h1

(whether in the body, I cannot tell, or whether out of the body, I cannot tell: God knoweth;)

September 19, 2009
This is a truly fascinating thought. To be so caught up in the Spirit that such a thing as to whether one is within or without the body becomes, as it were, indistinguishable. Pauls retelling of this event in the twelth chapter of II Corinthians, which transpired above fourteen years prior, reveals a level of abiding in Christ that very few ever reach in this life. A place of walking in the Spirit to the point where the physical realm is completely moved into a secondary placing. Of being so atuned to the Holy Spirit that the embodiment of the observable takes on an almost surreal quality. The whole of that which folks squander away lifetimes lusting after, becomes as nothing, to one for whom the realities of the world to come and the continual presence of the Lord are manifest on such a level. Last Friday, while browsing through a bookstore, I came across some publications of Smith Wigglesworth. The back cover of the one which I ended up purchasing, contained the following quote:
“God has priveleged us in Christ to live above the ordinary human plane of life. Those who want to be ordinary and live on a lower plane can do so, but as for me, I will not.”
Of all the topics that one can write about, this is one is a favorite. It offers an opportunity to embark on a literary journey into the heavenly realm. To consider precepts and levels of sojourning that we know are available to any diligent seeker, but have yet to grow into. Such ponderings should ignite in us, an increased hunger for the deep things of God and a ditching of anything that would seek to steal away our affections.  A longing to “come up hither” as it were; sheding all of the weights that keep us spiritually earthbound. To arrive at a place of being seated continually in heavenly places; wherein we remain intensely close to the Lord Jesus and become effective ambassadors for him in the gallery of souls. It bears repeating, that a truly heavenly minded person; one who walks in the Spirit continually, will be in a place to reach out to the captives who are in desperate need of a Savior. 
II Corinthians 3:17-18 “Now the Lord is that Spirit: and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is liberty.
But we all, with open face beholding as in a glass the glory of the Lord, are changed into the same image from glory to glory, even as by the Spirit of the Lord.”
Complete liberty. A person who walks in this realm will find a “disconnect” so to speak, as the heavenly realm is more real than the array of atomic formulas that currently tether us to this temporal setting. A saint who is functioning in this realm will have such a childlike faith in Jesus that they literally “take no thought for the morrow” as he instructed us.  (Matthew 6:34) Oftentimes, the bringing forth of such concepts with other saints will result in an almost scolding “well you have to work and be a responsible citizen.” Indeed, I would never argue against working (II Thessalonians 3:10) or being a model citizen, unless that “model” is one in which a person must compromise their faith in christ. Yet it’s astonishing that such talk causes many folks to immediately retreat to the supposed safety of the chariots of Egypt, instead of considering what it would be like to enter into such a place spiritually, that they just “soar” through the time of their sojourning; regardless of physical standings.
“Where the Spirit of the Lord is there is liberty.” Liberty from traditions, liberty from the heaping of trappings, liberty from the agendas of this world, liberty from the merchandisers, and liberty from the anxieties that dominate the lives of so many these days. A state of being continually plugged in to the heavenly realm wherein we no longer subscribe to the conformities of this life. Without a doubt, we will be considered “oddballs” in the eyes of many outside the household of faith who “think it strange that we run not with them to the same excess of riot. Yet the harshest criticisms will almost always come from the brethren who have chosen to remain within the comfy confines of institution and love their standing in this world. They will honor God with their lips, but in reality, the rudiments of this world are their god. Thoughts of abandoning the earthly kingdom and the ovations of their contemporaries bring forth an uneasiness and they will vehemently defend their form of spirituality.
The place being written of in this posting requires the holy seeker to place everything on the altar. To truly count all that is in this world as loss, that they may win Christ. Initially, the thoughts can be troubling as we embark on this jouney to know Christ, and the power of his resurrection, and the fellowship of his sufferings. Moving beyond our elaborate array of safety nettings can be unnerving. But the benefits are indescribable as we find ourselves becoming ever closer to the Lord. The prevailing tranquility, the contentment, the joy unspeakeable, and the sojourning here; not to set up an empire that we can never hold on to, but spending our days as eternal ones who are longing for the moment when they are forever with the Lord.  To no longer be harassed by thoughts of what tomorrow will bring but to be looking steadfastly unto Jesus who has gone to prepare a place for us. When this reality begins to get into our heart, the besetting sins and wrestlings will begin to drop to the ground.
The blessings of being in such a place are undeniable; and yet there’s one benefit that warrents elaboration. A spiritually minded person of this magnitude will be able to see clearly to pull the mote out of their brothers eye. This is huge! I look at my present situation; with many folks in my ambience being completely bound by the devil and realize these situations are “way beyond” my ability to properly respond to. Situations so intense that I have to find a place and pray “Lord; I need to see this from your perspective because right now I want to just throw Morgan out of the house regardless of the consequences.” This is how intense the situation has been at times. I have to continuously “pray through” on this situation, when it would be much easier to resort to almost draconian methods and label it “tough love.” When it becomes real to us that such a thing could well be the difference between a soul eventually being saved or a soul being lost, the arguements of the flesh lose their footing. Here’s what real tough love is:
Matthew 5:39-41 “But I say unto you, that ye resist not evil: but whosoever shall smite thee on thy right cheek, turn to him the other also.
And if any man will sue thee and take away thy coat, let him have thy cloak also.
And whosoever shall compel thee to go a mile, go with him twain.”
Well I was planning to completely avoid commenting on the continuing saga ongoing here, but it happened anyways. (I’m such a weenie) It’s been a very trying time; especially when progress appears to have been lost. And yet these souls need someone to stand in the gap; someone who understands the situation from an eternal perspective. And as the old song goes “I Need Thee Every Hour.” Well I have to go as I’ve had very little sleep due to getting the goats over to the fair early this morning, and I must go to work this afternoon. I pray that these words would encourage every reader to diligently seek after such a place in Christ that they move continually in the realms described here. Blessings always in Jesus name.
Matthew 5:44-45 “But I say unto you, Love your enemies, bless them that curse you, do good to them that hate you, and pray for them which despitefully use you and persecute you;
That you may be the children of your Father which is in heaven: for he maketh his sun to shine on the evil and on the good, and sendeth rain on the just and on the unjust.”
4 comments

