h1

Liberty Mountain

April 9, 2007

Psalm 32:7  “Thou art my hiding place; thou shalt preserve me from trouble; thou shalt compass me about with songs of deliverance.  Selah.”

John 8:36  “If the Son therefore shall make you free, ye shall be free indeed.”

II Corinthians 3:17-18  “Now the Lord is that Spirit: and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is liberty.”

The freedom that we have in Christ is incomprehensible to this world and those who place their hope in the chariots of Egypt.  Freedom from sin and the guilt that we once carried.    Freedom from the traditions of men and the herd mentality.  Freedom from the fear of death knocking on our door when we least expect it.  Real freedom and joy unspeakable that should be standard in the life of every saint, regardless of their physical circumstance.  Tonight I learned of a blog site which is done by a lady named Rachel.  The following links go to her site; the second one being her incredible testimony. 

www.redeemed1.blogspot.com  (Living My Faith Out Loud)

www.redeemed1.blogspot.com/search/label/My%20Testimony

Folks who keep themselves outside of the household of faith look at christianity as a bunch of rules and traditions.  There’s a commonly held belief that the life of a christian is dull and boring as we run not with them to the same excess of riot.  As was the case with each of us prior to coming to Jesus, we simply didn’t understand the power of the blood of Jesus.  Power to wash away sins and power to transform us into his image.  Power to live a holy life; partaking of the incredible joy and peace; even in the face of the most adverse situations.   A peace which defies all earthly wisdom and fills our heart with singing as we meditate on the deep things of God. 

The transforming power of the gospel is incredible.  As we begin down the narrow road that lead to life, we find that the things which once seemed to bring so much happiness lose their appeal.  Things which were once “lived for” now seem empty and lacking in substance.  It’s not a psychological trick or a forced putting aside of things; it’s complete deliverance.   A good example is one who’se bound by alcohol.  The world would have such a one attend AA meetings and spend the rest of their days as a “recovering alcoholic.”  Never a deliverance; only a coping mechanism for a problem which has a spiritual root.  Whe Jesus delivers a person from something, the very desire is gone.  That thing no longer has a hold on them.  This doesn’t mean we wont have trials at times, but when temptation comes and we submit ourselves to Christ, he’ll make a way of escape.  Two notable verses concerning this:

I Corinthians 10:13 -14  “There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above what ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way of escape, that ye may be able to bear it.” 

James 4:7-8  Submit youselves therefore to God.  Resist the devil and he will flee from you.  Draw nigh to God, and he will draw nigh to you.  Cleanse your hands ye sinners; and purify your hearts, ye double minded.”

When trials or temptations come our way we have someone to turn to.  Not a psychaitrist with a masters degree in ten-step programs or a doctor who would place us on a medication with an array of side effects, but the risen Christ Jesus who is with us always and will deliver us from anything that we face.  Please read Rachels testimony if time permits.  It proclaims the real power of the gospel.  Todays church has largely resorted to a social gospel which tickles the ears but doesn’t proclaim the life transforming power of the blood of Jesus.  As a result, we have churches who will exchange truth for greater attendance and use “allurements” in order to get folks to stick around. 

This is a side note, but it somewhat disturbed me.  CNN reported on a church in Florida which used the topic of sex to bring folks in.  They had billboards which seemed misleading in order to get atention and they focused primarily on this particular topic.  While sex is something that affects us all and is a topic that needs to be adequately addressed, it shouldn’t be the primary message.  When it becomes so dominant, the imagination begins to “ponder” things and guess what happens next.  Just like teaching sex education in schools gets the young minds to “thinking” about things at an earlier age than they would have under a normal rate of maturity.  The church that was featured on CNN; I have no idea as to the content of the heart, but I do know that if this topic is the dominant subject, there will be trouble down the road.  If there isn’t already. 

I bring this up because it was a tumbling block for me several years ago and led to a lengthy season of rebellion.  I found the imagination beginning to wander and ended up marrying a lady who wasn’t saved.  Today, we’ve been married for 15 years and while I love my wife dearly, my life is considerably more complicated today than it would have been had I waited on the Lord concerning this issue.  I wasn’t planning on entering this topic, but it does play a heavy role in the realm of temptation.  I also know the incredible pitfalls associated here and why it’s ever so important to keep our hearts with all diligence.  Today I praise God for bringing me out of a backslidden state that prevailed for several years.  A state that began when the imagination started to entertain thoughts.  (Enough about me!)

I need to wrap this up for now as it’s gone in a direction that I wasn’t really planning.  Plus I have to run to kalamazoo.  The freedom that we have in Christ Jesus is incredible.  To be completely free from the bondage of sin and the bondage of fear.  To know the supernatural joy of the Lord that passes all understanding.  A joy and peace that continuously grows as we become less like us and more like Christ.  If anything in this post is amiss or not presented properly, please let me know as I don’t have time to really go through it effectively.  

I wish all a blessed day in christ.

12 comments

  1. What you’ve shared here is so right on! Thanks also for your comments on my blog about staying contented.


  2. Praise the Lord for His transforming power to change us from the inside out! God is so amazing! He gives us a new heart and the ability to ‘put on the mind of Christ!’. The same power that rose Jesus from the dead, dwells within us! I was so blessed by Rachel’s testimony and will visit her site often. Thanks for the link.
    May the Lord’s blessings of love and peace with you today,
    Scotti


  3. Timbob,

    Wow, what a post! There is so much I can say, because these very things have been on my heart and mind lately!

