h1

Did Not Our Heart Burn Within Us?

February 6, 2007

 Jeremiah 23:28-29  “The prophet that hath a dream, let him tell a dream: and he that hath my word, let him speak my word faithfully.  What is the chaff to the wheat? saith the LORD.  Is not my word like as a fire?  saith the LORD; and like a hammer that breaketh the rock in pieces?

John 5:39  “Search the scriptures; for in them ye think ye have eternal life: and they are they which testify of me.”

Hebrews 4:12  “For the word of God is quick, and powerful, and sharper than any twoedged sword, piercing even to the dividing asunder of soul and spirit, and of the joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart.”

The word of God will never return void.  It holds up despite the best attempts of folks to downplay, search for errors, or declare that it’s no different than any other ancient text.  This attempt to downplay the word of God has gone on since the beginning as it is the means by which God has chosen to maintain a written witness and grant understanding to those who seek him in sincerety.  In Luke 16:28-19-31 we find the parable of the rich man and Lazarus.  It contains one of the many examples as to the authority that God places in his word.  In this example, Abraham tells the rich man in hell, concerning his brothers “If they hear not Moses and the prophets, neither will they be persuaded, though one rose from the dead.” (Luke 16:31) 

That phrase in Luke 16:31 tells an amazing fact.  You have many today that will attempt to neutralize the word of God.  If these same folks were to meet a person who returned from hell; smoke rolling off from them and smelling of sulpher,  they would still not believe it.  (It seems as though this was mentioned in a recent post)  I think that many folks who set out to “examine” the bible, don’t intend to examine it objectively; they desire to highlight supposed inconsistancies to justify their own unbelief.  This is by no means true of all, but I think that it’s a pattern of many.  Those whom I’ve talked to concerning this issue have no desire to know the Lord and so they go about attacking his word or attempting to move the conversation into theaters of irrelevant items.  This is where it’s important for us to “In meekness instruct those that oppose themselves.”  Being ever so compassionate, but standing for the truth in love. Praying that the Lord will grant them understanding and repentance.  (Just as he did for us one day)

Jeremiah 20:9  “Then I said, I will not make mention of him, nor speak any more in his name.  but his word was in mine heart as a burning fire shut up in my bones, and I was weary with forbearing, and I could not stay.”

Jeremiah told often of the carrying away into Babylon at a time when almost all of the prophets were saying peace and safety.  His words were unpopular at best, but they were the words of the Lord.  So often is the comparison of fire made with regards to the word of God.  Fire consumes; it removes that which is combustible.  We know that every mans work is going to be tried with fire.  (I Corinthians 3:13-15)  Everything will be judged according to the word of God.  Without a doubt, God who fills heaven and earth, is able to, and indeed has, preserved his word unto every generation as it is the means by which all will be judged. 

Revelation 19:13  “And he was clothed with a vesture dipped in blood: and his name is called The Word of god.”

Jesus Christ is the Word of God.  He declared that heaven and earth would pass away, but his word will never pass away.  When the grandest galaxies and most awesome sights of the universe are dissolved, the word of God will remain.  Forever established as it is impossible for God to change.  What a comforting thought this is.  Can you imagine waking up one morning and learning that God had somehow changed?  It would be a terrifying thought, but it’s impossible because God is perfect and completely holy.  Any change would result in a state of less than perfect.  As a result, we have a sure foundation, unmovable and steadfast. 

This is a total side note here, but the preceeding paragraph got me to thinking about it.  Many folks ask about extraterrestrials; reptilians, pleiadians, big greys, little greys, and whatnot.  My thinking on this is that God made man in his own image.  These “aliens” are supposed to be far more advanced than us which would place something that doesn’t bear the image of the everlasting God in a place of supremacy over that which is made in the image of the everlasting God.  In this age of increasingly strong delusions, they’re not something to be messed with.  I believe that folks are seeing things, but I’m convinced that these “things” are not being completly honest concerning their identity.  This is just a thought and any input is definately welcomed.

John 1:14  “And the word was made flesh and dwelt among us (and we beheld his glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father,) full of grace and truth.”

I love the story in Luke where Jesus is at the age of twelve and is conversing with the brightest religious scholars of the day in the temple.  Likewise, in Luke 4:20, after he finished reading in the synagogue, all eyes were fastened on him.  In Matthew 7:29 we read that he taught as one having authority and not as one of the scribes.  In John 7:46, the officers declared “Never man spake like this man.”  In John 18:6 when Jesus answered “I am he” the band of men went backwards and fell to the ground.  Nobody could come into contact with him and remain the same as they were before.  Some would believe and some would reject the way of truth.  But for the previous state of a person to continue on was, and is impossible.  Before I became a christian, each time that I rejected the truth, my heart became a little harder.  The Lord used a couple of saints, the aunt and uncle of the girl next door, to bring me out of darkness.  It was their testimony and life that the Lord used to bring me out of darkness back in 1983.  One more verse before I end this. 

Luke 21:31-32  “And their eyes were opened, and they knew him; and he vanished out of their sight.  And they said one to another, Did not our heart burn within us, while he talked with us by the way, and while he opened to us the scriptures?”

 This had to be an incredible event.  Walking all of that time with the Lord Jesus; not realizing who it was, and all the while listening to the scriptures being opened.  The word of God is so powerful.  So treasured by all who love the Lord.  I need to close this post for now.  This morning has been riddled with every kind of distraction that one can imagine, and as a result, this post seems to have come out “choppy.”  (The parts that I’ve rechecked anyways.)  Nonetheless, I’ll post it and if anything is amiss, I trust that I’ll hear about it.  I know that in the days to come, the word of God will be under assault like never before and it’s imperative that we give all diligence to hiding it in out hearts.  When faced with controvercial situations, I don’t hear an audible voice, but usually three, four, or even more scripture verses will instantly come to mind.  I may not even remember where they are located, but I’ll always remember having seen them.  (John 14:26 is so true.)  Truly Gods word is a lamp unto our feet and a light unto our path.

 John 17:17  “Sanctify them through thy truth: thy word is truth.”

3 comments

  1. I know this has nothing really to do with your post but I just quoted Jeremiah in an email I just sent off. It’s sort of like a confirmation. Today I read the portion where God says, “Even if Moses and Samuel were to stand before me, my heart would not go out to this people.” (v. 15:1) —- that was pretty deep.


  2. No matter what kind of ill wind blows through my life, whether an incident or person, I know where to go to get my bearings back: the Word of God. It is a fixed star in my life that keeps me on the straight and narrow path that leads to heaven.


  3. Timbob, good post and important and every now and then we need to say these things just because they are important and need to be said again and again. Thank you for being faithful to always share what the Lord has and is giving you.

    The Luke 24 text you used in your title, is one of my favorite passages. It is so very powerful. Lord open our minds to understand your scriptures, afresh and anew. Thank you Lord Jesus for only in, by and because of you, can we ever, truly see and know the truth of God’s Word.

    Blessings in Christ Jesus!



Leave a Reply

