h1

“Midnight Intercessions”

April 21, 2009

More drama on the home front as, last night, Morgan moved back home again. It seemed like the latest installment of an endless series of cycles where she has a squabble with Dustin, moves back home, and brings chaos into the house. This is usually followed by the backup boyfriend (Levi) coming around for a while, then Dustin coming over, the two of them patching things up, and a plea for us to let them live here, even though they’re not married. (This is my line in the sand; I cannot allow fornication under this roof. It always becomes the reason for Morgan leaving again) This is a pattern that has continued for almost two years. Each repetition drives me nutty as turmoil ensues, tempers flare, and I always somehow end up being the “problem.” The situation is further complicated by the fact that none of them are making an attempt to take on the responsibilities of life, such as seeking employment. (Morgan is age 19, Dustin is 18, and Levi is 26) Sadly, the continuing dramas of the situation tend to obscure the spiritual battle over souls for whom Jesus shed his blood.

For over three hours last night, after learning of this latest twist, I was disturbed that their unsettled lifestyle was once again coming under this roof. I could envision more yelling, more slammed doors, and more destroyed electronic devices in the yard. I prayed for the Lord to open my eyes to the bigger picture; to see it through his eyes. “I cannot navigate this situation without divine intervention.” By the end of the shift, I was not only calmed down, I was in prayer for Morgan who is indeed a soul hanging in the balance. It’s not always easy to look beyond the cover story; expecially when the course of that cover story has such an impact on our life. (This household is crazy under normal circumstances) But we must look to the eternal picture. Uphold sound doctrine, and refuse to look away when sin is seeking an inroad, but  nonetheless, to be mindful of what’s in play. It reveals, all the more, the fact that we need Jesus “every hour.” We must “ALWAYS” strive to walk in the Spirit, because when we allow the flesh to dictate our actions, we’re like a bull in a china shop; destroying everything that we touch.  

I Timothy 2:1 “I exhort therefore, that first of all, supplications, prayers, intercessions, and giving of thanks be made for all men;”

Interestingly, there’s a man at our church who is in Christ because a friend prayed for him for 22 years.  

I Few things reflect the sincere love that we have for another than to routinely come into the presence of the Lord and petition on their behalf. While this doesn’t relieve us from the obligation to address physical needs when it’s appropriate or to lovingly instruct those who oppose themselves, the time spent on their behalf before the throne of grace is one of the greatest acts of compassion that we can perform. And we can do it anywhere. We can pray for another while working, while walking through Wal-mart, while driving down the road, while unable to get to sleep, while milking the Nubians, or what have you. Although quiet uninterrupted spaces of time are preferred, we can be in continuous intercession for others; regardless of the level of franticity in our lives.

In the natural realm, it may seem as though we’re not really accomplishing anything; an illusion that the enemy will continuously try to convince us of as we invade his territory and strongholds begin to tremble.  Yet nothing that we do can we influence the life of another like praying for them. Conversing about the well-being of another with the Lord Jesus, who knows the number of hairs on that persons head, knew them prior to forming them (Jeremiah 1:5)  knows their deepest thoughts, knows about every hurt, every injustice, every anxiety and who knows exactly how many tears they have shed over the course of their years.  He loves them more than we can ever begin to understand and he paid for their sins on the old rugged cross. We can plant seed whenever an opportunity arises and water the seed whenever we are in the neighborhood. But to continuously pray for the person, even when it seems that all hope is lost; bringing their name before the Lord Jesus who gives the increase is certain to avail much.

James 5:16-18  “Confess your faults one to another, and pray one for another, that ye may be healed. The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much. Elias was a man subject to like passions as we are, and he prayed earnestly that it might not rain: and it rained not on the earth by the space of three years and six months. And he prayed again, and the heaven gave rain, and the earth brought forth her fruit.”

I know of many testimonies where someone is in Christ today because of long-term intercession by another. A friend of David Meyers grandma was such an intercessor who prayed for him for years. One can only imagine the course of davids life, had this dear sister not been diligently praying for him. It goes without a doubt that, during the campaign, the devil continually whispered in her ear, “this is a lost cause. He’s too far gone.” The enemy will pull out all of the stops to prevent us from coming before the Lord Jesus and petition on behalf of one of his captives. I routinely pray for those in my vicinity and for years, one such person has been CR. I remember praying for him and, as was the case with Cindy, there was much opposition. (Cindys story can be found HERE ) Whenever I would pray for CR, there was this almost overwhelming feeling of “this is never going to happen.” Today, CR is born of the Spirit and very evangelical. He just wants to get the gospel of Jesus Christ out to everyone possible.

Well, I’ll close for now. There are souls all around us who are rushing toward an eternity without Jesus and we must take seriously the ministry of standing in the gap for such. I have a battle ahead of me that requires intense prayer and continual dying to self as oftentimes the proper avenues of action will be the ones with the most resistance. Each of us have before us, divers sets of circumstances that we dare not venture into without walking in the Spirit. It seems impossible to adequately portray the seriousness of this. I wish to all, a blessed day in Jesus.

II Kings 6:17 “And Elisha prayed, and said, LORD, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see. And the LORD opened the eyes of the young man; and he saw: and, behold, the mountain was full of horses and chariots of fire round about Elisha.”
I Corinthians 3:6-7 “I have planted, Apollos watered; but God gave the increase. So then neither is he that planteth any thing, neither he that watereth; but God that giveth the increase.”

These two passages reveal that God is far greater than any battle before us and that he is the one who grants the increase.

8 comments

  1. Timbob, thanks for sharing more of your heart with your readers. I wonder if Morgan or Dustin have read any of your posts? You certainly have a tender heart for them.
    May the Lord God give you the desires of your heart.


  2. Oh Timbob, while I have not had any such struggles with my own children, (they have not yet reached an age to quicken my greying hairs 😛 )I have watched my parents-in-law pray their way through the same issues with my sister-in-law.

    I am excited to say, that at the age of 21, she has committed to Christ and is growing in His ways and learning to seek Him in every area of her life. One would have thought that after coming close and then retreating as many times as she had, that this time would never come, but yet, it has. Keep Morgan in prayer and trust God for the outcome. My prayers will also be with you and your family.

    “It is God who arms me with strength, and makes my way perfect” Psalm 18:32

    “The Lord will fight for you, and you shall hold your peace” Exodus 14:14 Prayer always works better than words, as you stand your ground for the Lord.

    Bless you Timbob, and remember, that God understands the heart and love we have for our children.


  3. your family is in my prayers.


  4. Thank you for being so vulnerable to enable us to pray so intimately. I will being praying for you and your daughter.

    Rachel


  5. Will definitely pray for you, Brother.

    Martin


  6. Greetings to all in Jesus name.

    Jerald: I keep them in prayer, but the situation is ever so delicate that I fear causing more complication.

    Five Peas: The testimony of your sister in law is awesome and reminds us of just what’s at stake. And the fact that when a person is in Christ, all of the former things are gone. Praise God!

    Cindy, Rachel, and Martin. Thank you so much. This situation is very complex and I pray that all involved will come to Jesus.

    Thanks again to all who stopped by. I’m kind of rushing at the moment, but I wanted to reply and than everyone.

    Blessings always in Jesus name.


  7. I feel your pain. I’ve been praying for my parents almost 20 years and so many times, I wonder if any of them matter b/c nothing has changed. Be encouraged!


  8. Hi Code. Thanks for the much needed encouragement. I will keep your family in prayer; along with the manager that you mentioned previously.

    Blessings in Jesus name.



Leave a Reply

