h1

Blogger Interrupted (again)

March 12, 2009

Greetings to all in Jesus name. The thunderstorms that rolled through our area on Sunday were by no means remarkable. Nonetheless, the surge protection devices were incapable of protecting the computer which is now being repaired. Everything was under warrenty so there’s no cost, however, it has to be sent to an authorized repair center. This means that for the next 2-3 weeks, any activity will have to be conducted at the township library. Needless to say, my activity will be greatly curtailed until our computer is returned.

The trip to Chicago went very well, and while it was a sunny day, it was also very windy.  The temperature hovered around 20 degrees and gave new meaning to the phrase “the frozen chosen.” Truth went forth nonetheless. Two things that intrigue me, though neither should. First is how far my wife has come along. She has become more understanding and supportive as she no longer protests these ventures. Secondly, is the sheer number of folks who are so busy building their careers and running to and fro that they simply have no time to think about eternity. It’s astonishing and in a place like Chicago, the scope of this truth becomes more manifest. Thousands upon thousands of individual tragedies unfolding as everyones final moment draws ever closer.

And such is the case in every community, in every corner of the globe. There’s been much on my heart during the past few days about giving our all to Jesus. To be in a place so surrendered to the Lord that we count all that we have in this world as dung that we may be a faithful ambassador for Jesus. Well, I’ll be going for now as I have to get home and take care of a few things. I’m enjoying the layoff this week, however, it’s been busy. As soon as our computer is back up, I’ll try to ge caught back up. Thanks to all who have taken time to comment. I’ll reply when I can. Until then, I wish to all, blessings in Jesus name.

12 comments

  1. I can’t wait to hear more about the trip. I’m sure you have some interesting things to share.


  2. Glad you had a good trip and made it back safe and sound. The thing that blessed me most was hearing that your wife has become more supportive of your desire to do street evangelism. I have prayed for your family.

    The days we live in are very similar to Noah’s time. People are eating and drinking, marrying and giving in marriage and just living life as usual, unaware of the judgment approachin this world. May God help us to keep this awareness in the forefront and live our lives accordingly. Hope you’re able to get the computer up and running soon.

    Blessings,
    Carol


  3. Timbob,
    I also am glad you had a good trip. It gets me also to see all the people in a big city, running here and there with seemly little or no regard to spiritual matters.
    I can relate with going to the library and using their computers. Its not the same. However, there is one good point at the library…..people are there. Ah yes, people, many who need Christ.
    May God continue to bless you as you go out,
    Richard


  4. Oh the days at the library computer . . . how out of synch I felt! May you be back up and running soon.

    Rachel


  5. Dave Wilkerson has this posted on his blog, “God’s plan to protect his people in the coming depression.”

    http://worldchallenge.edgeboss.net/download/worldchallenge/books/gods_plan_to_protect_his_people.pdf

    And….

    “America’s Last Call”…

    http://worldchallenge.edgeboss.net/download/worldchallenge/books/americas_last_call.pdf

    Interestingly, both were written in 1998.


  6. Hi Jerald. The trip was shorter than I had planned, but did include a stop at Pacific garden Mission where Derek Welch is acitvely involved. He was saved over a year ago and is involved with a team that hits the streets three and four times per week. As for the time spent in the loop, it was really hard to strike up conversations; primarily due to the weather conditions and the time of day, but most people took a tract as they hurried off to work.

    I’m looking forward to returning when the weather is warmer. One memorable moment transpired on the toll road. I was passing a relitively large sub-division when the Lord reminded me that I was driving past a lot of unsaved people. Indeed our mission field is wherever we are at a given moment.

    Thanks for taking time to comment. have a blessed day in Jesus.


  7. Hi carol. Thanks for keeping us in prayer. I must tell more about why the Wisconsin portion of the trip was let go. First had no peace about it. Despite my fervent desire to meet the saints in Beaver Dam, there was no peace about it. Later on, my wife became angry about the extended part of the trip and so I let it go. Instantly I had confidence about limiting the trip to a single day in Chicago. This was the right thing to do at this time.

    Kimberly has come a long ways over the past couple of years and I fear scattering. The burden on my heart, coupled with the delicate situation at home causes me to realize all the more, the need to “always” walk in the Spirit. To place the Lord first in all things and know that the mission field is everywhere.

    Thanks for taking time to comment, and also for offering insights that help to keep me in touch with the situation at home as well. The Lord is doing a work.

    Blessings always in Jesus name.


  8. Hi Richard. It’s amazing how many people we encounter on a daily basis in every venue. May we all be more atuned to the needs right before us. While street ministry is where my heart is; almost to the point of it having a romantic-esque quality, it’s a very small portion of the overall picture.

    Thanks for stopping by. Have a blessed day in Jesus.


  9. Hi Rachel. The down time revealed to me that I’m kind of more addicted to the internet than I thought; despite knowing what it will eventually be used for. Nonetheless, it’s an awesome place to testify of Jesus while the time remains.

    Thanks for taking time to stop by. Blessings always in Jesus name.


  10. Hi Code. We’ve indeed been granted a lot of warning concerning the times that we’re in. Sadly, I know of many christians who are still looking at things in a recyclical manner as they hold fast to the status quo. Jesus is the solid rock; all else is shifting sand. Thanks for the links. I’ll check them out when I can.

    Thanks so much for taking time to comment and let me know of these. Blessings always in Jesus name.


  11. You may have picked up on my Bus Across America trip on my blog. I went to California. You went to Chicago. I learned strategy for my next trip. Travel only during the day if possible. People at night want to sleep. They are no so much interested in Jesus. Ha!

    Looking forward to hearing about your adventure.


  12. Hi Archie. It was by no means a dramatic trip, but the truth of new life in Jesus christ went forth. Those seeds will grow and only the Lord knows the full outcome, but it was, nonetheless, an awesome time.

    Oftentimes just the travel time alone is an incredible experience. The two hours that it takes to reach Chicago is an incredible time for prayer and just being with the Lord. These days my life is so hectic that any stretch of time is priceless.

    On the physical side, however, I learned that it’s exactly 123’6 miles from my driveway to the corner of Des Plains and Adams Ave. There’s a tiny park on the corner (Heritage Green) which features a few benches and a Celtic pagan statue. This is where I usually park the truck before walking back into the heart of the city with a backpack full of tracts, prayerfully searching for anyone who has ears to hear.

    As far as travelling at night, I prefer not to but that’s just a preferance.

    Thanks for taking time to stop by. Have a blessed day in Jesus.



Leave a Reply

