h1

THESE BE the PERILEST OF TIMES

October 24, 2009
How does one adequately convey through words, the lateness of this hour?  How does a redeemed one who sees through a glass darkly go about describing a time of unimaginable tribulation; one that Jesus said would surpass every other season of upheaval? How does a saint explain to another that an abrupt departure from the status quo is very near in our future; so close that we may well awaken tomorrow morning and find ourselves in the “brave new world” that’s spoken of in scripture? The primary reason for this blog being less active than in the past is that I’ve been spending more time in the streets. The reason for this is that the sense of time running out is so intense that it’s almost physically painful. I’m awash in souls who are not ready to face their final moment in the flesh and there is a profound hardness setting in on the population.
Last Thursday a routine trip up to Kalamazoo offered up a lot of symbolics. While heading east on Stadium drive, toward the downtown region, there was a profound darkness due to the cloud cover. And although I have an imagination that must continuously be monitored, this darkness seemed in excesss of the norm. It had not rained at all and the ground was completely dry, but it was very very dark. (Just a side note; oftentimes it seems to start raining right after I depart the streets and begin heading back home. I’ve lost count of how many times this has happened over the past several months) While manuvering through the streets, activity seemed routine, but it was a gloomy afternoon.
There was another notable observation. It seemed as though I encountered a very high number of people who were visually disabled; using canes to navigate the urban terrain and alert others to their situation. An occasional encounter like this is routine, but “many” were out on this afternoon and it caused ponderings to set in. Finally it hit me while stationing at a relatively busy corner. Watching everyone hurry about with no concern for issues of eternal significance, it was as though all of them should have been carrying white canes. Those with physical visual impairments were going about their business completely oblivious to the gloominess of the day. From a spiritual perspective, everyone else was doing the same thing. The world stage is fully set for the son of perdition to make his debut and NOBODY SEEMS TO CARE! When one begins to fathom how “lost and unconcerned” so many of our contemporaries are, it’s overwhelming.
The second of the following passages has been referred to many times over the history of this blog, but it seems needful of another visit. One can never really “over-visit” passages from scripture. All of us have particular verses that we gravitate to, however, we must guard against becoming spiritually “lopsided” in the process. I used to attend a church where Philippians 4:19 was mentioned so often that I jestingly began keeping a tally in my notebook. Each time it was referred to, I put down another hash mark. (Oops; sorry for the rabbit trail)  
II Corinthians 4:3-4 “But if our gospel be hid, it is hid to them that are lost:
In whom the god of this world hath blinded the minds of them which believe not, lest the light of the glorious gospel of Christ, who is the image of God, should shine unto them.”
II Timothy 2:24-26 “And the servant of the Lord must not strive; but be gentle unto all men, apt to teach, patient,
In meekness instructing those that oppose themselves; if God peradventure will give them repentance to the acknowledging of the truth;
And that they may recover themselves out of the snare of the devil, who are taken captive by him at his will.”
The observations are ominous. There is a hardness that’s setting in and it seems to be accelerating. There’s a profound apostasy setting in on the part of many who profess that they see, and this to is accelerating. And watching events unfold on the world stage at such remarkable speed; knowing that what we are witnessing now is just the calm before the storm, should cause us to realize the imporatance of being in close to the Lord Jesus at all times. We cannot weather the coming season of purifying in our own strength.
One more thought before getting into the links which are the real reason for posting tonight. Last week, Mrs timbob and I were at odds over the flu shots that are supposed to fend off the H1N1 virus (Several school districts in Michigan have been closed due to high absentee rates from this virus; including Schoolcraft where CR lives) I am opposed to it but my wife wanted to allow the kids to have it. She finally agreed to not allow our kids to receive it, but the debate was intense as I was perceived to be endangering our kids. Later on, something hit me concerning this ordeal. This was a type of “dry run” for the time when a mark will be required in order to buy or sell. We should all examine ourselves; whether or not we are prepared to stand when accused of “denying sustinence to those who are under our care.
Jeremiah 23:28 “The prophet that hath a dream, let him tell a dream; and he that hath my word, let him speak my word faithfully. What is the chaff to the wheat? saith the LORD.
Is not my word like as a fire? saith the LORD; and like a hammer that breaketh the rock in pieces?”
And with that, here are the links. The first one addresses some things that have long troubled me. While I fully believe that the gift of prophecy is active today, (as are all of the gifts of the Spirit) there’s a real need for us to be able to discern between that which is from God and that which is imagination. In this post, Marianne takes on this issue. The post is long and the comment section lively, but here it is:
PROPHETS or PEOPLE READERS? (Heaven Awaits)
The next link is a web site which I’ve been visiting for a couple of days and plan to add to the “End Times Prophetic Sites” page when time permits:
UNLEAVENED BREAD MINISTRIES (These are Americas last days)
This site offers up a plethura of dreams and visions that are relevant to our time. Of course all such material must be approached with prayerful discernment and searching of the scriptures. Below is a small sampling from this site:
FALSE KNOWLEDGE and the GREAT FALLING AWAY
THE CARD BEFORE THE MARK
THE MARK PERSECUTION and REFUGE
TERRORISM, SPIRITUAL INVASION AND APOSTASY
GOD WARNS AGAINST IMMUNIZATION
There’s much more, but I have to wrap this up. The first link to the Unleavened Ministries site has a full listing and covers an array of topics. These issues should cause us, not to panic, but to get in close to Jesus. This is one of the reason that I ponder such things on a regular basis. Not only to be alert to the times, but also because such ponderings cause me to all the more desire to be as close to the Lord as I can be. To let go of the things which don’t matter and to be sober-minded as the day approaches.  The peace of God will remain; even in the most trying of circumstances.
Revelation 1:7 “Behold he cometh with clouds; and every eye shall see him, and they also which pierced him: and all kindreds of the earth shall wail because of him. Even so, Amen.”
Blessings always in Jesus name.
8 comments

  1. Interesting post. What are you doing on the streets? Any God Spots sighted?


  2. Hi,

    The above is great writing…Enjoyed the read! We are facing a dire situation, unlike the issues of the past and the present.

