h1

Comparing Apples to Oranges

December 31, 2007

 Isaiah 55:8-9  “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the LORD.  For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.”

I Corinthians 2:14  “But the natural man receiveth not the things of the spirit of God: for they are foolishness unto him: neither can he know them, because they are spiritually discerned.”

iona-chapel.jpg 

Two realms; coexisting, and yet polar opposites from each other.  The natural realm operates on the laws of physical reality such as what comes up must come down, and for every action there is a reaction.  Laws which determine how the physical world functions and can be readily observed by anyone who resides in the land of the breathing.  Many well-educated people have dedicated their lives to pondering the laws of physics and striving to understand how the current physical reality came to be.  They will observe the laws that govern the physical realm and monitor the goings on in creation to try and figure out how it all began and where it’s all going without ever considering that a non-physical realm exists.   

The spiritual realm isn’t subject to the laws of physics.  It cannot be readily observed, nor can it be placed into a series of mathematical equasions.  Gravity, distance, and physical barriers have no authority in spiritual matters.  Furthermore, unlike the physical world which had a beginning and will come to an end, the spiritual realm has always been in existance.   This is because God, who created every facet of physical reality, is a Spirit and is from everlasting.  There has never been a time in which he wasn’t, and there will never be a time in which he isn’t.  In a world where everything observable has a beginning and an ending, this seems like an impossibility, and yet, according to scripture, it’s true.  “Jesus Christ the same yesterday, today, and for ever.”

Romans 8:5-8  “For they that are after the flesh do mind the things of the flesh; but they that are after the Spirit the things of the Spirit.  For to be carnally minded is death; but to be spiritually minded is life and peace.  Because the carnal mind is enmity against God: for it is not subject to the law of God, neither indeed can be.  So then they that are in the flesh cannot please God.”

One thing that, was highlighted, all the more, during the past week in Orlando is the stark contrast between the carnal mind and the spiritual.  How the god of this world keeps people occupied with an endless parade of distractions (entertainment, oppositions of science and what have you) and that only the true God, who created all that is, can open the eyes of those who are blinded.  Just as he has done for all of us who have had our conversation in the world but are now washed in the blood of Jesus and born of the Spirit.  Without a doubt, we can plant seed and we can water the seed repeatedly, but only God can give the increase.  (II Timothy 2:24-26) 

This is a side trip, but recently, I found myself wondering what would have happened if the Lord hadn’t opened my eyes back in 1983.  I cannot even imagine what might have transpired; especially with all of the occult-like ideas that I used to subscribe to, and the pondering didn’t last very long.  Yet it caused me to be all the more thankful that the Lord Jesus Christ called me out of darkness and made me a new creation.  The hour that I first believed on Jesus stands out as the greatest moment of my life.  

While the past week was somewhat spiritually draining, it made the spiritual battle that we’re all engaged in more defined.  Concepts which are well known, were driven home all the more as I witnessed them being played out in a setting that is dominated by fantasy.  The enemy walks about unseen; employing the lust of the flesh, the lust of the eyes and the pride of life to keep people trapped in a neverending pursuit of this worlds philosophies and amusements.  The distractions are as diverse as those who are being held captive.  Amusements that will effectively keep them from pondering things such as “If I died tonnight, would I be ready?”  Orlando is a place that’s filled with distractions and has more on the way if the status quo holds out long enough.  (Like Universal Studios planned “Harry Potter theme park.”  IT’S GETTING VERY LATE INDEED) 

All in all, it was an eye-opening week.  We had quality time together as a family; some of it quite enteretaining.  (Six people in a Ford Windstar for hours on end is entertaining to be sure; especially when Morgan and Megan get on each others nerves)  Yet from a spiritual standpoint it was somewhat rough.  My heart is in the kingdom of God; not the “magic kingdom.”  We long for the moment when this corruption puts on incorruption and when we shall forever be with Jesus.  When we have Christ in us; the hope of glory; the allurements of this world simply lose their appeal.  Yet while we long to be absent from the body and present with the Lord, we are also greatful for each day that remains as each one will see new names written in the book of life.  And so, like the apostle Paul, we are betwixt; longing to be with the Lord but longing for more time to be ambassadors here. 

Well, I’ll close out for now.  Two people in my family are in need of prayer.  My sister Sally has what could be a life threatening situation which we should know more about Wednesday.  She has had a number of struggles over the years.  Also, my wifes brother Larry is in severe depression.  He has an alcohol addiction and recently lost his job.  Both of these people need Jesus and we know that he can open blinded eyes.  When we ponder the souls in the balance all around us and the lateness of the hour, we realize that we should be about our Fathers business and continuously walk in the Spirit.  As the saying goes, we’re the only Jesus that some may ever see.  There really isn’t time to squander.  (That’s a “note to self” as I squander way too much)  Until next time, I wish to all a blessed day in Jesus. 

John 6:27  “Labour not for the meat which perisheth, but for that meat which endureth unto everlasting life, which the Son of man shall give unto you: for him hath God the Father sealed.” 

   

6 comments

  1. Timbob, I recognize that picture of yours. It is of the old chapel on the Iona. It is in the old grave yard where many of the old Kings of Scotland are buried and at the end of the road of the dead. It is a small, cold chapel and was filled with such spiritual darkness and heaviness when I first entered it. I also experienced the wonder and awe of the Lord there, in spite of the other. Interesting contrast, the fruitfulness of the Lord Jesus in the midst of or rather inspite of the such evil opposition.

