h1

Pray All Day

October 15, 2007

I Timothy 2:8  “I will that men pray every where, lifting up holy hands, without wrath and doubting.”

James 5:16  “Confess your faults one to another, and pray one for another, that ye may be healed.  The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much.”

I carry, at all times in my left back pocket, a little black book.  Not the kind of book that a single guy has when he’s “playing the field” so to speak.  This is a pocket sized composition notebook, made in China and distributed by Wal Mart.  The first several pages contain assorted bible verses, miscellaneous notes, ideas for blogs, and what have you.  Following the latest recording, it has several blank pages until the middle where it naturally opens.  This is where the prayer list begins. 

Because it’s getting worn out, this weekend, I began transferring everything into a new composition notebook, made in China and distributed by Wal Mart.  It began to really hit me as to just how much need there is.  This ever-lengthening list contains names of people from every venue that one can imagine.  Saved people, not-yet-saved people, family members, friends, navy brethren, bloggers, (lots of bloggers) people that I see every day, people whom I’ve never met but I know that they exist, pastors, evangelists, missionaries, American Axle employees, saints from the local fellowship, and a guy whose in the Michigan Militia. 

Each name representing a soul who is in touch with hundreds of other souls.  Each one created in the image of God.  Each one, targeted by the devil and his minions who seek to kill and destroy.  All of them, both saved and not-yet-saved, in need of fervent prayer.  The needs are as varied as the personalities, and yet for every need Jesus Christ is the answer.  When I ponder the fact that my ever-lengthening prayer list doesn’t even make up a single drop in the ocean of need, it becomes obvious that we should spend every possible moment in prayer.  Every available moment fellowshipping with the Lord Jesus who is “always” as close as the mention of his name.

Philippians 4:6  “Be careful for nothing, but in every thing by prayer, and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God.”

Yesterday morning, Pastor Troyer gave a much-needed message on prayer.  He explained how it’s needed for the saints to be empowered, unified, and accountable to each other.  How it brings us closer to the Lord, closer to each other, and accomplishes the furtherance of the kingdom.  I have to admit that I don’t always utilize time with the utmost efficiency regarding this.  The mind likes to take “vacations” at the most inopportune moments it seems.  Yet we must take it seriously and cast down imaginations which exalt themselves.  This is compounded by the continual bombardment of the world which has every hurtful lust coupled with cutting-edge technology to work with.   

The vast array of needs represented in my little black book (that sounds so weird) show just how important it is to not squander time frivilously.  This will sound like the words of one who needs therapy, however, I praise God for a “monotonous second shift job.”  The repetitive nature of work at AAM makes for some awesome prayer time.  Likewise, I’m home during the day while the kids are at school and my wife at the daycare which makes for even more awesome prayer time.  While I would prefer to be on first shift due to the lack of family time that I have now, the current situation has definate advantages. 

Luke 6:12  “And it came to pass in those days, that he went out into a mountain to pray, and continued all night in prayer to God.”

Jesus Christ, by whom the worlds were created, spent all night prayer with the Father.  This shows just how important it is.  I think that too often, we don’t really grasp the importance of prayer because we may not see the results right away.  We may spend great amounts of time praying for someone and when we don’t see any movement, we tend to let the need slowly slip from memory.  Or a situation that we’re praying about may seem to deteriorate even further.   It’s another reason to be spiritually minded and understand that spiritual warfare is at play and strongholds are coming down.  These things take place largely outside of our observation. 

As recently as this past summer, there was someone that, every time I lifted them up in prayer, things got worse.  (Every Time!)  Because of much fervent prayer to the Lord Jesus by a number of people, (including many in the blogger realm) that stronghold is now brought down.  The enemy still tries to make havoc of the situation, however a remarkable victory has transpired; a victory that keeps fascinating me and causing me to rejoice.  “Jesus is the answer and we never know when victory is just around the corner. 

