h1

Checking In: August 31, 2009 (0339)

August 31, 2009
“Souls hanging in the balance.” If a single statement could sum up the past few days, it’s this one. Placing aside all of the drama, counter drama, (counterdrama?) skirmishes, misunderstandings, and less-than-appropriate reactions to circumstances, it all comes down to this single thing. Time is running out. There are souls here; in this household, in this neighborhood, and in the workplace, who do not know Jesus Christ as Savior and Lord. The enemy is striving to keep his captives from coming to the truth whereby the can be made free. Likewise the enemy is striving to keep the saints tied up with every little distraction that he can throw in their path in an attempt to keep them from being about the Fathers business. This is not a philsophical contest that’s playing out; it’s a full scale war in which the full arsenal has been deployed. The devil is using every device at his disposal; striving to run out the clock on billions of souls who are passing through the valley of decision at this very moment. (Sorry for sounding so dramatic)
Never has it been more imperative to maintain an eternal perspective. Lately this family has been rocked by chaos; a significant portion of it centering around Morgan who is now pregnant. (To Morgans credit, she is keeping the child and I believe that she will be a great mom) A few days ago, Dustin returned to the area from Kentucky and they are back together. I’ve also learned that we went to pick her up from down there (Kentucky) under somewhat false pretences. In addition there’s been so much drama under this roof, from such a vast array of issues and sources, that many families would be ripped apart by such volatility. It’s easy to look at circumstances that seem out of control and opt for the easy exit. One could even justify to themselves such an exit by reciting where they have been “wronged” and contemplating what they could accomplish apart from the present setting. But this would not only the wrong approach, it would be downright selfish and damaging to the souls in the ambience. Souls who are in desperate need of a supernatural encounter with the Creator of all that is.
The enemy will always strive to distract us; to keep us from focusing on what’s really at stake. If we can be drawn into endless debatings over trivial items; if he can get us wrapped up in one irrelevant endeavor after another or cause us to follow after decoys which appear to be worthwile causes but have no eternal significance, then he has effectively neutralized us. If he can cause us to focus on the present snapshot of time and react solely in accordance to the reality presented therein, we are no longer considered a serious threat. If we’re more concerned with maintaining our comfort zone than the eternal destination of the precious souls in our midst, we have become primarily a spectator. The circumstances in this family have become so complicated that I’ve had to just “stop,” come before the Lord, and say, “I simply don’t know what to do.” In his mercy, the Lord has been opening my eyes to the bigger picture.
Two words have been coming to mind for the few weeks. “THIS ENDS!” The present state of affairs will soon pass. Every soul will one day stand before the Lord Jesus. When we “truly” begin to get an eternal perspective, we’ll no longer be bothered by the irrelevancies. Then, instead of reacting to events going on around us, we’ll find ourselves weeping that so many are lost and seeminly not even remotely concerned about their soul. How important it is for us to see the bigger picture. When we look into the eyes of another, we are, in effect, looking into eternity. That person is a part of the fabric of the everlasting. They will spend eternity somewhere and they will probably remember their encounters with us during this life. This morning, I awakened and turned to a random place in the bible that sits on the nightstand. I found myself in Jeremiah chapter 24 and this verse stood out boldly:
Jeremiah 24:7 “And I will give them an heart to know me, that I am the LORD: and they shall be my people, and I will be their God: for they shall return unto me with their whole heart.”
The souls around us; regardless of how contrary they may seem, the Lord can give them a “heart to know him” just as he has done for everyone who is born of the Spirit. Just as he did for me in the summer of 1983. Being around authentic saints that summer, the Lord began to “draw me in.” It was a drawing so sweet and so profound that 26 years later, I still cannot describe it with words. Yet it was there and in mid September of that year, he brought me to a place of complete repentance and faith in the Lord Jesus Christ, who paid for my sins on the old rugged cross. Dennis and MaryAnn rarely talked to me about spiritual matters; except for when I would ask a question. Yet they were exactly the city setting on a hill that I needed.
 Well so much for a “quick word before heading off to bed.”  There’s much that could be written, but the hour is late. Praise God for his peace that supercedes all of the distractions and chaos. And when we are abiding close to him; trusting completely, listening, and not striving to “figure it all out on our own,” we’ll not be shaken by the storms that come our way. If time permits, please keep Morgan and Dustin in prayer.
Blessings always in Jesus name.
10 comments

  1. The devil is indeed hard at work. Your household faces the same constant attacks that so many face. In my household my husband and I are firm in his word but my parents, my oldest child and almost everyone else on my side of the family have given their lives over to the ruler of this world.

    They all think I am crazy. When I point out the signs that were clearly detailed in the books of prophecy they shake their heads as if I should be institutionalized or something. At times, I have even been guilty of restraining my tongue because the looks, the whispers and the backstabbing wear me down.

    At times, I feel like I am in the Garden of Gethsemane, I know my Lord suffers, yet I am to tired to stay awake and remain vigil. However, your post today reminded me that we all face this constant pressure from the devil and his minions, and we must help each other to remain strong during these trying times.

