h1

Comfort One Another With These Words

March 2, 2009

These words, spoken by the apostle Paul and recorded in I Thessalonians 4:18 have a dual exhortation. First, they admonish us to be looking continuously for the return of Jesus. We should take great comfort in the fact that, even though we cannot pinpoint the exact moment when the trumpet will sound, we know that he will return and we shall be like him. Second, we should comfort the other saints with this truth. We should continuously remind each other (we all need reminding and thinking of this should cause us to shout for joy) that our light affliction in this world is but for a moment and that when our time here is finished, we have an everlasting inheritance. We shall forever be in the presence of the Lord Jesus, who purchased us with his own blood.

aaaba

This post is intended to offer encouragement to those whose affections are on things above, from whence we look for our Savior and Lord, Jesus Christ who has promised to return in an hour when we think not. To look beyond the continuing sagas of the day as we remember that our life here is like a vapor. For a brief moment in time, it dances amongst the atoms of this fallen world, and then flys off; never to pass this way again. To remember the words of the apostle Paul when he said “For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain.” Paul was a man who found himself  “in a strait betwixt two, having a desire to depart, and to be with Christ; which is far better.” Yet he had such a heart for the churches that he also desired to be about the business of ensuring that they were properly grounded in truth. I pray that the following passages will encourage all to draw closer to Jesus and abide in his perfect peace which passes all understanding

II Corinthians 1:3-4 “Blessed be God, even the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the father of mercies, and the God of all comfort; Who comforteth us in all our tribulation, that we may be able to comfort them which are in any trouble, by the comfort wherewith we oursleves are comforted of God.”

We know that every saint will endure tribulation in one form or another. But we also know that the absolute “rest” that we have in Christ, will remain through even the most unfathomable of catastrophies. If we are looking completely to Jesus and placing no confiednce in the flesh, we’ll be seemingly in another dimension while the world is being shaken to its very foundation. The Comforter; that is the Holy Ghost, abides within and as we submit ourselves to Christ, he will keep us in perfect peace. Subsequently, those around us will know that we don’t serve a God whose afar off, but is a very present help in trouble. As things unravel in the natural, some will desire what we have and divine appointments will arise.

I Thessalonians 5:9-11 “For God hath not appointed us to wrath, but to obtain salvation by our Lord Jesus Christ, Who died for us, that, whether we wake or sleep, we should be together with him. Wherefore comfort yourselves together, and edify one another, even as also ye do.”

Every one of us need this continual exhortation and whenever we talk of our great salvation and the return of Jesus, all who are present are encouraged. Such thoughts should put a song in our heart and an extra bounce in our step as we are reminded of what lies ahead. A couple of weeks ago, I had kind of an epiphany while in the bedroom getting ready for work. It was like, for a brief second, I was granted a passing glimpse at just how short this life is and just how long eternity is. It was like observing a truth that I’ve tried unsuccessfully for years to wrap my mind around; let alone capture with words. Such a thing will forever ruin a person to ever again become overly excited about the affairs of this life while those in the ambience (even some of the saints) will think that we’ve gone off the deep end. 

I Thessalonians 5:16-23 “Rejoice evermore.
Pray without ceasing.
In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.
Quench not the Spirit.
Despise not prophesyings.
Prove all things; hold fast to that which is good.
abstain from all appearances of evil.
And the very God of peace sanctify you wholly; and I pray God your whole spirit and soul and body be preserved blameless unto the coming of our Lord Jesus.”

If we abide by this, we’ll have peace and contentment that will remain until our final moment in this realm is at hand. There are more passages that were planned for this, but since I’m running out of time before having to go to work, I’ll close for now. In short, we must continue looking to Jesus, maintaining an eternal perspective, and encouraging each other as we see the day approaching. The following link is to a post on this blog from March 19, 2007:

EUROCLYDON

It discusses Gods faithfullness to his saints in the midst of tribulation and seems needful to make mention of here. I wish to all, a blessed day in Jesus.

John 16:33 “These things have I spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace. In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; i have overcome the world.”
Hebrews 10:23-25 “Let us hold fast the profession of our faith without wavering; (for he is faithful that promised;) And let us consider one another to provoke unto love and to good works: Not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together, as the manner of some is; but exhorting one another: and so much the more, as ye see the day aproaching.”
104 comments

  1. Greetings Timbob,

    Just one more Scripture came to my mind as I read this post.

    Romans 15:4 For whatsoever things were written aforetime were written for our learning, that we through patience and comfort of the scriptures might have hope.

