h1

Needful Interludes

January 27, 2007

Time with the Lord Jesus Christ is more precious than the finest treasures on earth.  The fellowship that we have with the Holy One of israel is awesome beyond anything that the world can offer.  Making time to build up our most holy faith can be very challenging at times as we have an ever increasing list of things that “have to be done.”  The daily “grind” seems to reach into the deepest crevaces of living.

As for our household, we have four kids, Morgan, Megan, Matthew, and Ryan.  Matthew has autism and as a result, has particular needs which must be attended to.  He has a very analytical mind and he’s unbelievably strong.  I praise God that he has a relatively good disposition.  My wife, Kimberly,  (kimbob!  lol. or perhaps kimbobbi?)  works at a daycare while I work in Three Rivers at American Axle on second shift.  The days seem to swirl around nonstop at times as the parade of errands and obligations never ceases.  During the day when I’m home, there’s likewise an endless list of chores that need to be tended to; so much so that by 1:30pm, I’m rushing to get everything done.  Such an environment is very normal these days and it plays havoc with finding quiet time with the Lord Jesus.  There’s a dangerous tendancy to compromise time with the Lord in order to accomplish those things which really aren’t as important as we think. 

This situation has led to much creativity in seeking time for the Lord and time for the hiding of the word of God in my heart.  Ever striving to keep my thoughts on the Lord at all times and taking advantage of any lull in the chaos to spend time with him.  There is one such time that I can depend on transpiring every working day; that being the 25 minutes that it takes to get to the plant and then back in the evening.   It sems like too little time and yet, it’s during this drive that I have many awesome moments in the Lord.  Over a year ago, a thought came to me concerning this.  If I were driving with my best friend, what would we do?  We would probably be talking nonstop about this and that and how much of this will that take to make this like that.  Well Jesus is a friend that sticketh closer than a brother, and to simply drive along and not acknowledge this is rude at best.

Incidently, it was while driving to work that I asked the Lord to forgive me for wandering so far away from him and to please begin putting things back together again.  He has been ever so faithful and has completely restored me.  It was almost three years ago when my season of rebellion ended and I cannot thank him enough for his bountiful mercy.  Here’s a verse that sums up the quickness of the restoration:

II Chronicles 29:36  “And Hezekiah rejoiced, and all the people, that God had prepared the people: for the thing was done suddenly.”

Our God specializes in doing things suddenly and words cannot express my eternal greatfulness to him.  Leaving the house around 2:30pm, it’s just the Lord Jesus and me.  The radio is never on and my thoughts quickly enter the realm of things eternal.  I’m still paying attention to the road of course.  Sometimes it’s prayer for an individual or a need; sometimes simple meditation.  Oftentimes it’s one of the melodies which reside in my heart.  Many times its humming them, sometimes singing.  Rarely with earthly knowledge.  My heart longing for the day when such fellowship will never again be interrupted by the agents of mundaneosity. 

I continue on; traversing the patchwork of woodlands and fields which, aside from the presence of vehicles and telephone poles, look don’t look much different than they did two hundred years ago.  Above is a clear blue sky which seems a limitless as the one who created all things for his pleasure.  Sweet communion in the presence of the Almighty who inhabits eternity with those who have a humble and contrite spirit.  Soon, the fields begin to give way to sub-divisions as the woods surrender to gas stations and strip malls.  My thoughts turn to the folks at work who don’t know the Savior and prayer is made for them and for a door of utterance.  Sincere prayer for victory over foolish jesting; a problem with which I wrestle daily.  Gods peace, which passes all understanding abiding within; I’m ready to take on whatever resides beyond the doors of AAM.

You reach a place in the Lord where this world seems thoroughly alien.  You become very much “in the world” but not “of the world.”  You long for the day when you shall ever be with the Lord Jesus.  Every saint joining in a heavenly chorus that shall ring throughout the eons.  A person which in life you knew only as the friend of a sister in christ whom you knew only by a screen name; you’ll be able to talk to in person.  A day that will soon drop from the list of unfulfilled prophecy as Jesus Christ returns and gathers his elect from the four corners of the earth. 

