h1

“Seek Ye the Lord”

November 3, 2008

There’s something special about setting aside the neverending list of wants and just thinking on the Lord. “When I remember thee upon my bed, and meditate on thee in the night watches.” Thinking on things which are so awesome that they cannot be defined by earthly vocabularies. I’ve always been intrigued by the man that Paul writes of in II Corinthians 12:1-4 This man saw the third heaven and heard unspeakable words, which is not lawful for a man to utter. I’ve often wondered what it would be like; for the glass darkly to be removed for a moment and to see the sheer awesomeness of the Lord Jesus Christ and the world to come. To be in the throne room and behold things as they really are.

And then, to return to our present life.  How could one possiblty function in this world after having received such revelation. To become worked up over the mundane dramas of this world would no longer be possible. There’s a single standing request that I ask on behalf every person who confesses Jesus Christ as Savior. That the Lord would grant us such a revelation of himself and of the age to come that we will be ruined to ever again conform to the worlds definition of “normal.” That our only desire in this life will be to draw closer to the Lord. To each day, strive to become more like Jesus and less like us. This goes for both the new saint and the one who has been in Christ for decades. We all need a greater revelation of Jesus Christ; our High Priest who ever lives to make intercession for us. A greater understanding of just how temporal this present world is and the permanance of the world to come.

Three things are on my heart tonight. All will seem to fall into the “well DUH” catagory, and yet they are so important that overemphasizing is impossible.

( 1 ) We must let go of everything and anything that’s coming between us and the Lord Jesus. That we would arrive at a place in which our only desire is to be closer to him and be in total obediance. There is complete liberty and peace beyond description when our affections are set 100% on things above and we love not our lives in this world. May we find ourselves “Betwixt;” walking in this world while our hearts are fixed upon heavenly places.

( 2 ) That we would be good ambassadors for Christ as we are daily in contact with precious souls who are walking toward an eternity apart from God. That our actions and words will gather unto Christ and not scatter away. This can be a very fine line at times and as such we must walk in the Spirit continuously.  We never know when we will be in contact with one who is at their wits end; whom the Lord has brought to a place where they are ready to be born of the Spirit.

( 3 ) That we would be sober-minded and grasp the seriousness of the times. We live in an entertainment driven culture that has become “drunken on foolishness.” May we not be conformed to the worlds amusements but be filled with the Spirit. Understanding that the hour is late and that there are souls alive at this moment who will be in eternity tomorrow.

Well I’ll be going for now. I wasn’t really planning to post tonight, but this was on my heart and so here it is. I wish to all a blessed day in Jesus.

Psalm 84:10 “For a day in thy courts is better than a thousand. I had rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God than to dwell in the tents of wickedness.”

10 comments

  1. Hi Timbob,

    Sorry I’ve not been around for a while. There has been a lot going on with our church recently. Anyway, your post was right along the lines of the message my husband preached today, Seeing Jesus Like You’ve Never Seen Him Before. There is always a deeper place that we can go in God and a greater revelation of His glory, holiness and power. The Lord is definitely greater to me now than when I first began serving Him, but I know there is still higher ground that God desires to take me to and everyone who hungers and thirsts after Him. May our desire to be more like Jesus grow abundantly in these last days.


  2. Hello,

    I just want to let you know that I am very happy that you did decide to post. Your words cut right to the core of what it means to be a follower of Christ. Though I know that I am not perfect and am bound to fall short again and again….I will keep my head up high and do my very best to follow in the footsteps of Jesus. Thank You!


  3. Well said.


  4. Whether it’s the “last days” or not, what you’ve said still goes.

    Keep saying it.

    Blessings,
    –Jerald


  5. Timbob,

    You said, regarding your three points:

    “Three things are on my heart tonight. All will seem to fall into the “well DUH” catagory, and yet they are so important that overemphasizing is impossible.”

    Well, I don’t believe they fall into the “Well, Duh” category. I believe these are foundational issues that have been lost to a very large extent in the Churches and in individual lives, despite all the lip service that may be given to them.

    So, I’ll add one point.

    In addition to needing a greater revelation of the awesomeness of the Lord and the age to come, I am convinced we need a deep revelation of our own selfishness, apathy, disobedience, lukewarmness and more… and I include myself in that assessment.

    That may sound hard or judgmental, but I’m past the point of caring if others look at me in that way.


  6. Good evening Carol. This seems more imperative than ever; to seek the Lord Jesus and tune out all of the background noise. I’m not sure how to place into words some of the thoughts going through my mind tonight. Moments ago, we saw the the election of the next president. (Sorry for taking so long to reply) What I see down the road is something that I’ve pondered for a long time. There will be, in the days ahead, such a feeling of unity, change, and “make the world a better place by our own efforts” mentality that anyone proclaiming biblical truth will be made to look like a hateful and angry person who needs therapy.

    In other words, evil designs will be made to look like sound good-hearted programs that are fair to all and don’t hurt anyones feelings. Our testimony of Jesus and adherance to scriptural truth will seem to them as backward thinking and mean. (Just as I Corinthians talks about)

    Some of the comments that I heard tonight in response to Barak Obamas victory could almost be rephrased as “who is like this guy? who can make war with him?” I do NOT believe that Barak Obama is the person to fit that billing from a scriptural standpoint, however, I saw a population that is adequately prepared to submit to the one who does.

    Sorry for getting so complicated on a reply; especially when there are four more to respond to. This comment may sound as though I’m hateful and narrowminded because I saw tonights events from a different perspective than I was supposed to. Scriptural fulfilment is underway and we MUST get close to Jesus. It’s the only way that we will know the bigger picture.

    Oh Something else that blew my mind, although I have known the technology to be in place. CNN did an interview with a guy via “hologram” and talked of many more such presentations to come. An image that looked as though a guy was standing in the studio, conversing with a news person in real-time. But he wasn’t there; he was in Chicago. The lines between physical reality and illusion are being erased. People are prepared to accept and eventually worship an image.

    I’m wondering if everyone else is feeling the absolute lateness of the hour. Thanks Carol for taking time to respond. I pray that all is going wel with the church and that everyone is daily drawing closer to Jesus Christ. It sounds like they have a great pastor.

    Have a blessed evening in Jesus.


  7. Good evening Peter. Thanks so much for stopping by. It’s something that I need continual reminding of; especially in an age of “larger-than-life distractions that would cause us to watch the show instead of seek the Lord. I’m as guilty as anyone on losing focus. Most of the posts here fall into the “note to self” catagory also. (I should add that to the list of catagories.)

    Thanks again. have a blessed evening in Jesus.


  8. Good evening “beyondbluestockings.” Thanks for stopping in. Oh, I read your post on how your screen name came about. I was always curious and was certain that there must be a story.

    Have a blessed evening in Jesus.


  9. Good evening Jerald. Indeed we all need reminding.

    Blessings always in Christ.


  10. Greetings “endtimedisciples.” Great screen name also. The term “well duh” is to suggest that the things being presented should be obvious to any who love the Lord Jesus. I sometimes know what I’m trying to say but get the wording wrong. (This is partly why I no longer blog at 4:00 am lol)

    Sadly, you are right in that these truths have been lost to a great degree. Too often we love our lives in this world and fail to be atuned to the needs around us. Our thoughts are, too often, on the temporal and not the eternal. I pray that we all would draw closer to the Lord Jesus and work while time remains.

    I have visited your blog, but didn’t have time to comment. I’ll get back when I can. (I have tomorrow off work, but must run to Kalamazoo for a good part of the day.) Thanks for commenting.

    Have a blessed evening in Jesus.



Leave a Reply