    Thank God that in these uncertain times, we still have His word as a comfort and anchor for our souls!


  2. This post is fitting as I am reading Revelation again and reminded of what is yet to come. Come Lord Jesus.


  3. Hi Carol. Thanks for mentioning this passage. What an awesome hope we have in the Lord Jesus as we run with patience the race that is set before us.

    Have a blessed day in Jesus.


  4. Hi Code. Without a doubt our time in this world is but a very short season, but the age to come is so incredible that it defies definitions. Imagining a realm where time isn’t even a factor; stretching into the eons of everlastingness where we are forever in the presence of the Lord and the saints from every tribe and generation. WOW!

    Have a blessed day in Jesus.


  5. I have a pretty stressful job and at times it feels overwhelming. One day last month one of the believing ladies who works with me came into my office to ask me a question and could tell by my expression that I was on the verge of meltdown. She looked at me so sweetly and said, “It’s gonna be okay. Jesus is coming back to get us.” I began grinning from ear to ear and from somewhere inside I felt an almost irrepressible, joy filled “YES” filling my heart.

    What comforting words these were. I can get distracted by these temporal things and lose sight of what really matters – those things that are eternal. But He has a way of redirecting my focus…..

    One final thought from Isaiah 25:9. When pondering on why this verse made me feel so intensely happy when I read it, I realized it is the cry of the bride.

    And it will be said in that day:
    “Behold, this is our God;
    We have waited for Him, and He will save us.
    This is the LORD;
    We have waited for Him;
    We will be glad and rejoice in His salvation.”

    Even so, come Lord Jesus


  6. Good morning Timbob. Sorry not to have dropped in for a while, simply find myself rather busy at the moment! Off to England for a while, hopefully will have a little more time when I’m back to drop by and consider the times with you. 🙂

    Blessings,

    Peter


  7. Hi brother Timbob

    Its been a while brother. I woke up not so long ago and dicovered I had the weight of the world on my shoulders. Where did it come from ? How could this happen to me? And all of a sudden I felt crushed. Too many circumstances to speak of, and anyway, it would shame Calvary to speak of them.

    “To look beyond the continuing sagas of the day.” I like that brother, I like that. “For a brief moment in time, it dances amongst the atoms of this fallen world, and then flys off; never to pass this way again.” Yes, heavenly inspired words. God bless you brother. Your prayers are coveted brother 🙂 ……Frank


  8. Hi Irene. Thanks for bringing up this passage from Isaiah. What an incredible blessed hope we have; to know that we shall soon be forever with the Lord.

    Blessings always in Jesus name.


  9. Hi Peter. I pray that all will go well in the UK. Thanks for taking time to drop by.

    Blessing always in Jesus name.


  10. Hi Frank. I’m keeping you and your household in prayer. So many are pressed beyond measure these days.May we all continue to draw closer to Jesus and know that all things work together for good. It’s not always easy to believe when everything seems to be going awry, but the Lord is faithful.

    Thanks so much for stopping by. Blessings always in Jesus name.


  11. Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language 😉
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo


  12. Hi Raiul. Thanks for stopping by and offering your thoughts. Your english is good. I’ve heard that it can be hard to learn as a second language. Please offer your thoughts whenever you get time. Thanks.

    Blessings always in Jesus name.


  13. Every weekend i used to go to see this website, because i want
    enjoyment, since this this website conations truly pleasant funny material
    too.


  14. I was suggested this website by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as no
    one else know such detailed about my problem. You are
    wonderful! Thanks!


  15. Hi there! This blog post couldn’t be written much better!
    Looking at this article reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He continually kept preaching about this. I will send this post to
    him. Fairly certain he’ll have a very good read.
    Thanks for sharing!


  16. This is my first time visit at here and i am genuinely happy to read all at single
    place.


  17. Would you decide to remain indoors and cut back on the exercise,
    and possibly even alleviate up on the diet as
    there is plenty of time to get back in shape prior to the summer season
    starting again. You can also Participate in Health
    Questions & Answers, Discussion Forums and Blogs.
    These patches contain nutrients that will help you get rid of excess fat.


  18. Undeniably consider that which you stated. Your favorite justification seemed
    to be on the web the simplest thing to take note of.
    I say to you, I certainly get irked at the same time as other people consider worries
    that they just do not recognize about. You managed to
    hit the nail upon the top as smartly as defined out the entire thing without having side effect , people could take a signal.
    Will probably be back to get more. Thanks


  19. Today, I went to the beachfront with my children. I found a
    sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.”
    She put the shell to her ear and screamed.
    There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.

