h1

“ALEPH II”

June 10, 2007

Psalm 119:4-5  “Thou hast commanded us to keep thy precepts diligently.  O that my ways were directed to keep thy statutes.”

These two verses have been mentioned together for two reasons.  One: if I’m ever going to get through psalm 119, efforts must be taken to speed things up.  Two: the psalmist is acknowledging the need to seek the Lord diligently and desiring that he would have such diligence.  While he’s bringing up a very important point, he seems to be confessing a fault in that he hasn’t been as diligent as he should have been.  The concept of diligence concerning the things of God is ever so important.  If we love him we’ll seek him diligently; counting all that is in the world as debris that we may win Christ.  Two telling verses can be found in one of my favorite psalms.

Psalm 63:1  “Oh God, thou art my God; early will I seek thee: my soul thirsteth for thee, my flesh longeth for thee in a dry and thirsty land, where no water is.”

Psalm 63:8  “My soul followeth hard after thee: thy right hand upholdeth me.”

To “thirst” for the deep things of God.  To love him so much that we’ll do anything, go anywhere, and continuously seek to be in complete obediance.  To have our affections so focused on the Lord Jesus and the world to come that we’ll continuously seek to rid ourselves of any little weight and sin that should be causing a separation.  (I hope that this is coming out ok; I’m blogging through a plethura of distractions at the moment.)  Throughout the ages, this level of diligence has been imperative, however, in the days ahead, the importance of it will take on a whole new aspect.  In an age when strong delusions will be causing the whole world to follow after a way which “seems right but is wrong” we will have to hold fast the profession of our faith despite the most extravagant performances by the agents of common sense. 

This has been mentioned before, but it bears repeating.  I don’t know all of the details of the strong delusions, however, they will be so convincing that a half-hearted person will be unable to withstand the onslaught.  It will be a time of supernatural manifestations which so appeal to common sense as to make the gospel appear to be nothing more than an ancient philosophy that has no place in the new age of “enlightenment.”  We dare not underestimate just how dangerous these times are and how imperative it is to make our calling and election sure.  (Revelation 14:12 is a very telling verse)

Psalm 119:6  “Then will I not be ashamed, when I have respect unto all thy commandments.” 

When I was in the season of rebellion, it seemed as though everything was going wrong.  They were years of incredible turmoil and in my heart, I knew why it was taking place.  It was because I wasn’t close to the Lord as I had been in years past.  It was a time marked with frustration, anxiety, and depression.  Three years and three months ago, the Lord brought me out of that backslidden state in a most incredible way when I found myself asking the question found in Jeremiah “What have I done?”  Without a doubt, the ways of the Lord are perfect and when we live in obediance, we’ll not be ashamed or find ourselves in perdicaments of our own making.  We get into more trouble when we think to ourselves “I know what I’m doing.”  When we allow the flesh or common sense to be the compass for our decision making. 

Psalm 119:7  “I will praise thee with uprightness of heart, when I shall have learned thy righteous judgments.” 

Perhaps I’m the only one who has ever gone through something like this, but trying to worship the Lord when, in your heart, you know that something isn’t quite as it should be, is a very strange feeling.  Truly an obediant heart is more priceless than than the sacrifice of praise.  In this verse, the psalmist is proclaiming that he will be ab le to worship the Lord in spirit and in truth when he has learned his ways and is in obediance.  When we live uprightly before the Lord we can worship him with all of our heart.  It won’t be a forced praise that has to be “worked up,” it will just flow naturally. 

Psalm 119:8  “I will keep thy statutes: O forsake me not utterly.”

A heart-felt pledge to live uprightly.  To seek the will of the Lord without condition and delight in his word.  The Lord knows them who follow him in spirit and in truth and he knows who is putting on a show.  If we love him, we’ll keep his commandments and his commandments are definately not grievous.  A trip to the new testament explains this perfectly.

I John 2:3-5  “And hereby we do know that we know him, if we keep his commandments.  He that saith, I know him, and keepeth not his commandments, is a liar, and the truth is not in him.  But whoso keepeth his word, in him verily is the love of God perfected: hereby know we that we are in him.”

If we love the Lord Jesus, we’ll live for him.  He will be the meditation of our heart day in and day out.  This world has nothing to offer as we seek a city whose builder and maker is God.  An everlasting dwelling place where we shall forever be with the Lord Jesus.  I like the way that Phil phrased it in a recent post.  This isn’t word for word, but basically,  we’ll be in such a state of incorruption that every hint of the former ways will be gone.  What an awesome pondering.  Currently we wrestle with the old nature and have to die daily to self.  In that day, when this corruption puts on incorruption, all of the old nature will be forever gone. 

Well I need to go.  There are so many aspects to this psalm, and yet all of them are tied to the word of God.  His perfect word which truly is a lamp unto our feet and a light unto our path.  (Oops. Jumbing ahead a little bit)  I’m going to close out with a most familiar passage from Deuteronomy.  I wish a great day in Christ to all.

Deuteronomy 6:6-9  “And these words, which I command thee this day, shall be in thine heart:  And thou shalt teach them diligently unto thy children, and thou shalt talk of them when thou sittest in thine house, and when thou walkest in the way, and when thou liest down, and when thou risest up.  And thou shalt bind them for a sign upon thine hand, and they shall be as frontlets between thine eyes.  And thou shalt write them upon the posts of thy house, and on thy gates.”

5 comments

  1. Timbob, it is no coincidence that my Pastor spoke on half-heartedness today and you speak of it in your blog! He spoke out of Numbers and Duet. where the Israelites were spying out the Promised Land. All but two were half-hearted and would not go. Of course, Joshua and Caleb were all for it! Their hearts were FULLY toward God.

    Oh, how I pray for that kind of heart! Psalm 119 is such a beautiful reflection of one with just such a heart. Thank you for taking the time to reflect and give insight into this wonderful Psalm. Oh, and your heart must be such a one as the message of your words present a true image of our LORD and KING.


  2. Hey Timbob! We have a mutual friend, Marie, who recommended your site to me and informed me that I am listed among your roll of blogs. I am SO humbled by this, my brother, and greatly honored! You can be sure that I will return the blessing and will visit Grace County regularly. So glad I found you and want to encourage you to keep on keeping on!

    Blessings,
    Scott

    P.S. Oh! I just noticed the selfsame Marie commented above me! She is a jewel in the Lord’s crown…


  3. Uh, actually, in my Pastor’s sermon it was the three tribes that did not want to cross over the Jordan with the rest of the tribes into the Promised Land that were half-hearted. The rest of the tribes were wholeheartedly following the LORD into the Promise.

    Now my Pastor is going to think I was only listening to his sermon half-heartedly! Oh, the shame! 🙂


  4. Greetings Marie. I pray that we all would have an unconditional determination to draw ever closer to the Lord Jesus; our high priest who ever lives to make intercession for us. Knowing that he really is in control; even when the situation on the ground looks bleak. He is our life, our peace, and our victory. Thank you so much for stopping by.

    have a blessed evening in Jesus.


  5. Greetings Pastor Scott. It’s a real blessing to hear from you and I was glad when Marie mentioned your site. I’ve come into contact with many like-minded saints through blogging and the encouragement has been trmendous. Thanks for taking time to stop by. I plan to likewise make regular visits to your site.

    have a blessed evening in Jesus



Leave a Reply

