h1

Closer Than a Brother

September 19, 2007

John 14:15-18  “If ye love me, keep my commandments.  And I will pray the Father, and he shall give you another Comforter, that he may abide with you for ever; even the Spirit of truth whom the world cannot receive, because it seeth him not, neither knoweth him: but ye know him; for he dwelleth in you, and shall be in you.  I will not leave you comfortless: I will come to you.”

There are so many lessons in this passage but the main thing that is needful at the moment is the understanding that the Lord is with us 24/7.  The book of Matthew concludes with Jesus telling his disciples “and lo, I am with you alway, even unto the end of the world. Amen.”  All of us struggle to one degree or another, to get this truth into our heart of hearts.  We fully understand the mechanics, yet really grasping what it means can be another matter.  He is with us when we are awake and when we are asleep.  He’s with us when we are about our Fathers business and when we are engaged in runaway horseplay.  He’s with us when all is smooth sailing and he’s with us on the darkest night when the waves of tribulation tower over head.  He is a very present help in trouble and will never leave us nor forsake us. 

I’m convinced that if we would grasp this “continuous fellowship” with the Lord Jesus, it would be so much easier to be about the things that have eternal implications such as reaching the lost and being obediant in every area of life.  Likewise, the peace of God that passes all understanding will be ever present as we have our conversation, affections and treasure in heaven.  I know that this sounds really basic and it may appear that I’m just trying to keep the blog current while awaiting the new computer at home.  (I’ll be a cyber-refugee for a few more days)  Yet this is imperative.  The more spiritually minded we are, the easier it is to let go of the wood hay and stubble that tends to occupy way too much of our time. 

An example that came to mind one day was that of driving down the road.  If my best friend was in the truck, I would be talking up a storm.  (Richard, Susan, and Phil can testify to my problem of talking nonstop)  Yet when we’re driving alone we tend to crank up the radio and bee-bop to “whatever.”  The Lord Jesus is right there, just as our friend was in the previous example, but we tend to not think of it.  This thought transformed my driving habits as it has become a favorite prayer time.  In addition, I get less frustrated at people who “text while driving”  (although I do it also)  This is not to say that distractions never come up.  It’s ever so easy to be in prayer and suddenly the mind drifts off into the next county.  (Mundane County.  It lies just south of Grace County lol) 

In a nutshell, we need to keep our hearts on the Lord Jesus.  To know that he is always with us, that the Spirit of truth abides in us, and to maintain a state of continuous fellowship with him.   This world is in the final phase before the return of Jesus and we can expect unparalleled upheaval coupled with unimaginable deception.  We “must” abide close to the Lord Jesus and by reason of use, have our senses exercised to discern both good and evil.  (Hebrews 5:14)

Well, I’ll be going for now.  Lord willing, I’ll try to do some commenting tonight during our lunch break.  One thing that I must be careful of when internet service is restored at home is to not allow blogging to be consuming as it was in times past.  I want to stay current and in touch with everyone here, however, three to four hours per day was a little excessive.  Until the next time, I wish to all a most blessed day in Jesus.

8 comments

  1. What a wonderful sermon I think it was great. I am working on my blog site and ran across this what a blessing. In the name of Jesus Pastor Katherine Johnson


  2. Unbroken fellowship with our Lord.
    What a blessing!!
    Yes, Paul made a clear distinction between being ‘alive’ in the Spirit, and ‘walking’ in the Spirit.

    The former is where it starts, but praise God that we need not stop there.

    A most important element to maintaining this unbroken fellowship is the functioning and operation of the various members of the body of Christ.

    I honestly believe that is why so many of us spen so much time online!

    The internet has become a tool to find and ‘fellowship’ with other functioning members of the Body.
    Because the virtual universe is so vast, we are able to easily locate operating members and compose our own virtual ‘bodies’ (via the ‘blogrolls’ and such’) and find ourselves giving and recieving here.

    Now if this isn’t a sign of the way church is supposed to be, then I don’t know what is!!

    Bless you brother,
    YOU ARE IN CHRIST!!!
    🙂
    Praise the Lord!


  3. AMEN Timbob! AMEN

    I also use my driving time as a special prayertime. I always talk to the Lord and we get so much done in these conversations!
    I agree with you to stay current with us, but not to an overload of four hours a day.
    Right now I blog perhaps twice a week or so, but on the computer I am no longer than an hour a day!

    I have to say though I really miss your comments and your posts!

    Love and Blessings onto you and yours
    In Christ Jesus
    Andrea


  4. i’ll read it later. just wanted to say i’m praying for you and your family


  5. Hey there timbob, good post!
    What a comfort to know our Lord Jesus is always with us as His Spirit lives within us, to lead and guide us into all truth; to be our comfort and ever present help in time of need.
    Blessings as you continue to walk in His presence and grace every day!
    And welcome back. ( in moderation! ) 🙂
    Susan


  6. What a great post and a tremendous reminder of the presence of God. Thank you.


  7. Hi Timbob,

    I’ve used those alone times in the car before too in prayer and worship. I agree that if we would be more mindful of the presence of God being so close, that we would focus more on the things that are really important in God’s eyes. Thanks for this reminder to continue to seek Him!


  8. Amen, Brother!! Thank you for your edifying thoughts and the time you spend writing such wonderful truths. God Bless and Keep You.



Leave a Reply