    She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is entirely off topic but I had to tell someone!


  20. WOW just what I was searching for. Came here by searching for adult acne treatment


  21. There is definately a great deal to know about this
    subject. I love all the points you’ve made.


  22. My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find the majority of your
    post’s to be exactly I’m looking for. can you offer guest writers to write
    content for you? I wouldn’t mind publishing a post or elaborating on a few of the
    subjects you write related to here. Again, awesome blog!


  23. I drop a leave a response each time I like a article on a website or I have something to valuable to contribute
    to the discussion. It is a result of the sincerness communicated in
    the article I browsed. And after this article Comfort One Another With These Words | Grace County.

    I was actually excited enough to post a comment 😛 I do have a
    couple of questions for you if you don’t mind.
    Is it just me or do a few of these remarks come across like written by
    brain dead visitors? 😛 And, if you are posting at additional places, I’d like
    to follow you. Would you make a list every one of your public pages like your twitter feed,
    Facebook page or linkedin profile?


  24. Just desire to say your article is as amazing. The clarity for your submit is just cool and i could assume you are an expert on this subject.
    Well together with your permission let me to grab your feed to keep updated with approaching post.
    Thank you a million and please keep up the enjoyable work.


  25. Hmm it appears like your website ate my first comment (it was super long) so
    I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole thing.
    Do you have any tips and hints for beginner blog writers?
    I’d definitely appreciate it.


  26. naturally like your web site however you need to test the spelling on several of your posts.

    A number of them are rife with spelling problems and I find
    it very troublesome to inform the truth then again I will surely come again again.


  27. I feel that is one of the such a lot significant information for me.
    And i am happy studying your article. But should
    commentary on some general things, The website taste is wonderful, the
    articles is really nice : D. Good job, cheers


  28. I am regular visitor, how are you everybody? This article posted
    at this site is genuinely good.


  29. Hi there would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re using?
    I’m looking to start my own blog in the near future but
    I’m having a tough time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most
    blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique.
    P.S Apologies for being off-topic but I had to
    ask!


  30. I go to see each day a few websites and sites to
    read posts, however this weblog offers quality based posts.


  31. certainly like your web site but you need to test the spelling on several of your posts.
    A number of them are rife with spelling problems and I in finding it very bothersome to
    tell the reality nevertheless I’ll certainly come back again.


  32. Spot on with this write-up, I truly think this web
    site needs far more attention. I’ll probably be returning to read through more, thanks
    for the advice!


  33. I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought
    this post was good. I don’t know who you are but certainly you are going
    to a famous blogger if you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!


  34. My family every time say that I am killing my time here
    at net, however I know I am getting knowledge every day by reading thes nice articles.


  35. I am truly delighted to glance at this weblog posts which includes tons
    of valuable data, thanks for providing these statistics.


  36. Excellent way of describing, and pleasant article to take facts concerning my presentation topic, which i am
    going to deliver in university.


  37. It’s very straightforward to find out any topic on net as compared to textbooks, as I found this piece of writing
    at this website.


  38. Whats up this is somewhat of off topic but I was
    wondering if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you
    have to manually code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon
    but have no coding experience so I wanted to get
    guidance from someone with experience. Any help would be greatly appreciated!


  39. Excellent blog you have here but I was curious about if you
    knew of any community forums that cover the same topics talked
    about here? I’d really love to be a part of online community where I can get opinions from other experienced individuals that share the same interest.
    If you have any recommendations, please let me know.

    Cheers!


  40. I got this web site from my pal who told me regarding this site and at
    the moment this time I am visiting this web page and reading very informative articles or reviews
    here.


  41. What’s up, the whole thing is going fine here and ofcourse every one
    is sharing information, that’s in fact fine, keep up writing.


  42. My brother suggested I might like this web site.
    He was entirely right. This post truly made my day.
    You can not imagine just how much time I had spent for this info!

    Thanks!


  43. You ought to take part in a contest for one of the
    most useful blogs on the internet. I most certainly will highly recommend this website!


  44. Very good info. Lucky me I found your website by chance (stumbleupon).
    I have bookmarked it for later!


  45. I always emailed this website post page to all my
    associates, because if like to read it afterward my links will
    too.


  46. You need to take part in a contest for one of the finest blogs
    online. I am going to highly recommend this website!


