h1

Bewilderness

March 8, 2007

This morning I’m trying out a new concept called “the bloglet.”  I try to post almost everyday, something that is relevant and exhortational.  My life is so busy, however, that blogging the way that I would like takes a lot of letting other things go, such as sleep, things around the house that need to be done, and whatnot.  On mornings where there is simply no time to post in the way that has become common, I was thinking that I could bring up a notable verse thats been on my heart lately and comment.  Or I could relay something that was preached on this week which is what I’ll do today.  This will not replace the conventional method but will enable me to keep this site current on days when time simply isn’t available. 

Last Sunday, Pastor Bell preached from Deuteronomy chapter 8 where the wilderness journey taken by the children of Israel was conluding.  Later in the morning, he gave a list of twelve things to remember while going through the wilderness seasons that we all go through.  I find this all the more relevant as we are approaching times in which our faith willbe tried in ways that we may not have been expecting.  The list is a collection of things that we all know to do, and I can’t remember exactly the expounding of each point, so that part I’ll simply comment on.  This will probably be another post where I feel somewhat unqualified to talk about that which is on my heart, but here it goes.

When in the wilderness, remember:

( 1 )  Be obediant.  We should first of all, just do the things that we know to do.  Many of those things are in this list. 

( 2 ) Patience.  This is hard for many of us (either that or I’m simply an oddball) but is an absolute must.  The patience of Job and Joseph comes to mind often.  Not to mention Moses who had to listen to the seemingly endless complaining by the children of Israel.  (40 years of “are we there yet?”) 

( 3 )  Remember that it’s a testing time for you.  God isn’t on vacation or taking a nap.  He really is in control of the situation.  I’m always reminded of a mouse that they place in one of those mazes.  He may feel lost and bewildered, but everything is ok and soon he’ll be back in his place with food and water.

( 4 )  Have faith in God.  This ties in with number three, to be still and know that God is God.  Simply childlike faith, despite the size of the waves.

( 5 )  There’s a brighter day coming.  An “expected end” is promised to those who love the Lord Jesus Christ.  Even if everything in this life goes south, eternity is beyond our wildest imaginations. 

( 6 )  It will make us humble.  We maintain our place before the God who fills heaven and earth.  Isaiah 57:15 is a great verse concerning this. 

( 7 )  It’s only for a season.  This ties in with number five, but it’s important to remember that all seasons have an end to them.  Your life today is probable notably different in a number of ways from how it was eight years ago.  Kids grow up, jobs change, nothing is static in this life.  Likewise seasons of trying also have an expected end.  When I find myself in a trying situation I always strive to remember that “all these things shall pass.”

( 8)  God is with you and will lead you.  Jesus has promised to be with us alwys; even unto the end of the world and will never allow us to “go it alone.” 

( 9 )  Don’t listen to Satan.  He runs his mouth in the best of times and we can be assured that he’ll be running his mouth when things seem to be spinning out of control.  We are to not be ignorant of his devices. 

( 10 )  Trust that God will take care of you.  He really can make place a table in the wilderness.  We know that the heavens and the earth were non-existant until God spoke them into existance.  (The real “big bang”)  He is able to, and will, meet every need if we trust him.

( 11 )  Don’t forget God.  Deuteronomy 8:17-20 comes to mind here as well.  Never forget God who holds in his hand the breath of life.

( 12 )  Pray and study the word of God consistantly, along with fasting.  Things that we all know to do but reminders are always appropriate.  (I need reminders to keep my priorities straight) 

Well, so much for the first bloglet.  I need to tend to some business, but I plan to place scripture references with these points at a later time.  This list struck me as it ties in with much that has been on my heart lately.  Our joy and peace is in the Lord Jesus Christ; not in the temporal things of this life.  The wilderness may seem to stretch out into forever, but the peace of God passes all undestanding and will be with us always.  I’ll close with a familiar passage.

I Peter 1:6-9  “Wherein ye greatly rejoice, though now for a season, if need be, ye are in heaviness through manifold temptations:  That the trial of your faith, being much more precious than of gold that perisheth, though it be tried with fire, might be found unto praise and honour and glory at the appearing of Jesus Christ:  Whom having not seen, ye love; in whom, though now ye see him not, yet believing, ye rejoice with joy unspeakable and full of glory:  Receiving the end of your faith, even the salvation of your souls.”

13 comments

  1. Good post Timbob. The Lord is faithful in every season and these are things we all should know, but need reminding of!

    Your wrote:…”remember that all seasons have an end to them. Your life today is probable notably different in a number of ways from how it was eight years ago”.

    oh yeah…
    my life is so different than it was 14 months ago ( in the midst of being overseas, which was totally different than 6 months before that).
    For a while I had days when I looked around and asked ” Who’s life is this? because it sure doesn’t resemble mine!”
    I am quite certain that within a year it will be completely different again.
    What an adventure when our lives cease to be our own and become fully Christs.
    You just never know what the Lord is going to ask you to do Tim…
    Once you are following hard after God as seeking Him earnsestly as you seem to be; once you say “Here am I Lord Jesus, do with me as you will…
    Be ready for some changes!

