h1

Suddenly: The Last Summer?

May 30, 2007

II Thessalonians 2:1-2  “Now we beseech you brethren, by the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ, and by our gathering together unto him, that ye be not soon shaken in mind, or be troubled, neither by spirit, nor by word, nor by letter as from us, as that the day of Christ is at hand.”

Hebrews 5:14  “But strong meat belongeth to them that are of full age, even those who by reason of use have their senses exercised to discern both good and evil.”

These two passages are of great importance as we come into the final moments of the age.  The first is often overlooked as many, including myself, tend to jump down to the more prophetic verses in this chapter.  Basically, the saints are admonished to remain calm.  To not be rattled by anything that we see or hear concerning events taking place upon the earth.  It suggests that prior to Christs return, there will be both events and words spoken that would seek to move the saints from their steadfastness; including a great falling away as mentioned in verse 3.  The second passage is an admonishment to get in close to the Lord Jesus and have our spiritual senses sharpened by reason of use.  To be watching always.  A standing prayer of mine is a continual request for discernment as this is an age of unparalleled slumber.

There’s been this thing in my spirit and  any input is desired.  It’s almost a sense that “this is it.”  That this summer, we need to do whatever it is that needs doing because this is the final installment of this present situation.  We need to have our hearts right before the Lord and get rid of any deadweight such as bad habits, bad attitudes, carnal mindedness, strive, vainglory, slumberness, what have you.  This is because it’s all about to fall apart in the physical realm to a degree that if we’re not abiding in Christ and trusting him “completely,” we’ll be caught off guard and unprepared.  The time to prepare isa before the times of trying just as the time to fix the hole in the roof is before the rain comes.

I could be totally wrong on this and yet, in seeking on what to post today, this is front and center.  I’m always hesitant to write such things as I know that I could well not be seeing things right.  I have an imagination that leans toward the extraordinary and as such I have to be really careful concerning such postings as this. Therfore, the best thing to do is to offer it up and let the reader be of a discerning spirit.  This is not a “Thus saith the Lord” post; it’s merely what’s in my heart as this sense of urgency seems to be ratcheting up. 

In looking to the future, I again must give glory to God for the recent victory over runaway foolishness that manifested itself most dramatically while at work.  The “fun” that it generated has been replaced by a level of joy that resides far beyond the “fun-o-meter.”  It’s amazing how we’ll tend to hang onto things and even justify them to an extent.  yet when we finally have victory over them, the victory and increased closeness to the Lord Jesus is so awesome that we wonder to ourselves “why did I wait so long?”  I bring this up again for two reasons.  One, by making mention of it, I’ll remind myself to not let the situation deteriorate back into foolishness.  Two, it was very distracting and may well have led to a squandering away of a summer that’s already overloaded.  Should this indeed be the final summer for status quo, this victory is all the more critical.

Luke 21:19  “In your patience, possess ye your souls.”

Romans 5:3-5  “And not only so, but we glory in tribulations also: knowing that tribulation worketh patience; and patience experience; and experience hope:  And hope maketh not ashamed; because the love of God is shed abroad in our hearts by the Holy Ghost which is given unto us.”

II Timothy 3:10-11  “But thou hast fully known my doctrine, manner of life, purpose, faith, longsuffering, charity, patience, Persecutions, afflictions, which came unto me at Antioch, at iconium, at Lystra; what persecutions I endured: but out of them all the Lord delivered me.

Before continuing with a list of “patience” verses, this caught my attention as I was typing.  Paul mentions in acts 20:22-24 that he goes bound in the spirit to Jerusalem and that while he knows of the afflictions that await him, he counts it a joy to finish his course.  His heart is completely upon the lord Jesus Christ; so much so that no threat in the physical realm can move him.  I pray that we all would have this resolve, should we be called to a like situation in the future.  (Matthew 10:18-22 comes to mind)

Hebrews 6:12  “That ye be not slothful, but followers of them who through faith and patience inherit the promises.”

James 1:3-4  “Knowing this, that the trying of your faith worketh patience.  But let patience have her perfect work, that ye may be perfect and entire, wanting nothing.”

James 5:10-11  Take my brethren, the prophets, who have spoken in the name of the Lord, for an example of suffering affliction, and of patience.  Behold, we count them happy which endure.  Ye have heard of the patience of Job, and have sen the end of the Lord; that the lord is very pitiful, and of tender mercy.”

