h1

We Were Like Them That Dream

May 7, 2007

I apolagize for the unforseen absence.  Our internet acess was interrupted Saturday evening when the phone went out, meaning our mideval land line internet connection was likewise out.  I was minded to to into work early and post, however, the phone has now been restored.  (That is until the powers that be determine that the free flow of ideas is dangerous and needs to be limited as to protect us from terrorists.)

Psalm 63:5-8  “My soul shall be satisfied as with marrow and fatness; and my mouth shall shall praise thee with joyful lips:  When I remember thee upon my bed, and meditate on thee in the night watches.  Because thou hast been my help, therefore in the shadow of thy wings will I rejoice.  My soul followeth hartd after thee: thy right hand upholdeth me.”

David telling of how he meditates upon the Lord when things are quiet.  At times when he could think about anything that his heart desired, his thoughts are on the Holy one of Israel.  He had a heart for God like possibly no other single individual in scripture and as such, this was his continual meditation.  When the enemy came in like a flood, he looked to the Lord.  When serenity blanked the landscape, his thoughts were on the Lord.  When he went astray, as soon as it was revealed to him, he came before the Lord in sincere repentance. 

As we grow in in the Lord Jesus and learn to trust him in every facet of our lives; it’s “farewell to conventional wisdom.”  Those around us, either outside of the household of faith or clinging to understanding will find it somewhat odd as we step out into things unseen.  It may appear that we’re living in a dreamland; totally trusting in the Lord Jesus and not paying homage to the voices of reason.  In times past, I would be amazed at how some saints could do things which made absolutely no sense in the physical without fear; despite being aware that we are to live by faith and not by sight.  To just step out in faith and not have a safety net of flesh to fall back on. 

For several years, I would read all of the right verses such as Matthew 6:25-34, Hebrews 11:1 and the rest; trusting so long as the arm of flesh was in standby.  When situations came up that demanded a leaning not to our own understanding, I didn’t handle it well at all.  This is an area of my life where the Lord has wrought an incredible deliverance.  (Fear of such things is a lack of faith and it really is sin.)  This deliverance is truly a supernatural one for which no therapist, no ten-step program, and no brilliantly crafted theological discussion can take credit. I think that this is an area that we all will continue to grow into so long as we’re in this present realm; myself included, but the more that we grasp it, the greater our peace will be.   

One book that was instrumental in breaking this cycle is the book of Job.  Although I had visited it many times in the past, it finally clicked as to what was actually taking place.  Jobs steadfast trust in the Lord, despite the unravelling of the physical world is so telling.  I found myself asking “what would I do if it all came down tomorrow?”  I have determined that my heart belongs to the Lord Jesus; even if we end up with nothing but the clothes on our back.  This following verse, familiar as it is, changed my life.

Job 13:15  “Though he slay me, yet will I trust him: but I will maintain mine own ways before him.”

This one passage silenced all of the questions of doubt because, even if the questions of doubt were to come to pass, I’ve determined to love and follow the Lord Jesus anyways.  When we truly get our affection on the world to come and not focus on the world that is, the joy and peace is beyond comprehension.  Over the weekend, my wife made a comment concerning a need for money and my reply was “oh well; money just complicates things.”  This was the second time that I’ve said this (although in a lighthearted manner) and both times I got a look of “are you crazy?”  When we can reach a level of such contentment that, even if all of the physical attributes were gone and our joy in the Lord remains, it’s a liberation; the likes of which the world can never offer.  (or comprehend)

It’s a concept that, as of yet, hasn’t been fully tested.  To date, we’ve not been jobless, penniless and  living in a van down by the river.  Yet I know that such possibilities no longer bother me.”  This is not to say that we are to “court disaster” but if things do get crazy, they shouldn’t “get to us.”  I still go to work, pay the bills, and tend to the mundane obligations of this life, but the peace in my heart doesn’t depend on the continuity of this present reality.  Our hope and peace is in the Lord with whom is no variableness, neither shadow of turning.  It took me a long time to begin to grasp this.

The title of this post comes from Psalm 126; although I’m using it in a somewhat different context.  A person who “dreams” is one who’se not hindered by the physical.  A person who daydreams may have a sense of pleasure that’s not based on a current reality.  ( for example, a guy in his cubicle at work dreaming about being on the lake fishing)  A dream of such can either be something obtainable, like fishing, or it can be pure fantasy, such as travelling to another galaxy.  In any case, it becomes a source of happiness that has no basis in the present situation.  When we keep our affections on the Lord Jesus however, the peace that passes all understanding “is” based on reality.  A reality that God is, and that he is a rewarder of those who place their trust in him.  To those who choose not to believe, we will appear to be trusting in dreams as we have a personal relationship with the God who created all that is and yet isn’t visible.  

