h1

Kingdom Hearts

May 26, 2007

John 15:19  “If ye were of the world, the world would love his own: but because ye are not of ther world, but I have chosen you out of the world, therefore, therefore the world hateth you.”

I Peter 4:3-4  “For the time past of our life may suffice us to have wrought the will of the Gentiles, when we walked in lasciviousness, lusts, excess of wine, revellings, banquetings, and abominable idolatries.  Wherein they think it strange that ye run not with them to the same excess of riot.”

I John 4:5  “They are of the world: therefore speak they of the world, and the world heareth them”

We love a God whom we have never seen, and yet he inhabits all of eternity.  We lay up treasure in a world that currently resides beyond the realm of observation; a kingdom that will remain when time and space have come to pass.  All who know Jesus Christ as Savior and Lord, have a most blessed hope and our affections will be in accordance with that blessed hope.  Physically, we abide upon the earth, but our heart and thoughts are in a heavenly realm where we shall be forever with the Lord Jesus and each other.  While the goal of many outside the household of faith may be to acquire all that they can, make a name for themselves, live to a ripe old age, and “enjoy their golden years,”  we rejoice, knowing that when this earthly tabernacle is dissolved we have a home that’s eternal in the heavens.   Our joy and peace isn’t dependant in any way to the circumstances of this life.  We look for a new heavens and a new earth wherein dwells righteousness. 

“And so shall we ever be with the Lord.”

As the realm of the everlasting becomes more focused and our love for Jesus grows, it becomes increasingly difficult to get excited about the things of this world.  I’m kind of rambling as this isn’t a prepared post.  (None of them are actually prepared to any extent.)  Yet this thought has been on my mind lately.  Perhaps it’s because so many seem overcharged with this present realm or perhaps it’s just that my “betwixt” is out of balance.  This world, which at one time seemed so promising and cozy, is but a land filled with reminders of days gone by when the heart pursued a more mundane agenda.  Increasingly, my only desire is obediance to the Lord Jesus; whatever the cost, and that the folks around me would know him as Savior; thereby partaking of the blessed hope that resides in my heart. 

Philippians 3:20  “For our conversation is in heaven; from whence also we look for the Saviour, the lord Jesus Christ.”

My original blog was titled “Philippians 320.”  I can no longer access it for some reason, however, the title told of my hearts desire.  To talk about Jesus.  To talk of our great salvation and the world to come.  To admonish all who profess faith in Jesus to lay aside every little thing that would drag us down and long all the more for the moment when he tells us “come up hither.”  (We’ve all heard the phrase concerning the three little words that will make us walk on air.  For me, that phrase is “COME UP HITHER!”) 

Today, blogging has become much more than this as I’ve met a lot of folks who share the same desire.  They have “straightway forsaken their nets” on a level that I aspire to reach.  While so many professing saints in this area seem to be half-hearted, many whom I’ve met through blogging have their affections completely upon the Lord Jesus.  Their blogs and comments reflect this love for the Lord and words cannot adequately express the encouragement found here.  I think it would be so awesome if we were all in the same geological location.  (Eventually we will be)

Matthew 18:20  “For where two or three are gathered together in my name, there am I in the midst of them.”

Acts 2:1  “And when the day of Pentecost was fully come,they were all with one accord in one place.”

I John 1:7  “But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship one with another, and the blood of Jesus Christ his Son cleanseth us from all sin.”

I used to try and figure out what was wrong with me.  (I still do)  I have changed fellowships more than average.  So many places seem to have a love for this present world, a lack of discernment, a focusing upon material gain, or a general “carnal-mindedness.  Yet when I talk with the many saints out here, they’re so focused on the world to come that I’m “drawn” to them.  I’ve read accounts from Phil when they would go into a certain area and spend the whole day in prayer.  “I WOULD LOVE TO FIND A GROUP OF SAINTS WHO DO THIS.”  To spend all day in the presence of the Lord Jesus with no pre-conceived agenda!  I keep thinking that somewhere around here there must be some.   Tomorrow, I’m minded to visit a church south of Vandalia and, as always, I pray that my search can finally end.  (I know that most bloggers already have awesome fellowships; a fact which comes out in their posts.) 