  1. both realms are available to you through Christ Timbob, and you need not compromise one for the other. hmmm… this life can have beautiful ‘riches’ indeed…. but our reward is not Christ, as we cannot own such a thing. WE and our surrender are HIS reward and ours is eternal life WITH Him. I know it’s a little thing, but an important distinction.

    you are one of my favorite sites to visit….


  2. Hi Timbob,

    As I read your post, I thought of a few times where I almost felt like I was caught up to that place the apostle Paul speaks of. I remember when I first received the baptism of the Holy Ghost. I was actually standing in the baptistry,preparing to be baptized in Jesus’ name. The pastor asked everyone to pray and worship before I was baptized. As we began worshipping, I felt the presence of God, God took control of my mouth, and I began speaking in tongues as the Spirit gave the utternace. I lost all track of time and my physical surroundings as I was engulfed by the most incredible love I had ever felt in my life. After I was baptized someone asked me, “Do you know how long you were in the baptistry?” I didn’t, so the told me that I was in there for 45 minutes. I thought, “No way. It seemed like I was only in there for 5.” Others assured me though that I was in there for quite a long time.

    There have been a few times since then, when engulfed in His presence, time just seemed to stand still, although it was indeed ticking, and I would be amazed when I found out how long I had been praising, worshipping and communing with the Lord. I believe God allows these times to strengthen and renew us, so we can do the work He has called us to do. One day though, I look forward to having that unbroken fellowship with the Lord where I won’t have the cares of this life to deal with anymore. No more bills to pay, no more sickness, no more dumb old devil, no more trials. What a glorious day that will be!

    Psalm 17:15 As for me, I will behold thy face in righteousness: I shall be satisfied, when I awake, with thy likeness.

    Thanks for this post. Praying for you and your family.

    Blessings,
    Carol


  3. Hi Cindy. Indeed Jesus made note of this in Luke 18:29-30. That those who surrender their all for him will have manifold more in this life and everlasting life as well. I probably should have mentioned this alone with the post. My thoughts were along the line of how when we get in close to Jesus,the temporary things no longer have reign over us.

    Thanks so much for stopping by. I apolagize for not keeping this more updated. Blessings always in Jesus name.


  4. Hi carol. There are times in the Spirit that simply defy all concepts of time and space. As for the day when I received the baptism of the Holy Ghost; it wasn’t on that level, but it was incredible. It took place in a store-front church on Norfolk Virginias Hampten Blvd. It weas during the prayer time prior to the service and it happened so fast that it seemed to take a moment for my mind to register what had taken place. The Lord had brought me through a very dangerous season when I could have completely fallen away from the faith, (although he had his hand on me the whole time) and into contact with saints on the ship who would be very instrumental in the years ahead.

    I rarely hear from any of the saints of that time, other than an occasional e-mail, but the growth that transpired then continues to bear fruit. The Lord truly knows what he’s doing.

    Thanks so much for stopping by. Blessings always in Jesus name.



Leave a Reply

