h1

In My Chamber of Secrets

December 13, 2008

It has no fixed position, nor does it fit within the confines of a physical description. And yet it’s a very real place of refreshing; where a wearied soul can come into the presence of the Almighty. Here, it’s just us and the Lord Jesus while the storms rage on the outside. No neighbors to put on a show for, no brethren to conform to, no interference from the myriad of voices as they strive to be heard above the continuous static.  Here we enter in; leaving behind our titles and agenda as we come into the very presence of the Creator of all that is. The Father of lights, with whom is no variableness, neither shadow of turning; who has no beginning and no ending.  The one who loves us beyond comprehension and bids us “Call unto me, and I will answer thee, and show thee great and mighty things, which thou knowest not.”

Words cannot describe the incredible privelage of having an audience with the Lord Jesus the very moment that we place our thoughts upon him. That he delights when we take time out to be with him; not out of ritual, but because we just love being in his presence. And in his presence, there is a peace, so complete and satisfying that it defies explanation. An absolute serinity in every part of our being as we just remain still and know that “God is.” During such moments, words seem intrusive and the spiritual song is far more appropriate. Like a river gently flowing, it comes forth with melodies and lyrics far too wonderful for this present realm. A heavenly song; sweet and void of selfish attachments. The following passage has been a favorite for years:

Psalm 84:10-11 “For a day in thy courts is better than a thousand. I had rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God than to dwell in the tents of wickedness. For the LORD God is a sun and shield: the LORD will give grace and glory: no good thing will he withhold from them that walk uprightly.”

Philippians 4:6-7 “Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.” (I love Philippians)

I’m trying to tie together several thoughts and it’s proving to be quite a task. There are so many needs around us; those who are unsaved, infirmaties, spiritual oppression from the enemy and what have you, that we should probably be in prayer 24/7. We often go into prayer for specific purposes and we are instructed in scripture to do this. As I Peter 5:7 admonishes us: “Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you.” But there is a sweetness when we can just come into the presence of the Lord and focus on seeking him.  A time of just being with the Lord; much like on earth when we “hang out” with someone who is really close to us. It doesn’t really matter what’s transpiring in the ambience; so long as we’re together.

Such moments are priceless. When we can just get away and seek the Lord Jesus. Often during these times, the Holy Spirit brings to our rememberance certain needs, or calls us to intercede for someone who may be at the end of their rope. Oftentimes names will come forth and as the person is lifted up in prayer, it will swerve into a very specific need that may or may not have been previously known about. Other times, we may be granted insight concerning a particular situation or revelation concerning a particular passage of scripture.  It’s a time to put self aside and allow the Lord to lead us to where we need to go. Occasionally, such moments are simply beyond words and we silently abide in the presence of the Lord; overwhelmed by the awesomeness of our Creator who became flesh and dwelt among us. 

Psalm 63:6 “When I remember thee upon my bed, andmeditate on thee in the night watches.

The enemy will fight to keep us out of the prayer closet; every bit as much as he strives to keep us from hiding the word of God in our hearts. Two common issues that I must contend with are time and thought. Finding large blocks of time to spend in prayer is almost impossible with all that’s going on in my life. This is dealt with by actively striving to keep my thoughts on the Lord Jesus every possible moment. An even bigger obstacle is that of a hyper-active imagination that requires a constant casting down. Imaginations that don’t appear to be exactly bad, but they perpetually lead to more of the same and consume valuable minutes. Like this morning on my way to work. Somehow, I got into a particular train of thought until the entire drive to Three Rivers became “nothing more than just that- a drive to Three Rivers.” (This is premium prayer time; driving to and from work)

One thing is becomming more prominant as of late and is one reason that I was minded to do this post. I ponder end time events a lot and consider things which most christians find to be discomforting to put it mildly. Iny case, such thoughts don’t cause fear as they did in earlier years. Instead, they amplify the desire to just let go of every agenda, find a secluded place, and be with the Lord Jesus. Striving to tune out the background noise and hear what the Spirit saith unto the churches. As the twilight turns to pitch black, only those who are close to the Lord and have his word hidden in their heart will be able to see where they are going. The time to enter into our chamber of secrets is now.

Well I must close for now. The passages at the bottom were from the earlier draft of this post, but they’re too good to remove. Gods word is pure and profitable, and incapable of returning void. The following link is way off topic concerning this post, but may be the topic of a future one:

DELUSION RESISTANCE This site discusses the alien abduction phenomenon and christians who have called on the name of Jesus to defeat these beings. I heard a fascinating program earlier this week concerning this. Have a blessed weekend in Jesus.

II Kings 6:10-12 “And the king of Israel sent to the place which the man of God told him and warned him of, and saved himself there, not once nor twice. Therefore the heart of the king of Syria was sore troubled for this thing; and he called his servants, and said unto them, Will ye nt shew me, which of us is for the king of Israel? And one of his servants said, None, my lord, O king: but Elisha, the prophet that is in Israel, telleth the king of Israel the words that thou speakest in thy bedchamber.”

“AWESOME!”

 James 1:5 “If any of you lack wisdom,let him ask of God,that giveth to all men liberally liberally, and upbraideth not; and it shal be given him.”

 

 

16 comments

  1. Great post and the scriptures are a great way to start off the day. Thanks
    I try to remind myself that it is really just an audience of One. I bow before the King of Kings and His grace, mercy, and love flood over me. Oh, the power of prayer – it is life changing.


