h1

“FAITHFUL CREATOR”

November 24, 2007

galaxy-one.jpg

Revelation 4:11  “Thou art worthy, O Lord, to receive glory and honour and power: for thou hast created all things, and for thy pleasure they are and were created.”

This is a post primarily for pondering.  Thinking of the sheer magnitude of the God whom we love and live for.  The very one who is from everlasting, to everlasting, has no varience or turning, possesses all wisdom, created all that is, and became a man to pay the sin debt of a fallen world that wasn’t seeking after him.  There simply aren’t words in our vocabulary to accurately portray such a wonderful creator.  When he told Moses “I AM THAT I AM” he made it clear that he is eternal and unwavering.  That’s a very comforting thought; to know that he won’t change overnight. 

So on this weekend after thanksgiving, when most spent their time battling through crowded market places and acquiring that which can never satisfy and will eventually be left behind, I find myself pondering the greatness of our God.  When we have the peace of God in our hearts that passes all understanding, nothing of this world can add to or detract from it.  The joy of the Lord who inhabits all of eternity doesn’t hinge upon a holiday, the economy, the weather, the institutions of others, or anything of this world.  Jesus is with us always, and will remain with us, not only in the peaceful times, but also when the foundations of the world are being shaken.  As the old song goes, “Our God is an Awesome God!”  So here are a few passages that fit into this theme beginning with where I was this afternoon.

Psalm 113:3-5  “From the rising of the sun unto the going down of the same the LORD’S name is to be praised.  The LORD is high above all nations, and his glory above the heavens.  Who is like unto the LORD our God, who dwelleth on high.”

I’m reminded of the days when I would become worked up over theatrics in the geo-political arena.  The simple truth is that God inhabits all of eternity, he sets up nations and he brings nations down.  He establishes one king and brings down another.  Nebuchadnezzar learned this truth when the kingdom was departed from him and he ate grass as the beasts until seven times passed over.  (Equally incredible is that his kingdom was returned to him.)  I know that this sounds “really elementary” but I think it’s needful; to be mindful of how incredible God really is.  To see things from a spiritual perspective and pray that our eyes would be opened to things as they are and not as they appear in the physical.  This brings to mind some other passages.

John 1:3  “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.  The same was in the beginning with God.  All things were made by him; and without him was not any thing made that was made.”

Hebrews 11:3  “Through faith we understand that the worlds were framed by the word of God, so that things which are seen were not made by things which do appear.”

All that is; the earth, the sun, the planets, and even the far-flung galaxies which are speeding away at an increasing pace, were created by God.  (This continual acceleration in the expansion of the universe has astro-physicists baffled and a plethura of theories exist in an attempt to explain it.  Perhaps Revelation 20:11 could offer some insight)  It’s amazing that the most educated in this field of study run into one astronomical conundrum after another in trying to piece it all together, and yet cling, with a childlike faith, to the big-bang theory.  A theory that, if it were true, would have the universe expanding at the same rate.  All of the matter would be in the form of a shell; thereby revealing the exact location of this big bang.  Without a doubt, God brings to nothing the understanding of the prudent and no flesh will glory in his presence.

Isaiah 57:15  “For thus saith the high and lofty One that inhabiteth eternity, whose name is Holy; I dwell in the high and holy place, with him also that is of a contrite and humble spirit, to revive the spirit of the humble, and to revive the heart of the contrite ones.”

He inhabits eternity with those who are humble and sincere.  Those who are born of the Spirit are seated in heavenly places with Christ.  When we truly begin to grasp this, the lusts of the world lose all of their appeal.  As we draw ever closer to Jesus, it becomes increasingly difficult to get excited over the temporal things of this world.  A few moments ago, I texted Richard ( www.rjperalta.wordpress.com ) with words to the effect that “I’m betwixt!  This world is getting stranger and I long to be with the Lord!”  It’s how I feel.  My only desire in this world is to work for the furtherance of the kingdom of God.  That souls would come to Jesus before it’s too late.  To gather and not scatter.  We’re in this world, but our hearts should not be attached to this world. 