I Corinthians 2:14  “But the natural man receiveth not the things of the Spirit of God: for they are foolishness unto him: neither can he know them, because they are spiritually diecerned.”

Well, I need to close this up.  I missed blogging; even though it was only for 38 hours or so.  (Perhaps this is becoming too dominant in my life.)  Sorry for rambling so much.  It’s just that this concept of trust is so important and I know firsthand, the consequences of over confidence in the chariots of Egypt.  In the times ahead, the arm of flesh will reveal its true nature to all and those who don’t know Jesus will be hard pressed to handle things through their own strength or reason.  (Thus “mens hearts failing them for fear.”)  We are not to be soon shaken by such events; just trust in the Lord Jesus and know that he knows them that are his.  I wish a great evening in Christ to all and will close out with this passage.

I Peter 1:6-7  “Wherein ye greatly rejoice, though now for a season, if need be, ye are in heaviness through manifold temptations:  That the trial of your faith, being much more precious than of gold that perisheth, though it be tried with fire, might be found unto praise and honour and glory at the appearing of Jesus Christ:”

I Peter 1:8  “Whom having not seen, ye love; in whom, though now ye see him not, yet believing, ye rejoice with joy unspeakable and full of glory:”

I Peter 1:9  “Receiving the end of your faith, even the salvation  of your souls.”

5 comments

  1. “Though he slay me, yet will I trust him” has also been a theme for my husband and me as he endured head & neck cancer in ’03 & ’04. Actually, it was the treatment that nearly got him. Those were hard times but we found that God is faithful. It seems to be those times of complete and utter helplessness when you give it up to God that He carries you through and shows you He is able to accomplish so much more in your helplessness than in your (fleshly) “strength”.

    It is His faithfulness in these times that show you when things look totally against you, and in the flesh there is no way out, He will give you His strength to endure whatever comes your way, no matter how bad it looks to human eyes. His glory is manifested in our lives when the impossible things take place. My husband being alive today is an “impossible” thing to the Jewish doctor that treated him. He takes every opportunity to testify of God’s healing to this doctor. One day we pray the LORD will open his eyes to see Jesus Christ in my husband if he hasn’t already.

    Another thing I have found to be quite important, and will be a necessity in the times to come, is to know who has the Spirit of the LORD within them. Such as your friends Richard, Susan and Phil. If you did lose everything you know they are with you and would help you. They are community.

    I pray the LORD will bless you abundantly. That He would manifest His presence in you so that you behold Him. I pray that He would give you dreams and visions that testify to His truth and the perils of the coming days so you can warn the rest of us!


  2. “This deliverance is truly a supernatural one for which no therapist, no ten-step program, and no brilliantly crafted theological discussion can take credit. I think that this is an area that we all will continue to grow into so long as we’re in this present realm; myself included, but the more that we grasp it, the greater our peace will be. ”

    I spoke to one of my mates this weekend who has been taken over by a rare disease that has only left her in a bed and wheelchair. The doctors don’t know the cause and there is no cure – it sort of “runs it’s course” while being treated. I, myself have been going through a lot of life challenging moments as well. We both spoke of this very thing you mentioned – this supernatural peace in the midst of a storm. We stated how you can’t explain to someone how to obtain it. It’s something you have to experience with the Lord. People have always thrown out verses to me in the past about leaning on God, trusting in him, but it wasn’t truly real to me. I understood what they were saying, but I just couldn’t really grasp it in my mind. It’s just so unnatural. I think a lot of it is only learned and obtained through trials.


  3. Always challenging my faith. Thank you.
    I do notice that Job is a favorite of books for you. 🙂


  4. My prayer today is “Lord, increase my faith and help my unbelief!”. Amen.


  5. While I’ve not had to deal with the loss of money suddenly, as you probably know, I’ve had to deal with the loss of health. And though it’s hard to imagine whether you would truly step up and be counted when either happens, I can testify that He does lift you up at such times, and helps you refocus your view on Him and His Will/work rather than on your situation. I discovered something I never thought possible – that I’m almost happier disabled than I ever was able bodied, because finally I had opportunities to help others (through starting a support group), and for 12 years now He’s blessed me in incredible ways that I think otherwise I’d perhaps not even have noticed. That’s not to imply an easy ride – been anything but, particularly 1995, 1998 and last year (for different reasons). However, the joy and peace I have and the contentment to seek HIS Will alone in all things is imeasureable. Thus Job became my mentor as I struggled to determine how to be patient for God to walk me through whichever trial He placed on me, and to hear what He was trying to teach me – I’m so much a slooowww learner!! :). While His refining ain’t fun, it sure is productive in helping us learn important lessons. Blessings, TKR



Leave a Reply