    I fear the pressure will continue to build and many saints will fall away. Let us all pray for one another, let us lift our voices to heaven that we remain strong in HIS will and do not fall asleep.

    I took a personal reflection from my private setting so you could read it, it is titled “Are you Haughty or Humble.” I’ll leave it open for a week to give you time to read it. I believe it is another way that his Saints are under attack, not only in our home families, but in our church families as well.


  2. Timbob,

    May our Father keep you, as He always does, in the hollow of His hand and protect your heart from the storms swirling around you right now. May He continue to grant you clear and unclouded perception of the war raging for your family and strength and faith for the battle ahead. It is in His strength that we stand and in His mighty name that we conquer.

    Love, Cindy


  3. TimBob:

    I truly appreciate your transparency and your ability to stay focused on the Savior amid such turmoil. You give me alot of encouragement and hope within my own situation. It is a quick refocus that happens when I come here, so please know that the Lord is allowing this to minister to people the way you are and I praise Him for that. It is indeed bringing Him much glory. I will continue to pray for you and your family. The bad guys have no power over us through Jesus Christ and I will be fighting for you in the Spirit. There was a time that they almost got the best of me, but it was simply the Lord fine tuning my Spiritual battle skills….He is VERY faithful. Stand strong brother,

    Til He Comes
    Deb


  4. The one thing I have learnt so far in my life is that God is absolutely Sovereign over all circumstances, and is working even in what appears to us to be dire circumstances. I’ve never forgotten how I felt when I lost a job I knew He’d led me into, after only 6 months and not under good circumstances (I was basically sacked despite doing a good job because of inhouse politics!). I was utterly devastated and couldn’t see any purposeful reason for it, as it left me struggling to persuade any new employer I was suitable. But if I hadn’t lost that job at that point in time, my late husband & I would have been homeless as we were living in the home provided with the job, and about to sell our own house. Stephen was an alcoholic and within months of us returning here to live, took seriously ill with his disease, and I ended up becoming disabled with a raft of rheumatic conditions. But I was able to see how the Lord had absolutely moved in and through that situation to bring out the best from what I considered to be the worst, and I’m still utterly grateful to Him for it. So while your situation with Morgan may seem hard to figure out a reason for just now, there will come a time when you will see His Hand moving mightily and blessings flowing from it. There are no coincidences or mistakes in His Perfect Will as you know Tim, and I will also keep you in prayer for wisdom and understanding to come in the midst of this situation. God bless, Romayne 🙂


  5. “If we can be drawn into endless debatings over trivial items; if he can get us wrapped up in one irrelevant endeavor after another or cause us to follow after decoys which appear to be worthwile causes but have no eternal significance, then he has effectively neutralized us.”

    ““THIS ENDS!” The present state of affairs will soon pass.”

    “When we look into the eyes of another, we are, in effect, looking into eternity.”

    My goodness brother! God’s heart is truly expressed through your posting here. Amidst the turmoil you shine His light ever so brightly.

    Bless you, Timbob, you encourage the saints every time you post….please keep it up!

    I too, will keep your household in prayer.


  6. Hi darksculptures. It often seems as thought we’re pressed from all sides and such has been the case lately. I praise God for allowing a larger glimpse of what’s truly playing out, but the battles are still intense and the pressures to just “look the other way while we let this go on” are immense.

    I think that we’re all in ssituations where we simply cannot operate properly without direction from on high. It would be like trying to drive through a major metropolitan area while wearing a blindfold. Certain calamity would be shortly forthcoming.

    Thanks so much for commenting. Sorry for such a delayed response, but it’s been somewhat crazy here.

    Blessings always in Jesus name.


  7. Hi Cindy. Thanks. It is truly in the strength of the Lord that we stand; not in our own abilities. I needed to be reminded of this as there are situations here that are far more complex than words can relate.

    Blessings always in Jesus name.


  8. Hi Deb. Thanks so much for the encouraging words and prayers. As you mention, “the bad guys have no power over us through Jesus Christ.” We are indeed more than conquerors; even in themidst of turmoil. There are many precious souls here and I’m praying for deliverances and names to br written in heaven.

    Blessings always in Jesus name.


  9. Hi Romayne. It’s really good to hear from you. Thanks for telling about how what seemed to be a really bad situation worked out for the best. It’s so easy to fixate on the snapshot of the present and not see the bigger picture in play; especially when things go altogether contrary to what we had expected.

    The Lord knows exactly what he’s doing and it’s a marvellous work. Thanks.

    Blessings always in Jesus name.


  10. Hi Fivepeas. It has been a real struggle and only the Lord can keep things together. I oftentimes feel like a proverbial “bull in a china shop” when striving to respond to circumstances. There are things that simply cannot be responded to in the flesh, because in the spiritual realm, collateral damage can result in souls being lost.

    The one ovrwhelming thing concerning this household is that nobody else seems concerned about their soul.

    Thanks for stopping by. Blessings always in Jesus name.



Leave a Reply

