h1

Farewell to Weights

June 15, 2007

I John 3:2  “Beloved, now are we the sons of God, and it doth not yet appear what we shall be: but we know that we shall be like him; for we shall see him as he is.  And every man that hath this hope in him purefieth himself, even as he is pure.”

The hope of eternal life through Jesus Christ.  The book of I John is one of needful discernment.  It tells of trying the spirits, to see if they be of God and it shows us how to discern those who are real.  The above passage is an example of the latter.  A person who truly looks to Jesus and has their affections set on the world to come will find that their values will be in stark contrast to that which the world holds in high esteem.  .  If we love him, we’ll have a desire to live for him.  If we long to be absent from the body and present with the Lord, we’ll long to live a holy life and to do those things that please him.  Simply put, the allurements of this world will lose their appeal as we’ll see them for what they truly are. 

Whenever we come across a person who has their affections upon the Lord Jesus Christ to the degree that, as the apostle Paul,  they count all that is in this life as debris, it’s of great encouragement.  (and conviction)  I’ve met only a handfull of folks who seem to have  grown into such a level of discipleship.  This is not to say that such a one will necessarily be void of physical abundance; it merely means that they are ready to drop it all in a moments notice.  We are indeed called to a life of “complete surrender.”  If our affections are as they should be, obediance to whatever the Lord calls us to do should be a small thing.  I have wondered just what I would do if commanded to sell all  and trust God completely.  My first response would probably be a reflection on I Timothy 5:8.  (This is a very true verse; I’m not trying to downplay the importance of it)  It would be a defining moment in which the truth would be manifest.  Just as it was for the rich young ruler who, in all sincereness of heart, asked “what lack I yet?”  He loved his trappings and we often look to this account in reflection.  Yet I fear that many of us would fall into the same catagory.   

Once again, I’m into a post in which I know of folks who are much more qualified to discuss the content.  Yet I’m fascinated by the incredible liberty that one has when they have fully grasped this concept.  To have fully counted the cost and found the complete victory and fellowship with the Lord Jesus that comes as a result of such obediance.  It’s  like reading about the apostle Paul who often didn’t know what lay in wait from one town to the next.  Yet he loved the Lord Jesus so much that his only desire was to finish his course.  This following verse is incredible and should cause all of us to ponder our walk with the Lord. 

II Timothy 4:6-8  For I am now ready to be offered, and the time of my departure is at hand.  I have fought the good fight, I have finished my course, I have kept the faith:  Henceforth there is laid up for me a crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, shall give me at that day: and not to me only, but unto all them that love his appearing.”

To be at the point of leaving this world and have the knowledge that we’ve been in complete obediance.  This verse hits me in two ways as it not only offers a glimpse of that for which we strive, it also causes reflection on an array of past failures.  May such verses as this one cause us to repent of any half-heartedness and to do all that we can for the kingdom of God.  May we so love the Lord Jesus and so look for a city made without hands that we consider all that is in this world as debris.  That our primary desire would be to serve the God wholeheartedly and to be good ambassadors for the Lord Jesus Christ.  To see the lost through the eyes of Jesus and understand the eternal significance of the decisions made here.  Not just in head knowledge but in all sincerety. 

I have to go for now.  If I was of a wise character, I would resort to a more abreviated form of blogging; at least for the summer.  Being on third shift and the kids being home all day causes me to rush things together more than in times past.  The things that I write on are things which are much on my heart, yet finding time to put it all down is a real challenge.  The times are critical and the return of Jesus is closer today than it was yesterday.  I pray that we would have a song in our heart as we ponder the moment when this corruptible puts on incorruption and this mortal puts on immortality. 

I Corinthians 15:58  “Therefore, my beloved brethren, be ye steadfast, unmovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, forasmuch as ye know that your labour is not in vain in the Lord.”

11 comments

  1. Thanks for the encouraging words.


  2. Good post Timbob,
    So we lay aside every weight and the sin that so easily besets us, running with patience the race before us, yes! By Jesus grace and His alone for in and of ourselves we will falter, but He is our salvation.
    May we all be serious about our walk, and take the time to love and worship Jesus as we ought, for it is in His love the strength and desire to lay down our lives is found.

    I sent you an email with that contact info and pray it will lead you to some like minded folk in your area!

    Blessings to you,

    Susan


  3. Greetings Rhonda. always great to hear from you. Keeping you and all in prayer.

    have a blessed evening in Christ.


  4. Greetings susan. This is another subject where I feel incredibly inadequate to even discuss it. yet I know that we need to have such steadfast commitment. The importance of it cannot be emphasized enough.

    Thanks for the site address for “Revivalschool.” I filled out the “new user” information and it should be activated within 24 hours. I did visit the regional section and saw mention of a Romanian Pentecostal church over by Dteroit. They mentioned bro Geno from Hand of Help ministries being there for a service. Thanks again for the information and for stopping in here.

    have a blessed evening in Christ.


  5. hi timbob. i haven’t been blogging as much as before. i hope you are well and just wanted to pop by and wish you a blessed weekend. may He remove all the burdens that you’re carrying.


  6. Thank you for this work.

    God Bless you.

    Steve.

    http://newpsalms.wordpress.com/


  7. Hi Timbob,

    Just wanted to stop by and wish you a Happy Father’s Day. May you have a truly wondeful day.

    Blessings,

    Carol


  8. Greetings inhisgrace. Great to hear from you again. I pray that all is going well with you and your family. Thanks so much for stopping by.

    Have a blessed day in Jesus.


  9. Greeting Steve. Great to hear from you also. I always look forward to your posts and really have missed them. I pray that things are going well for all in your household.

    Have a blessed day in Christ.


  10. Greetings Carol and thank you. Tomorrow also is my wifes birthday. Thanks for taking time to stop in.

    Have a blessed day in Christ.


  11. Tim, the reason I sent that address is that we met quite a few people from Michigan at one of Andrews conferences a few years ago, one of the only conferences I have ever attended, as seemed true for almost everyone there!
    I thought maybe he could help connect you with some people out your way. I’ve only looked at the website once or twice, so I’m ,not sure what’s all on there but Richard likes to read their emails.
    Anyway, Jesus grace and peace to you always!.

    Blessings,
    Susan



Leave a Reply