  47. Thanks for your personal marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed reading it, you
    will be a great author. I will be sure to bookmark your blog and will
    eventually come back someday. I want to encourage continue your great writing, have a nice afternoon!


  48. Asking questions are actually fastidious thing if you are
    not understanding something totally, however this paragraph offers pleasant understanding yet.


  49. Good post! We will be linking to this particularly great post on our
    site. Keep up the good writing.


  50. Hello my friend! I want to say that this article is awesome, great
    written and include approximately all important infos.

    I’d like to see extra posts like this .


  51. Hello friends, pleasant article and good arguments
    commented at this place, I am really enjoying by these.


  52. Pretty portion of content. I just stumbled upon
    your blog and in accession capital to assert that I acquire
    in fact loved account your blog posts. Any way I’ll be subscribing on your feeds or even I
    fulfillment you get admission to constantly fast.


  53. Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It really useful & it helped me
    out much. I hope to give something back and aid others like you
    aided me.


  54. I just like the valuable information you supply for your
    articles. I’ll bookmark your weblog and take a look at again right here frequently.
    I’m slightly sure I will learn many new stuff proper right here!
    Best of luck for the next!


  55. Nice post. I learn something new and challenging on
    blogs I stumbleupon every day. It’s always helpful to read content from other authors and use a little something from their sites.


  56. We stumbled over here different web address and thought I
    should check things out. I like what I see
    so now i’m following you. Look forward to looking into your web page again.


  57. Hey there! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new iphone 3gs!
    Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts!
    Keep up the superb work!


  58. As the admin of this web page is working, no uncertainty very rapidly it will be well-known, due to its quality contents.


  59. Thanks to my father who told me regarding this website,
    this blog is in fact awesome.


  60. Heya i am for the primary time here. I found this
    board and I to find It really helpful & it helped me out much.
    I hope to present something back and help others like you aided me.


  61. Hi Dear, are you in fact visiting this web page
    daily, if so afterward you will absolutely take pleasant experience.


  62. The other day, while I was at work, my cousin stole my apple ipad and tested to see if it can survive a 40
    foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My iPad is now destroyed and she has 83 views.
    I know this is completely off topic but I had to share
    it with someone!


  63. Incredible! This blog looks just like my old one!
    It’s on a entirely different subject but it has pretty much the same layout and
    design. Superb choice of colors!


  64. Have you ever thought about including a little bit more than just your articles?
    I mean, what you say is important and everything.
    However imagine if you added some great pictures or video clips to
    give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is
    excellent but with images and clips, this blog could certainly be one of the most beneficial
    in its field. Superb blog!


  65. I’d like to find out more? I’d care to find out some additional information.


  66. Howdy very cool web site!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Amazing ..
    I’ll bookmark your web site and take the feeds also? I’m satisfied
    to seek out a lot of helpfrul info here in thhe publish,
    we want develop more strategies onn this regard, thanks for
    sharing. . . . . .


  67. Please let me know if you’re looking for a writer for your blog.
    You have some really great posts and I think I would be a good asset.
    If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d really like to write some articles for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.
    Please shoot me an e-mail if interested. Thank you!


  68. Wow, this piece of writing is pleasant, my
    younger sister is analyzing these kinds of things, therefore I am going
    to let know her.


  69. Good day! I could have sworn I’ve visited this website before but
    after looking at some of the posts I realized
    it’s new to me. Regardless, I’m definitely
    pleased I discovered it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back
    often!


  70. Hello there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and
    found that it’s truly informative. I am gonna watch out for brussels.
    I’ll appreciate if you continue this in future.
    Many people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!


  71. Hey there would you mind stating which blog platform you’re
    working with? I’m looking to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a hard time choosing between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for
    something unique. P.S Apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!


  72. Hello, Neat post. There is a problem together with your website in internet explorer, may
    test this? IE still is the market leader and a large element
    of people will leave out your great writing because of this problem.


  73. I blog frequently and I truly appreciate your information. This article has really peaked my interest.

    I am going to take a note of your blog and keep checking for new details about once a week.
    I subscribed to your Feed too.


  74. no what else we could expect than having a permanent soluton for
    this


  75. I’ve been surfing online greater than three hours today,
    but I never found any fascinating article like yours. It’s pretty worth sufficient for me.
    In my view, if all site owners and bloggers made excellent content material as you probably did, the
    web can be much more helpful than ever before.


  76. Excellent post. I used to be checking constantly this blog and I am impressed!

    Extremely helpful info specifically the remaining phase :
    ) I maintain such info a lot. I was seeking this certain info for a very long time.
    Thank you and best of luck.


