h1

Don’t Worry; Be Happy

February 13, 2007

 Psalm 37:25  “I have been young, and now am old; yet have I not seen the righteous forsaken, nor his seed begging bread.”

Matthew 6:25-26  “Therefore I say unto you, Take no thought for your life, what ye shall eat, or what ye shall drink; nor yet for for your body, what ye shall put on.  Is not the life more than meet, and the body than rainment.  Behold the fowls of the air: for they sow not, neither do they reap,nor gather into barns; yet your heavenly father feedeth them.  Are ye not much better than they?

Matthew 6:27  “Which of you by taking thought can add one cubit to his stature?

Matthew 6:28-29  And why take ye thought for rainment?  Consider the lillies of the field, how they grow; they toil not, neither do they spin;  And yet I say unto you, That even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these.

This is a very elementary post, but it’s important to be continually mindful of these things.  It’s ever so easy to look at the ambience and think “What will we do? What if the plant closes? What if hyper global warming leads to food shortages?  What if another, more diabolical terrorist attack takes place on our soil?  What will we do when the globalists fully implement their designs?  What if my favorite contestant on “American Idolatry” gets voted out?  (Or whatever means they use of getting rid of those who can’t sing)  A person can worry themselves sick over a host of issues instead of learning to trust the lord Jesus who has promised to be with us always; even unto the end of the world.  It took me years to learn this as I would lie awake at night going through my mental “list of worries.” Thinking about bills, thinking about work slowing down, thinking about the kids futures, thinking about things that could change our lives overnight, but were out of my hands to do anything about.  (This is why I set aside Matthew 6:27)

It’s really a testimony as to just how merciful our Lord really is.  Our time together as a family has seen some turbulance.  A family of six; with our older son having an array of special needs, income never seemed to be sufficient in the earlier years.  We went through a bankruptcy, lost a house and all the while I was afar from the Lord Jesus.  The stress within the family was quite intense at times.  Yet despite my own rebellion, the kids never went without, we never spent the night in the cold, and nothing “really bad” actually happened.  The recipe for total disaster was present, but it never materialized.  This is not to say that the walls won’t come down tomorrow, but when we simply trust the Lord Jesus and determine in our hearts that we will live for him regardless of what takes place in the physical realm, we’ll have peace that makes no sense to the world. 

I’ve told this before, but it coincides with this post.  In the summer of 2004, I was one of the many who were placed on “indefinate layoff.”  Suddenly the chariots of Egypt were looking very unstable.  As a testimony of just how much of a restoration work the Lord did in my heart, it never rattled me too much.  One particular moment of sarchasm, which only I thought was funny, involved a picture that I placed on the computer as a screen saver. I drew an animated picture of the plant; complete with every aspet of the actual building.  On the side of the building I placed the words “Mexican Axle.”  My wife gave me the “how can you joke around about something like that” speech.  The truth is that anything can happen.  AAM does have a plant in Mexico and one day, this one could very well join it. 

The layoff led to the return of some familiar financial strains and for a time it looked as though another house would be going into forclosure.  I remember in prayer telling the Lord “I love you, regardless of what happens; house or no house.”  By the incredible grace of God, he had brought me to a level of contentment which had never been present before; even prior to the season of rebellion.  (I used to worry about everything)  Well, we still occupy the house, the layoff lasted for seven months and now I turn down substantial amounts of overtime so that I can blog.  The truth is that I really am content.  Next February, our union contract expires and there’s a lot of anxiety over how this is going to go.  A good friend of mine is working insane amounts of overtime in preperation for what could be an ugly situation.  Perhaps I should be doing the same.  (Instead of coming home so that I’ll be rested up for blogging.)

It’s kind of a “disconnect” if you will.  We are indeed very much in the world.  We walk the ground, breathe the air, swim in the lakes and eat the critters.  (PETA-People Eating Tasty Animals)  We engage in commerce, go to our places of employment, pay the going rate for heating oil, and render unto Ceaser that which is Ceasers.  These are the things that we do; they are not who we are.  Our joy and peace isn’t dependant upon the physical world.  “Though he slay me; yet will I trust him.”  Even if the bottom falls out tomorrow; the money fails, the middle east erupts into chaos, terrorists strike our soil again (the borders wide open; we have no idea as to “who” is in the country) and the status quo comes crashing down like a house of cards.  We really have nothing to fear if we know Jesus and have a close relationship with him.   

Luke 21:26  “Mens hearts failing them for fear, and for looking after those things which are coming on the earth: for the powers of heaven shall be shaken.”

This verse describes the contitions of earth in the final days.  True saints who know their God have no reason to be fearful of anything that takes place on the earth.  We are washed in the precious blood of Jesus and he has gone to prepare a place for us.  This world cannot get to us unless we allow it to.  I also know that as we abide in Christ, his grace is sufficient for any situation that comes our way. 

Every summer, we put out feeders filled with thistle seed for the finches.  I have noticed that as the summer unfolds, the feeders must be filled up at increasingly shorter intervals.  I have also noticed that the finches never seem to notice when the clear plastic tube holding the seed is practically empty.  They just go about, singing and doing their thing.  The thought that maybe the feeders wont be filled again never seems to cross their minds.  And so it should be with us.  To know that our God can set a table in the wilderness.  When we are at our wits end, he can reveal just how awesome he is and how much he cares for us. 

Well time to close this out. The arm of flesh is just that; flesh.  It cannot deliver in times of intense adrersity.  But God is not bound by the physical world that seems so steadfast to us.  A God who has no beginning, no ending, created the most far-flung galaxies, assembled the atomic structures that make up the physical realm and knows the number of hairs on each of our heads is more than able to meet every need.  Without a doubt, as the song goes, “Our god is an Awesome God”

Psalms 37:3-5  “Trust in the LORD, and do good; so shalt thou dwell in the land, and verily thou shalt be fed.  delight thyself also in the LORD; and he shall give thee the desires of thine heart.  Commit thy way unto the LORD; trust also in him; and he shall bring it to pass.”

I Timothy 6:6-8  “But godliness with contentment is great gain.  For we brought nothing into this world, and it is certain we can carry nothing out.  And having food and rainment let us be therewith content.”

7 comments

  1. Great post, Timbob!
    Very inspiring and timely. Thanks for sharing.
    It meant a lot to me.

    Martin.


  2. Great Reminder and much easier to agree with than all too often be lived out.
    The good news is that our Lord is forever faithful, yes, he is!

    Blessings in Christ Jesus!


  3. I set aside ten minutes a day to worry. If a worrisome thought comes to me at any other time, which it always does, I say “No, you go away until it’s “worrying time.”

    Does it always work? Nah, but it’s still a pretty funny habit to have.


  4. Most excellent post. So true!
    We have also gone through some similar things. Oh the refining fire! But in the end it works according to God’s will and plan, if we let it.
    Praise God brother, for your faithfulness through it all!

    “Trust Him for ever, doubt Him no never”

    Grace to you,
    Richard


  5. Inspiring post as always…


  6. Just what I needed to hear today Timbob. Thank you and may God bless!


  7. Great post, timbob. It is so important that the #1 thing that defines who we are is Jesus Christ. He is our Rock and not the things of this world. I also had to learn this the hard way. The Lord is still teaching me each day to fix my eyes on Him. I remember reading once about the importance of meditating on scripture. The author stated that if we know how to worry than we know how to meditate! Boy, do I know how to worry! That statement has helped me to turn my worry into meditating on God’s Word. When I start to worry, I will try to turn my thoughts toward contemplating a scripture verse instead. Sometimes it works well.

    I always appreciate your encouraging words.

    God Bless!
    Scotti



Leave a Reply

