h1

So Great a Salvation

April 8, 2007

Hebrews 1:1-2  God, who at sundry times and in divers manners spake in times past unto the fathers by the prophets,  Hath in these last days spoken unto us by his Son, whom he appointed heir of all things, by whom also he made the worlds.”

I was thinking, over the last few days about various aspects concerning our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.  Primarily our great salvation which is so incredible that if exceeds our ability to adequately define.  It grows ever more awesome with each day.  This weekend I’ve seen a number of great posts although time didn’t permit me to comment as often as I would have liked.  Yet I wasn’t really sure what to talk about tonight as every aspect of our salvation could fill volumes.  Therefore, I want to just talk on some points that are good to ponder with no particular template.

One of the most incredible things is that Jesus is the Lamb of God slain from the foundation of the world.  From the beginning of the world, God looked ahead to a time when he would become flesh and dwell among us.  Jesus Christ would enter the world that he created, be hated by folks whose very breath came from God, be betrayed by one of his disciples, be nailed to a tree that he had given life to, remain on that tree, even though he could have, at any moment called ten thousand angels, and die for the sins of all who had ever lived and ever would live in all of the centuries to come.  It is a wonder beyond wonders.  And then three days later, to rise from the dead; triumphing over the grave and defeating the powers of darkness once and for all.  The more that one thinks about it, the more incredible it becomes.  The immeasurable love that God has for us that he would give his only begotten Son to redeem us while we were yet sinners without hope. 

Revelation 1:17-18  “And when I saw him, I fell at his feet as dead.  And he laid his right hand upon me, saying unto me,  Fear not; I am the first and the last:  I am he that liveth and was dead; and behold, I am alive for evermore, Amen; and have the keys of hell and of death.”

I have often wondered what it must have been like to have lived in the time of Jesus earthly ministry.  To have witnessed the fulfillment of so much prophecy while the religious leaders who should have seen it coming, didn’t.  They were learned in the scriptures and if they had been truly waiting for the kingdom of God they would have been ready when he appeared.  But because they loved their traditions and status among their countrymen, they received not the very Messiah that the claimed to be waiting for.  Yet the second part of Mark 12:37 is very revealing as to how the average folks thought.

“And the common people heard him gladly.” 

I have pondered what I would have done had I been around in those days.   Would I have believed on Jesus or listened to the pharisees arguements?  Statements such as “he comes from Galilee; not Bethlehem.”  Living these events in real-time without the new testament having been written as of yet, this undoubtedly was pondered by many.   Would I have praised God when Jesus restored the mans withered hand or thought to myself “he worked on the sabbath” in a cloak of self-righteousness?  Would I have believed when they said that Jesus had risen from the dead or listened to the false reports that his body was stolen?  It may seem merely an exercise in acedemics, but thinking on these things can reveal what’s in our heart at present.  A heart that we must keep with all diligence as we watch and pray without ceasing.   

Ultimately, it was the religious crowd that sought to lay hands on Jesus and do away with him.  It was the religious folks who brought him before Pilate.  Their hearts were ever so hardened against the truth as it was rocking the foundations of “their perfect world.”  As I write this, so many thoughts are going through my head concerning the night when Jesus was betrayed.  This is something to ponder daily; not just at easter.  Each day we look for our Lords glorious appearing and long to be with him.  Likewise, each day we should remember the incredible price that was paid for us.  The Lord Jesus Christ went through an ordeal that none of us can imagine.  The Son of God being beaten and spit upon.  Being railed on and mocked.  Humiliated, by the creation, in a way that we cannot even begin to fathom.  Yet he endured it all and was obediant unto death.  When he said “it is finished” it indeed is finished.  

Today there’s an empty sepulchure that testifies to a risen Savior.  Jesus Christ who is alive forever more.  The gift of salvation avalable to any who will receive it.  I pray that today we all would ponder the greatness of our salvation and that we would ask the Lord to daily make it more real to us.  To grasp it at a deeper level.  When I first came to Jesus in 1983, I knew very little about the bible.  I didn’t have a religious upbringing and I harbored in my heart, every vain form of belief that one can imagine.   What I did come to understand that day was that I was a sinner (for me this was an obvious) and needed  a Savior.  I came to understand that Jesus had died for my sins and that he would save me if I repented of my sins and asked him to.  It was the day that forever changed my life.  Today; 23.5 years later, I can say without wavering, that it gets more awesome every day. 

