h1

Checking In: October 17, 2008

October 17, 2008

Jeremiah 24:7 “And I will give them an heart to know me, that I am the LORD: and they shall be my people, and I will be there God: for they shall return unto me with their whole heart.

Everyone who has been born of the Spirit remembers the moment when the Lord Jesus gave them a heart to know him. A few days ago I came across the above verse while on my way to another place in scripture.  Regardless of a persons supposed situation in life or how far removed from the truth they may seem to be, it is the Lord who opens the understanding and grants repentance to the acknowledging of the truth. As we near the end of 2008 AD, the level of spiritual blindness in the ambience seems so complete that it can be  overwhelming. Friends, family, co-workers; neighbors, strangers; priceless souls at every turn, who are not ready should their final moment come upon them.  They can seem unreachable in this increasingly dark climate, unless we remember that God gives the increase and that his word will “never” return void.

I don’t have time to go into a full post right now, but this is one of the things that seems pressing. It’s very easy to get discouraged when we lift others up in fervent prayer; sometimes for years, and see nothing change. The result is that we’re tempted to just stop praying. (not a conscious decision to stop; just a gradual lessening of intercession until the situation disappears from our spiritual radar screen) But if we remember that God is the one who opens the eyes and that he does so in his timing, we’ll be more careful to pray without ceasing until the strongholds crumble. Even if it involves years or decades. (Luke 18:1-8)

Well I’ll be going for now. I may be placed back on second shift next month and if so, it will be much easier to keep the blog current. (Or…the plant could close and I will have a LOT of time to keep the blog current. lol) Time is short. I pray that all of us would draw close to Jesus and hear what the Spirit saith unto the churches.

 

5 comments

  1. It’s odd that having such Calvinistic leanings should ever find me requiring encouragement to trust to God’s hand to turn the hearts of men, but it is so. Thanks for a timely reminder.


  2. What a cool header graphic! Did you take the photo?

    Thank you for this much needed reminder that God gives us a heart to know Him! It is such a mystery how fervent prayer works into the salvation equation but I know out of experience that it surely does! What a marvelous mysterious Almighty God we serve that desires to have a relationship with each one of us!


  3. Good evening beyondbluestockings. It’s an area where I need continuous encouragement as I have a house filled with souls in need of Jesus. It can be very frustrating when things don’t move as a pace that we would desire, but persistance is a must. Lately I’ve been thinking of “patience” as I have a deficiency in this area. Thanks for stopping by. I’ll stop in as soon as I can.

    Have a blessed evening in Jesus.


  4. Hi scotti. It’s great to hear from you. It’s incredible that the Lord not only desires to have a relationship with us, but also that he works through us in so many ways. I think that many, including myself, tend to not grasp the importance of intercessory prayer.

    As for the picture, I found it one night. We don’t often see the northern lights here, but when they appear, it’s awesome. Just like a starry sky, it brings one into ponderings of the deep things of God. I’ll have to get by your site when time permits. Lately things have been crazy around here, but then these are crazy times. Thanks for stopping in.

    have a blesed evening in Jesus.


  5. It’s still step by step for me too, even though I’ve been in the Lord many years. And intercessory prayer is an indication of love for the One interceeded to but not necessarily for the one interceeded for.
    I believe He can do it even though He’s slow or even doesn’t.
    I pray that the Lord will bring you peace, Timbob.
    –Jerald



Leave a Reply

