h1

And When They Had Prayed:

April 24, 2007

This initial paragraph is an apology as I’ve not been able to visit and/or comment in the various places that I routinely visit.  It’s been a hectic time as of late; still trying to adjust to third shift while taking care of things at home such as the expanded population of goats along with and the array of extracurricular events that our kids are involved with.  If tomorrow finds us all here, (James 4:13-15) I plan to do some catching up in this capacity.  I keep all in prayer nonetheless; even when the the blog seems dormant. 

Revelation 5:8  “And when he had taken the book, the four beasts and four and twenty elders fell down before the Lamb, having every one of them harps and golden vials full of odours, which are the prayers of saints.”

This association of prayer with a pleasing aroma has always been a captivating thought.  An aroma, be it a pleasing one or not, will fill a room indiscriminately and will be noticed by any who enters in.  This verse, along with Revelation 8:3 (where incense is offered up “along with” the prayers of all saints.)  seems to signify the high esteem that God places in folks bringing their heartfelt petitions to him.   It’s a sweet-smelling fragrance that permeates the very atmosphere of the eternal realm.  When our heart is truly set on the deep things of God, our prayers will reflect this and will be a most pleasing addition to the throne room.   Whether it’s intercession for a lost neighbor, spiritual warfare for a saint who’se going through intense trials, seeking the will of the Lord before making a decision, or just a time to simply worship the Lord and commune with him, it’s a sweet essence that never goes unnoticed in the realm of the everlasting. 

Ephesians 6:18-20  “Praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, and watching thereunto with all perseverance and supplication for all saints;  And for me, that utterance may be given unto me, that I may open my mouth boldly to make known the mystery of the gospel,  For which I am an ambassador in bonds: that therein I may speak boldly, as I ought to speak.”

Earlier, in the sixth chapter of Ephesians, we’re instructed on spiritual warfare, as battles for the heart rage all around us.  This goes on when we’re watching and it also goes on when we’re occupied with vanity.  This is something to be take seriously by us all; even though its easy to become negligent as the physical world seems so “real.”  Praying for the saints is imperative as we all face the same sort of challenges.  Striving to become less like us and more like Christ.  As mentioned in the opening paragraph, my life is complex beyond measure it often seems, and yet spiritual warfare doesn’t have a “set perimeter.  We can engage the enemy while driving on the highway, while sitting at our sons baseball game, while operating a balancer at work, or even walking through a supermarket.  While we may find a lot more freedom in our favorite prayer closet, the battle goes on nonetheless.   It’s in this spiritual realm where bands are broken, mountains are cast down and the enemys grip over a situation can be loosed. 

 This mainline to the Lord Jesus is ever so vital and yet many of us (myself included) allow it to lie dormant during large stretches of the day as our minds are occupied with matters in this life.   It seems that all of us are busier than ever as twenty first century living becomes increasingly complex.  (Daniel 12:4)  As a result of this flury of activity, we can become negligent our relationship with the Lord without even being aware that it’s happening.  I strive to spend every available moment in prayer; even if its only a couple of minutes between dramas.  I fall short of this goal on a regular basis, it seems, but it’s a goal that I continuously reach for. 

When I first began blogging, I wasn’t really sure where it would lead.  I was posting but was quite certain that nobody was reading.  It seemed as though I was just placing words into the atmosphere.  Today, the direction is much more clear as I know of quite a few folks out here.  Folks whom I’ll most likely never meet in this life, but can keep them in prayer upon every rememberance.  I cannot help but wonder if this is he primary reason that we’re all blogging.  (My venture into bloging began when it was suddenly “on my heart to do it” and the time will come when this season is over.)  To encourage and pray for each other as we are heading into uncertain times. 

I’m going to close for now as, once again, I have to tend to things around here.  As we find the kingdoms of this world venturing into uncharted waters, I pray that we would be ever close to the Lord Jesus and not shaken by the events that unfold before us.  (A post on this is planned)  That we would abide in the Lord Jesus as he is the true Vine, and exhort one another as we see the day approaching.  I’ll close with the following passages.

Acts 4:31  “And when they had prayed, the place was shaken where they were assembled together; and they were all filled with the Holy Ghost, and they spake the word of God with boldness.” 

Jude 20-21  “But ye, beloved, building up yourselves on your most holy faith, praying in the Holy ghost,  Keep yourselves in the love of God, looking for the mercy of our Lord Jesus Christ unto eternal life.”

Mark 13:37  “And what I say unto you I say unto all, Watch.”