Perhaps this is a good thing.  (As mentioned before, I’m rambling; thinking out loud, as it were-a dangerous practice when blogging)  Perhaps if I found a local group of Shirleys, Phils, Scottis, Rachels, Maries, Richards, Susans, Andreas, Davids, Peters, Jens, Rhondas, Carols, and all of the others whose names are too numerous to mention, I would become too “comfortable” here.  Perhaps I need to be in a seemingly “nomadic” situation as to keep my heart in the right place; longing for the age to come.  I don’t know.  Maybe I’m going nutty.  I know that when folks love the Lord Jesus and are focused on the world to come, there’s a spiritual connection.  A sweet fellowship in the spiritual realm.  On the other hand, when folks profess faith in Christ but are more interested in material acquisitions or supporting the neo-cons, there’s a desire to shake them vigorously and say “WAKE UP!”  

“Out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks.” 

I need to close.  This is Memorial day weekend and as such, a lot of things are on the agenda.  David Meyers newsletter for June is posted; a little earlier than normal.  I would rerally recommend checking it out as he goes through the spiritual condition of this country and the world in general.  This current one is more needful than normal and I may comment from it later on.  Here’s the monthly link:

www.lasttrumpetministries.org/2007/June2007.html 

I wish all a great weekend in Christ.  A lot of spiritual warfare is underway concerning not only this household, but extended family as well.  I could go into all the details, but it would take up the rest of the weekend to explain it all.  All the more reason to walk soberly and be in continuous prayer.  I’ll close out with a verse that has been a favorite for years.

Psalm 84:10  “For a day in thy courts is better than a thousand.  I had rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God, than to dwell in the tents of wickedness.”

9 comments

  1. Hello Timbob!
    I haven’t read all of this yet, but what I read was once again beautiful and inspiring to stay focussed!
    Thanks for writing! I am back with two new posts on both blogs, so you know I’m still alive! It’s wonderful how you have put your heart into this! Tell me a bit more about yourself! I’m curious!:)
    Gos bless you and have a wonderful day tomorrow, Jacky


  2. Hello Tim, Greetings from Scotland!
    Only one more full day then a long 17 hours travelling home and this journey will be one that lives on in my heart and spirit, and I think will continue to unfold in many ways.

    It is in the desert we draw close to God; find our hearts both tried and purified, and by His grace are prepared for what lies ahead. There is nothing worng with you brother, you are simply a stanger in a strange land, making you way back home to the Fathers house.
    Wish I had time to say more but I need to go.
    But be encouraged!!! The Lord is working, moving, ever and always with you.
    We will be in touch again soon. In the meantime, keep looking up, be alert and watchful as you always are.

    Blessings to you in Christ, our wonderful, FAITHFUL Lord and Saviour!

    Susan


  3. only 24 more hrs b4 Susan comes back!! 🙂


  4. timbob, be encouraged and thank you! I am so very pleased to be able to read your posts once again, they refresh my heart and soul in the Lord Jesus Christ.

    As for your going a bit nutty, hey, welcome to the club of those who are all too often seen in this light 🙂

    There is no other joy than the deep and lasting joy of our Lord and Savior, Christ Jesus! He is our very life, breath, our very purpose and destiny. He is our hope, our faith and our assurance concerning everyday.

    I am so full of Him at this very moment, resting under His precious anointing and yet filled with His great anticipation for today, tomorrow and forever more. He is moving once again. Yes He is moving once again. May we all who call Him Lord and Savior begin to join with him, participating with Him in that which He is saying, doing and being in the now of this time and season.

    I love your heart in and before the Lord Jesus Christ, dear brother. Be encouraged and know, you are not alone. There is indeed a living remnant of those who hearts are oh so very much like yours in the Lord Jesus Christ, all filled with a longing for his appearing.

    Every Blessing in the Lord Jesus Christ, to you and yours!


  5. “To admonish all who profess faith in Jesus to lay aside every little thing that would drag us down and long all the more for the moment when he tells us “come up hither.” ”

    Amen, Brother!

    Have a blessed day in Christ,
    Scotti


  6. Timbob, I truly identify with your heart! Have you tried using a search engine to find a “cell” church in your area? Not that they have anything over any other kind of church, but the fellowship to be had in a cell-based group can go much deeper than the average church. I’ve only discovered that in the past year as we changed from a very large traditional SBC church to a cell based fellowship.

    Anyway, I’m glad you have this outlet and that I found your blog! The people in your area are the ones missing out by not knowing you!


