h1

Looking Unto Jesus

June 20, 2007

 Before starting, I want to make mention of an incredible post at www.pasturescott.wordpress.com/2007/06/19/800-pacos/    This is a telling account as to the level of despair that is in the world and how needful it is that we be a city that is set up on a hill. 

John 12:44-46  “Jesus cried and said, He that believeth on me, believeth not on me, but on him that sent me.  And he that seeth me seeth him that sent me.  I am come a light into the world, that whosoever believeth on me should not abide in darkness.”

The gospel of John is such an incredible telling of the testimony of Jesus Christ and has the most detailed acount of his final moments before laying down his life for us.  Chapters 13 through 17 are packed with insight as Jesus is providing much needed understanding to his disciples; not only to those who were with him that night, but to all who should believe on him throughout the centuries to come.  One thing that has really been brought home to me as of late is found in chapter 15.  It’s a very familiar passage, and yet a needful one as we can so easily wander into mechanics without being aware that it’s  happening. 

John 15:5  “I am the vine, ye are the branches: He that abideth in me, and I in him, the same bringeth forth much fruit: for without me ye can do nothing.”

Our relationship with Jesus is one of absolutes.  Without Christ we can do nothing.  Through Christ, we can do all things.  Our dependancy upon the Lord Jesus is absolute.  When we try to do things on our own or through the eyes of common sense and logic, it will almost inevitably end in disaster.  When we apply physical reasoning to spiritual situations, we will usually end up with a catastrophic chain of events in which we will have to call out to the Lord “Save me” just as Peter did when walking upon the water.  With priceless souls all around us and eternity fast approaching; it’s an absolute must that we abide in Christ and seek him completely.  That we lay aside our own agenda and in all sincerety pray “Lord; thy will be done.” 

I bring this up because of some situations which have come up in my life.  Situations which could have resulted in decisions which could have caused an almost irreversable scattering.  In relationships with those who are outside the household of faith, oftentimes our biggest struggle can be with ourselves.  Those who are not born again are only doing what comes naturally in a fallen world.  We must abide in Christ and seek walk in the Spirit at all times.  Being instant in season and out; always ready to be used of God whenever a divine appointment crosses our path.  (especially the ones that sneak up on us.  They seem to appear from out of nowhere and disappear just as quickly)  

The past few days have been a time of stretching.  Of realizing just how carnal some of my thinking has been and just how needful it is to abide continually in Christ.  To say what needs to be said when it needs to be said and to know when to just be still and know that the Lord is doing a work behind the scenes.  A lot of times; at least in my case, is a sense of urgency concerning the lateness of the hour which can lead to saying or doing things before going to the Lord first.  We know of the unparalleled glory of the world to come for all who are in Christ, the unimaginable horrors of an eternity separated from God,  the lateness of the hour, and loved ones camped out with the multitudes in the valley of decision.  This can result in a “panic mode” setting in and causing us to say or do things at the wrong time.   

Likewise, we can become so complacent that we do nothing.  (I’ve been guilty of this too)  Many don’t see the lateness of the hour and as such are marking time while pursuing the things of this life.  Both situations can lead to bad decision making with eternal consequences.   It is imperative that we abide continually in Jesus.  He doesn’t require us to set up an appointment as he abides with us always.  We need only to seek him in all sincerety; worshipping him in spirit and in truth while being in a state of continual obediance.  The old song “Trust and Obey” says it all. 

I need to be going here, but two things, in addition to the above have really been made real to me as of late.  One is just how damaging runaway foolishness is.  It was a battle for years and in hindsight I can see enumerable opportunities which were squandered in favor of generating laughs.  I can’t adequately explain just how greatful I am over this victory.  It still requires diligence and, once again, abiding in Christ to know when something is out of bounds. (Because the line between humor and foolishness is oftentimes hard to detect) 

Another piece of understanding comes from a more prophetic angle.  I have always been intersted in end-times prophesy; primarily because we are in those times.  Yet an over-focusing on such things, or a “fill-in-the-blanks” method of prophetic study can lead one to a looking after things coming upon the earth instead of looking to Jesus who will be with us through anything.  I’ve done it in times past; become so fixated on events to come as to think that I’m watching when in fact, my focus had become sidetracked.  Prophesy is a fascinating topic and I find myself often asking the age old question “How long O Lord?”  Once again, as in all things, it’s needful to abide in Christ, love him wholeheartedly, obey without wavering and hold fast the profession of our faith.    

Hebrews 12:2-3  Looking unto jesus the author and finisher of our faith; who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is set down at the right hand of the throne of God.  For consider him that endured such contradiction of sinners against himself, lest ye be wearied and faint in your minds.”    

Well I must go for now.  I hope that the above isn’t too confusing and if anything is stated improperly, please call me on it.  Until next time, I wish to all a great day in the Lord Jesus Christ.

3 comments

  1. “Another piece of understanding comes from a more prophetic angle. I have always been intersted in end-times prophesy; primarily because we are in those times.”

    Me too brother. Sadly, my wife hates talking about it.


  2. ” Without Christ we can do nothing. Through Christ, we can do all things. Our dependency upon the Lord Jesus is absolute. ”

    Amen Timbob, we are so completely dependent on our Lord and Saviour, to do anything on our own is futile. Keep being a loving husband and father and a godly example before your family and pray like you’ve never prayed before! We are praying for you and your family too.

    Have a blessed night there at the plant!

    Susan


  3. I just saw the link, brother, and wanted to thank you for getting the word out and for the kind blessing. Your point about abiding is the great “secret” of the Christian life. Tell it!

    May you feel His great favor on you this day, my friend!



Leave a Reply