    I am pleased you and your family had a good time on vacation. I will also lift up your sister and brother in-law.

    Happy New Years to you and yours brother…

    And Every Blessing in the Lord Jesus Christ!


  2. oops, I meant…”It is of the old chapel on the Isle of Iona.”

    Sorry! 😦

    Every Blessing in the Lord Jesus Christ!


  3. Wow. I just found the picture on the internet and thought that it looked interesting. Indeed an interesting contrast, just as we are in a world that’s growing incredibly dark and yet greater is he that is in us than he that is in the world.

    While we were in Orlando, I saw a city completely given over to the pursuit of entertainment. For me, it was, as stated, spiritually draining to be there. Not so much because of the environment but because I allowed the everyday flurry of events to carry me from the desires of my heart. (My dream vacation is a deserted island with nothing but a bible for two weeks. Along with a notepad to write things down and a concordance because I’m somewhat lazy.)

    On the way back, somewhere between Louisville and Indianapolis, everyone was asleep as I began to get my thoughts away from the mundane and back on the deep things of God. His presence manifested in a way that hadn’t transpired during the vacation. The pure joy of the Lord that the world can never offer or take away. The momentary drifting has been corrected and valuable lessons have been reinforced from the ordeal, namely the ease by which we can become distracted and the intensity of the spiritual battle that rages all around us.

    Thanks for stopping by. Have a blessed new year in Jesus. It’s certain to be an eventful one.


  4. Welcome home from the home of “elaborate wood hay and stubble” Timbob! 🙂 We’re glad to hear you’re back safely and enjoyed the time with your family after all. It sounds as if there was a lesson in all of this as well, one I can relate to these days. My thoughts are often consumed by work and I dearly, deeply miss my time with the Lord Jesus every day.
    Last night after getting home exhausted the desire and need to feel His presence was so intense it overwhelmed me with such grief and longing I just sat on the floor and wept.
    Then the Lord took my spirit to Scotland, to the Highlands and Iona to remind me of the call there, and it was in some measure comforting.
    I awakened with a start from a dream I truly believe was of the Lord which I’ll share later, the gist of which is not forsaking the will of the Lord, the burden for the church and a life devoted to the Kingdom, to strengthening the Body of Christ, preparing her for what’s ahead which it seems we have very little time and must NOT get distracted and turned aside by this worlds business and care.

    Now as I take a quick look around wordpress before rushing off this morning I see this picture of the chapel on Iona which I too instantly recognized and I wonder…

    Well I wasn’t going to comment because of time but I have and long it seems.

    I pray you have a very blessed day in the Lord Jesus, filled with hope, with vision and Gods eternal love and grace! May the New Year bring the fulfillment of your heartfelt desire to be reaching the lost with the gospel to pass!

    Susan


  5. Welcome, welcome, welcome Back, timbob!!! You were dearly missed!! I’m glad you had a fun and safe trip!

    Isn’t it an odd feeling to be in a world familiar with people who are familiar and still feel ‘different’? I was told that I relate everything to biblical stories when someone commented on a vest I think of as my “vest of many colors” like Josephs’ coat…when I mentioned the biblical reference, the person began trying to place the “Book of Joseph”…extraordinarily disconcerting, given my family’s background. (we were out-of-town for a few days in N.C. w/ family). I was careful in making references and being “fanatical” but it’s so true that the most trivial event or item can be credited to God’s Glory. You’ve probably read something that compares technological advances (our toys) and the ‘global village’ mindset to the Tower of Babel. The New Agers are convincing many that we are all gods. So, like the tower-builders, we are losing our humility and need for God because we are “as smart as He is”… Not! God wants us to enjoy life and all the ‘stuff’ without excluding him, which is “so what happens”. We do need to speak (I’ve been told the opposite, but there are a lot of ‘nice people’ who never mention Jesus, therefore we do not know if they “believe”) and it seems to come across easier in storytelling, like what Joseph’s brothers did to him and how it turned out to the good.
    Like you, I am happy to be back where I can spend better quality time with the Lord!
    May God be With You and Yours this New Years holiday and throughout! Happy you’re home!!
    In Christ’s Love.


  6. Hi Timbob!
    I haven’t been in the blogiverse much lately, but I did want to stop by and wish you a blessed and fruitful new year in Christ.

    Quality family time is something that I have been striving to partake in more here lately. There is only so much time in the day…time that needs to be redeemed.

    I’m glad you had some yourself recently, and I pray you are able to to do so more often.

    May the Lord watch over and protect Sally in the coming days, drawing her to Himself.
    I pray also that Larry’s eyes be opened and that he have ears to hear the Word of the Gospel of Jesus Christ.

    His shed blood was more than enough to cover their transgressions!
    The work of His cross was deep enough to count them worthy!
    May they both hear and believe the good news of the One True God, who is Love Himself, who sent His only begotten Son to take on the penalty of their mis-deeds and carnal nature, and who loves them enough to trade His life for theirs!!!

    May you and your family be richly blessed in the favor of our Loving and merciful God!
    ~J



Leave a Reply