We live in a time of incredible deception and computer enhanced realies which look real, but are an illusion.  We all need a vision of the world to come.  I need to be closing this up for now.  Today is Saturday and the return of Jesus Christ has never been closer.  This is kind of an “out of the box” posting as I wasn’t certain as to where it would go.  I’ll close out with the following familiar passage:

Ephesians 2:3-7  Among whom also we all had our conversation in times past in the lusts of our flesh, fulfilling the desires of the flesh and of the mind; and were by nature the children of wrath, even as others.  But God, who is rich in mercy, for his great love wherewith he loved us,  Even when we were dead in sins, hath quickened us together with Christ, (for by grace ye are saved.)  And hath raised us up together, and made us sit together in heavenly places in Christ Jesus:  That in the ages to come he might shew the exceeding riches of his grace in his kindness toward us through Christ Jesus.

6 comments

  1. I loved this post Timbob and as it is so often relate to much of what you shared. Thank you. The day when we lay this earthen vessel down and return home to be forever with our Lord Jesus, what a day that will be!
    Everyone of us will be there together with Him, as one…
    perfect love, perfect harmony, perfect peace…
    no more darkness as all will be perfect Light for all eternity.

    The dullness of the spirit of this age that endeavors to keep us from true intimacy with Christ Jesus will be gone forever as the cares of this life cease.
    Hallelujah!
    It is going to be awesome!
    But even now, thank the Lord for the quiet times with Him, even in the car!
    I have had many of them, it can be a great place to worship and pray, just talking with our very best friend 🙂
    Especially during the season of raising a big family!

    The Lord Bless you and your family timbob, I do enjoy your posts!

    Susan


  2. Make that “as I so often relate… ”
    those pesty typos!


  3. Thanks usan. Your words of encouragement and your testimony are a real blessing. I know that when I visit your site, I’ll be both really blessed and also challenged to grow into a deeper relationship with the Lord Jesus. When you come across folks who are sold out, it inspires you to examine where you are and strive to “launch out into the deep.”
    I will keep your family in prayer as Paul said to the Philippians “upon every remembrance.” This may sound strange, but it’s changing the way that I pray into a method of praying about specific needs as opposed to “blanket phrases” at predetermined intervals. I don’t imagine that I’m making sense but in any case, you are on my heart along with all of the saints in Blogylon and elsewhere. Have a most blessed weekend.


  4. Thank you Timbob, and I as well lift up prayers for you and those the Lord brings to mind, “upon every remembrance”. You make perfect sense to me!

    I’ve had a post brewing on prayer and intercession…

    I only take on the burdens for others in deep intercession that the Lord Jesus makes clear I am to do so, as there is often some backlash from the enemy so to speak, as you pray and fight for Gods will on their behalf.
    Sometimes it puts me in an emotonal whirlwind until I find the balance needed and get the Lords perspective.
    But I will always pray gladly whenever there’s a need and as my heart is stirred and the Spirit leads. And I have been surprised at how often He brings to remembrance you and others here in Blogylon as you call it! 🙂

    Thanks for your continued encouragement, and may the Lord bless your weekend as well!


  5. The word “suddenly” leaped out at me in your post. After many years of whatever mundane thing has been going on in life…”suddenly” everything changes. It reminds me of the second chapter of Acts when Pentecost began.

    “When the day of Pentecost had come, they were all together in one place. And “suddenly” there came from heaven a noise like a violent rushing wind, and it filled the whole house where they were sitting. And there appeared to them tongues as of fire distributing themselves, and they rested on each one of them. And they were all filled with the Holy Spirit and began to speak with other tongues, as the Spirit was giving them utterance. ”

    That’s our God. We toil through life day after day, year after year, and begin do doubt that He is ever-present and interested in us, and then “suddenly”…


  6. I loved this post..I try to do a bit of swimming not just for the exercise; it is a time for me to meditate a great peaceful time for me to converse with God..Also when I drive for long distances I find it both meaningful and peaceful praying about my day ..



Leave a Reply

