h1

Why Bloggest Thou?

February 16, 2007

Colossians 3:17  “And in whatsoever ye do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God and the Father by him.”

I am probably a most unlikely candidate for blogging.  While I have always enjoyed writing, my life is such a neverending parade of events that it takes a deliberate “setting aside” of time to engage in it.  It means turning down more overtime than I normally would and it means that some daily houasehold tasks may not be completed before leaving for work.  With four kids, there is always an assortment of events going on at any given time.  Our older son is autistic and this presents a host of circumstances to attend to.  To further complicate the formula, there are members of my family who are not in the household of faith; a situation that weighs on my heart greatly.  The chorus of “you don’t have time to blog” (joining the list of “you don’t have time to’s”) rings in my ears daily and yet I am certain that partaking in this theater is currently, the will of God.  The day will come when “just like that; the blogging days will be over.”  But for now, it’s a very necessary and “fun” part of my day.

It started almost without warning.  While hearing talk about the blogosphere, the thought of actually engaging in such was never even considered.  Two events which happened almost simultaneously changed this.  First, Mark Gardner, a brother who had been on the same ship as I during our navy days, contacted me.  A missionary who was in Angola, he is currently on furlough, and is scheduled to head for Namibia this spring.  He mentioned that he has a blog site which he posted on at regular intervals.  (It was monthly, but now he hasn’t had time to touch it since last summer.  It’s in the blogroll under “Mark and Kim gardner”)  Less than a week later, there was a news report about the success of “Blogger” and the seed was planted.  On July 22, 2006, I started up a blogger account and began just putting down thoughts; realizing that the chances of anyone actually seeing them were remote at best.  As a result, I wasn’t always careful in how I wrote things, despite attempts to be so.  Trips back are almost scary as I think to myself “did I write that?”  I can edit of course and some weekend when nothing is going on (lol) I might do that. 

This current account was started in September (this too was “done suddenly”) but it was another three months before I actually had contact with anyone out here.  It was almost (in hindsight) a time of preperation.  Today I’ve been blessed to be in touch with many saints from whom I receive encouragment and a necessary nudging to grow into the fulness of Christ.  My only prayer is that I can likewise be encouraging to all that I come into contact with. This may sound strange, but it almost feels like a final preparation stage prior to the onset of some troubed times.  I really feel in my spirit;  that the status quo is about to be altered dramatically.  I know that we stand by faith; not by feelings but this I cannot shake and in the days to come we may realize an entirely new level of “living by faith.”  All the more reason to draw nigh to Jesus as he will never leave us nor forsake us.  What an awesome promise! 

This is drifting into an upcomming post, (sometime)  which involves standing by faith in the face of unparalleled turmoil, so I’ll leave off for now concerning that topic.  In fact, I’m going to have to close out for this morning as the kids are home today and the whirlwind continues unabated.  (Not to mention the birth of baby rabbits)  So I’ll close out for now and leave off with the following passage:

Romans 8:38-39  “For I am persuaded that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come,  Nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

18 comments

  1. Welcome to the blog-versation. I will be sure to check your blog- provided it is updated regularly…lol. Most people don’t get that far.

    In Christ,
    -J. Kaiser


  2. Hi… I found your blog in the WordPress’ tag search. I also got into blogging almost by accident. I had started a few others, one on Blogger, but never kept up beyond a few sparce posts. Since I found wordpress, somehow I am writing a lot, even though like you, I am very busy with a 2 yr old. I am a stay at home mom, by circumstance, and writing keeps me mentally and spiritually engaged with the adult world.

    Like you, I sense that I am meant to be doing this…. that I must do it. I do not consider my blog to be a very popular one, but I do well. Like you, I never thought that people would actually be interested in what I write, but people seem to be coming back, so I must be doing something right! It also took me a couple of months to come into contact with other people.


  3. Thanks for stopping by. I usually strive to post daily; unless something comes up. I have to post after work as I just read something that the Lord has used to “wake me up” to some things to put it mildly. That being the seriousness of reaching the lost and standing in the gap for those who are not yet born again. I will visit your site when I can. In fact, i’ll do it now.
    Have a blessed weekend:
    timbob


  4. Thanks Dragonmommie (cool name) for stopping in. I would enjoy having more time to be here blogging away as it does keep you thinking along with causing you to doublecheck what you write. I’m commenting dangerously now because I have to run and it’s coming out fast. I’ll stop by your site when I get a chance.
    Have a blessed weekend:
    timbob


  5. Greetings Timbob!
    Blogging was not something I expected to get into and certainly never expected to become such a part of my life. For years our daughter tried to get me to do it; then our “webmaster” suggested it prior to us heading overseas.
    But I was always too busy to write, even though I have started over a dozen books ( All unfinished ) and the Lord has been very clear this is what I need to be doing, writing.

