h1

The Winds of Change

June 27, 2007

Ephesians 5:17  “Wherefore be ye not unwise, but understanding what the will of the Lord is. ”

For many, christians and non-christians alike, the concept of change can bring with it a certain amount of anxiety.  We tend to like stability in the theater of atoms in which things move along in a predictable fashion.  Sometimes change is looked forward to; such as when graduating, getting married, or embarking on a career path.  Yet each of these changes bring with them certain elements of predictability.  In each of these seasons, we enter them, having not experienced them as of yet, but knowing what to expect from having observed many of our elders navigate these various seasons of life.  

Unexpected changes which have no roadmap or run contrary to what we consider to be “average” are trying.  Whenever the comfort zone shows signs of possible collapse, the initial response of most is to panic.  In times past, I was a habitual worrier; even though I knew that it was contrary to scripture.  This is one area in which the Lord has granted an incredible victory; the scope of which defies description.  In all honesty, each day is one in which no roadmap has been issued.  We never know what a day may entail or when an event will take place which will render even the best laid plans irrelevant. 

For us, one such moment was when we learned that Matthew was autistic.  Suddenly we were faced with the understanding that our preconceived notions of how the future would unfold were in error.  It’s a situation that is still very trying, but Gods grace is more than sufficient for any situation.  I’ve found myself, on more than one occasion, crying out to God “This is too much!  This is more than I can handle.”  In my own strength it is too much, and yet things are still intact; despite the daily challenges of a 12 year old boy who is nearly as strong as an adult, very calculating, and seems to have an inexhaustable resevoir of “surprises.”  I know that Romans 8:28 is true and that the end result of this will be incredible. 

If there has been one dominant theme on my heart as of late, it’s that of change.   The transpiring of events which will bring to nothing all of the prevailing charts and ten-step-programs.  Phenomenal change in which we will have to “know” that God is our strong tower and refuge.   While most of us are aware that perilous times are upon us and will grow in their intensity, few seem to grasp the lateness of things.  The following is not a “thus saith the Lord” but it’s a sense that I find myself unable to thwart or decline to make mention of at a time when I could just as easily do a post from Psalm 119.    

I really believe that this fall will see the beginning of the end for the status quo that we’ve all become accustomed to.  I could well be wrong as the transpiring of certain events could prolong this present season. (Such as repentance of Ninevah-like proportions.)  I know that I will look like an overzealous person who spends too much time reading apocalyptic web sites; should this sense of urgency be misdirected.  (Urgency is always present as tomorrow in this realm is not promised)  Yet this is really on my heart to the point of being unable to shake it and for this reason I’m posting this.   The following link contains a vision given to Michael Boldea in April of this year as he was ministering in Romania. 

 http://handofhelp.com/vision_55.php 

Even if this fall comes and goes seemingly without incident, change is in the air.  At some point, the status quo for the west will fail and most will be unprepared for these events.  Rampant sin is a reproach to any nation, and sin, unrepented of,  results in death.  This is an unchanging truth and today we see it being played out in almost every facet of society.  The Roman Empire didn’t fall because another kingdom rose up and defeated them in combat.  They fell when the pursuit of immorality became the dominant obsession and little by little, society unravelled, while various tribes from without began to occupy geography.  The western empire simply “dissolved” from the scene.  Ironically, I imagine that there were still Roman soldiers stationed along Hadrians wall while the Visigoths were beseiging Rome.  (Incidentally, the eastern empire didn’t share this demise and it eventually became the Byzantine Empire.)

For the saints of God, we have a strong tower in the Lord Jesus Christ and should not be ovecome by anxiety.  It is imperative that we do all to reach any who have ears to hear.  I know of a few who have ears to hear and seem to be aware of whats coming to pass.  They are always eager to discuss such things.   Yet, as was the case with Lot on the morning of destruction, they seem to be lingering.   It’s as if they’re “almost persuaded” so to speak.  The story of Lot is fascinating; in fact here’s the passage concerning the morning of their departure from Sodom. 

Genesis19:15-16  “And when the morning arose, then the angels hastened Lot, saying, Arise, take thy wife, and thy two daughters, which are here; lest thou be consumed in the iniquity of the city.  And while he lingered, the men laid hold upon his hand, and upon the hand of his wife, and upon the hand of his two daughters; the LORD being merciful unto him: and they brought him forth, and set him without the city.”

They were lingering; packing, drinking tea, taking a stroll down memory lane, whatever.  (We’ve shared a lot of memories in this house)  There are folks today that take note of things and they see the writing on the wall.  Yet the urgency hasn’t set in.  I’ll never forget the words that Phil mentioned in a post around easter time concerning the disciples.  At the moment in which Jesus was betrayed, suddenly the time to prepare was over and the season of endurance was at hand.  I”m convinced that in the days ahead, the transition from preparation season to endurance season could be swift and almost without warning. 