I have to close as I’m nodding off at 2:15am.  This post didn’t cover a lot of things that are on my heart, but I’m running into physical limitations.  One thing that I do want to comment on, because I’ve been thinking about it much today, is the thief on the cross.  His name we dont even know; only that he had dealt with others in a sinister fashion.  He was  on a cross for his deeds and knew that he was deserving of such a death.  (In other words, he was a bad apple)  He replies to the malefactor on the opposite side of Jesus that “we receive the due reward of our deeds: but this man (Jesus) has done nothing amiss.”  He then looks to Jesus and says “Lord, remember me when thou comest into thy kingdom.”  I think he was just acknowledging the situation; not expecting any form of redemption.  But what Jesus told him was so awesome that today, two thousand years later, it still proclaims the incredible love of God.

Luke 23:43  “And Jesus said unto him, Verily I say unto thee, Today thou shalt be with me in paradise.” 

Suddenly, this man had a name that would live on forever.  All of his yesterdays were forever gone and at this moment, he is rejoicing with the saints who have gone before us.  There really is power in the blood of the lamb.  Well I really need to go for now.  I know that this is a rambling post somewhat.  I wish everyone a blessed day in Jesus.

Colossians 2:13-15  “And you, being dead in your sins and the uncircumcision of your flesh, hath he quickened together with him, having forgiven you all trespasses;  Blotting out the handwriting of ordinances that was against us, which was contrary to us, and took it out of the way, nailing it to his cross;  And having spoiled principalities and powers, he made a show of them openly, triumphing over them in it.”

  

17 comments

  1. […] Please read TIMBOB’s Blog today about the Great Salvation we have in our Lord Jesus […]


  2. What a wonderful, awesome, glorious Saviour we have in our Lord Jesus Christ!

    I always love coming to your blog and read. It is to me like Bible study EVERY time!

    Happy Resurrection Day!

    Love and Blessings
    Andrea


  3. Great post! It made me think back to the day I gave my heart and life to Christ. After a lifetime of drugs, alcohol, depression and sin, I was so broken and I remember crying out, “God if you are real and you are who you say you are, you gotta help me. I can’t live like this anymore.” My life has been RADICALLY changed. My whole testimony is on my blog. I too was the thief on the cross next to Jesus until He held out His nail scarred hand and touched me and set me free.
    Glory to God in this most blessed day!!!
    Rachel


  4. Bless the Lord Jesus for His faithfulness to you over the years timbob, and to us all! I too will never forget the awesome wonder at having passed from death unto life when the Lord saved my soul and redeemed my life.
    Hallelujah!
    And it does grow more awesome every day, His love more precious, His presence more longed for. Somedays I can hardly wait for the heavens to be rolled up like a scroll and time to be no more…
    when we will all be together forever with the Lord to worship before the throne…
    what joy and wonder it will be, and even now is!

    Blessings to you this day tombob! Abundant joyful blessings to you and your family.

    (oh, I have to eat my words. I posted at 2 am also. Then had to re- write it this morning. Never say never I guess. )

    A Joyous Easter!


  5. Couple of things hit me reading this post – firstly that the thief on the cross didn’t need to do anything much more other than acknowledge that Jesus had power, and was a King, and incredibly he knew enough to know the reality of that coming Kingdom more than most at that point prior to his death. He didn’t even apparently repent verbally, but Jesus knew his heart enough to know the depth of sorrow he must have had about his sin to recognise it and reprimand the other thief for his attitude. I sometimes wonder if evangelical Christianity hasn’t added on more burdens than necessary to the whole gift of salvation which may put it out of reach of some (although appreciate God can move regardless of our poor decisions in the area).

    Your other point about wondering how you would have behaved had you been there at that time is something I suspect many of us have pondered over, and I know I often consider it more incredible that the disciples DID believe His claims apparently so readily as to fairly sharply agree to leave everything and follow Him. I can only consider that as Jesus Himself stated – they could not have done so, if the Holy Spirit had not testified in the deepest possible way to them that Jesus was Who He said He was. Yet even then I sometimes wonder how they ever made that mind shift from looking at an ‘ordinary’ human man to accepting Him as God Incarnate. (Don’t think I’ll ever get my head round that one myself until I meet Him face to face somehow!). I think it’s so much easier for us as we’ve only ever known Him as Spirit, and as such in some ways haven’t had to contend with the tangible staring us in the face and having to try and reconcile the instinctive reactions we would have, with what He would say to us about Who He Is (if that makes sense). Yet we are called more blessed by Him for not having seen Him, but accepted Him nonetheless.

    The entire Christian message is just utterly awesome beyond words and more challenging and life changing than anything the world could ever offer. His awesome Power and Love are still working in lives today and changing them radically. Nobody else in history has ever split time in two for any reason, and couldn’t even if they tried, yet Jesus did even that without trying. Blessings to all my Christian ‘family’ on this wonderful day of remembering His redemptive gift to us. TKR


  6. I literally have tears in my eyes after reading your post. What a beautiful message you have given here. It is just amazing to try to comprehend what Jesus did for us, for me. Thank you for sharing this and, for what it’s worth, I don’t think you were rambling at all. 🙂

    Ha Tikvah, I enjoyed reading your comment as well! And everyone else’s for that matter! God bless everyone on this wonderful, resurrection day!


