h1

Learning Curve

January 13, 2007

II Corinthians 3:17-18  “Now the Lord is that Spirit: and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is liberty.  But we all, with open face beholding as in a glass the glory of the Lord, are changed into the same image from glory to glory, even as by the Spirit of the Lord.”

What a journey!  What a Savior we have, Jesus Christ who has taken each of us from our own theater of iniquity and made us to be partakers of his everlasting kingdom.  It’s simply beyond amazing to think how the invisible God who fills heaven and earth can take the vilest of sinners (all have sinned) and transform them into a new creature.  His mercy endures forever, and his longsuffering toward us is nothing less than astounding. 

I sometimes feel as though I’m never going to grow into the fullness of Christ.  A glance in the mirror and I see a guy who wrestles with the old nature and who often times fails to take advantage of opportunities to share the gospel.  A guy who can at times get caught up in runaway foolishness which, on the surface, seems like harmless “good clean fun” but in reality, leads to more ungodliness.  I see a guy who loves his household dearly and yet fails at times to be the kind of husband and dad that he needs to be.  In times past, these shortcomings would overwhelm me.  Today, I cling to the word of God; knowing that God is doing a work and I just have to let him do his work. 

Hebrews 7:24-25  “But this man, because he continueth forever, hath an unchangeable priesthood.  Wherefore he is able to save them to the uttermost that come to God by him, seeing he ever liveth to make intercession for them.”

This verse transformed me as It finally got deep into my heart.  Saved to the uttermost and I need his uttermost every day.  I’m wandering into the material of a future post here, but without Christ, we really can do nothing.  On the other hand, through Christ we can do all things.  He is our High priest, our strength, our everything.  He is our blessed hope whom we long to be with through all of the eons yet to be. 

As numerous as the shortcomings in my life are, I look back and see a trail of victories that the Lord has wrought in my life.  A minefield of pitfalls that he steered me away from and a gradual transformation of becoming more like him and less like me.  I look back and see a large black hole where I was backslidden for a period of years and I see a moment where he “brought me out” of it in a way that I still cannot really place into words.  Nonetheless I praise him for bringing me out and I have a host of lessons in my file that probably wouldn’t have the same meaning without the season of rebellion.  Today, I’m more aware of pitfalls and know all too well just how much damage a little weight or a little sin can do.  They can be hidden easily (because they’re small) but they can lead to catastrophe.

An so, on this Saturday morning when the house is bustling, kids have to be gotten around, groceries have to be purchased as this doesn’t yet require a chip implant, (not yet but soon) and I have to work on a Saturday to ensure that general Motors has enough prop shafts next week, I just wanted to thank God for being so longsuffering and always ALWAYS being as close as the mention of his name.  A friend that truly sticks closer than a brother and will keep us, through faith, despite our occasional stumblings.  The song “I Need Thee Every Hour” holds true. 

Philippians 1:6  “Being confident of this very thing, that he which hath begun a good work in you will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ:”

Thank you, Lord Jesus, for being our High Priest forever.

2 comments

  1. That he will Timbob, he will keep us for He is Faithful, the Author and Finsher of our faith!

    I am so very thankful for His mercy and His grace; we never arrive, just keep pressing in and pressing on, in His strength, his grace.
    Where would we be without his love?

    May He bless you abundantly!


  2. Thanks for stopping by, TimBob! Have a look at my new kids blog, hopezone. It’s at http://www.missrobin.wordpress.com. Preach on brother!



Leave a Reply