  7. Timbob,
    I read your post on Faithwalk and it occured to me (out of the blue) that what you are searching for in a church may be within you.
    Why don’t you try that? Go to the Lord and see if He would want you to start something yourself. And, why not? Many wonderful ministries have been started that way.
    You seem to have a good grasp of the Scripture and a unique way of sharing what the Lord is doing in you. Share that! If the Lord doesn’t put a check in your spirit as you pray, plan to invite people you meet, not necessarily those you know, to come together to look into God’s word. Then watch out! Something might just happen. You could meet anywhere. And if the Lord’s in it, He’ll provide a place.
    I’d love to know what you think about this.
    God bless you as you seek Him with all your heart.
    –Jerald


  8. Greetings to all and thanks for taking time to comment. Since time is short, I’ll respond to all in one comment

    Jacky. Greetings. I was at your site earlier and the ark progect is really fascinating. It should be a reminder to all who see it that just as in the days of Noah when the flood came suddenly, so it shall be when Jesus returns. As for me, I’m an average guy, married with four kids. Much spiritual warfare is being engaged in as time is short and there are souls in my household that are hanging in the balance. Thanks so much for commenting.

    Susan. Greetings. It’s good to have you all back again and I look forawrd to hearing about the happenings in Scotland. Indeed we are strangers in a strange land; a land that grows stranger every day. Thanks for stopping in.

    Code Thanks also for stopping by. Your comments are always a blessing and I keep you in prayer upon every rememberance.

    Phil Great to have you back again. I agree that we must remember that the world to come is far more awesome than even the greatest revival. Yet I do wish that, during our sojourning here, that we could return to a “book of acts” type of church. I mean in every way; not just here or there. That we would spend the remaining days of the age turning the world upside down.
    I still have this thought. When we read of Jesus teaching, it’s interesting to ponder what the result would be if he were in a body of flesh on earth today giving the same messages in various churches. (Like when he tells the man with great wealth to give it all away. Hmmm) Thanks for taking time to comment. May our affections be completely upon the Lord Jesus and our treasures in the world to come.

    Scotti Thanks for stopping by. Its so good to know that others are longing to hear the words”come up hither.”

    Marie. Greetings. The cell church sounds somewhat like the fellowship that we had on our ship in the navy. It was a very close group and the fellowship was like nothing that I’ve experienced since. Although we were all young in the Lord it was a joy to admonish each other and grow in Christ daily. I remember a web site that listed house churches. If I can find it, it may have some listings for this area. But if you learn of any, I am definately interested. Thank you for taking time to look.

    Greetings Jerald. This is an idea that has kind of popped up a couple of times in the past, mostly out of frustration. The though of just putting up a pole building over by Maple street (we live on a corner and are surrounded by fields) and a sign saying “new testament church.” I pray that if such an idea is of the Lord and not just an overactive imagination that he would verify it because I’ve always just considered it to be the imagination running amock.
    The thought of folks just coming together and sincerely seeking the Lords will without a “format” or a “program” is awesome. Just gathering in the name of Jesus and going from there. I have been seeking the Lords will on a lot of things lately. To be honest, I have kind of wished that he would tell me in no uncertain terms “get thee out of thy country, go to this place or that city, and when you get there, I’ll give you further instructions.” Sounds kind of crazy but it would certainly shake things up. I think it’s one of the reasons that I love visiting churches for the first time. The element of “not knowing what lies ahead.”
    Thanks for taking time to comment.

    Thanks to all. I know that this post was done “quickly” and somewhat out of frustration. We see the urgency of the hour and yet the church is, for the most part slumbering. I have to get the goats fed and tend to a bunch of things today, but I wanted to come here first. I really enjoy the fellowship out here and the thoughs of others. I wish all to have a great day in Christ.

    timbob


  9. Timbob,
    You are wishing that God would “tell me in no uncertain terms” just like all the rest of us. We all, and I mean all, want God to be specific in the way He wants to us to act or be or do.
    Ain’t gonna happen! God may have spoken to some that way but usually He speaks to most of His children differently than that. That’s the reason I suggested that you be aware of a “check” in your spirit when you go in a particular direction. If we are sensitive to the Spirit, we’ll know when He checks us.
    Once again, as you interact with people try to be aware of their spirit. Go ahead and share and if they are receptive, stay in contact. That’s easier if you carry around some kind of ‘contact cards’ with you with your contact information on them.
    God knows your heart, Timbob. He knows you would love to share the Jesus that is in you with others. Just have faith that He’ll do it and it’ll happen before your very eyes.
    Love people with the love of the Lord and they’ll respond. Everybody wants His love, whether they know it or not.
    And you don’t have to put up a sign. When you find someone who will be willing to meet with you, go to a coffee shop or to the park or some place that has easy access. You could just share over the phone or by email in the beginning.
    You might be surprised at what God will do if you give Him a chance. Remember His admonition – You won’t get if you don’t ask.
    God bless you Timbob. I think God’s about to do something special with you.



Leave a Reply