9 comments

  1. Timbob, thanks first for been so faithful to my blog 🙂

    Now, Another great post of yours! Yes we should be praying without ceasing and ALWAYS put our Lord first. But we dont, we make goals and we dont reach them. I am as you also try to pray all the day long, at work, at home, anywhere and everywhere, but as you I fall short ALL the time. Than I catch myself AFTERWARDS that I didnt do what I planned on doing!
    Than I feel miserable and doubt myself if I am truly a christian, because a true christian wouldnt do what I do.
    And than I get encouragement from you, Faithwalk, Housewife, Mom….and I try anew with my goals. And AGAIN i fail!

    It is like Paul said “I dont do the things I should, and I do the things I shouldnt” isnt that somehow what he said?

    In His Grip
    Andrea


  2. Timbob, thank you and thank the Lord for your heart that always seeks to be obedient and desires to please the Lord!
    Andrea, that goes for you as well.
    We live in a world that is always pulling at us, beckoning us to either turn aside or get so busy and discouraged we give up. Our busy lifestyles complicate matters. But prayer is something we cultivate over time. The fact you are ever thinking about it; desiring it; shows a heart after God’s heart.

    Satan is a liar, and the accuser of the brethren.
    When the Lord convicts it is only to bring us to a place of restoration, The enemy on the other hand wants us to give up.
    And we all, By Jesus grace, will NOT give up or turn aside!
    We will fight with everything within us to remain steadfast. If we falter we will get up and keep pressing in.
    We WILL over come by the blood of the Lamb and the Word of His testimony!
    Let us testify to His Salvation, His faithfulness, His grace which is sufficient for all of our needs. He who has called us Is Faithful! Praise His Holy Name!

    Blessings to you both in Jesus, our wonderful Lord and Savior!

    Susan


  3. Yes, may our lives, themselves, become an aroma of life; life as the Father has it, life reflective-in spirit and truth of He who is our life, our love, our only true hope, the Lord Jesus Christ! May the fragrance of our very lives become that which is, in spirit and truth, pleasing unto the Lord Jesus Christ, in all things and at all times, for his greater glory, honor and praise!

    Praise the Lord for His goodness and mercy which never fails! Blessed be the name of the Lord Jesus Christ!

    Every Blessing in the Lord Jesus Christ!


  4. Hi timbob, this is a very needful post for me. I am further convinced of my need to repent for not staying continually in God’s presence these past few days. From Friday through Tuesday, we have had 13 baseball games (all different locals around town) between my two sons who are playing league ball during the week and select tournaments on the weekends….and my hubby has been out of town! I did my fairshare of stressing about how to get whom to where with what by when over the past few days and grumbling while ‘driving on the highway, sitting at baseball games, and going to the supermarket’! I, too, stive to stay constantly in prayer and I need the Holy Spirit’s help at all times because it is so easy to fall short. Although I certainly have talked to God all throughout these past few days, this morning I was just feeling really distant from Him because I have been so distracted by the craziness of our schedule. Your post has really just confirmed for me how easy it is for me to let all these worldy activities interfere with my focus on abiding in Christ. Thank you for this timely exhortation.

    May the peace of the Lord Jesus be with you always,
    Scotti


  5. i like this reminder and thanks for quoting those few verses. powerful Words of God as always. my prayer life has been rather lacklustre of late and i still can’t figure out why. the fiery passion? i can’t feel it these few days. but i’ll cling onto Him ever harder and i think this post is a good reminder for me what prayer does in the heavenly realm!


  6. “It’s been a hectic time as of late; still trying to adjust to third shift while taking care of things at home such as the expanded population of goats along with and the array of extracurricular events that our kids are involved with. ”

    Well those kind of problems are familiar to all of us. Just yesterday I was sitting around asking myself, “whatever will I do with my expanding population of goats?”


  7. Wow TimBob…seems you’ve struck a common chord with your words. I can echo the sentiments of the previous posts. Thank you for your faithfulness. I’m always fed by what you serve here.

    Blessings,
    David.


  8. […] post and hope you are all doing well. I will go over to Katysblog, and then check out Faithwalk, Timbob, Momlovesbeingathome, The Outlet,  TotalTransformation, Blogatbree, PB&J and BreathingSteady. […]


  9. Yes, I know what you mean. Life gets so busy and we tend to forget that we’re here for the Lord and yes, often, spiritual warfare is happening all around us. How often we forget to pray! How often we forget to seek Him with all of our hearts! Guilty as charged! I think if we can all just take fifteen minutes each day and just sit before His throne silently, with no requests or concerns, just let Him speak to our hearts, it would help us in this crazy hectic world and He would be able to show us where He is at work and where He wants us to join Him. Guess I’ve written enough here! Anyway, thanks for your congrats on my romance book. It’s a romance, but it’s all about God too. Keep checking my blog spot for more details – thanks!



Leave a Reply

