h1

Somewhere Between the Earth and Home

September 27, 2007

Matthew 6:21  “For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.”

Hebrews 13:14  “For here have we no continuing city, but we seek one to come.”

Way back when I first began blogging, (a whole 14 months ago, lol) the title of my first site, initially, was “Everlasting Fellowship.”  It was intended to relay the truth that we will be forever with the Lord Jesus and each other.  That this world is ever so temporary and our participation in this theater of atoms continues on a “day-by-day” basis.  Yet it seems that so many of us burden ourselves with divers weights and affections for this temporal life.  Things that may seem harmless on the outside, however they lure us away until we inadvertantly leave our first love and ultimately pierce ourselves through with many sorrows. 

Two weeks ago, our pastor mentioned a statistic (He must have a manual on statistics because he utilizes them often) concerning those who have won a substantial amount of money in the various lotteries.  In the vast majority of cases, five years after the accululation of the so-called “stuff that dreams are made of” they are in worse shape than beforetime and their lives in complete disarray.  Too often families are dissolved, therapy sessions become a weekly encounter, and substance abuse becomes commonplace. The flesh is never satisfied, the eyes are never full, and lust for the things of this world will lead one to ruin.  The following verse says it perfectly:

Proverbs 30:7-9  “Two things have I required of thee; deny them not before I die:  Remove far from me vanity and lies: give me neither poverty nor riches; feed me with food convenient for me:  Lest I be full, and deny thee, and say, Who is the LORD? or lest I be poor, and steal, and take the name of my God in vain.”

A perfect perspective from Agur who understands the pitfalls associated with heaping to ourselves wood, hay, and stubble.  One whose affections are on the Holy One of Israel and who realizes that our time here is ever so brief. 

From the hour that we first believe, we begin a most fascinating journey.  An epic journey of daily becoming less like us and more like Christ.  The valleys can be deep, the growing pains intense, and sometimes we cannot see two feet in front of us.  The pitfalls are everywhere and we may often find ourselves at our wits end.  (When we reach our wits end, it’s then that the Lord can really use us)  Yet as we draw ever closer to the Lord and learn to just trust and obey, his perfect peace and joy far exceeds all of treasures of this life.  Increasingly, the “bells and whistles” of this world lose their appeal as we long to be absent from the body and present with the Lord.   Our desire becomes primarily to reach the city made without hands and take as many folks with us as we can. 

I Peter 1:9  “Receiving the end of your faith, even the salvation of your souls.” 

Today is September 27, 2007 and I’m at the house blogging when I should probably be tending to a host of other things.  Yet my heart is in heavenly places with Christ Jesus; longing for the day when this corruption puts on incorruption and this mortal puts on immortality.  Longing for those all around who are still in the valley of decision to come to Jesus while there is still time.  Earnestly desiring that all who are in Christ would grow into the fulness thereof and be a city set on a hill for those who are searching. 

This thought has been with me also.  We desire, ever increasingly, to finish the race.  To reach our expected end and be forever with the Lord.  Yet when our time here is complete, our resume will be complete also.  We’ll have no more opportunities to reach out to those who are undone, no more opportunities to give a glass of water or visit one who is in prison.  No more time to be about our Fathers business.  I have squandered more time in the past than I care to think about and lost opportunities rarely present themselves a second time.  I pray that we all would be diligent in utilizing the time remaining to be about those things which really matter.

Last Saturday, we (Kimberly, Morgan, and myself) were coming home at a very late hour.  Travelling down North River road we rounded a corner and there stood a middle aged lady hitchhiking. (this is in the middle of nowhere) As I pondered stopping, Kimberly and Morgan freaked out.  “Don’t even think it!  She might be armed!”  They were panicked at the thought of possible danger and self-preservation kicked into high gear.  (People NEVER hitchhike on North River road.)  Reluctantly, I continued on very troubled that we hadn’t stopped.  It was almost numbing and in my spirit, I was nearly certain that if I turned the van back around, there would be nobody standing there. It happened so fast and all I could do after that was pray.  (Prayers always seem hollow in such situations.)

In truth, if we truly have our affections on things above as we should, we’ll be all the more diligent here.  The two go hand in hand.  Love the Lord Jesus wholeheartedly and love our neighbors as ourselves.  Giving all the more diligence to those things which have everlasting ramifications as every soul is eternal and Jesus shed his blood for all. 

Well the goats are feeling the effects of the new computer because they haven’t been fed yet and its after 9:30.  I can see that it’s going to be a daily battle to keep from spending an excessive amount of time here, but I’ll strive to blog responsibly.  So until the next time, I wish to all a blessed day in Jesus.

Revelation 14:13  “And I heard a voice from heaven saying unto me, Write, Blessed are the dead which die in the Lord from henceforth:  Yea, saith the Spirit, that they may rest from their labours; and their works do follow them.”