  7. […] Grace County (aka timbob) […]


  8. It is amazing how much faith that thief had sitting on the cross. I often wonder how much he knew about Christ- was it his first time hearing of Him? Had he only witnessed the beating and mocking that Christ endured? Or had he followed Christ’s earthly ministry with any level of interest?


  9. Greetings Andrea. Thanks for stopping by. It’s such a blessing to be in contact with so many saints out here who love the Lord Jesus as you do and share their thoughts daily. I really look forward to the time when were all gathered together at the throne of Jesus; never again to part ways. Until then, “keep on blogging.”
    Have a great evening in Christ.


  10. Greetings Rachel. Thanks so much for commenting. I just visited your site and it really is encouraging. Truly when the Lord Jesus makes a person free, they are free indeed. Today, two thousand years after his miraculous ressurection, he’s still setting captives free. Thanks so much for commenting.
    Have a great evening in Christ.


  11. Greetings Susan. Thanks for stopping by. I was thinking about the day that I came to Jesus. My understanding of scripture was almost non-existant. What i did understand, however, was that I was a total mess and when I heard that I could have a relationship with God through Jesus Christ and be forgiven, I was literally “sitting on the edge of my seat” listening to every syllable. The Lord had used the aunt and uncle of Teresa (the girl next door) to soften my hardened heart and in September 0f 1983, granted me repentance to the acknowledging of the truth.
    The more that I communicate with you and all of the saints out here, the more I look forward to the day when we are gathered together with the Lord. At the same time, I long for the salvation of my household and those around me and so “betwixt I am.” There are some real battles in this household as my oldest daughter is running with a “rough crowd” and heading down a dangerous path. I can’t elaborate too much at the moment, but it’s a situation that needs much prayer. Thanks for commenting. I’ll keep you and your family in prayer also.
    Have a blessed evening in Christ.


  12. Greetings Ha Tikvah. I think you are correct in that we often complicate salvation with a set prayer or program. I remember saying a prayer when I came to Jesus, but I also remember the man saying “mean these words with all sincerety” which I did. That morning, I gave my heart to Jesus, understanding that he had paid for my sins on the old rugged cross.
    The thief on the cross; we arent told much about his background, however, when he tells the pother malefactor that “this man has done nothing amiss” and then asks Jesus to remember him, he’s acknowledging his belief that Jesus is the Messiah. The world knew him only as a robber and a fellow of sinister motives, but when he believed on the Lord Jesus, all of his past was dropped into the sea of forgetfulness. WOW!
    As for would we have believed on Jesus if we lived in those days, you’re correct in that the Holy Spirit opens the understanding of a person. I still think about it, however, we all were placed in the time frame that God wanted us to be in. I really believe that we’re seeing the fulfilment of end time prophesy as this world is on an unsustainable course. Thank you for taking time to coment here.
    Have a blessed evening in Christ.


  13. Greetings momlovesbeingathome. Thanks for commenting here and for always being in touch. The relationship that we have with the Lord Jesus and the fellowship that we have with each other is incredible beyond words.
    Have a blessed evening in Christ


  14. Greetings J Kaiser. It’s amazing that we really aren’t told much about the thief on the cross. Only we know that he, in his own words “had this sort of punishment coming” and that it was usually reserved for the real “bad apples” so to speak. (Although in reality we were all bad apples before we knew Jesus) I think he must have known that a Messiah was to come and he definately knew that Jesus wasn’t deserving of death. It’s such an incredible example of Gods love and forgiveness. A love beyond what we can imagine. Thanks for stopping by.
    Have a most blessed evening in Christ.


  15. Timbob, we have had our share of sorrows and downright trials raising our children so I do know how challenging it can be. But like you there are some things best not shared in a public forum. I try not to uncover their past mistakes and sin or say anything that would hurt or embarrass them. I do pray that someday they will share their testimoniees of Gods faithful dealings with their souls!
    They have some good ones!

    I often pray for your family, but will especially pray for your daughter. May the Lord watch over her, and may He give you and Kimberly divine wisdom and grace.

    Now before I turn into a pumpkin, a blessed night to you in Jesus!

    Susan


  16. And thank you for your prayers!

    Blessings!


  17. timbob, I have been out of town this weekend and have just now read your post. Wonderful!

    ““And the common people heard him gladly.”

    Yes! This is genuinely my hearts desire and cry, to simply and humbly be one of the common people who hears and obeys him, gladly!

    I pray you and yours had a wonderful Easter weekend, one that will yet last for all eternity!

    Every Blessing to you and yours In the Lord Jesus Christ!



Leave a Reply