A future post that’s been on my heart for months is a review of all the places where affliction and joy are coupled together.  Our joy is truly not linked to the events of this world but to our relationship with the Lord Jesus.  Two more verses.

Revelation 13;10  “He that leadeth into captivity shall go into captivity: he that killeth by the sword must be killed by the sword.  Here is the patience and the faith of the saints.” 

In conjunction with this, Philippians 1:28 is needful as well.

Revelation 14:12  Here is the patience of the saints: here are they that keep the commandments of God, and the faith of jesus.”

A reading of Psalm 91 is also a good idea as it very much goes along with this theme.  (It takes patience to just stand while a thousand fall at your right side,) 

To stand when everything is being shaken.  Even if my thinking is off concerning timelines, this present reality is soon to be dissolved.  I was thinking earlier about all of the genetic modification going on along with the invasive electronic surveillance networks; all merging together into a demonic “borg-like” mega-structure.  Last night, a friend at work was telling how his wife went into a tanning place and had to place her thumb print on a screen.  Within seconds, all of her bank records, medical history, her whole life story almost, was dispalyed for all to see.  The hour is late; far later than most seem to be able to grasp.  I’m going to close for now.  I have some links written down that I’ll close with as they point to the perilosity of the times.  I wish all a great day in Christ.

www.worldnetdaily.com/news/article.asp?ARTICLE_ID=55925

www.pressesc.com/01180202266_eevs

www.wired.com/politics/onlinerights/news/2007/05/isp_privacy 

Greetings again.  I was just at scottis site and this is a most needful reminder.  Here’s a link.

www.scotti.wordpress.com/2007/05/28/merciful-high-priest/

16 comments

  1. Yes, to be every aware, watchful and reminded of things to come and of our hearts only hope as found only in the Lord Jesus Christ; To have eyes and ears only for Him and Him alone; To have His security, the security of His faith, of His hope and of His love.

    Again, thank you for the reminder of the frailty of this life and the world in which we live. Now IS the time to prepare, to work, while it is day, for there comes a time when no one will be able to work the works of righteousness. Let us rise up ever increasingly into the glory of the Lord Jesus Christ, partaking of His nature and participating in His glory for then and only then can we truly escape that which is in the world, rooted in caused by satan and the depravity and corruption of fallen mankind.

    Keeping our eyes and ears upon the Lord Jesus Christ, in all things and at all times for His greater glory, honor and praise!

    Every Blessing in the Lord Jesus Christ!


  2. Hi Timbob!

    I was just on my face crying out for deliverence from this body of death and then read your post as a beautiful benediction.

    Urgency to get over myself, urgency to leave the cares of this world behind, urgency to release all things that hinder into His hands.

    Oh, Deliverer, grant us the very things you have promised! Set us free from all earthly things that we may live as you intended – as vessels that have their true citizenship in heaven yet carry Your light here on earth.


  3. “That this summer, we need to do whatever it is that needs doing because this is the final installment of this present situation.”

    I hear you, I hear you all too well. This has been on my heart too, though I have not and really now do not want to put it into words.

    I’m also aware of how unprepared I am. However, I am also aware how gracious God is – and I for certain need grace!

    Blessings,

    Peter


  4. One thing that keeps me up at night lately is the fact that we have 9 U.S. Warships, 140 aircraft and 17,000 Navy personnel that just arrived in the gulf region for ‘exercises’. Ahmadinejad is one crazy loose canon developing nuclear capability in a region that is already so unstable. I have to remind myself that I am not to be shaken by these world events, because our God is the One who sets up and brings down the nations. The world as we know it will continue to change, time marches on and we see that wickedness, iniquity, and lawlessness continue to be multiplied and increased. Praise the Lord that we have the calming promise that our greatest hope is our Blessed Hope, the return of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I just feel like the faithful need to be ready to go through ever-increasing strife until that glorious day, to be ready for suffering and hardships for His name’s sake. I feel so strongly on my heart that I need to prepare my two sons to have an unmoveable, unshakable faith in the Lord Jesus. It seems like an impossible task but that which is impossible for me is possible for the Lord. Lord, increase our faith! Amen.

    Titus 2:12-13 Teaching us that, denying ungodliness and worldly lusts, we should live soberly, righteously, and godly, in this present world; Looking for that blessed hope, and the glorious appearing of the great God and our Saviour Jesus Christ

    Psalm 50:15 Call upon Me in the day of trouble; I shall rescue you, and you will honor Me.