  77. Spot on with this write-up, I seriously think this site
    needs far more attention. I’ll probably be back again to read
    more, thanks for the info!


  78. Thanks for finally writing about >Comfort One Another With These Words | Grace County <Loved it!


  79. I read this paragraph completely concerning the difference of hottest
    and preceding technologies, it’s awesome article.


  80. Should you get a reputation as a hack, your fellow comedians will disown you,
    and rightfully so. Grab your favorite drink and jump into that coveted couch.

    Exactly where work most effectively locations from which to conceal and ambush the other players.


  81. Why visitors still make use of to read news papers when in this technological world the whole thing is existing
    on web?


  82. hey there and thank you for your info – I have certainly picked up something new from right here.
    I did however expertise a few technical points using this website, as I experienced to
    reload the web site lots of times previous to I
    could get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your hosting is OK?
    Not that I’m complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will often affect your placement in google and could damage your high-quality
    score if advertising and marketing with Adwords. Anyway
    I am adding this RSS to my email and can look out for a lot
    more of your respective fascinating content. Ensure
    that you update this again very soon.


  83. Good day! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be
    bookmarking and checking back often!


  84. There are 8 columns on screen, corresponding to each from the keys and
    the turntable. Review kayaking and canoeing safety principles here.
    Take the petals off of the plants before petals match those for the picture.


  85. What’s up, everything is going well here and ofcourse every one is sharing
    data, that’s in fact fine, keep up writing.


  86. Hello Dear, are you genuinely visiting this site daily, if
    so after that you will absolutely take good know-how.


  87. Excellent way off describing, and pleasant paragraph to take information concerning my presentation focus, which i amm
    going to deliver in institution of higher education.


  88. My brother sսǥgesteԁ I might like this web site. Ңe was entirely right.
    This post truly made my day. You cann’t imagine simply
    how mսcҺ time I had spsnt for this info! Thanks!


  89. I’d like to find out more? I’d want to find out more details.


  90. My spouse and I stumbled over here different web address and thought I might check things out.

    I like what I see so i am just following you. Look forward to going over your web page yet again.


  91. Natural products are best for environmental surroundings and they offer you absolutely amazing ..

    Children grow up your market blink of an eyeballs. Might be simple, yet fun for
    experienced people.


  92. If some one wishes expert view regarding blogging after that i advise him/her to go to see this weblog, Keep
    up the pleasant work.


  93. Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude! Thank you, However I am experiencing difficulties with your RSS.
    I don’t know why I can’t subscribe to it. Is there anyone else getting similar RSS problems?
    Anyone that knows the answer can you kindly respond?
    Thanx!!


  94. Outstanding post however , I was wanting to know if you could write a litte more on this subject?
    I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit more.

    Thanks!


  95. Greetings I am so happy I found your blog, I really found you by error, while I
    was researching on Askjeeve for something else, Nonetheless I am
    here now and would just like to say kudos for a tremendous post and
    a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to look over it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time
    I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up
    the fantastic work.


  96. I’m amazed, I have to admit. Rarely do I come across a blog that’s equally educative and amusing, and let me tell you,
    you’ve hit the nail on the head. The problem is an issue
    that not enough men and women are speaking intelligently about.
    I am very happy that I found this in my hunt for something regarding this.


  97. I do not even understand how I stopped up right here,
    but I believed this publish was great. I don’t realize who you’re however definitely you’re
    going to a famous blogger in the event you aren’t already.
    Cheers!


  98. I just couldn’t depart your web site before suggesting that I actually enjoyed the usual info a person provide in your guests?

    Is gonna be back often to check up on new posts


  99. I am actually grateful to the holder of this website who has shared this
    wonderful article at at this time.


  100. Excellent way of telling, and pleasant piece of writing to get facts
    on the topic of my presentation subject, which i am going to present in school.


  101. Hey There. I discovered your blog using msn. This is a very smartly written article.
    I will make sure to bookmark it and come back to learn extra of your useful info.
    Thank you for the post. I will definitely comeback.


  102. It’s great that you are getting thoughts from this article as
    well as from our discussion made at this place.


  103. Most of tourists say that they have never witnessed such majestic scenes
    of people dancing on the streets with coloured faces.
    People color other’s faces by saying ‘Bura Na Mano Holi
    Hai’ in noisy tone and drinking quickly glasses of thandai from time to time.
    You are also able to actually select other, more complicated wooden materials if you.


  104. awesome post!



Leave a Reply

