h1

I Fell Down on my Knees and Cried Holy

January 23, 2007

Such moments can take place at anytime of the day, but most often they take place in the dead of night, as it currently is here.  When everyone’s asleep and I’m out here in Blogylon.  To think continually upon the Lord; his amazing love that he has for us and the great salvation that we have through Jesus Christ who endured such contradiction of sinners against himself.  Moments of reflection which seem to reside beyond the reach of even the most clever phrases.  Moments in which the pure awesomeness of God becomes overwhelming. 

Psalm 63:5-8  “My soul shall be satisfied as with marrow and fatness; and my mouth shall praise thee with joyful lips:  When I remember thee upon my bed, and meditate on thee in the night watches.  Because thou hast been my help, therefore in the shadow of thy wings will I rejoice.  My soul followeth hard after thee: thy right hand upholdeth me.”

Psalm 63 was penned by David as he was in the wilderness of Judah.  A man after Gods own heart; out in the dry and thirsty land in the black of night with a canopy of stars overhead.  Here, he mused about the God who had delivered him from all adversity.  Here he rejoiced in the Ancient of Days; the God who hangeth the earth on nothing.  The Creator of every star that filled the midnight sky.  The One who established the boundaries of the oceans and set the mountains upright.  The God in whose hand is the very breath of life.  The God who so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.  The God who has promised to shorten the days for the elects sake as time nears the end of its reign.  The Creator of all that is, all that ever has been, and all that ever will be throughout the eons to come. 

I touched on it earlier, but I can’t get it off my mind.  The concept of “from everlasting and to everlasting.”  We can comprehend to a small degree the “to everlasting” part as we have been promised everlasting life through faith in Jesus Christ who died for our sins that we could partake of his everlasting kingdom.  But to grasp the concept that God is also “from everlasting” escapes our ability to conceptualize.  God has always been God; the Father of lights, with whom is no variableness, neither shadow of turning.  He simply has no beginning of days; there has never been a time when he wasn’t God or was lesser than he is now.  The more that you think about it the more incredible it becomes.  The more you realize just how awesome he really is, the more that you’ll trust him to meet every need in your life.  Our God truly is wonderful beyond our ability to adequately proclaim.

Revelation 4:11  “Thou art worthy O Lord, to receive glory and honour and power: for thou hast created all things, and for thy pleasure they are and were created.” 

As you meditate upon the Lord, he not only becomes increasingly wonderful, you also find that your desire to be absent from the body and present with the Lord will become ever stronger.  The things of this life that once seemed to bring so much enjoyment gradually lose their appeal as you are changed from glory to glory.  As you long for the moment when this corruptible must put on incorruption and this mortal must put on immortality.  I can’t speak for anyone else, but I think about this moment a lot.  Each day, this world, seems to more resemble some alien landscape; hard, and contentious.  I long for the day when we are no longer a part of this present reality but are gathered around the throne of God forever to be with him. 

I Corinthians 13:12  “For now we see through a glass darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known.”

An expected end.  We have hope in this present state because Jesus is coming.  We have joy unspeakable because we once were lost, but now are found.  Throughout the ageless forever to come, we will be singing a song in which only the redeemed can share in; a song of how God became flesh and dwelt among us.  How while we were yet sinners, lost and undone, Jesus paid for our sins with his own innocent blood.  How he liveth for ever more and has taken the keys of hell and of death.  When this life is over, and we see Jesus face to face, we’ll be in absolute bliss; the likes of which this world cannot even comprehend.  When we look at his nail scarred hands, we’ll think back to the incredible price that he paid, so that we could be there.  When we see him as he truly is, we’ll fall down on our knees and cry Holy. 

Revelation 21:1-5  “And I saw a new heaven and a new earth: for the first heaven and the first earth wee passed away; and there was no more sea.  And I John saw the holy city, new Jerusalem, coming down from God out of heaven, prepared as a bride adorned for her husband.  And I heard a great voice out of heaven saying, Behold, the tabernacle of God is with men, and they shall be his people, and God himself shall be with them, and be their God.  And God shall wipe away all tears from their eyes; and there shall be no more death, neither sorrow, nor crying, neither shall there be any more pain: for the former things are passed away.  And he that sat upon the throne said, Behold, I make all things new.  And he said unto me, Write: for these words are true and faithful.”