Luke 18:1-8  (The parable of the unjust judge)

To pray without ceasing.  to grasp the spiritual and not be swayed by what we see or hear.  To be persistant; just as the widow lady in the parable mentioned above.  To have such a love for Jesus that we follow hard after quality time with him.  Not only to bring petitions, but to just be in his presence.  We need to be in close to the Lord.  Likewise those who are camping in the valley of decision need us to be close to the Lord.  That we may present the gospel of Jesus Christ as we ought. 

Well, It’s been a long time since I did a blog all-nighter.  It’s after 4:00am and I must wrap this up.  There’s so much that could be said concerning this that it would take several posts to address it.   So I’ll close for now.  I’ll try to get around to commenting more this week; both here and elsewhere.  Until the next time, I wish to all a blessed day in Jesus.

Jude  20-21  “But ye, beloved, building up yourselves on your most holy faith, praying in the Holy Ghost,  Keep yourselves in the love of God, looking for the mercy of our Lord Jesus Christ unto eternal life.” 

This post ties in with one done last month which can be found at the following link: 

www.timbob.wordpress.com/2007/09/19/closer-than-a-brother-2/  

//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

Tuesday, Oct 16,2007  Greetings again.  I saw the following post earlier and it cracked me up.   www.wordforit.wordpress.com/2007/10/15/funnybut-true/  This site is now on the blogroll. 

8 comments

  1. Rejoice Evermore! Pray without ceasing! In everthing give thanks! For this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you! Amen. Wonderful post. I think prayer really is the highest form of worship. And Praise the Lord, we are free to pray and worship whenever and wherever! Thanks for the encouragement today to guard our minds and our hearts in constant prayer.


  2. So, Timbob, when do you sleep? 😀

    You are so right about prayer! I too easily give up when things don’t happen pretty quickly. But your testimony about answered prayer in your household has helped me to keep on in prayer for others no matter how it may look to human eyes.

    Blessings on you and your household!


  3. Greetings. Scotti and Marie. I’m somewhat hypocritical this morning due to blogging late and almost need to write “Sleep All Day.” lol

    Scotti: Thanks for commenting. It is the highest form of worship as we have a longing to be in the presence of the Lord. Placing all else aside to seek him and draw evr closer.

    Marie: Great to hear from you. The changes here are so incredible that, at least once a week or so, my mind is blown. Things have transpired that, in my heart, I don’t honestly think I expected to happen. We’re going to be travelling through Atlanta at the end of December. I know that it’s a long shot, but it would be really cool to meet you and the saints there. (Thus far, every effort to meet other bloggers on this side has fizzled. Not to worry as there will soon be a gathering with no more good-byes. Woohoo!)


  4. My husband was just talking last week about the church(each individual)stepping up our prayer time. God can and wants to do many mighty things, but He has linked himself to our prayers. In a sense, when we don’t pray, we are tying God’s hands, but when we do give ourselves to prayer, the possibilities are endless! Thanks for this reminder to continue in prayer.


  5. Hey Timbob! Cool that you are coming this way! Are you wanting to attend a worship service, a LifeGroup, or maybe just fellowship together at a good restaurant in town. We could probably set up a dinner with Johnny and his wife (I haven’t met them in person yet either and they live within 5 miles of me!), Jerald and myself, and your family.

    I think it will be great to meet you and your family!


  6. It could happen, Marie!

    If y’all want to do it, just give me a little notice…gotta check work schedules and such.

    It would be nice…

    Timbob,

    Thanks for this post.
    The Lord has been reminding me, in various ways lately, of the value of prayer.

    Grace to you and yours.


  7. Timbod when I read your post one word comes to my mind persistance. Prayer takes submitting the flesh and being persistent. Praying is not easy, I believe it is the hardest thing to get a Christian to do regularly. I would like to recommend a book on prayer by Watchman Nee I know some people dont like his writing but he has an excellent book on prayer called “Let us Pray”

    God Bless
    Daniel


  8. Great post,Timbob. “To pray without ceasing” is one of my goals.

    But I do have one question. Why was it necessary to state – not once but twice – that you keep your prayer requests in a notebook, “made in China and distributed by Wal Mart”?



Leave a Reply