In preparing for the days ahead, there’s no cookie cutter instruction as the Lord has a speciffic plan for each of us.  In other words, if the Lord wrote out each of our instructions on a tablet and distributed them to us; if we compared tablets, none of them would read the same.  None of them would be contrary to the word of God either.  This is the reason for the initial passage of scripture.

Following this paragraph is a physical preparation link for perilous times.  I know that some are being led to make such preparations; be it for the sake of their own family or those whom the Lord may bring by in the times ahead.  It’s a page from Steve Quayles site where one can find a lot of information on physical preparations.  As in all things, it’s needful to be in prayer over such things as opposed to just doing something because someone else is doing it.  As for me, I Timothy 5:8 is continuously at the forefront of my mind and as such certain things are in motion.   

 www.stevequayle.com/News.alert/06_Prep_tips/06_Prep.index.html 

Far more important than any preparations in the physical realm is to be prepared spiritually.  To be in close to the Lord Jesus and ready to move, stay, run, speak, endure, hold the fort, whatever he would have us do.  To abide under the shadow of his wings and not become amazed at what’s taking place in the physical.  His perfect peace will remain with us, even in the face of the most astonishing of events.  Isaiah 26:3 has only one condition attached to it.  That one condition is that we keep our mind upon the Lord. 

Well, this post has taken two days and has seen several changes.  Another thing that is on my heart is how much longer the season of blogging will last.  I know that the time of conclusion is near; something for which I suddenly have peace about.  (This is incredible because I really like blogging)  July 22 will mark the one year anniversary; the first two and a half months being over on blogger.  At the moment, I’m minded to continue until July 22 and then either stop or go into a more passive form of blogging.  (Like once a month or so)  I spend a lot of time in front of the computer and there’s an overpowering urgency, to utilize much of this time for prayer.  This has been an incredible season of growth and it’s not over yet.  I love everyone that I’ve met here and all are on my prayer list.  In fact it seems that this is the needful thing to be focusing on; to be fervently praying for the saints. 

Well I’ll close for now.  Until next time, I wish for all to have a blessed day in Christ.

Revelation 19:5-9  “And a voice came out of the throne, saying, Praise our God, all ye his servants, and ye that fear him, both smal and great.  And I heard as it were the voice of a great multitude, and as the voice of many waters, and as the voice of mighty thunderings, saying, Alleluia: for the Lord God omnipotent reigneth.  Let us be glad and rejoice, and give honour to him: for the mariage of the Lamb is come, and his wife hath made herself ready.  And to her was granted that she should be arrayed in fine linen, clean and white: for the fine linen is the righteousness of saints.  And he saith unto me, Write, Blessed are they which are called unto the marriage supper of the lamb.  And he saith unto me, These are the true sayings of God.”

Revelation 22:17  “And the Spirit and the bride say, Come.  And let him that heareth say, Come.  And let him that is athirst come.  And whosoever will, let him take the water of life freely.”

6 comments

  1. Hi Timbob!

    I understand what you mean about being in front of the computer so much! I am convicted about that very thing, as I am hard-pressed to get much of anything else done around this house! I will miss your frequent postings though!

    And the urgency of which you speak is churning within me that I need to be about the LORD’s business more than I need to sit in front of this computer.

    Well, I’m going to go check out those links you posted. Blessings to you, Timbob!

    Marie


  2. I should have said, now I’ve gotta get up and clean this house! 😀


  3. Timbob, you reminded me of my worries. Since I walk with the Lord I left my worries alone or should I say they left me alone. Everything that pops up, I surrender it to God and let Him take care of it, and I have to say this works just fine for me. I am not so stressed out anymore 🙂

    Great Post as usual

    Love Andrea


  4. Greetings Marie. Actually it’s been on my heart for a while, but I like blogging so much that I disregarded what I know is my being redirected into other things. First, making preparations for my household who currently believe that the current state of things will just go on forever. Second and more significant is the need to spend more time in the prayer closet. Lord willing, I’m planning to blog until July 22 and after that post on the 22nd of each month or so. (Or however things go) Thanks for taking time to stop by. It’s always a blessing to hear from you. Please feel free to e-mail anytime and I will do the same.

    Have a blessed day in Jesus


  5. Greetings Andrea. We definately have nothing to fear; knowing that the Lord Jesus will never leave us nor forsake us. One thing that has always amazed me about psalm 91 is that the Lord will protect his own while chaos is taking place right next to them. He doesn’t require large chunks of real estate or favorable circumstances to take care of those who place their trust in him. He only requires that we trust him. What an awesome peace and most of all, what an awesome salvation through Jesus Christ. Thanks for stopping by.

    Have a most blessed day in Jesus.


  6. Hi Tim-
    I haven’t been blogging much because I am getting ready to go to South Africa in 23 days!!!
    On a side note-
    I tagged you so you are it!

    Here are the rules:
    Those Tagged will share 5 things they dig about Jesus.
    Those tagged will tag 5 other bloggers.
    Those tagged will provide a link in the comments section here with their name so that others can read them.

    Hehe-
    Rachel



Leave a Reply