I Peter 4:19  “Wherefore let them that suffer according to the will of God commit the keeping of their souls to him in well doing, as unto a faithful Creator.”

A faithful Creator.  What an incredible salvation that we have through Jesus Christ; who paid for our sins with his own blood.  “He was in the world, and the world was made by him, and the world knew him not.”  I know that this post is written kind of haphazardly, but this has been on my mind all day.  Why do we obsess over the temporal things of this life when we know Jesus.  The flesh can never satisfy, the dramas of this life can never offer fulfilment, and football is “just a game.”  Ten thousand years from now, however, long after the last touchdown has been made, the last political speech presented, and the last automobile has rolled off the assembly line, we shall be forever with Jesus. 

The assembly line.  A couple of years ago, I was in working in department 94 which is the final assembly line for the GM truck axles.  This very thought came to mind.  I was looking back up the line which was filled with axles, each at a different phase of completion when I began pondering “what will be going on when the final axle comes down this line?”  There will be a “final axle” at some point.  There will be a final axle, a final dinner, a final post, a final holiday season, and a final election (providing the final election hasn’t already taken place)  Yet when this world is nothing but a memory, we will be forever with the Lord Jesus, singing songs which are so incredible that they are simply beyond this earthly realm. 

Well, I’ll close for now.  I’m certain that some editing is in order, but I’m tired and must get to bed.  I wanted to go to Job chapters 38 through 40, but I’m already heading for 1200 words on this.  So I’ll conclude with this final passage:

Hebrews 1:14  “God, who at sundry times and in divers manners spake in time past unto the fathers by the prophets, Hath in these last days spoken unto us by his Son, whom he hath appointed heir of all things, by whom also he made the worlds;  Who being the brightness of his glory, and the express image of his person, and upholding all things by the word of his power, when he had by himself purgedf our sins, sat down on the right hand of the Magesty on high;  Being made so much better than the angels, as he hath by inheritance obtained a more excellent name than they.” 

14 comments

  1. Awesome post as ever Tim and reminds me of how I got into scripture in a huge way 3 years ago when I stumbled upon KHouse and Chuck Missler. I’d listened to some of his talks for a while and then decided to maybe look at one of his actual studies and chose Genesis. Little did I know how the Lord was going to “blow my mind” through that study – I’m well versed with Genesis like most Christians, but the way in which Chuck M walked me through it was just amaazing to say the least as he brought in those same topics of astrophysics, biochemistry, botany, astronomy – every science you can think of and then some along with some electroengineering concepts and applied each of them to the first chapter – took me something like 2 days to work through just the first 2-3 verses, and 2 weeks to work through the first chapter at the end of which I was utterly captivated. Despite having studied biology to degree level I was educated in a whole new way and shown mysteries unravelled from the mathmathical and geometry of nature down to black holes – he talks about the lot in respect of Genesis and takes you on a tour of the whole of scripture in that teaching. But overall it gave me an even bigger picture of the magnitude of our Awesome God and we STILL have absolutely NO comprehension of his magnitude no matter how we try to imagine it. When you look at the sheer intelligence of man and then think that God has provided it to them (no matter what they want to think!) and that His own intelligence is a zillion times larger and greater than the greatest thing we could ever even imagine let alone undertake – it’s just breath taking and is shown all around us in His awesome creation. Thanks for reminding me about it all over again. Blessings, TKR 🙂


  2. I enjoy reading your “pondering thoughts”.

    I was asking my liberal, (not so sure he’s a believer), nephew what he thought about all the turmoil in the world today. His answer,”It is as it’s always been”. He sees nothing unusual going on. I wasn’t really surprised when he said this, but it does make me very sad for him. He thinks everything comes in cycles and we are in a down cycle. 😦

    He has been exposed to Truth all his life just like so many that refuse to acknowledge who God is. All I can do is pray that the LORD will open his eyes.