  2. Timbob, thanks for reminding me that my Lord is available. . . no, He’s right here with me. . . all the time.

    In talking about your prayer times being disturbed sometimes made me think of my own times. It reminded me that if He’s with me all the time . . . then He’s available all the time. It’s like the difference with just being in the presence of my wife and not thinking of her versus talking with her or having a deep, meaning conversation with her. In either case, we are together. But, I suppose, it is just a matter of the level of intimacy we have together.

    One level is just sitting on the couch together reading a book or shopping together. We are together but the level of intimacy is a little different than having a deep conversation about spiritual things or even praying together about a family member. Then there’s the intimacy we have as husband and wife. That’s a different level of intimacy too.

    But it’s all being “together” with each other. So I really don’t think that you or I am ever not in the presense of the Lord.

    I really enjoy your candor about your life Timbob. It make me think about my own life and what’s important.


  3. Hi Timbob,
    I really appreciate this post. It confirms the promptings in my own spirit that it’s time for a more intimate encounter with the Lord.

    I agree with Jerald about His omnipotence, but as he said, there are levels of intimacy.

    Just as intamacy is vital to the marriage relationship, and adds to the ‘friendship’ aspects, I believe the same is true in our relationship with the Lord.

    Again, thank you for this message.

    May grace and peace continue to abide in your spirit, and mine as well.


  4. Hi, Brother! Just letting you know I’m checking in and trying to catch up with your wonderful insights and teachings! Happy to see you again and that you continue to contend for the faith. As you say, a lot going on and ever-needful of prayer time.
    May God Continue to Bless You and Yours. xox


  5. Good evening Gloriaand “Amen.” An audience of one as we abide under the shadow of the Almighty. I think of the lyrics to the song “What a Friend We Have In Jesus” and it’s telling of how we forbear Gods peace by not coming before him in prayer. Thanks for stopping by.

    Have a blessed evening in Jesus.


  6. Good evening Jerald. This is something that hit me a few years ago as I was driving into town. The Lord is with us 24/7. If I had a good friend riding in the truck, we would be talking nonstop. Well the Lord Jesus is very present there while driving and to just turn on the radio and go into lala land suddenly seemed rude. And Isaiah 26:3 is still true.

    Thsnks for stopping by. I’ll try to stop in when time permits. (Time has been in short supply as of late.) Have a blessed evening in Jesus.


  7. Hi Bro. Johnny. Great to hear from you again. I think that in these times, perhaps more so than in previous generations, we absolutely must shut out the background noise and get into the secret place with the Lord Jesus. Things are breaking forth on the earth of a nature that, if we’re not close to the Lord, we’ll be led astray. Close in prayer and having his word hidden in our heart.

    Great to hear from you. Have a blessed evening in Jesus.


  8. Greetings Odale. It’s really good to hear from you again. May we all contend for the faith as the days are growing increasingly darker. I pray that all is going well for you and your family. Thanks so much for taking a moment to stop in.

    Have a blessed evening in Jesus.


  9. Great post, Timbob. Praying is something of which we can never do too much, and time spent in prayer is never a waste. It truly is a glorious thing when we can press past the distractions of this world and just be in the awesome presence of Jesus. That and the Word of God are the only things that can truly change us to be more like Him. Thanks again for sharing your thoughts.


  10. Hi Timbob – just checking in to say hi!! I’ve been kind of busy elsewhere and now I see I have 18 posts under your name on bloglines…um!

    I shall try to keep up in future.

    Blessings,

    Peter


  11. Hi Carol. Thanks so much for stopping by. Sorry for not getting back sooner. We are in times where we must abide close to Jesus if were to be prepared for the events to come. And it truly is an awesome blessing to just abide in the presence of the Lord.

    Have a blessed evening in Jesus.


  12. Hi Peter. Great to hear from you. These are very hectic times and I can usually get out here on weekends. Although I’m now on layoff and shouyld have more time to stay current.

    Have a blessed weekend in Jesus.


  13. Hi Timbob,

    I think we all get distracted by honorable but busy activities that take us away from prayer time. My family does this to me. It is a time of peace and reflection. As our world becomes more challenging, it is the only way to tap into the peace of God to meet those challenges.

    From your other post – you have to move? I hope you will be well. Have a good Christmas.

    blessings
    marianne


  14. Hi Marianne. Thanks so much for stopping by. I don’t know for certain what the future holds; I just sense a lot of unbcertainty in the natural. Gods peace is very much present and my prayer is that his will be done. I know that Psalm 37:25 remains true despite any physical circumstances. I oftentimes pray that the Lord would do whatever is necessary to bring those in my household to faith in Jesus. “Whatever it takes” can be a dangerous request, but my concernis for souls.

    We may be elsewhere next year or we may be here. The Lord can command ravens to bring food to those who love him if the need arises. He is faithful as we place our confidence in him.

    It’s always great to hear from you. Have a blessed day in Jesus.


  15. Brother,

    As a Christian for 17 years, I find respite in prayer more and more satisfying. You’re very right about the peace that transcends all the noise the world has to offer.

    I deal with this subject extensively in my new end-times novel, “Trouble in the House of Jacob.” You can see the web page at http://tinyurl.com/4d79yt. Many thanks.
    Hale Meserow


  16. Hi Hale. Thanks somuch for stopping by. It’s this closeness to the Lord Jesus that will be imperative as events unfold and it’s so very sweet. I’ll have to check out the link when I get more time. Thanks again.

    have a blessed day in Jesus.



Leave a Reply