    Thank you for this needful post and also for the gracious link.

    May the peace of the Lord Jesus Christ be with your spirit.
    Scotti


  5. Greetings Phil. I still remember in a post that you did when you talked of the night when Jesus was betrayed. At that moment, the time for the disciples to prepare was “over” as the time of trying was suddenly at hand. Those words really got me to thinking as we never know what a day may bring forth. This life offers no guarentees that what we see today will still be intact tomorrow. Jesus, however, is from evrlasting to everlasting and he changes not. What a blessed hope we have in Christ. Thanks for stopping by.

    Have a blessed day in Christ.


  6. Greetings marie. Indeed the whole creation, including us, groans and travails. Phils last post was awesome and it reflected this too. This is how I feel; the only reason that I have for desiring more time here is for the unsaved to have every opportunity to come to Jesus. My household isn’t ready for the final moment. Other than the overwhelming concern for the lost, this world holds nothing for me. It’s a land filled with reminders of a disobediant past when I walked in my own ways. Thank you so much for being in contact and sharing your thoughts.

    Have a blessed day in Christ.


  7. Greetings Scotti. I will keep your sons in prayer. I truly believe that Gods grace will be sufficient for each of us in the coming days. I was just thinking about this and wondering if “before it all goes down,” if Gods measure of grace will go out to each of us just ahead of the calamities. Kind of like when we are driving and have to brake suddenly. We’ll put our arm out across the passenger side of the seat to keep our kids from hitting the dash board. “Just in time.” This is why I hear of things and yet it’s almost as though the level of peace increases. I hope that I don’t sound too out of touch. Thanks for stopping in.

    Have a great day in Christ.


  8. Greetings Peter. Sorry; I got my responses out of order. A lot of times I wonder about how prepared I really am. I mean I know of some who have built shelters, stocked up on freeze-dried food and done every kind of preparation imaginable. I haven’t for monitary purposes. I am convinced though that ,as you mention, Gods grace is sufficient for any situation. Thanks for taking time to stop in.

    Have a great day in Christ.


  9. Good afternoon, Timbob.

    I have spent a good portion of this day involved closely with God, thinking of His ways, and crying out to Him. I too feel this urgency–almost a desperation–of which you speak. Nothing really matters, does it, when we consider His return, and our standing soon before Him to give account of our lives. God help me.

    Thank you for your words.

    Shirley


  10. Timbob, first of all I am so sorry for not commenting even though I mostly read your blog. But it is also here very hectic at this time 😦

    Yes I agree with your feeling. Yesterday I was attacked by a coworker because me and a few other people where talking about the Bible and God. And he picked me out and said “If you trying to preach in our breakroom, I will turn it over to the Management”. The only thing I replied was ” Why are you so full of hate”
    Whatelse is there for me to say ??? I am not knowledged like you guys all are, and in a way he frightened me!

    And I didnt preach…lol….I was having a conversation and well a discussion about godly things you know.

    Anyways as usual a grrrrreat Post!

    Love and Blessings
    Andrea


  11. That photo about grief is taken in the US at a place called St. Joseph’s Center. It is part of the place of an earlier post

    http://code6.wordpress.com/2007/03/28/time-of-reflection/


  12. http://pressposts.com/Religion/Suddenly-Last-Summer/

    Submited post on PressPosts.com – “Suddenly: The Last Summer?”


  13. I agree with you, Timbob. We never know what will happen within the next few months. We can’t be lukewarm today, we have to be awake!

    Thanks for this reminder.


  14. Hey there timbob. This is making more sense to me as time goes by. I have been feeling urgency in my spirit that truly drives me nuts. I ask God, “Lord, what’s going on, what are you saying to me?” But he really isn’t saying anything specific at all. He is just around the corner. And I am unstill, waiting.

    Thanks for this post, God bless you.


  15. I share your sense of urgency TimBob. Life is short. We need to live it well. We need to always, always focus on Christ. We have to guard our hearts and minds in Christ Jesus. And we need to commit ourselves to obedience.
    Good post.


  16. You can add me to the list of those sensing the urgency of the day and hour, and the need to be watchful and ready! Like Peter, I am all too aware of my need to press in and dig deeper.

    Thank you for faithfully speaking out and calling us all to be alert!

    Blessings to you always,

    Susan



Leave a Reply