    “For fifty years after St. Paul’s life a curtain hangs over the church, through which we strive vainly to look; and when at last rises, about 120 A.D. with the writings of the earliest church-fathers, we find a church in many aspects very different from that in the days of St. Peter and St. Paul” -Jesse Lyman Hurlbut.

    Survival depends most on our Creator and Jesus Christ our savior. Are we alive because of Divine creation or Evolution? Does this matter? No! We are made in God’s own image. Simple…No! We are saved, however, by the simple paradigm; “Believe in me.”

    Wow and Amen…


  3. Sobering post, Timbob. You see this in all fields. My husband is particularly interested in political stuff, and is always amazed at the lack of knowledge regarding the situation in the middle east and the seeming cluelessness as to what’s going on in DC.

    Likewise, people are even more lost in the woods when it comes to the more important matters of the spirit. I do believe that as things worsen, there will be a last harvest here in the “free” world. We’ve seen in in Russia, China, the Middle East, and I believe it’s now our turn. In Russia, their “turn” meant a lessening of persecution so the church could rise up.

    In our case, I suspect our “turn” will be accomplished by an upturn in persecution so that the church may be sifted and the true sons can wake up. In Iran, converts to Christianity were unknown until they began to be persecuted. Now the government sees Christianity as a genuine threat to Islam. None of us want to be persecuted, but if that’s what it takes–well, God will be with us.

    God knows who will come and who will refuse, and He knows how to soften the hardened hearts (He softened ours) and draw His own home. I can’t wait to see Him. Let all who will, come, and drink of the water of life freely. Maranantha.


  4. I received the tracts and was wondering if you would like me to send you some – I have 250 of them. Let me know.

    Anyways, Friday was the first day I had them with me and I did not come in contact with anyone who was passing out adverts. I’ll let you know how this week goes.

    Over the past few weeks, the pastor at my church is doing a series on the Sermon on the Mount. My manager has commented that the last few sermons have really spoken to him. Continue to pray. I believe he’s almost there.

    I am interested in reading some of your links. Have been following David Meyer’s recent Sunday services. He’s very diligent in posting them every Sunday after the service.

    Continuing to pray for you.


  5. Hi Archie. I probably shouldn’t have left that information out. I go into the streets to for purposes of evengelism. As far as God Spots, I’m not sure if this counts, but I did run into a couple of saints who were heading to a daily prayer meeting which takes place in a building on Burdick Street. These ladies were probably in their mid-twenties and appeared to work at Bronson hospital, a couple of blocks away.

    Thanks so much for stopping by. Blessings always in Jesus name.


  6. Hi Phillip. I was by your site last week, but didn’t have time to respond. Such is often the case these days. Indeed our survival depends completely upon the Lord Jesus who can deliver us from all the campaigns of the wicked one. We need only to look to Jesus and not focus on the storms.

    Thanks for stopping by. Blessings always in Jesus name.


  7. Hi Cindy. You have touched on something that, in a way, I look forward to. When the status quo gives way, many will be seeking answers and it will be a perfect time to evangelize. I fear that it will be a small window, but a window nonetheless as seeds planted into the hearts of many over the course of their lives will bear fruit.

    I often find myself praying “Lord Jesus, please do whatever is required to awaken those around me.” We desire to see these souls born of the Spirit, but they are currently obsessed with every form of physical distraction imaginable. Proverbs 30:7-9 comes to mind as I write this.

    Thanks for stopping by. Blessings always in Jesus name.


  8. Hi Code. We think alike in many ways because I had thought about asking you the same thing; if I could send you some tracts for those who distribute flyers. I have quite a few tracts in the truck, in the bike pack, and in the house. It comes from years of ordering more than I use. It sounds kind of nutty, but I truly believe that the day will arrive when such material is no longer available. This land is changing fast.

    The sermon on the mount is incredible. I remember the testimonyof a young muslim guy who obtained a copy of the bible and began to read the srmon on the mount. He became so impressed that one Friday evening, during mosque, he asked “how come we never talk about Jesus? I look at him and I see God.” This led to a most unpleasant ordeal over the subsequent months at the hands of those who know not the Lord, but he was in Christ. The testimony was in a book by brother Andrew entitled “Secret Believers. I’ll keep your manager in prayer. TheLord is doing a work.

    I plan to e-mail you sometime this week. Please keep CR and I in prayer as we’re planning to head to Chicago on Friday to share the gospel.

    Although I’m currently in good supply of tracts, thanks so much for the offer and for taking time to stop by. Blessings always in Jesus name.



Leave a Reply