    My life has gone from working non stop in our business, with six children, being totally involved with church and sports and serving in the community where we lived…
    no exaggeration, we would receive between 40 – 100 calls a day in our home between the business, ministry,and kids…
    now our home is quiet, the phone rings maybe 5-10 times a day, sometimes not even that and I feel like I have stepped into someone else’s life.
    For the first time, I have time. Time to write, time to sit in the presence of the Lord without constant interruptions.
    Jesus is keeping me in constraints, lovingly and it is actually a blessing though very strange.
    This blogging has opened the floodgates of thought and expression and I am thankful for those like yourself who yield to this season and are such blessing to my life through what you share.

    wow, I am really rambling on here. so sorry!

    Every blessing to you timbob,and keep up the good work as you blog for Jesus Christ and the edification of the saints!

    My His life and love continue to flow through you!
    You remain in my prayers.

    Susan

    I laughed when I read the part about you thinking ” did I really write that? ” oh, how I have had the same reaction, sometimes mortified at what I just said in a comment somewhere.


  6. Blog on TimBob. Be faithful to the call. And may God expand your impact.


  7. I was just a reader of blogs at first. Contemplating whether to start one or not. I used to comment regularly at Diana’s blog (‘Called to fish’- in my blogroll) and she encouraged me to start one and now I’m enjoying it.

    Timbob, good that you started blogging. All your posts are interesting and I enjoy reading them.
    God bless you!
    -Martin.


  8. Timbob, we all have our stories and thank you for sharing yours.

    You wrote: “My only prayer is that I can likewise be encouraging to all that I come into contact with.”

    I for one can say, that as far as I am concerned you are just that, encouraging and yes, at times challenging, in a very good way.

    Have a blessed day and enjoy the children while they are home. They all grow up so very fast!

    Blessings in Christ Jesus brother and for yours as well!


  9. you mirror many of our voices. and i always like reading your blog. blessed weekend to you! 🙂


  10. Like you said, everything is temporary, even this blogging thing. I have felt like quitting lately because I feel drawn back to music. I have an entire recording studio in my basement which is going to waste. There are only so many hours in a day and we must choose our priorities.

    I started a web forum for fans of the NFL St. Louis Rams [the link is on my blog]. It will be two years in April. I still don’t know why I did it and had never done anything on the internet before. Now we have over 1,300 members with thousands of visitors each day from all around the country and the world.

    I have met many of these people in person at our yearly get together in St. Louis, and have talked to even more on the phone.

    I started to inject scriptures into the forum and still receive prayer requests through personal messages, emails and phone calls. When people call, invariably they steer the conversation over to the things of God.

    I decided to expand on the message of the Gospel by way of blogging. That’s how it began. God has a sense of humor indeed.


  11. I started blogging Christmas Eve, less than two short months ago. I really didn’t expect anyone to read it and it was more of an outlet for me than anything else. I, too, though am now hooked. It is amazing how easily it is to strike up a conversation…I love it!


  12. I got into blogging from my friend Shirley Buxton. She e-mailed me and invited me to come and visit her blog. I visited her blog and some others for a couple of weeks and decided that I would like to be a blogger too. I’ve always been fond of writing, so this was the perfect outlet for me to write and share my faith in God.


  13. I’d never really heard about Blogging until around July last year..My friend Cami, who I had met earlier that year through a Yahoo support group for parents and children with a rare syndrome and to cut a long story short our friendship clicked..I sent a few of my poems across the oceans by email and She being a writer and a bit of a tinkerer set it up without me knowing…. When I first saw the blog set up I said “WOW’ …And for 20 years, I’d never really shared my poetry only to those who are really close friends…
    At first I was very nervous and couldn’t put my name to them or even accept comment, just wanted to go in slowly… Now I am happy to share them…And Cami, still looks after my blog…I have never considerd myself to be a writer, my words come from the Spirit…


  14. Wow. It seems that in many cases we began doing this suddenly; without a lot of previous thought. It definately is a great way to come to know folks whom we would have never known of before. To lift each other up in prayer and encourage each other daily. I know that eventually we will all go our ways and soon we will all meet in glory. I long for the day when we are forever with the Lord Jesus. Then there will be no more partings as we are all in that holy place forever.


  15. I just wanted to say hello! 🙂


  16. Hello Timbob,
    first of all thank you for your comments on my blog. And I am too came suddenly to the blogging world. I never wrote nothing but looked for an outlet to speak about my walk with the lord, since I have nobody listening in my house about Him. And church and small group just isnt enough for me. So one day this month I just looked around on the web and found blogs and here I am. And loving it! I met lots of people already and hope to meet more. I love the comments and feel I can talk about anything in my stumble and get-back-up walk.
    I love your blog by the way, I wish I could write like some of you guys!
    In Christ
    Andrea


  17. Greetings Andrea. I know exactly what you mean about nobody at home wanting to hear the gospel. I have the same situation; a housefull whom I pray for fervently. I also like your screenname. He’s working on us all; a most comforting thought. Have a blessed day:

    timbob


  18. Hi there, this is the first time someone noticed the name LOL
    Love Andrea



Leave a Reply

