h1

Unto All Holy Seekers and Loving Enquirers

May 11, 2009

It was another of those days where I felt as one living in two different worlds. (This has become commonplace) On the surface, it was a very enjoyable Mothers Day for my wife and everyone else in this household. We showered Mrs. timbob with the usual assortment of gifts and cards, Megan wrote her a poem, Ryan wrote a song and actually sang it to her, (Wow!) Morgan and Dustin were here, we grilled chicken in the afternoon, and in the evening, visited my inlaws in Three Rivers. It was, on the surface, a very normal looking day as we gave our moms some much deserved recognition for all that they do and let them know how much we love them. Every part of the day took place as one would expect with no surprises that would, in the years to come, cause this particular Mothers Day to stand out from all of the others.

And yet it was not a normal day as I found myself continually pondering things that have been on my heart for the past three or four years; that being the makeup of the end times church, the lateness of the hour, the seperation between the sheep and the goats, and the attributes of those who will still be standing after the great falling away has claimed its final casualty. The reasons for this are twofold. For one, it’s an issue that’s never far from my personal embodiment of cogitations. (?)  Secondly, during the previous sleepless night, I was surfing  the blogosphere and visiting a few places that I’m normally unable to get to as often as I would like. I came across a prophecy that was originally given by Jane Leade in 1679, re-introduced by a man named Charles Price in the early part of the twentieth century, and last August placed into a post by DJ on the blog site “Girl Apprehended.” The first link below is to DJs posting. The second is to a site featuring an extensive collection of Jane Leade prophecies.

1679 PROPHECY TO THE SONS OF GOD by CHARLES PRICE

 JANE LEADE 17th CENTURY PROPHETESS

Although such considerations are profitable for any generation, I believe they hold special significance for us as we are witnessing the fulfilment of scripture before our eyes. As such we should be understanding of what it means to hold fast the profession of our faith steadfast unto the end and the characteristics of those who are a part of what Jane Leade refers to as the “virgin church.”  This is not something that is on the minds of many these days as issues of eternal significance are oftentimes placed on the back burner in favor of social issues. It’s commonplace today for churches to have marriage seminars, (this has a place) financial seminars, (ours is currently going through a Dave Ramsey series on Wednesday evenings) and teachings on a host of other like topics. But one will be hard pressed to find a seminar on “LETTING GO OF EVERYTHING THAT THIS WORLD HOLDS IN HIGH ESTEEM AND SUBMITTING OURSELVES FULLY TO THE LORDSHIP OF JESUS CHRIST.”

“Letting go” is a complete trusting in the Lord and placing no confidence in our own inventions or reasonings. It’s a willingness to do anything the Lord asked of us without trying to map out our means of sustainance before deciding whether or not to believe that it’s possible. When one determines to live within these perimeters, there will be trial and the flesh will become quite uncomfortable. And yet this “absolute abandonment of all, that we may win Christ” is essential if we’re to not be caught up in the great falling away or the events coming to pass upon the earth. I was about to write out Revelation 12:11, however, the following familiar passage came to me while typing the previous sentance.

Matthew 10:18-20 ” And ye shall be brought before governors and kings for my sake, for a testimony against them and the Gentiles.
But when they deliver you up, take no thought how or what ye shall speak: for it shall be given you in that same hour what ye shall speak.
For it is not ye that speak, but the Spirit of your Father which speaketh in you.”

This passage is far deeper than I’m going to get into, (the entire tenth chapter of Matthew is a good place to read about loving not our lives in this world) but it does reveal two primary attributes of a saint who is positioned to endure unto the end. First is an abandonment of earthly standing. They have, from their heart, let go of every attachment that would cause them to “reconsider” their profession and have made Jesus Christ their absolute first love. Secondly is a complete confidence in the Lord; knowing that he is with us always and will empower us to endure anything that comes in our direction. In times of peace and safety, seeds of doubt or an attachment to a particular idol can remain for years. In times of great trying however, when the forces of hell are striving to stamp out the testimony of Jesus, such seeds will quickly sprout into compromise and result in one becoming a spiritual casulalty.

Something else is needful to mention. The above senario may sound gloomy and cause many to be uneasy. Indeed Jesus warned us that the days prior to his return would be more perilous than any other time in history. But for those who are in Christ and have made him their refuge; they will also be days of indescribable peace and incredible fellowship. A closeness to Jesus and a bond with those who have remained faithful when it would have been much easier to succumb to the falsehoods of smooth preachers or the logical presentations of those who have swallowed the big lie. A time when the joy of the Lord surpasses anything that must be endured in the natural.

II Corinthians 7:4 Great is my boldness of speech toward you, great is my glorying of you: I am filled with comfort, I am exceeding joyful in all our tribulation.”

I John 2:13-14 “I write unto you, fathers, because ye have known him that is from the beginning. I write unto you, young men, because ye have overcome the wicked one. I write unto you little children, becuse ye have known the Father.
I have written unto you, fathers, because ye have known him that is from the beginning. I have written unto you, young men, because ye are strong, and the word of God abideth in you., and ye have overcome the wicked one.”

The overcomers. Those who, from their heart, have placed their “all” on the altar and count all that was previously amassed in this world as “debris” that they may win Christ. Those who are not enticed by the worlds allurements, or the empty promises of stability in the theater of atoms. Those who rejuse to  identify with the titles and traditions of this fallen worlds system, but make their boast in the Lord Jesus Christ  They have backed out of all unholy alliances and have determined to follow the Lamb withersoever he goeth. Their conversation testifies to one having an intimate relationship with the only begotten Son of God; by whom the worlds were created, and before whom every person will one day stand.