    Anyway, good thoughts, Timbob. It is sobering to think of the “final” things.

    Abundant Peace!


  3. I love the picture.


  4. Timbob, your tagline really hits home tonight! I am truly longing for the appearing of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ, our God and our King.

    It’s a funny thing how scientists are always coming up with theories that are then presented as facts ( such as evolution ), and what is “proven” as medical science, down the road turns out to be false, time and time again.

    Even while I was working in the EMS system, basics such as CPR changed radically. We try so hard as human beings to figure everything out, and the bottom line is that the Creator of the universe and His creation itself is so far beyond our understanding and comprehension, and yet we are by His grace, in communion with Him and it is given us the grace to understand the mysteries of Christ!
    Bless the Lord!

    We look at our temporal realm and desire to understand it’s mechanics, even though it will soon pass away, all the while ignoring the spiritual realm which is eternal.

    But to truly know Jesus is life, and as you say the closer we are to Him, the less any of this other stuff matters. May the Lord Jesus help us to keep focused on His Kingdom, and He , the Lord God of heaven himself.

    Well I’m rambling tonight, but just had two of the hardest days ever and believe I will have to find another job. Pray for me brother, I am weary.

    Blessings to you always Timbob, and much love and grace in Jesus Christ!
    Be filled with His peace in this troubled world.

    Susan

    The great I AM


  5. Good post my brother.
    In the end what will matter is, did we know God through Christ.
    This world is not my home, I’m just passing through.
    Be blessed,
    Richard


  6. Oops! O dear, looks like I somehow missed a sentence… I am NOT the great I AM, but the way that came out , looks like that what I was saying GOD FORBID!!!!!
    Lord have MERCY!

    I have to admit though, re reading this and seeing that typo made me laugh so hard ( being mortified at how it came out), it was in it’s own way healing after this most miserable day.
    Bless he Lord, His ways are certainly not as ours! He sure knows how to turn things around when we need it…


  7. And speaking of typos…
    sheesh, after the first one you think I might have proof read the second comment, which is full of them. 😦

    So sorry Timbob!


  8. Well done, as always, timbob!! It is on my mind, as well, this evening how the holiday season is so much about materialism and it’s too much effort put into the things that will all be ashes.

    In reading Marie’s comment, I wanted to ask if anyone thinks we are obliged or even supposed to debate or cajole someone in to believing? I don’t think so and know there are scriptures that say not to strive with those who reject. Matt 10:14 tells us to “shake the dust from our feet.” I don’t mean when someone asks sincere questions, I mean when they have flat-out rejected. I mean, it’s not like we’re talking someone into buying a used car! What if they buy b/c of our persistence, then they don’t like it b/c they did it for the wrong reasons?
    Like you, timbob, I want everyone to feel the love and joy and join us in heaven!
    God Bless You and Yours.


  9. Timbob

    Very comforting post. I just a peaceful thing to really consider the greatness of GOD, His creation, power and majesty and to understand in all that we are still the most important to Him. I stand in awe of His mighty creation but even more I stand in awe of His great love for me.

    God Bless,
    Daniel


  10. I must say I find this blog very interesting. I invite you to http://www.hi5christian.com wich is a great dating and social networking site where you can meet beautifull people. To join go to http://www.hi5christian.com/join_form.php


  11. oGuabF jr39ug7djalfgpitg94gbvm


  12. Hello!

    I am contacting you because I am working with the authors of a book about blogs, and I’d like to request permission to use a photograph of yours in this book. Please contact me at matt@wefeelfine.org, and I’d be happy to give you more information about the project. Please paste a link to your blog in the subject field. Your assistance is greatly appreciated.

    Sincerely,

    Matt
    matt@wefeelfine.org


  13. итак: мне понравилось!!


  14. BKUlO2 http://fgb7s3Ffjsev7yrbvqqcf7.com



Leave a Reply

