h1

Far Far Away

February 15, 2007

Daniel 12:3  “And they that be wise shall shine as the firmament; and they that turn many to righteousness as the stars forever.”

Revelation 22:5  “And there shall be no night there; and they need no candle, neither light of the sun; for the Lord God giveth them light: and they shall reign for ever and ever.”

If there’s one challenge that’s quite possibly greater than all of the rest, it’s the challenge of “watching.”  Of staying focused on the race that is before us and the promises that await those who love the Lord Jesus.  For the most part, we know the mechanics.  We know the importance o staying in fervent prayer and staying in the word of God continually.  We know the urgency of the hour and the need to reach all that we can reach with the good news that Jesus died for their sins and that eternal life is a gift; theirs for the asking.  We know that Jesus is soon to return and that every eye shall behold him.  It is our most glorious hope and that for which we daily find ourselves asking “How long O Lord?”  We rejoice with a supernatural “joy unspeakable” when we think about this mortality putting on immortality. Being forever with the Lord Jesus who gave his life for us, rose from the dead three days later, and is returning in an hour when we think not. 

I Thessalonians 4:16-18  “For the lord himself shall descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of the archangel, and with the trump of god: and the dead in Christ shall rise first:  Then we which are alive and remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds, to meet the lord in the air: and so shall we ever be with the Lord.  Wherefore comfort one another with these words.”

The most comforting portion of the above passage is “so shall we ever be with the Lord.”  From that moment on, there will never be another moment when we will be somewhere other than where theLlord Jesus is.  Never again to have our sweet fellowship during prayer interrupted by the affairs of this life.  No more asking the question “How long o Lord?”  No more tears, no more heartache, no more being pressed beyond measure, no more infirmities, no more disappointments handed to us by the agents of this life, no more lonely nights, and no more traumatic days. 

These things are spoken so often that we run the danger of becoming “dull of hearing” concerning them.  If we’re not careful, they can become mere words as time moves increasingly faster and we must continuously put more effort into keeping up with it.  Moments  to “be still and know that he is God” are too often consumed by matters which are, in many instances, frivilous, or having no bearing on those things which really count.   Or many times, important matters, requiring our immediate attention will call out to us when we really need some time alone with God.  If we’re not careful we can lose the vision; become overcharged by the affairs of this life or become “mechanical” in our faith, much like the Ephesians of Revelation 2:1-6.   These are very real dangers and they’re one reason, I think as to why I continuously talk about the world to come.  That we would all keep a proper perspective on things.

Far far away.  These are the words often used to tell of a land in the realm of fiction where the most fantastic events can take place.  It serves to transport one from the here and now into another “dimention” so to speak.  In the world of make believe, it serves to entertain; to cause one to set aside, for a span of time, their earthly cares.  We indeed have a kingdom, however, this kingdom is very real.  It abides far far away from this world of shifting sands and hollow promises.  A place residing just beyond time and space that’s so incredible, it escapes the grasp of earthly sentances.   A heavenly realm where a great cloud of witnesses who have passed this way before us, await our arrival.  A land where we will never again be separated from our Lord, Jesus Christ, who paid for our sins with his own blood.  Nor will we ever again be separated from each other.

This post contains both familiar verses and familiar sounding paragraphs.  Nothing new; only an encouragement to stay with the journey and to not faint.  Truly, now is our salvation nearer than we first believed.  I pray that our vision of the world to come would be so clear, that it causes us to not only earnestly desire to be present with the Lord but to be busy with the tasks at hand; that of being ambassadors for Christ. 

II Timothy 4:5-8  “But watch thou in all things, endure afflictions, do the work of an evangelist, make full proof of thy ministry.  For i am now ready to be offered, and the time of my departure is at hand.  I have fought a good fight, i have finished my course, I have kept the faith:  Henceforth there is laid up for me a crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, shall give me at that day: and not to me only, but unto all them also that love his appearing.’

8 comments

  1. I love to see how the Spirit puts us all on the same page. You sacrifice to blog these wonderful messages, yet for my part, I often sacrifice not to blog so I can focus on a different form of writing. Yet for every Christian who shares by words, we are compelled, and we can’t say what the compelling will be until the Spirit impresses us and the thoughts are actually expressed. It is the creative work of God ever working in and through us.

    I, too, felt led to share from Daniel in the post I labored over at my site today, because keeping our focus on Him, not what we think we need to do or not do, is as important as you say. Thankfully God knows each of our hearts in a way that nothing in this world can counterfeit in true fulfillment.


  2. Although I do not always comment, I tune into your posts as often as I can. I always find that your words stir my spirit towards greater faith and devotion to the Lord.

    May the grace of the Lord Jesus Christ, and the love of God, and the fellowship of the Holy Spirit continue to be with you always. Amen!

    Scotti


  3. Greetings Cami. Thanks for stopping by. Daniel is such an awesome book. He was another one who saw “the end of the matter” and the end is incredible. I’ve wondered what it would be like to see glory and then have to remain here afterward. Like John seeing the new Jerusalem coming down, the new heavens and the new earth, and then find himself back on the island of Pathos. He even had the distinction of knowing what the seven thunders uttered but he couldn’t tell anyone. I don’t think that I could even function after such a vision. Thanks again for stopping and for your encouraging words. I try to get by your site when I can but my time is limited. I would love to blog all day; although my wife would be wanting to throw me into a snowbank after a while.


  4. Thanks Scotti for stopping by. I likewise visit your site when I can. You have such a gift for putting words together into poetic form. They always glorify the Lord Jesus and draw us closer to him. So much encouragement is found in the blogosphere from so many like-minded saints.


  5. I too, long for his appearing and yearn for the day of our reunion in Christ Jesus, and with those who have gone on before us. I yearn so deeply to be before him, my Lord, in unobstructed praise and worship bearing unto him all. Yes, that I do.

    Keep posting my friend, thou doest it well! 🙂

    Blessings in Christ Jesus!


  6. In order to not fall away into slumber, we need to have each other for edification, exhortation and comfort. We hold each other accountable.

    Tonight at the prison I preached on “the river of life” that’s mentioned in Revelation and Ezekiel 47. That was cool! But the best part was when a former drug kingpin got up and shared on spiritual warfare for 30 minutes. God is good! 😀


  7. timbob, Thanks for stopping by my blog today and for your kind comments. I added you to my blogroll as well.
    I am looking forward to this day, “In the sweet by and by”. What a great time we will have.
    Ronda


  8. Timbob…about how any of us would feel after a vision such as the kind Daniel, Abraham, Moses or John had, well, I’ve come close to understanding…as Oswald Chambers describes the way the disciples felt after seeing Jesus transfigured; He was strange to them then. Sometimes a brief, gifted insight into Who God really is can make you feel as if it might kill you to know!

    But don’t you ever feel badly about not getting around to visit my site on a regular basis; I have to be careful with that, too, to pace myself. That’s cute what you said about your wife throwing you into a snowbank if you blogged all day–being in Michigan as well I can picture this easily! ; )

    God bless you and yours!



Leave a Reply