12 comments

  1. Timbob, thank you for this wonderful post and a hearty Amen to it as well! I am truly growing to appreciate your heart in and before the Lord. Thank you for your transparency and honesty before us all who read your comments and your posts. You are appreciated and what you have to say is valued. Thank you!

    Blessings in Christ Jesus!


  2. Bro. McAlmond, I appreciate you and so many Blogylonians of like faith that I’ve met out here. This has been a real growing experience and continues to be so. I learn from the many posts from those who love Jesus wholeheartedly. This may sound really weird, but I feel closer to you and others here than folks in church who seem to be “less than excited” about the return of Jesus. This has led to much church hopping in the past. This is going to sound even weirder, but when I get together with the saints, I love to keep the conversation in heaven and on eternal matters. I really don’t care about who’s in the superbowl. (Really; I didn’t know until my daughter Morgan told me last night. I replied “uh.”) Such events were important to me in the past, but now they just cannot match up to eons upon eons in the new Jerusalem on the new earth, in the new heavens, world without end wherein dwells righteousness. Thanks for staying in contact. I’ll strive to do the same.


  3. Praise His Holy Name!

    Wonderful blog. Keep those encouraging words coming!

    P.S. I am new to “Blogylon” but I am so comforted to find Blogylonians out here in this brave new world (for me) that share a great love for Christ. I have added you to my blogroll.

    God Bless!
    Scotti

    http://scotti.wordpress.com


  4. Greetings Scotti. I would make a “beam me up crack, but you’ve heard them all I’m certain. It’s always encouaging to find one who loves the Lord in spirit and in truth as you do. I’ll swing by when I can.


  5. Looks like you’ve rearranged the furniture here a bit. Nice new look.

    Thinking about the eternal God who has always been, puts too much of a strain on my little brain at times. Who created you Lord? He just says “I Am.”

    This one always gets to me:

    Isaiah 6:1-4 “In the year of King Uzziah’s death I saw the Lord sitting on a throne, lofty and exalted, with the train of His robe filling the temple.

    Seraphim stood above Him, each having six wings: with two he covered his face, and with two he covered his feet, and with two he flew.

    And one called out to another and said,
    “Holy, Holy, Holy, is the LORD of hosts,
    The whole earth is full of His glory.”

    And the foundations of the thresholds trembled at the voice of him who called out, while the temple was filling with smoke.”


  6. Thanks for bringing up that piece of scripture. The awesomeness of God is beyond our grasp, but even a glimpse at his glory leaves men in a state of absolute awe. We truly do serve a wonderful and faithful Creator. As a young christian, I used to be overpowered when watching the Ten Commandments and seeing God carve out the tablets. The special effects were very limited in their ability in those days, but it still got to me. Just thinking about God and his mercy.


  7. Timbob, that was absolutely beautiful! So many of my favorite scriptures, put together so perfectly. Yes and amen!

    More and more I feel like a stranger in a strange land, truly caring less and less about this world and it’s affairs. A misfit, even in church which we haven’t been a regular part of in a long time.

    We minister to a lot of people but it seems so transient; I miss having a close knit community of believers.

    It is strange, but what you wrote to Phil… it is true. There is an openess in this blog world; that when you find kindred brethren, you feel like you know them. I find myself praying for you and others whom, though I’ve never met, are feeling like friends in Christ Jesus.
    hmmm…
    who would have thought?

    Bless you!

    Susan


  8. Thanks Timbob for the thoughts.

    Pax.

    Steve.

    http://newpsalms.wordpress.com/


  9. to faithwalk, you said

    “We minister to a lot of people but it seems so transient; I miss having a close knit community of believers.”

    yes, I think the whole world feels this. The bomds that tie us together are slipping away … the individual is becoming the base unit, where before it was ever the family.

    ggw


  10. Thank you Timbob. I appreciate God in your live. I am blessed.


  11. !
    I’ve got an account here.
    I really love the environment here. .
    Is it hard to become a mod on this forum?
    useful recent post


  12. Hello cunciasertice. Thanks for stopping by. The fellowship with so many saints is incredible. It’s interesting that this particular post was written over three and a half years ago. Many of the comments here are from folks who are no longer active in this venue. But we shall all be reunited in the presence of our Savior, the Lord Jesus, when our testimony is complete. Thanks again for taking time to comment.

    Blessings always in Jesus name



Leave a Reply

