h1

Checking In 5-27-07 (2145)

May 29, 2007

Psalm 119:54  “Thy statutes have been my songs in the house of my pilgrimage.”

Greetings.  I plan to respond to all of the encouraging comments on the previous post as soon as possible; hopefully tomorrow.  As for the moment, the above passage really hit me tonight as to the awesomeness of Gods word.  The word of God being as “song” and our earthly dwelling being one of “pilgrimage.”  A song is, in a way, an amplification of that which is spoken.  Kind of like a love song is an enhanced way of telling someone that you love them.  The psalmist states that the statutes of the Lord are his “songs” thereby showing how much delight he finds in them.  Without a doubt, the word of God is sweet and his ways are definately the ways of liberty.  I hope that this doesn’t sound too goofy; I just woke up and have to leave for work in a few minutes.

Likewise the word “pilgrimage” refers to one being on a journey.  When one is on a journey, they don’t remain in one place too long as they are heading for a particular destination.  Our time in this world is indeed a pilgrimage as we strive to become more Christlike day by day and long for his appearing.  It reminds us that our time here is ever so short and that we look to a world without ending; an eternal city where we shall be forever with the Lord Jesus who purchased us with his own blood.  PRAISE GOD!  With this thought in mind, I’m now ready to go and spend the night in a factory making prop shafts for General Motors.  Again, I plan to get to all of the comments on the previous post if possible tomorrow.  I really appreciate all of the saints who are in the blogosphere.  Until then, I wish all a most blessed evening in Christ.

2 comments

  1. Wow, what a beautiful passage. Although I have read Psalm 119 many times, this particular verse has never stood out to me the way it does now. I don’t think your analogy sounds goofy at all. Sometimes I feel like my poetry can be kinda goofy because I never considered myself a poet. However, when the Lord reveals something new to me in His Word, it just becomes a natural response to want to write a ‘love song’ to the Lord in the form of a poem. Indeed, His Way is the way of liberty.

    We are simply pilgrams on this earth, temporary aliens, soldiers in the Lord’s army. Our pastor mentioned in his sermon Sunday that we are not to become entangled with civilian affairs referring to this verse: 2 Timothy 2:4 No soldier when in service gets entangled in the enterprises of [civilian] life; his aim is to satisfy and please the one who enlisted him. (Amplified Version) Wow, how easily I become entangled in the affairs of this life!

    Psalm 39:12 Hear my prayer, O Lord, and give ear to my cry; hold not Your peace at my tears! For I am Your passing guest, a temporary resident, as all my fathers were. (Amplified Version) Amen!

    May the grace of the Lord Jesus be with you always,
    Scotti


  2. Greetings Scotti. I love your poetry; the way that you place words together in such a flowing manner. It’s definately a gift; poetry songwriting, anyway of proclaiming truth as in a melody.

    I’ve been thinking lately about the heavenly music that this world can’t receive. I imagine all of us have an idea of what it will sound like based partially on our present tastes. Yet I think the songs of heaven are so far beyond anything that we’ve ever heard that we can’t even begin to grasp the beauty of such. I know that harps are mentioned often and I think of the sea of glass in Revelation 15 where the saints sing the song of Moses and the song of the Lamb. (I’m kind of venturing into a future post here)

    I’ve also been intrigued for years concerning the man that Paul writes of who saw the third heaven and heard things which are unlawful for us to utter. (II Corinthians 12:1-4) How could a person receive such a revelation, come back here and “manage to function” in the theater of mundanosity. Melodies and poetic phrases are so incredible; even in this realm. I can’t even begin to imagine what the heavenly chorus sounds like.

    Thanks for stopping by. Thanks also for being such a blessing to all who stop by your site.

    Have a great day in Christ.



Leave a Reply

