h1

“To Tell the Truth”

April 5, 2007

Galatians 1:6-7  “I marvel that ye are so soon removed from him that calleth you into the grace of Christ unto another gospel:  Which is not another; but there be some that trouble you, and would pervert the gospel of Christ.”

Another gospel.  A gospel that looks like the real thing but is contrary to the truth.  It tells about Jesus but at some point along the way, points to another Jesus; one who isn’t God manifest in the flesh and isn’t from everlasting.  I bring this up because the gospel is being seriously compromised at unthinkable levels.  My first encounter with this took place right after I was saved and I spent a weekend with my sister.  My sister is a Mormon and she told me things which had the “sound” of accuracy.  She referred to Jesus as the Son of God.  Sounded accurate.  Yet something inside was going “crunch.”  (I don’t know how else to explain it)  What I was hearing sounded right and yet something “wasn’t right.”  I didn’t understand this at he time, but the Holy Spirit will lead us into all truth and when something is amiss, he’ll let us know.  We need to be always listening and grounded in the word of God.

The “other Jesus” that my sister Sally proclaims, was created; not from everlasting to everlasting.  One who hasn’t existed from eternity past and is unchanging.  Further searchings into this doctrine reveal things which I could not even bring myself to type.  But one need not search any farther because anyone who is proclaims that Jesus isn’t God manifest in the flesh, Creator of all that is, and has existed throughout eternity past, is proclaiming another gospel.   The reason that I bring this up is because of a post in which Susan tells how the gospel is being compromised in Malaysia through a bible, written in Malay, which completely denies the deity of Christ.  Apparently, the publishers didn’t want to “offend” the muslim community.  (I imagine they left out Matthew 10:34)  The post can be read here:

www.faithwalk.wordpress.com/2007/04/04/lost-in-translation-in-malaysia/ 

Galatians 1:8-9  “But though we, or an angel from heaven, preach any other gospel unto you than that which we have preached unto you, let him be accursed.  As we said before, so say i now again, If any man preach any other gospel unto you than that ye have received, let him be accursed.”

Two things have always caught my attention here. 

First; the statement is made two times which is a way of highlighting the importance of this.  A counterfeit cannot save a person from sin.  Because Jesus Christ, who is completely holy, came into the world, was tempted in all points as we are and yet never sinned, he was able to taste death for us all.  He could have called ten thousand angels, but didn’t.   He “is” the only begotten Son of God who paid for our sins with his own innocent blood on an old rugged cross.  Three days later, he rose from the dead as it was impossible for him to see corruption.  He is alive forevermore and he has the keys of hell and of death.  Soon; very soon, he shall return to earth and every eye shall behold him; including the publishers of the Malay bible who prefer the appeasment of muslims over scriptural accuracy.   (Political correctness alone is dangerous.  When applied to spiritual matters, the consequences are eternal.)

Second; Paul warns that even if an angel from heaven preaches another gospel he is to be acursed.  This is important because many; if they saw an angelic manifestation, would be so overwhelmed that they would open themselves up to deception.  My sister, Sally,  really believes that the bible isn’t translated properly and that Joseph Smith received the “restored gospel” from an angel named Moroni.  Yet this “angel,” proclaimed another gospel and another Jesus.  This may sound weird, but I have determined in my heart that if I ever see an angelic manifestation, I pray to have the presence of mind to ask “would you please tell me about Jesus?”  To not be so fascinated by the event as to disregard what I know to be true.  I do believe that if ever a manifestation occurs that’s not of God, there will be a “crunch” that can be heard.  (John 14:26)

I John 4:1-3  Beloved, believe not every spirit, but try the spirits whether they are of God: because many false prophets are gone out into the world.  Hereby know ye the Spirit of God: every spirit that confesseth that Jesus Christ is come in the flesh is of God.  And every spirit that confesseth not that Jesus Christ is come in the flesh is not of God:  and this is that spirit of antichrist, whereof ye have heard that it should come; and even now already is in the world.”

Matthew 24:23-24  “Then if any man shall say to you, Lo, here is Christ, or there; believe it not.  For there shall arise false Christs, and false prophets, and shall shew great signs and wonders; insomuch that, if it were possible, they shall deceive the very elect.”

When I was a kid (early 1970s) there was a popular game show called “To Tell the Truth.”  In this show, three people would come out claiming to have a certain background such as a vetrinarian, a deep sea diver, or what have you.  One would actually be a representitive of the field while the other two were not but would try to sound as though they were.  The contestants would ask each a series of questions concerning this background and would have to figure out which one was being honest.  Finally, the legitimate person would reveal himself and one of the contestants would be a winner. 

