  If I had died that morning at 9:00 AM, I would be in hell at this moment instead of blogging.) While few have a “Road to Damascus” conversion like Paul had, each of us had the same experience of meeting Jesus for the first time. 

As you search the scriptures, you find men who have an overwhelming revelation of God.  I think of Moses, whom God hid in the clift of a rock and then allowed Moses to view him after he passed by.  (For no man can look upon the face of God and live.)  Forty days, Moses spent in the presence of the Almighty  When he returned to the children of Israel, his skin glowed from being in Gods presence.  We read these accounts often, but few of us really consider what it must actually be like.  When a person comes into the presence of God it’s both breathtaking, and very humbling as you realize just how “not worthy” you really are. 

Isaiah 6:3-5  “And one cried unto another, and said, Holy, holy, holy, is the LORD of hosts: the whole earth is filled with his glory.  And the posts of the door moved at the voice of him that cried, and the house was filled with smoke.  Then said I, Woe is me! for I am undone; because I am a man of unclean lips, and I dwell in the midst of a people of unclean lips: for mine eyes have seen the King, the LORD of hosts.”

It’s a sobering experience to be sure.  Suddenly, any devices of self worth will come to nought as you find yourself in the presence of God.  As you ponder such events, it causes you to realize, all the more, of just how great a salvation we have.  That God became flesh and dwelt among us.  That Jesus was tempted in all points as are we, and was yet without sin.  Think about that.  After being baptized of John, he went into the wilderness and fasted for forty days.  At the end of that time, when his physical body was at its weakest state, the tempter came and attacked what would have seemed to be the most vulnerable point.  He said “Hey, you’re the Son of God.  Just make bread out of these rocks.”  Jesus referred to scripture throughout the temptations and the devil departed.  I’ve often thought on how significant that was.  If the enemy had any chance at all (which he didn’t) it would have been at that point.  Because Jesus was obedient throughout his time on earth, even unto death, he was able to pay for our sins with his own precious blood.  We truly serve an awesome God who would do all of this so that we could be reconciled.  All of us need a greater understanding of just how great our salvation really is.

In the book of Revelation, John saw the end of all things.  He saw the time of Jacobs trouble, he saw Jesus return to earth with the saints, he saw the beast and false prophet cast into the lake of fire, he saw the white throne judgment, he saw the New Jerusalem and he saw the new heaven and the new earth.  I don’t know how many years John lived afterward, but he spent the rest of his days, having seen Jesus in his glorified state, and knowing how things are going to transpire.  He also had the distinction of being the only person ever to know what the seven thunders uttered.  (But he couldn’t tell anyone)   We read of these accounts and yet we struggle to wrap our mind around the significance of them.  Here’s the account of when John saw Jesus.  Just compare it with Daniels vision mentioned previously. 

Revelation 1:12-18  “And I turned to see the voice that spake with me.  And being turned, I saw seven golden candlesticks;  And in the midst of the seven candlesticks one like unto the Son of man, clothed with a garment down to the foot, and girt about the paps with a golden girdle.  His head and his hairs were white like wool, as white as snow; and his eyes were as a flame of fire;  And his feet like unto fine brass, as if they burned in a furnace; and his voice as the sound of many waters.  And he had in his right hand seven stars: and out of his mouth went a sharp two-edged sword: and his countenance was as the sun shineth in his strength.  And when I saw him, I fell at his feet as dead.  And he laid his right hand upon me, saying unto me, Fear not; I am the first and the last:  I am he that liveth and was dead; and, behold, I am alive for evermore, Amen; and have the keys of hell and of death.”

When John saw Jesus, he was speechless; there remained no strength in him.  You and I may never lay eyes on him while in this body of flesh but we will one day stand before him.  This same Jesus who died for our sins will also be our judge.  How zealous we should be concerning the things of God.  How much we should be about our Fathers business as the end of all things truly is at hand.  Your time in the land of the physical passes like a summer breeze.  Here for a moment; its presence felt by those in the vicinity, and then gone.  Never to pass this way again.  And so it is with us.  While we still have breath in us, I pray that we would all give diligence to the things that really matter.

Hebrews 13:8  “Jesus Christ the same yesterday, to-day, and for ever.”

2 comments

  1. Woo hoo! Praise the Lord for His purpose in you, timbob!! You are a very real blessing to me and I understand what you mean about not “being the same”! Please keep me in your prayers as I struggle with some personal issues I am torn what to do with but are hindering my spirt…
    In His Love.


  2. Greetings Odale. You find posts that I had forgotten about. I defiately will keep you in prayer. I too have been wrestling with some things as of late. I praise God that he’s still working on us all and changing us from glory to glory.

    Have a blessed day in Jesus.



Leave a Reply

