h1

Gold Diggers

February 23, 2007

 Psalm 39:6  “Surely every man walketh in a vain shew: surely they are disquieted in vain: he heapeth up riches, and knoweth not who shall gather them.”

Psalm 52:7  “Lo, this is the man that made not God his strength; but trusted in the abundance of his riches, and strengthened himself in his wickedness.”

Yesterday as I was working around the house, I caught tidbits of a program on the History channel that was telling about the fabled “Lost Dutchman mine.”  This mine, operated by a guy whose name I didn’t catch but I assume that he was Dutch, is believed to be located in Arizonas “Superstition mountains.”  I didn’t hear the first part of the program; only the last as they were telling about the many folks who inevitably spent their entire lives looking for this mine.  It told about how a sense of desperation would begin to set in along with old age as their “one shot at happiness” involved the discovering of this mine.  Their days consumed by that which can never satisfy while the everlasting realm was given no thought.  It’s amazing how the allure of riches will drive men to such extremes.  It’s like in various stories where a group of folks will set out to find treasure.  When they locate it, one of the members of the group will move to take it all for themselves.  They inevitably will turn on each other in this power play over vanity. 

In the Superstition Mountains, acording to the documentary, many of the Dutchman mine seekers would tell “I know where it is.  It’s right up there” or “its right over yonder.”  (That’s why I’m digging here; because I know it’s over there.)  They would proclaim to know where it was located but would “never” go to where they were certain that it was at.  They were fearful of being disappointed.  If they went to where it “definately was” and found out that it “definately wasn’t” they would be completly broken in spirit.  The whole quest took on a life of its own and a philosophy that, while has been reenacted many times throughout history in various venues, is nonetheless a exercise in absurdity. 

This is a side note, but it parallels somewhat the thinking of the miners who would not dig in the place where they were certain their dreams would come true.  I have been guilty of not exrcising that which I believe for fear of disappointment.  A good example is healing.  I know that the Lord heals people supernaturally and yet, in times past, have neglected to ask in faith over such matters for the fear of finding out that I was lacking in faith.  Our older son is autistic and I pray for him much as you can imagine.  This makes the subject a front-burner issue all of the time.  It has been a source of much pondering in the past and is the focus of much prayer now.  I don’t allow it to deter me in any way; I just leave it in Gods hands knowing that he really is in control.  This is a subject worthy of a post in and of itself.  I know that the Lord Jesus can instantly deliver Matthew from this.  I also wonder if a greater work is in progress; one that I may well not even be aware of.  Or if I’m simply making excuses. 

It goes almost without saying that our culture today is obsessed with heaping to themselves treasures for the last days.  I know of folks at work who will put in psychotic amounts of ovetime so that they can fund their quest for material gain.  More of this, more of that, more of those.  Things which can never bring happiness because if they did they wouldn’t constantly need more.  If a person doesn’t know Jesus as Savior and Lord, this is to be expected.  Sifting through the array of atoms; looking for satisfaction, just as we did when we were still without Christ. 

 Ephesians 2:3  “Among whom also we all had our conversation in times past in the lusts of our flesh, fulfilling the desires of the flesh, and of the mind: and were by nature the children of wrath, even as others.”

The eyes are never satisfied.  No matter how much one accumulates in life, there remains a desire to accumulate more.  This quest often leads to folks acting in the most peculiar fashion.  A recent case; one that seems to be enjoying round-the-clock coverage by the media, is the tragic situation concerning Anna Nicole Smith.  An array of players, a host of competing agendas, and at the root of it all, a baby with a net worth of 400 million dollars.  The circus has been escallating daily it seems.  There are some very important facts to this whole story.

( 1 )  Anna Nicole is in eternity.  The one “tragic” fact out of this entire episode is that a soul has departed the realm where decisions can be made. 

( 2 )  This isn’t a 400 million dollar baby.  It is a child with an eternal soul.  I doubt that her best interests are at the heart of any who are seeking her custody.  (I don’t follow this story; only what I glean from bits and pieces of reporting so if my facts aren’t exactly on; this is why.)

( 3 )  Everyone will stand before God and give an account of the things done in this life.  On that day, the 400 million dollars will carry no authority whatsoever.   