7 comments

  1. Great post timbob! The following hits home today:

    “From the hour that we first believe, we begin a most fascinating journey. An epic journey of daily becoming less like us and more like Christ. The valleys can be deep, the growing pains intense, and sometimes we cannot see two feet in front of us. The pitfalls are everywhere and we may often find ourselves at our wits end. (When we reach our wits end, it’s then that the Lord can really use us) Yet as we draw ever closer to the Lord and learn to just trust and obey, his perfect peace and joy far exceeds all of treasures of this life. ”

    The love, peace and joy of the Lord are the greatest treasures of all; along with true fellowship with other believers.

    To see souls come to Christ; born anew of the Spirit, and to watch them grow; what a blessing and joy! And the process continues, ever learning, ever growing; from glory to glory being conformed into the image of our dear Saviour.

    Blessings to you Tim, and remember; moderation in all things, even blogging! 🙂

    Susan


  2. God bless you brother!
    I can hear your heart and it’s good.
    May you and yours be blessed,
    Richard


  3. Hey Timbob! Very good post!

    You got me to thinking about the suffering that comes in order to bring us closer to Christ. I can remember in my younger days being so rebellious when things were not under my control. I lost out on much growth I am sure the LORD was wanting to do in me.

    But, thank God, He is faithful and continued to teach and bring sufferings and enlightenment through Saints who have gone before, such as Jeanne Guyon. Through reading about her life and sufferings, the light bulb finally went off in my head. Sufferings=fellowship.

    While I don’t invite suffering, I am confident now, that the LORD Jesus Himself carries us through and invites us to rest in Him through the storm. What a hard lesson to learn, but oh, so worth it!

    Well, anyway, I know your post was not about this, but somehow, it was confirmation to my spirit that no matter what comes our way, He is always there to hold us up and teach and grow us as you state – into less fleshly oriented to more Christlike. The journey of a lifetime!!!


  4. The Lord is enough and the Lord provides enough.
    This is wealth in itself!

    He is our satisfaction!!!

    I like where it says “…give me neither poverty nor riches;”

    Paul understood this as he said “I know how to both abound and also be without, but in all things I know how to be content”.

    When we find our satisfaction in the Lord, ‘stuff’ really loses it’s power over us.


  5. “In truth, if we truly have our affections on things above as we should, we’ll be all the more diligent here. ”

    I’ve learnt this lesson quite hard over the past year or two with having my youngest stepdaughter living with me (she’s just moved out recently for a while tho). At 25 she was working 3 jobs but somehow still never seemed to have any money to give me for her “keep”. She did buy a lot of her own food, pay her phone money and any other specific bills, but just never regular payments towards the basics like electricity etc. Nor did she ever consider doing the slightest bit of housework or helping me despite my being quite disabled and in chronic pain. And so I used to gripe to myself much of the time and continually moan and complain to the Lord about what I perceived to be this wrong situation and her utterly selfish attitude etc. But the Lord took me in hand and taught me a tough lesson – while my friends/family kept telling me I should make her do x, y or z, and pay up or move out etc, He was telling me that her being with me was for a higher purpose than just having a roof over her head. And thus I wasn’t to look on the situation in the way the world demanded I do, but rather to accept the fact that He was providing for both our needs (I certainly never felt financially insecure at any point) and He was working in her life which was far more important. Once I accepted that His Way was the right way rather than worrying about what everyone else thought, it truly changed the entire situation and my whole relationship with her improved 10 fold, and I know beyond any doubt she will make her commitment to Him in the very near future.

    So while it can be extremely tough to do, I think He would have us remember that His Way is NOT what we’ve maybe been taught even by our parents or society and sometimes we have to change our entire thinking, but in so doing, we release something that changes each situation we face. Thanks for reminding me of the important things in my walk with Him, Tim. Blessings, TKR 🙂 .


  6. Greetings to all. I’m a little late in responses for which I apolagize.

    Susan: It indeed is a journey that never seems to quite go as anticipated. In hindsight, many decisions or circumstances which seemed disasterous initially have worked out for a greater purpose. I can’t help but think of Joseph. Sold by his brothers, lied about by Mrs. Potipher, and forgotten by the butler. Yet in the end, he was in the right [place at the right time and all of the pieces came together for the preservation of life.

    Richard: I wish blessings on you and your family as well. How did the move go this weekend?

    Marie: There are so many instances where persecution or trials are coupled with the joy of the Lord. I too have missed out on much because I didn’t grasp this. (perhaps I still don’t but it’s much clearer than in times past.) My years of rebellion come to mind but I praise God for the lessons learned. Indeed we don’t invite the storms but we can trust that Jesus will carry us through them.

    Brother Johnny: Amen to our sufficiency being in Christ. Yesterday our pastor mentioned that how we view eternity will determine how we behave here. The more our thoughts are on those things of everlasting ramifications, the more we will be about our fathers business instead of seeking the baser elements of this life.

    Ha Tikvah: Your comment spoke to me more than you can imagine. We have a similar situation as our oldest daughter is not going to school, not trying to get a job; just “hanging out” and consuming. Yet the fact that an eternal soul is in the balance makes the surface situation seem quite irrelevant. I needed to be reminded of this again this morning and your comment is very timely. Thanks.

    Thanks to all who took time to comment. I wish to all a blessed day in Jesus.


  7. very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce



Leave a Reply