Today we have an array of falsehoods which look authentic and sound authentic, but are not authentic.  Anyone proclaiming that Jesus is just a good teacher, a prophet, or was created is telling a lie.  No matter how clean their image is or how many notable works they do; if they teach another Jesus, they are leading folks down the wide road to perdition.   Susans post, linked to above, reveals the perils of this.  I remember a preacher once telling about going to india.  One of the problems there is that folks believe in several deities.  When they hear about Jesus Christ, there’s a tendancy to “add to their collection” so to speak, without understanding that he is “God manitest in flesh.”  The one true God who inhabits eternity and has created all that is. 

I have to close for now.  We find ourselves in a time of unpresidented peril and we need to be grounded in truth.  That our hope would be in the Lord Jesus Christ who paid for our sins with his own blood and is able to save us to the uttermost.  Who will finish the work that he has started in us and with whom we shall spend eternity.  What an incredible salvation we have through Jesus.  I pray that all would have a blessed weekend.

Luke 24:45-53  “Then opened he their understanding, that they might understand the scriptures.  And said unto them,  Thus it is written, and thus it behoved Christ to suffer, and to rise from the dead the third day:  And that repentance and remission of sins should be preached in his name among all nations, beginning at Jesusalem.  And ye are witnesses of these things.  And, behold, I send the promise of my Father upon you: but tarry ye in the city of Jerusalem, until ye be endued with power from on high.  And he led them out as far as to Bethany, and he lifted up his hands, and blesed them.  And it came to pass, while he blessed them, he was parted from them, and carried up into heaven.  And they worshipped him, and returned to Jerusalem with great joy:  And were continually in the temple, praising and blessing God.  Amen.

Acts1:10-11  “And while they looked stedfastly toward heaven as he went up, behold two men stood by them in white apparel;  Which also said, Ye men of Galilee, why stand ye gazing up into heaven?  This same Jesus, which is taken up from you into heaven, shall so come in like manner as ye have seen him go into heaven.”

8 comments

  1. Good post timbob and another vital warning. It is heads up time, for certain.

    Isaiah 8:20 (NKJV)
    To the law and to the testimony! If they do not speak according to this word, it is because there is no light in them.

    Every Blessing in the Lord Jesus Christ brother!


  2. Amen! My own children have believed a false gospel and it breaks my heart. They don’t want to hear the truth…
    Love what you shared. Keep up the good writing.


  3. hey that kinda reminded me of the time i received a tract from a Mormon. somehow something’s just amiss. i believe our own challenge is that we have to walk close to the Holy Spirit and not be led by other spirits so that we can hear Him ever clearly. thanks for this post!


  4. Another good post timbob and thank you again for the link!
    I’ve had good friends and neighbors who were Mormans and New Agers, and one of the problems was they used so much of the same terminology, but with entirely different meanings.

    We had a lot of long, deep discussions. The mormons are so heavily indoctrinated it is difficult to get through, but the new agers are simply seeking something real and spiritual and often quite open to earing about a relationship with Jesus and very interested in the spiritual side of the Bible which opens their hearts to truth.

    I posted some answers to your questions, but will go back and add a link to this post!

    Blessings to you Timbob, May you have a wonderful day in our Lord Jesus!


  5. […] were some questions asked by timbob ( who has a post relating to this today ) regarding the mistranslation of the bible I want to address, since this is […]


  6. WOnderful post TImbob! Thank you so much for keeping us in the light!

    Love Andrea


  7. About 3 years ago I dropped into a black hole – four months of absolute terror. I wanted to end my life, but somehow [Holy Spirit], I reached out to a friend who took me to hospital. I had three visits [hospital] in four months – I actually thought I was in hell. I imagine I was going through some sort of metamorphosis [mental, physical & spiritual]. I had been seeing a therapist [1994] on a regular basis, up until this point in time. I actually thought I would be locked away – but the hospital staff was very supportive [I had no control over my process]. I was released from hospital 16th September 1994, but my fear, pain & shame had only subsided a little. I remember this particular morning waking up [home] & my process would start up again [fear, pain, & shame]. No one could help me, not even my therapist [I was terrified]. I asked Jesus Christ to have mercy on me & forgive me my sins. Slowly, all my fear has dissipated & I believe Jesus delivered me from my “psychological prison.” I am a practicing Catholic & the Holy Spirit is my friend & strength; every day since then has been a joy & blessing. I deserve to go to hell for the life I have led, but Jesus through His sacrifice on the cross, delivered me from my inequities. John 3: 8, John 15: 26, are verses I can relate to, organically. He’s a real person who is with me all the time. I have so much joy & peace in my life, today, after a childhood spent in orphanages [England & Australia]. God LOVES me so much. Fear, pain, & shame, are no longer my constant companions. I just wanted to share my experience with you [Luke 8: 16 – 17].

    Peace Be With You
    Micky


  8. This was an excellent post, timbob. Thank you



Leave a Reply

