h1

“SOMETIMES you FEEL LIKE A NUT”

November 6, 2007

 Isaiah 29:14  “Therefore, behold, I will proceed to do a marvellous work among this people, even a marvellous work and a wonder: for the wisdom of their wise men shall perish, and the understanding of their prudent men shall be hid.” 

I Corinthians 1:18-19  “For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God.  For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and bring to nothing the understanding of the prudent.” 

Before starting this post, I looked up “nut” in Websters dictionary.  The sixth definition reads “A foolish, eccentric, or crazy person.”  Indeed, to those outside the household of faith, most of us are regarded as somewhat bizarre as we run not with them to the same excess of riot.  It seems that in this age, simply having a clean non-offensive vocabulary raises eyebrows.  And if there’s a nearly continuous sincere smile to go along with it, many will think that either you’re up to something or that you have some really good prescription medications. 

We are at complete odds with the worlds outlook on things.  We love a God whom we do not see and set our affections on things which yield no tangible proof of their being.  We have a supernatural joy that doesn’t rely on physical stimulation.  We love those who seek to destroy us, and yet we love not our own lives in this temporal world.  The treasures which the world holds in high esteem; we count them as dung that we may win Christ.  Many view us as being narrowminded, holier than thou, fanatical, radical, and “just plain crazy.”  (Lately, the term “fundie” has been showing up a lot.) 

As we wholeheartedly love the Lord Jesus and love not our own lives in this world, we are viewed by most as being whacko.  Our natural desire is to be liked by others and as a result, it may seem uncomfortable when others make false characterizations about us.  Erroneous ideas of what a christian is become assigned to us by those residing in the valley of decision.  This is because they have no understanding of the true liberty that we have in Christ.  Freedom from the bondage of sin, victory over the destructive behaviors that are upheld by most as “fun.”  Not too long ago I was in close proximity to a radio that was tuned to a country music station when I heard the chorus “Let’s get drunk and be Somebody.”  A destructive lifestyle being glorified in song.  In the eyes of the unlearned, our faith is often viewed as a system of cants and donts, held together with fear tactics. 

Proverbs 1:7  “The fear of the LORD is the beginning of knowledge: but fools despise wisdom and instruction.”

II Peter 2:12-14  “But these, as natural brute beasts, made to be taken and destroyed, speaking evil of things that they understand not; and shall utterly perish in their own corruption;  And shall receive the reward of unrighteousness, as they that count it pleasure to riot in the day time.  Spots they are and blemishes, sporting themselves with their own deceivings while they feast with you; Having eyes full of adultry, and that cannot cease from sin; beguiling unstable souls: an heart they have exercised with covetous practices; cursed children:”

The above passage contains a boatload of information concerning the dangers of spouting off, not putting away sin, and self-deception.  (Deception: sincerely believing that something is true when it is completely not true)  I’ve read posts which detailed the dangers of professing saints who live a lukewarm lifestyle and it seems to not even bother them.  A few weeks ago, during the course of his message, pastor Troyer made a passing mention of a family who left the fellowship because we’re “too serious.”  In other words, “we’re nuts!”  This passage came to mind; literally, as I was typing the previous sentance:

Romans 5:5  “And hope maketh not ashamed; because the love of God is shed abroad in our hearts by the Holy Ghost which is given unto us.” 

To be joyful in the Lord seems nutty to many.  Even many professing christians fail to understand the incredibleness of the peace of God.  When I was in the navy, I was always amazed at how Mark and Al never seemed to become rattled while I was apprehensive about a host of issues.  I was joyful in the Lord and yet physical trials seemed to rattle me every time.  This is an area of my life that the Lord has wrought an incredible victory.  In the days ahead, we’re going to have to trust the Lord in ways that we curently cannot fathom. 

Well, I’m going to wrap this up for now.  It was on my heart earlier today an so I thought to place it here.  As the age comes to its close, false perceptions will grow, words will become harder, and we will be increasingly at odds with a system that’s being prepared to worship an image and receive a mark.  The time may well come when we’re categorized as having a mental abnormality.  (Think back to the Soviet era)  I’ll close off with the following passage.

Hebrews 10:31-33  “It is a fearful thing to fall into the hands of the living God.  But call to rememberance the former days, in which, after ye were illuminated, ye endured a great flight of afflictions;  Partly wilst ye were made a gazingstock both by reproaches and afflictions; and partly, whilst ye bacame companions of them that were so used.” 

I wish to all a blessed evening in Jesus.

5 comments

  1. If loving Jesus, endeavoring by His grace to live a life that honors Him makes us “A foolish, eccentric, or crazy person” in the eyes of others, then count me in as nut!
    When it comes to mounds bars, I’ll always take the ones with the nuts, as they are the best anyway!

    Blessings to you Timbob, in our precious Lord Jesus!

    Susan


  2. “The Lord has chosen the foolish things…”
    Hallelujah!

    I would rather be a fool for God than a ‘sage’ to men!!


  3. Susan, I vote for mounds with nuts too! It makes the coconut edible! 😀

    This reminds me of the song (by ?) “God’s Own Fool”. I wasn’t real sure of the song the first time I heard it, but, if you really listen to the words, it makes a lot of sense. I hope to be counted as a “fool” for Christ in the coming days as it would seem “foolish” acts may be required.

    Are we prepared to be counted as fools? May it be so!


  4. Greetings. As usual, I’m behind in replying.

    Susan: Thanks for stopping by. Us nuts must stick together; exhorting each other and lifting each other up in prayer. I always get exhorted when I talk to you and richard.

    Bro Johnny: It’s so amazing how the Lord chooses the things which aren’t held in high esteem by the worlds system. Truly no flesh will glory in his presence.

    Marie: I’m not familiar with that song, however, it sounds like a good way to get the point across. It’s amazing how that which the world calls foolish is, in truth, the beginning of wisdom.

    As for the candy bars, I’m not much of a coconut eater, but I remember the old Almond Joy song from when I was a kid. “Sometimes you feel like a nut! Sometimes you don’t!” (This is what happens when making comments at 3:30am)

    I wish to all a blessed day in Jesus.


  5. Praise God I’m a “nut” for Jesus!
    And I really don’t mind it either.
    …”nevertheless I am not ashamed: for I know whom I have believed, and am persuaded that he is able to keep that which I have committed unto him against that day” (2Tim.1:12)
    May God’s grace over flow upon you this day,
    Richard



Leave a Reply

