h1

I Need Thee Every Hour

January 26, 2007

John 15:5  “I am the vine, ye are the branches:  he that abideth in me, and I in him, the same bringeth forth much fruit: for without me ye can do nothing.”

One thing that I have been striving to do as of late, is to acknowledge the presence of the Lord on a continual basis as he is always at hand and never watching from afar off.  As a result, I seek every opportunity to get into prayer and strive to keep my thoughts in heavenly places.  Even at work, the monotonosity (don’t say that too quickly) of the tasks provide one plenty of time for prayer and meditation upon the Lord.  This is not to imply that I simply forget the earthly tasks at hand.  on the contrary, having your focus upon the Lord Jesus causes you to tend to your earthly tasks better; working as unto the Lord and desiring to maintain a good testimony for those all around who are watching and listening. 

I would like to say that thus far it’s been a success, but in truth, it’s a struggle at times.  The necessities of this life, obligations, daily happenings, and the company of folks who just don’t share in your love for the Lord Jesus all work against this desire for continual fellowship.  At work, if someone near you has a huge radio ( the ones with wheels on them) and they decide to blast it at the highest volume setting, it can be a hinderance.  What really amazes me is that these folks will crank their radio up to the top volume setting and then want to carry on a conversation with you.  I’m sorry.  I didn’t mean to go down that rabbit trail.  Nonetheless, distractions are at every corner and its as though you can sense that in the spiritual realm, Satans minions are pulling out all of the stops in an attempt to sever your lifeline to the throne room.   

Lately I’ve been thinking about something and tonight seems a good time to share it as today has seen a few missteps on my part in a number of venues.   As the verse in the beginning states, without Christ we can do nothing.  I can always tell when my prayer life has begun to wain as I become irritated at little things. (such as being cut off in traffic by a person who’se engaged in a heated discussion over a cell phone)  Its like a gauge that lets me know when I need to find a place alone with the Lord.  If we aren’t abiding in him continually, such things will slip out and they will be noticed by those who are watching and listening.  With the lateness of the hour and the numbers of folks whom I love dearly still outside of the household of faith, it’s imperative to walk in the Spirit continuously.

I Peter 3:15  “But sanctify the Lord God in your hearts: and be ready always to give answer to every man that asketh you a reason of the hope that is in you with meekness and fear.”

Truly we can do nothing on our own.  If I go out in the power of flesh alone, I stand a very good chance of saying the wrong thing, or doing the wrong thing which will cause scattering instead of gathering.  I’ve been guilty of this and there’s nothing more discouraging than when your testimony takes a hit because you weren’t in the right frame of mind.  It has happened at home as ours is a house divided concerning such things.  I have often said to the Lord “I have no problem if I’m in turmoil because of my witness, but if it’s because I’m in the wrong about something, please show me, so that it can be addressed.”  This household; my wife and our four kids, are precious to me and I’m very concerned about the situation.  The last thing that they need is for me to be out of sorts.  I would request prayer over this situation as I really feel the lateness of the hour.  The passages of scripture where Jesus talks about a house being divided; the parents against the children and such, loom very large in my mind.

Philippians 4:13  “I  can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.”

Just as without Christ we can do nothing, through Christ we can do all things.  Another thing that’s been on my heart as of late is that of spiritual warfare; pulling down strongholds thropugh fervent prayer.  Again, prayer being our lifeline, you can expect the enemy to come against it with everything that he can (or rather what the Lord will allow) in an attempt to hinder things.  Most of the distractions will be things which “have to be done.”  This gives them preeminance because, “you can always pray later.”  Not neccesarily.  There may be something taking place that needs prayer at that very moment; which brings me to another thing that’s been on my heart for about a week.

Philippians 1:3  “I thank my God upon every remembrance of you.”

As he was travelling, every time that Paul thought about the saints in Philippi, he would thank God for them.  I’ve been striving to do this also.  Whenever a name, a situation, a place, anything that comes to mind, I’ve been minded to pray for that person or situation at that moment.  The awesome thing about prayer is that you can pray anywhere.  You can be in Wal-Mart and engage in spiritual warfare.  You can, through Christ, pull down long standing strongholds while mowing the lawn or balancing prop shafts at work.  It’s an asymetrical warfare and it takes place 24/7.     