    “Whe Jesus delivers a person from something, the very desire is gone. That thing no longer has a hold on them. ”

    This is so true….I am learning this by experience! Just today I had to teach my daughter about some things God is taking me through that requires radical changes on our part, and at first she didn’t like it at all, but as I explained it to her, the Holy Spirit began ministering to her and she began to cry. I told her to go in her room and pray, that the Lord was moving on her to pray, and she came up to me crying, and said, “Thank you!” and went in her room to pray. She is only 11, but I pray that God will do the same things in her heart as He is doing in mine, because I have failed in a lot of ways in bringing her up thus far, and now, having to make changes doesn’t make sense to her, but I know the Lord can help her to see why I have to do these things.

    “Todays church has largely resorted to a social gospel which tickles the ears but doesn’t proclaim the life transforming power of the blood of Jesus. As a result, we have churches who will exchange truth for greater attendance and use “allurements” in order to get folks to stick around.”

    This is sooooo true.

    I hear your heart on the marriage thing. While my husband is saved, thank God….there were several things that God had to bring us through that we didn’t see eye to eye on.

    I just want to encourage you to pray for your wife. The Lord hears our prayers, especially when we cry out indesperation! Something the Lord told me once was to “keep seeking, keep knocking, and keep asking.” He told me to remember the unjust judge. (it’s a parable in the Bible, for those who are reading this that don’t understand)

    My dad got saved through my testimony, and because his wife was dominant and rude and kept pushing him down and badgering him, he eventually sort’ve gave up, and backed down. I dont know if he is still saved, but I sadly don’t think so.

    Just be gentle and loving to her, but don’t back down to what God has spoken for you to do. You are the leader of the house, and you have the final word on decisions in your household, so you have a better place than I do on spiritual decisions in the home. Just follow Jesus and where He leads you, and whatever He tells you to do, don’t worry about what your wife might think or do. He will take care of her. Remember that we have to “hate” (which just means love less) our family and all others in comparison with our love for Jesus.

    God bless, and I am on my way over to read her testimony now!


  4. Wow Tim, when you write, you really write. How many word per minute do you type? lol.


  5. Amen, Timbob!
    Thank the Lord for the transforming power of the blood for Jesus which washes away our guilt and sin, and radically changes us!
    I read Rachels testimony, and praise God for His faithfulness to her.
    There are many Rachels out there still on the other side of redemption; may we see them through Jesus eyes both before, and when they come to Christ.

    As for the church in Florida, my guess is there are already some unclean spirits at work there, as there are many places.

    “To be completely free from the bondage of sin and the bondage of fear. To know the supernatural joy of the Lord that passes all understanding. A joy and peace that continuously grows as we become less like us and more like Christ.”

    Yes! We are so blessed!


  6. Wow, I am so honored that my testimony made your blog! I used to be so ashamed of my past but Jesus turned my shame into boldness to share my faith and testimony with everyone I meet!
    I am really a life transformed and I want to reiterate how important it is for us to share God’s love with people. I can’t even tell you how I came to know Jesus all alone in my bedroom that day. I didn’t answer an altar call. I wasn’t in church. I was by myself in misery and the seeds had to have been planted inside me for me to realize at that moment that I needed a Savior.
    I can’t wait to see what the Lord has for us! Woohoo!
    Rachel


  7. Greetings Beverly. I appreciated your post as it’s easy for us to become not content if we’re not careful
    Have a blessed evening in Christ


  8. Greetings scotti. Jesus came that we might have life more abundantly and free from the rhudiments of this world. It’s still as amazing today as it was when we first came to Jesus. Thanks for commenting.
    Have a blessed evening in Jesus.


  9. Greetings satisfiedhousewife (Jen right? There’s so many out here that I get names mixed up sometimes) Thanks for the encouragement. I’ll be sure to keep your dad in prayer. It sounds as though his situation is like mine was. I married and backslid on the Lord for a lot of years. Important years when the kids were young and I wasn’t where I needed to be in the Lord. I praise God for his forgiveness, but precious time was squandered. Thanks again for always being in touch with great insights.
    Have a blessed evening in Jesus.


  10. Greetings totaltransformation. My daughter can type circles around me while simultaneously talking on the phone, talking on her cell phone, conducting 20 instant message conversations, cooking scrambled eggs and coloring her hair. lol
    Have a great evening in Christ.


  11. Greetings Susan. The church in Florida seemed to be teaching biblical principals on the subject, however, if this is the dominant conversation, imaginations will wander. The bible warns us to flee fornication and to make no provision for the flesh. These folks were “using the flesh” to draw a crowd. It seemed like a dangerous way to do things. These are really strange times when such things take place. We can tell what’s on a persons heart by the content of their conversations. Thanks for commenting.
    Have a blessed evening in christ.


  12. Greetings Rachel. I was really blessed by your testimony as it tells of the transforming power of the blood of Jesus. When the Lord Jesus takes away all of our yesterdays, they are gone forever. I tried to comment on your site this morning, but i don’t know if it worked or not. For some reason my comments on blogger tend not to remain. Nonetheless Your site is a blessing and your insight a real encouragement to all. Thanks for taking time to comment here.
    Have a blessed evening in christ.

    ps. I love the title of your blog: “Living My Faith Out Loud.”



Leave a Reply

