h1

The Word I’m Looking For (Episode III)

February 12, 2009

It’s become apparent that this process will have to be accelerated as this is the third installment of the series on words with a single appearance in scripture and I’m still in going through “A.” I can’t say that I’ll focus only on verses of significance because all scripture is significant. I guess the only way to approach this is to “just do it” and see what happens. This first word was one that I thought about skipping over, but it is contained in a passage of scripture that tells the dangers of turning aside from the ways of the Lord.

AGUE

Leviticus 26:14-16 “But if ye will not hearken unto me, and will not do all these commandments; And if ye shall despise my statutes, or if your soul adhor my judgments, so that ye will not do my commandments, but that ye break my covenant: I also will do this unto you; I will even appoint over you terror, consumption, and the burning ague, that shall consume the eyes, and cause sorrow of heart: and ye shall sow your seed in vain for your enemies shall eat it.”

Websters defines “ague” as “A fever marked by paroxysms of chills, fever, and sweating that occur at regular intervals.” Indeed the way of a transgressor is hard and the Lord will employ attention-grabbing tactics to cause one to consider their ways. One night while driving home, I was remembering my own season of rebellion and the complexities in my life that came about as a result. (There are still complexities in my life that stem directly from the saeson of rebellion.) As I was coming into Constantine at 2:30AM, the Lord quietly reminded me “It could have been MUCH more severe.” I think of it as when our children misbehave and we really don’t want to punish them. So we warn them of reprisals and hold out hope that when we say “I’m counting to three” they’ll break off the contrary behavior. Of course this usually goes “1….2….2 and 1/2…..2 and 3/4…..2 and 7/8 and so on. But the point arrives when discipline must be rendered.

The Lord is far more longsuffering than we are, but there comes a point where judgment must come and when it comes, it can be very severe. In this passage, verse fifteen holds two key phrases, “despise my statutes” and “adhor my judgments.” In short, people who just don’t have a heart for God and want nothing to do with the Holy One of Israel. They may seem nice and even be religious, but to truly hunger and thirst after the Lord isn’t in their heart. Scripture is full of examples of when Israel went back from following the Lord and the ensuing calamities as a result. I included this word because we’re reminded in Proverbs 4:23 to “keep thy heart with all diligence.”

AGUR

Proverbs 30:1 “The words of Agur the son of Jakeh, even the prophecy: the man spake unto Ithiel, even unto Ithiel and Ucal.”

This may not seem to be very profound, but it opens up the thirtieth chapter of Proverbs which contains words spoken by Agur.  The amount of wisdom found in this chapter is incredible. Agur discusses a generation that is lofty in their own eyes, things that are never satisfied, things too wonderful for me, things that are small but wise, and what have you. But for me, the most profound passage in this chapter is verses 7-9

Two things have I required of thee; deny me them not before I die: Remove far from me vanity and lies: give me neither poverty nor riches; feed me with food convenient for me: Lest I be full, and deny thee and say, Who is the LORD? or lest I be poor, and steal, and take the name of my God in vain. 

In short, Agur was concerned with maintaining a relationship with the Lord and being a good testimony. He had a heart for God, not for the things of this world as is expressed in the words “remove far from me vanity and lies” I have a tendancy; especially when things are going awry, to just casually say “oh well; it’s all going to burn.” It may sound to some like I don’t care, but this isn’t the case. It’s simply a way of placing the situation into a proper context. II Corinthians 4:18 reminds us that the things which are seen are temporal, but the things which are not seen are eternal. May we strive to lay up treasure in heaven and not be over-consumed by that which the world holds in high esteem.

AIDED

Judges 9:22-24 “When Abimelech had reigned three years over Israel, Then God sent an evil spirit between Abimelech and the men of Shechem; and the men of Sechem dealt treacherously with Abimelech: That the cruelty done to the threescore and ten sons of Jerubbaal might come, and their blood be laid upon Abimelech their brother, which slew them; and upon the men of Shechem, which aided him in the killing of his brethren.”

The old saying of “what goes around comes around” applies here as earlier in the chapter, Abimelech hired “vain and light persons,” went into his fathers house, and slew his brethren; threescore and ten persons. In verse 22, God sends an evil spirit to bring about the demise of Abimelech. I’m reminded of what happened to King Saul when the Lord began to raise up David.

ALLEGING

Acts 17:2-3 “And Paul, as his manner was, went in unto them, and three sabbath days days reasoned with them out of the scriptures, Opening and alleging, that Christ must needs have suffered, and risen again from the dead; and that this Jesus, whom I preach unto you, is Christ.”

Paul went to the Jews first and tried to show them through scripture that Jesus is the Messiah. Every time that Jesus is presented, a decision is made by those hearing the truth. In the case of those in Thessalonica, some believed after three weeks of pouring over scripture. But those who believed not rose up against the truth, taking unto them “certain lewd fellows” (the descriptive phrases in scripture are fascinating) setting the city in an uproar, and sought to bring them out to the people. It’s fascniating that, after stirring up the city of Thessalonica and assaulting the house of Jason, they accuse Paul and his companions of being “They which have turned the world upside down.” Indeed Jesus stated that he didn’t come to bring peace, but a sword. Those who resist the truth will often seek to suppress it; sometimes violently.

Well I have to get ready for work. This is proving to be a fun way to search the scriptures and bring up topics that would otherwise not be addressed. I wish to all a blessed day in Jesus.

II Timothy 3:16-17 “All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness: That the man of God may be perfect, thoroughly furnished unto all good works.”
6 comments

  1. I’m glad you didn’t leave out “ague”

    Great series Timbob. 🙂


  2. Your teaching on ague made me think of the promise in Malachi 4:12.

    Thanks for this really good teaching Timbob.


  3. Hi Beyond Blue Stockings. It seemed to important to skip over. I’m not sure how to shorten this series; especiallly since most of the verses that prompted it are far down the alphabet. In fact it all started when I went to the concordance as I couldn’t remember exactly where the verse “Thou shalt not lay with mankind as with womankind” was located. I noticed that the word “womankind” was only mentioned once in scriture.

    Thanks so much for taking time to comment. Have qa blessed weekend in Jesus.


  4. Hi Jerald. Thanks so much for stopping by. This series, due to the structure of the search, is bringing up some interesting thoughts that otherwise would never come out. The word of God seems to get deeper and deeper.

    Have a blessed weekend in Jesus.


  5. Another interesting post on those one time words. I like Proverbs 30:7-9 too and have prayed that as a prayer before. There is power in praying the Word of God, and through this post, I have been reminded that I need to do that more. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, and have a wonderful weekend.


  6. Hi Carol. The word of God is awesome and deep beyond comprehension. In Christ we have perfect peace and contentment. Thank you for taking time to drop by. I also need to pray scripture more often.

    Have a blessed week in Jesus.



Leave a Reply