The deceitfulness of riches.  The relentless pursuit of “stuff” while matters of the soul are pushed aside.  Jesus came from glory to seek and to save that which was lost.  He paid for the sins of all so that, through faith in him, we could have eternal life.  Yet many fail to consider this as they’re too busy pursuing the things of this temporal world.  It may not necessarily be monitary gain.  It can be anything that causes a person to think to themself, “I don’t have time for thoughts about eternity.”  Yet each of us will spend eternity somewhere and that eternal abode is dependant upon our standing in Christ. 

Well, I need to run to Kalamazoo as I failed to do so yesterday.  I pray that we would all examine our motivations and desires.  Saints are also succeptible to falling into the pursuit of riches and becoming unfruitful in the process.  I pray that we would have our focus totally on the Lord Jesus Christ and be longing for his appearing.  I’ll close with the following passages of scripture:

Isaiah 55:1-2  “Ho, every one that thirsteth, come ye to the waters, and he that hath no money; come ye, buy, and eat; yea, come, buy wine and milk without money and without price.  Wherefore do ye spend money for that which is not bread?  and your labour for that which satisfieth not?  hearken diligently unto me, and eat ye that which is good, and let your soul delight itself in fatness.

Philippians 3:7-8  “But those things which were gain to me, those I counted loss for Christ.  Yea doubtless, and I count all things but loss for the excellency of the knowledge of Christ Jesus my Lord: for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and do count them but dung, that I may win Christ,”

5 comments

  1. “I don’t allow it to deter me in any way; I just leave it in Gods hands knowing that he really is in control.”

    He always is. And when we give him control, let go and let God, he has amazing plans for us.

    -J. Kaiser


  2. timbob, what a great post and thank you for the link!

    We all have so far to grow up into Christ Jesus. This is itself part of the adventure. We will never arrive in this life time, however, we can forever, be growing up and into He who is our very breath, our very life.

    The Lost Dutchman mine. I remember these stories well from when I was growing up and how my imagination would run wild at the prospect of finding that lost mine. Today, it isn’t the lost mines that have captured my heart and attention. No. It is the Lord Jesus. He is that which I pursue, seek and desire to find in ever increasing fullness. He is the wealth of eternity. He is the only true value worth discovering, as I said, in ever increasing fullness.

    To know what it means, in fullness, to have Christ in me the hope of Glory and to discover what it means, to have Christ Jesus revealed, in, to and through me, with ever increasing Glory. Yes! This is that for which I cry out for and so deeply hunger to discover, more and more, the truth and manifesting reality of.

    I off on a tangent. Sorry. Just got to seeing that hope once again. My own lost mine, as it were, except He isn’t lost and he is there to be discovered in ever increasing depth, meaning, power and person.

    Blessings in Christ Jesus!


  3. Thanks for the post. I am pondering similar things as my wife and I both feel the Lord is moving us to a new place, both geographically and spiritually. But as I pray about this and seek God there is a lure to remain here, where I am comfortable lest I step out, dig where I feel God wants me to dig, and I don’t find it there.
    Let us follow Him in faith.


  4. Received yet another letter in the mail this week informing me that I was positively, one-hundred percent assured that I was now a multimillionaire.

    All I had to do was send in $19.99 to confirm that I had received the letter. My son said “Do it Dad!”

    I said “Lord, what about this?” I received the confirmation that these types of schemes play on people’s greed. I know there are scriptures in Proverbs that warn us about riches gained too quickly. But in my heart I wanted it to be true.

    I ran the info through the internet and discovered that there are law suits out against this company. Praise God, that he answers requests for wisdom.


  5. The Lost Dutchman mine is also called the Peralta Mine;. supposedly owned by my husbands relatives way back when. ( though there is some controversy surrounding it ) just a bit of trivia. 🙂

    My parents who were millionaires lost almost everything in the 1980’s when Houstons economy crashed as their holding were all in Texas. They moved down there for almost a year trying to save their biggest hotel ( worth several mil. ) but walked away with virtually nothing.
    Through this though, my dad got saved. He had been backslidden for most of his adult life. Neither of them were ever sorry, for what had been gained was so much greater than what was lost!

    Our eternal treasure found in the Lord Jesus Christ truly is all that really matters. The love we have for Him, His love for us, and the love we have for one another is all that we take with us when we die. Everything else is going to perish.

    Bless you Timbob, for continuing to remind us to keep focused on the things that really matter!

    Susan



Leave a Reply

