h1

but then something happened along the way; between the cradle and the grave

October 19, 2009
Coming out here tonight presents somewhat of a conundrum. There are a plethura of things on my heart that could be addressed. Commentary could be offered concerning the prophetic lateness of the hour, the need for each of us to let go of the matrix and get close to Jesus, the relentless spiritual battles playing out in every venue of our haunts, the hardening that’s setting into the hearts of so many, the conditioning of the general population to be willing to receive a mark of allegiance to one who claims to be a god, (in order to sustain their life here) the need to encourage the saints while keeping them in fervent prayer, the need to utilize every opportunity reach out to the lost, and a host of other topics that are relevant to this moment in time. 
But earlier tonight, as I was contemplating a number of things, a song came to me. Not a song that anyone has heard, but rather one of those that seem to arrive and take my thoughts into a particular direction. (and no, it didn’t sound like the theme from the Twilight Zone) While the melody has since escaped me, the title of this posting was in the lyrics. It took me back to a place in time. A particular morning in September of 1983 when the name of one, commonly known as “timbob” was recorded in the book of life. (That always sounds weird; referring to myself in the third person) In the midst of our theological wranglings, prophetic analysis, supplications, agendas, and preparations for the time when our testimony of Jesus may cause us to be terminated by those to whom we are an evident token of perdition, it’s imperative to also remember this great salvation that we have through Jesus Christ.
Isaiah 53:4-6 “Surely he hath bourne our griefs, and carried our sorrows: yet we did esteem him stricken, smitten of God, and afflicted.
But he was wounded for our transgressions, he was bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace was upon him; and by his stripes we are healed.
All we like sheep have gone astray; we have turned every one to his own way; and the LORD hath laid on him the iniquity of us all.”
 If I had departed the land of the living in August of 1983, I would have gone into eternity without Christ and found myself in a place of unimaginable torment. Suddenly all of the dreams and aspirations of this world would be forever out of reach and all affiliations with others dissolved. The flames would never diminish and the incredible thirst that must overwhelm a person the moment that they fall into this place, would never be quenched. All bearings of time and space would have ceased at that moment and I would be forever repenting of not accepting the gift of eternal life through Jesus Christ. I would have been tormented by knowing that the sin which brought me to this place had been paid for by the only begotten Son of God, on an old rugged cross, but that I had neglected to receive the gift of salvation. And today, it would be more than 26 years and two months since my window of opportunity was closed all hope had forever departed.
Scripture is filled with truths which are so profound that we simply cannot fathom the “whole” of them. Being lost for all of eternity; having absolutely no hope of reprieve, is one of those truths which defy our grasping. For several years, I was a heartbeat away from everlasting doom. Held captive and blinded by the devils that be; I believed an illusion, yet thought myelf free. Never considering the implications of the fact that a certain day would arrive and find me not amongst the inhabitors of the earth. Day after day and year after year, this pending disaster lurked dangerously near. And had the devils wishes come true, I would now be a partaker of that perpetual darkness instead of writing about the hour in which I first believed. Something happened along the way between the cradle and the grave.
The day started like all of the others. I awakened in the morning and set out to live for the moment. Yet there were seeds; planted over a period of years and watered much over the course of the summer, which were just about to sprout. That morning, I heard a preacher explain in very simple terms, the common salvation. He explained that all have sinned, the penalty for this was everlasting separation from God, and that we could in no wise do anything to save ourselves. I remember listening intently; hanging on every single word as he explained how Jesus lived a sinless life; despite being tempted in all points as are we. He told how Jesus paid for our sins and that through him, I could be forgiven and have everlasting life. And I remember the moment when this same Jesus became, no longer a historical figure, but someone that I knew personally. I remember right afterwards; the enemy trying frantically to wrestle away that good work which had been started and how it only strengthened my resolve to follow the one who had come to seek and to save that which was lost.
It was the day when I awakened a passenger on the hell bound train and went to bed aboard a ship bound for a new city. I fear that, too often, we get so wrapped up in our churchianity; so occupied with the dramas of this life, that we neglect to adequately remember the hour in which we first believed.  And while it’s imperative to understand the times in which we live, have our hearts set in the age to come and be ever looking toward the day when we are forever with Jesus, it’s equally imperative to reflect back on the moment when the angels of heaven rejoiced as our name was inscribed in the Lambs book of life. To seek an ever greater understanding of the incredible price that Jesus paid in order for us to have eternal life. To grasp just how profound it is to have once been a heartbeat away from perdition, but now to have an inheritance incorruptible.
Luke 10:20 “Notwithstanding in this rejoice not, that the spirits are subject unto you; but rather rejoice, because your names are written in heaven.”
Blessings always in Jesus name.
10 comments

  1. I can’t believe that just next week the new LT will be out. Time is flying by. I haven’t received the tracts yet. I’ll let you know how it goes once I get them and start passing them out.


  2. Hi Code. Time is definately flying. I’m looking forward to hearing how things go. You have an incredible venue in which a loat of souls can be reached by this method; folks from all across the economic and social spectrum. CR and I are minded to spend October 30 in Chicago for this reason. It’s a two hour drive, but always an awesome time.

    One thing that has been weighing heavily on me is just how late the hour is and how so few seem to even care about their souls. The hardness is setting in. Thanks so much for taking time to comment. I read your e-mail, but havent had time to respond. I am keeping this situation in fervent prayer.

    Blessings always in Jesus name.


  3. your writing was excellent – and it hit me how much our lives are in God’s hands. He is the one to open our eyes to His love for us and draw us into Him – what an amazing love it is.

    I’ve been periodically studying hell and what happens after this life. There are so many questions – the deeper I go the more questions I have – but one thing is true – blessed are those who believe now and take part in the first resurrection. Rev 20:5-6

    Rachel


  4. Whenever I need a spiritual boost and scriptural encouragement, I can always count on finding it here! Thank you for always reminding us about what is most important. May the Lord bless you for your obedience to His Word and continuously encourage you as you have encouraged others.


  5. Hi Rachel. It’s incredible how the truths of Gods word just get deeper and deeper. They really are unsearchable and incredible beyond description.

    Thanks for taking time to stop by. I’ll try to get back your way this week. Time has been in short supply as of late.

    Blessings always in Jesus name.


  6. Hi Scotty. Thanks so much for taking time to stop by. Earlier I was thinking about a number of the saints who are no longer blogging in this forum. You’re one of the few that I remember from when I first started. I’ll try to swing by when time permits. It’s been a tight schedule as of late.

    Blessings always in Jesus name.


  7. So true, timbob. I especially miss Susan, Phil, Cumby…the list goes on…so many wonderful saints who are no longer blogging but who made an absolute impression on my walk with Christ.

    May the peace of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you always,
    Scotti


  8. Hi Scotti. It was an incredible fellowship and I likewise found it to be a season of growing. It still is and the fellowship in this venue is a primary reason for continuing. I know that Richard (Peralta) is still active, but Phil and Cumby I haven’t heard from in a long time. It’s also been a few months since Peter Lillington last posted. I pray that they are all doing well. It’s astonishing to think of how many saints we’ve been in touch with through this venue from such diverse backgrounds. It’s a real encouragement.

    Thanks for taking time to stop by. Blessings always in Jesus name.


  9. Your words and testimony are very inspiring to me TimBob, Is there some way you contact me? I need some advice?


  10. Hi Harley. Thanks so much for stopping by. Here’s my e-mail address. I’ll be looking forward to hearing from you.

    tpelfrey38@netscape.com

    Blessings always in Jesus name.



Leave a Reply

