h1

GALES OF NOVEMBER (2009)

November 10, 2009
Psalm 90:12 “So teach us to number our days, that we may apply our hearts unto wisdom.”
Today, I have reached the halfway point in my journey toward the age of 90. While birthdays are generally more looked forward to when we are younger, they become more significant as we pass throughthe seasons of life. Each one reminds us that our time here is dwindling and that we should be about our Fathers business while residing in this valley of decisions. To lay aside everything that besets us and run with patience, the race that is set before us. To fully grasp the temporal nature of this present situation and understand that we are not our own. And so, on this annual day of reflection, I offer up a few things which have been on my heart. Some may sound redundant as they are visited here often. Others will seem to be more of a “thinking out loud” process; bringing into consideration things which are seen “through a glass darkly.”
( 1 ) TIME TO GROW UP AND LET GO OF THAT WHICH IS FOOLISH! Over the years, I’ve discussed my besetment with foolish jesting. In recent months, the Lord has brought me to a new level of soberness; especially when out in the streets, where one recieves a glimpse of just how many souls are heading toward an eternity without Christ. Yet during the past couple of weeks, the following passage has been continuously popping up in my mind:
I Corinthians 13:11 “When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things.
We are being called to sober-mindedness in these final moments. To not be slumbering or dull of hearing, but to be always watching and abiding close to the Lord Jesus. To let go of every possible distraction and attachment to this temporal worlds alurements. (Remember Lots wife.) To be strong and do exploits while preparing spiritually for the days when our testimony of Jesus will cost us everything in this world; including our lives.
( 2 ) MANY PROFESSING SAINTS ARE NOT EVEN REMOTELY PREPARED FOR THE HOUR OF TEMPTATION! Whether we give thought to it or not, ours is the generation that will witness the end of the age. The beast system is in place; awaiting the moment when events will foster the rising of a son of perdition. He will deceive by flatteries and supernatural fireworks, those who received not the love of the truth. For the saints, it will be a time of trying like none other and many will be deceived. Yet presently, many professing Christians consider themselves to be rich and increased with goods, and in need of nothing. They are more concerned with “living their best life now” than keeping their hearts with all diligence, and are expecting to be secretly raptured away before any real shaking.  
This is a primary problem with the pre-tribulation rapture doctrine. It permits (almost encourages) folks to “not prepare” for the coming trials and persecution. (Revelation 13:7) Subsequently, those who embrace this doctrine (many in the west) regard such conversation as being little more than an academic exercise; never giving thought to the idea of having to actually endure such events. We are so accustomed to each day closely resembling the one before it that many of us don’t take seriously the possibility that tomorrow may very well not resemble today. At some point, the illusion of continuance, which most of us have spent our entire lives observing and analyzing, will come to nought.  Here are a couple of links that touch on our precarious economic picture. This single aspect should reveal the shakiness of the present status quo.  
THE COMING BANK FAILURES
THE ILLUSION OF DEBT (Flee The Wrath)
The post at flee The Wrath offers a great illustration. The author tells about construction companies in Canberra that would appear rock solid; even as they were rushing headlong toward insolvency. In a moment, in a single day, the truth would be revealed and these companies would be done for. I saw this happen when I worked for a HVAC contractor in Norfolk VA. A large commercial HVAC company in that city folded in a moment. Shortly thereafter, the HVAC company that I worked for was called in to finish up a large project at Norfolk General Hospital which this now insolvent contractor had been working on. Picture this same senario on a national level.
( 3 ) A COMPANY OF TIME BANDITS! Folks today give themselves to every form of irrelevant distraction that one can imagine. I know of people who are so enfatuated by sports that they “eat, drink, and sleep it.”  Others are so consumed by material gain that they spend all of their energies on securing acquisitions. Still others are obsessed with entertainment, politics, endless home depot prophecies (this is the continual renovating of ones dwelling) cars, horses, divers social causes, miscellaneous pastimes, and what have you. The diversity of tactics is as great as the number of souls who are currently passing through the valley of decisions, and yet they all have a common goal. To keep folks from considering the words of life. Likewise, every vain philosophy, every false religious structure, and every twisting of the scriptures is set forth for this purpose. To keep folks occupied with diversionary themes; lest they call upon the Lord while he may be found.
Psalm 119:37 “Turn away mine eyes from beholding vanity; and quicken thou me in thy way.”
( 4 ) SEPARATION OF CHURCH AND STATE This post has become longer than I expected, so I’ll have to begin wrapping it up. One thing is needful; even though it’s been quoted before. It’s a segment from the July 2009 issue of the Last Trumpet Newsletter. Here’s another link, followed by the segment which has remained in my heart ever since I first read it:
LAST TRUMPET NEWSLETTER: JULY, 2009
“As I watch and pray fervently according to the instructions of our Saviour, I see something very amazing is happening. It is an unmistakable truth that can be clearly seen by true and discerning Christians everywhere. I am referring to the fact that the separation of the small but powerful true remnant of Almighty God from the multitudes of deceived antichrist population is becoming more pronounced as we near the end of the world. The people of Almighty God are getting more and more like the place they are going to. They are sick of this world and are vexed by its corruption. A new heavens and earth occupy the minds of the little flock of the last days, and eternal glory with Jesus remains the hope of their hearts.
We also know that those who are surrendered to Satans will are getting more and more like the place they are going to, and hells society now predominates the earth.  People are preparing themselves for an eternity of damnation, and the forces of hell draw near to meet them. The primary question that arises to all who are reading this newsletter is this: which way are you going? It is an urgent matter, for time is about to expire. All salvation happens in the realm of time, not in eternity. You can callupon the Saviour right now, and then follow through with obediance to the Gospel and a full and true conversion. Hell is no doubt full of people who would give anything to have the opportunity that you have right now. The Saviour will receive, and we at Last trumpet Ministries are here to help you! Do it now!”
                                                                            David J Meyer
Well I have to go. It is time for seeking the Lord Jesus and being in his perfect will; even if it seems awkward to the flesh and is greatly misunderstood by the brethren. (As the age draws to a close, we can expect an increasing number of brethren to not understand us.) I’ll close with some familiar but needful passages.
John 12:25-26 “He that loveth his life shal lose it; and he that hateth his life in this world shall keep it unto life eternal
If any man serve me, let him follow me; and where I am, there shall also my servant be: if any man serve me, him will my Father honour.”
II Timothy 2:4 “No man that warreth entangleth himself with the affairs of this life; that he may please him who hath chosen him to be a soldier.”
I Peter 4:7-8 “But the end of all things is at hand: be ye therefore sober, and watch unto prayer.
And above all things have fervent charity among yourselves: for charity shall cover the multitude of sins.
Here are two more sites which have been added to the blogroll. The past few days have seen the introduction of some serious saints in this blogosphere. The following two were found at KINGS BRIDES FORUM are offer up much encouragement for the end times church.
M’KAYLAS KORNER
REDEEMED HIPPIES PLACE
Blesings always in Jesus name.
19 comments