Philippians 1:6  “Being confident of this very thing, that he which hath begun a good work in you will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ.” 

What a comforting verse.  Without Christ we can do nothing, through Christ we can do all things, and He will continue the good work that he’s started in us.  Jesus truly is able to save us to the uttermost.  And as mentioned earlier, we need his uttermost.  (I know that I do)  I need to close this up for now.  Jesus Christ truly is a wonderful savior and is able to keep us, regardless of how high the waves get.  This is ever so important to remember.   There are some new places in the blogroll as I’ve come into contact with saints from various areas who love the Lord Jesus in spirit and in truth.  Where I live it seems very lonely; even in many of the churches, but when you meet saints who truly love God and upon whom their affections are set, the fellowship is awesome indeed. 

I John 1:7  “But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship one with another, and the blood of Jesus Christ his Son cleanseth us from all sin.”

11 comments

  1. bless you, brother and may you be a good living example for Him in your household! your family will be in my prayers. my cousin’s (whom i blogged about) dad was the only Christian in his family. and then voila 🙂 3 kids and his wife. Nothing is impossible with our God, who makes all things possible.


  2. Great post, timbob!
    His blessings this day.


  3. Be encouraged in that as the Lord was ever so faithful in bringing you to him and his keeping you unto himself, he is and shall be faithful unto your wife and children. The cry of your heart for them is his cry. The desire within your heart for them, is his desire. The longing within your soul, is his longing. Faithful is he who has called, has chosen, you!

    Give him thanks for this, his faithfulness concerning your wife and children and yes, even for yourself. Yes, give him the sacrifice of thanksgiving! Stay open and hungry for the more of him, but know that these things will be challenged. He alone is our refuge and strength, he alone. Yes, offer him your offering of thanksgiving!

    Blessings in Christ Jesus, Timbob, you are in my prayers.


  4. Thank you much for the prayer and encouragement. I really appreciate all of you and will like likewise keep you all in prayer too. Your fellowship and dialogue is held in very high regard.


  5. It felt like some of my thoughts were put in writing..thank you! (For me that is difficult sometimes).

    Much grace to you! (There is an abundant supply thank God!)

    Love,
    DulceDiana


  6. Thank you for your post today, timbob. Here is a prayer I offer to you and to all of us longing for some of our family members to come to the knowledge of the truth:

    Father God, we know You have sovergin control over all things including the salvation of our family. We trust You, Lord, with our precious loved ones. We pray, Lord, that You will send laborers into the lives of our family members that will share the gospel in a special and unique way to soften their hearts and open their ears to the Truth. And help us to be faithful witnesses in every aspect of our lives. We pray this in the precious name of Jesus. Amen.


  7. Came to visit from warfare journals (John)and musings from down under (Carol). . A heartfelt post of faithfulness and hope…blessings to you this day.


  8. Great post — it’s like a daily devotional. 🙂


  9. You have my prayers timbob, for you and your family. The Lord loves them very much; He is mindful of their needs and your concerns for them.
    And He is Faithful timbob, so very, very Faithful.
    I love and appreciate your heart for Jesus and your honesty. He loves it too!
    Your posts are a blessing and encouragement always!

    May you get plenty of rest so that you can keep writing them, we can pray for one another in this need, as I don’t sleep much either.
    May the Lord bless you and keep you,

    Susan


  10. The amount of selfishness exhibited in our fellow human beings is at times overwhelming. It is the scriptures, and the hope of the impending coming of the Lord, that helps me get through it each day. When I’m being tailgated or someone is thoughtlessly risking lives talking on cell phones while driving, etc., I remember that they do not have the same revelation and that my problem is not with them but with what’s behind their actions.

    Ephesians 6:12 “For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.”


  11. You guys are great!!!! 🙂



Leave a Reply