    Every Blessing to you in Christ,

    Susan


  2. Thanks Susan for commenting. I just had a thought as I was reading. If we could just get into our hearts what Jesus said about “taking no tought for tomorrow” we would be much more willing to get out of the boat when needed. I fear that for many, (like myself) the Lord will have to tip the boat over to get us moving into the place where we need to be. My feelings are that if he needs to tip the boat over, then please do so, no matter how nutty I may become.
    You also stated a line from one of my favorite Psalms. In Psalm 63 where David writes “My soul followeth hard after thee: thy right hand upholdeth me.” David just loved the Lord and only desired to be ever closer to him. It was his thoughts when he awakened and his meditation when he was in bed on on the night watch. Wow! There’s so many thoughts going through my mind concerning this and I have a lot to get done before going to work. Maybe this is why my life is so hectic. So that when the plant moves to mexico, or whatever causes the chariots of Egypt to fail, it will be like a relief and not a trial. Thanks so much for stopping in. I always appreciate hearing from you along with the many saints who blog. Be blessed in Christ always.


  3. “I will lead the blind by ways they have not known, aong unfamiliar paths I will guide them. I will turn the darkness into light before them and make the rough places smooth. These are the things I will do. I will not forsake them.” -is 42:16-

    Thank you for this post.


  4. It is agreeable about how different you become over time w/ God. I know four months ago I was not the person I am today. It’s a bit crazy how that all works out if you’re following God. Joyce Meyer’s sermon today was about losing everything to gain everything. So many people just do not change and that’s really hard when you have and they are still going around the same ponds.


  5. Ah, yes, feeding a blog, that’s always the thing, eh? Getting the balance is the thing, I think. Sometimes I’ll just add a line or two of comment, or link into something I think is really good. Seems like cheating or something but I don’t think it is really.

    Blessings on you,

    Peter


  6. Timbob, as usual a great post. And to PETER, I dont think it is cheating. We do this blogging mostly for us, dont we? SO I for myself put on what I persoanlly like. And try to share with you all. Sometimes like right now, I found a bunch of videos, so I post viseos and share them with you all. Or I had a bunch of poems I found online, and I love them, so I share them with you and see if you like them all too? (But I got hardly any response to them, so I guess you guys dont like them 🙂 )
    Anyway I dont think this is something we HAVE to do, this is something we ENJOY to do, and ENJOY to share about our life and our thoughts!
    And if we can find in this blogging world people that share our joys, our beliefes, then this is wonderful. I found one person I really like to talk too since I started my blog. And I think that is what it is all about. Right????
    You all have a Blesses Day
    Andrea


  7. Greetings Code. Thanks for stopping by. I saw this earlier but didnt have time to reply. The words “still going around in the same ponds” have been on my mind tonight. I think some folks will get into a “click” if you will and then stay there for years. Or will get comfortable with their life and “stay there for years.” I pray that we would all be restless for more of God each day. Thanks for commenting.


  8. Greetings Peter. We dont talk as often as I would like but I see your comments often. There are so many edifying bloggers out here, each with a destinctive style, but all are a blessing. My life is a constant whirlwind and as such I must find times to shorten posts on those particularly crazy days. Thanks for the input.


  9. Greetings Andrea. Your site is always a blessing as are all that I visit so often. I wish that I had more time to comment on all of them. I think that as long as whatever we do leads to edifying the body of Christ and proclaiming truth, it’s good. It’s great to learn the thoughts of others both in what they write and the links that they share. Thanks for stopping by.


  10. A “bloglet” is a great idea. This is a virtual community with friends, some closer than others and strangers who may become friends later on. It’s good to drop in now and then and say hello to your friends, to let them know you’re alright. Not everything has to be “deep.”

    Oh, the list of 12 suggestions for the wilderness are worth studying closer and taking to heart. Thanks!


  11. Great post, Tim.

    Thank you so much for sharing 🙂 Each point of the 12 is so much true and important 🙂


  12. Hey Tim. This “bloglet” post worked fine for me, good points/reminders to ponder. Thanks for taking the time out of your schedule to relay it! I will admit (red-faced) that time is so short sometimes that a long post has to be shelved until later. There’s just not enough time to read all of them every day. I tend to babble, but try to keep my posts short, at least sometimes. 🙂
    Catherine


  13. I totally concur with your twelve points; these points keep my own heart and spirit. It is a time to endure; to prove Who He is by the faithfulness He accounts to us by His grace.

    By the by, I love your new template–and thanks for stopping by my site, too; it was good to hear from you. : )



Leave a Reply