My desire in writing this afternoon, is that everyone who professes Jesus Christ as Savior will do an examination of priorities and enquire of the Lord to reveal any trouble spots. (Philippians 3:15) That each of us would let go of the weights, sins, petty disputings, contrary attitudes, imaginations that seek self-promotion or recognition; “anything” that stands between us and the Lord. That we would, from our hearts, pray the words found in the end of Revelation, “EVEN SO, COME, LORD JESUS!”  

Blessings always in Jesus name.

Romans 8:18 “For I reckon that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory which shall be revealed in us.”
I Peter 4:1 “Wherefore let them that suffer according to the will of God commit the keeping of their souls to him in well doing, as unto a faithful Creator.”
Psalm 42;5-8 “Why art thou cast down, O my soul? and why art thou disquieted in in me? hope thou in God: for I shall yet praise him for the help of his countenance.
O my God, my soulis cast down within me: therefore will I remember thee from the land of Jordan, and of the hermonites, from the hill Mizar.
Deep calleth unto deep at the noise of thy waterspouts: all thy waves and thy billows are gone over me.
Yet the LORD will command his lovingkindness in the daytime, and in the night his song shall be with me, and my prayer unto the God of my life.”
8 comments

  1. Wonderful post . . . it never ceases to amaze me in my own life how worldly philosophies and trust creep in. God has been teaching me a lot about truly trusting in Him and His wisdom in all things that He may be exalted in my life. Being in the Word, one-on-one with our Lord, is critical to have the mind of Christ and being able to “Casting down arguments and every high thing that exalts itself against the knowledge of God, bringing every thought into captivity to the obedience of Christ,”. But to do so is to truly live. I’m amazed at the freedom that His ways and truth brings.

    Rachel


  2. Hi Rachel. There’s a sweetness in surrendering all to Jesus that’s beyond description. When we meet folks who have truly made the Lord their delight, there’s a fellowship that’s “out of this world” so to speak. I pray that all of us would come to a place of complete trust in the Lord and a total casting down of all that’s contrary.

    As I read the comments and posts of many, it seems all the more evident that the Lord is drawing us in close to him. We don’t know how things will unfold from day to day, but the Lord is truly our refuge.

    Thanks so much for stopping by. I was wondering if you could share your blog site address. I’ve wanted to visit and place it on the ever-lengthening blogroll to the right, but have not found it.

    Thanks so much for stopping by.
    Blessings always in Jesus name.


  3. Your first few paragraphs made me laugh. Like you, I am often conflicted by the difference between my own inner thoughts and my outer environment. (We’re in good company — I’m reading “Surprised by Joy” by C.S. Lewis and he frequently writes in these terms).
    My home and family life are both so wonderful and sweet right now. As I write this my children are playing together happily. It’s a beautiful, breezy, sunny spring day. And yet like you, in my spirit I sense the urgency of the hour and feel the need to be in constant prayer, even while playing with my sweet babies.

    1 Peter 4:1 is one of my favorite verses.


  4. Sure . . . my blog is http://www.stirringthedeep.com. Come on by.

    Rachel


  5. Hi Anna. It’s a balancing act to keep things in perspective and reminds us all the more that we need the Lord every hour. Thanks for stopping by

    Blessings always in Jesus name.


  6. Hi Rachel. Thanks for the information. I’ll swing by when I can.

    Blessings in Jesus name.


  7. With regard to placing our ‘all’ on the altar, I am reminded again that we, the Body of Christ/ the Christian community, do not see many examples of lives truly laid down, poured out and sacrificed for the Father’s will and purpose in the earth. Do we not long to see true examples of this? Who, of us, is He calling forth to become the present day examples for those to follow?

    I encourage people to begin a prayerful search and understanding of their life as a true living sacrifice by visiting this website, http://www.kingdavidstable.com. This fellow has truly walked away (as lead by the Holy Spirit) from a business and a home (a normal North American lifestyle) and put it ALL on the altar that his own life be poured out for the sake of others. Read some of these testimonies and see if the Holy Spirit doesn’t touch you.

    Born of His spirit, we should all have a deep cry within to live as one called to make a difference in the lives of the lost and hurting. This can get misplaced in our lives lived as a part of the world while we are in it. I might venture to guess that some spiritual ‘restlessness’ you and many others like myself, are experiencing is the Lord stirring us up to dive deeper or climb higher at this time because He will be ‘stepping up’ His next work in the earth.

    Much more is, and will be, required of us (in spirit and truth, faith and sacrifice) in order that we actually qualify as Overcomers. Praise the Lord, we have one other for prayer and to bear one another’s burdens, to strengthen and encourage one another.

    This is not an easy thing, nor should it be. Faith is serious business. The more we lean on the Lord as His life within us, the more He is glorified! Let’s not deny Him His full glory.

    In His grip, dj


  8. Hi dj. Thanks for the link to kingdavidstable, although I’ll have to check it out tomorrow as it’s now past 2:00am. Placing our all on the altar is no easy task. It requires a reckless abandonment of trusting our own understanding or placing confidence in the institutions of this world. It entails a “take no thought for the morrow” approach to life that many consider to be beyond reach. But what liberty awaits those who just let go of their own reasoning and seek the Lord with all diligence.

    Thanks so much for stopping by and offering some much needed insight. Blessings always in Jesus name.



Leave a Reply