  1. Happy birthday! Take a break and read my free e-book Walkabout: The History of a Brief Century for a practical look at the End Times!


  2. There is some very important information being shared here on this blog. This quote chilled me to the bone:
    >>We also know that those who are surrendered to Satans will are getting more and more like the place they are going to, and hells society now predominates the earth. People are preparing themselves for an eternity of damnation, and the forces of hell draw near to meet them. <<
    I know of a young man who recently died of an overdose. He had a tattoo of a demon on him known as Boognish. It is the logo of a band many of the young listen to. Apparently his siblings all have shirts with the same logo, which is like a face with huge sharp teeth. Kind of like the smiley face idea, but completely evil. When I read the above quote this is what popped into my head.

    Thanks for putting my blog on your roll. I am also finding a group of bloggers who have become my friends and the bond between is grows daily. May God find us ever searching for and standing for the truth which is only found in Him. May he give us discernment and wisdom to pull others from the fire of the rampant deception before it is too late.

    I pray the love of God over you all. 
    M’Kayla


  3. Sometimes, I wonder, Timbob, if we shouldn’t continually prepare just for the sake of righteousness and spiritually maturity, rather than because… well, we better because our numbers coming up.

    Seems we are called in scripture to live a righteous life in response to God’s gifts, not because we’re really gonna ‘get it’ in the end. Whether Christ comes today, tomorrow or the day before I die, I know I’ve lived the best life I can in my humilty because I simply love God that much… not to keep myself out of hell.

    respectfully yours in Christ~ Cindy


  4. Hi Robert. I haven’t had time to stop by yet, however something that you state caught my attention. “A practical look at the end times.” This is important. To have a theological understanding is one thing. To understand how we’re affected, however, is important. Richard Wurmbrand once wrote of the need for deep spiritual preparation prior to times of trying.

    Thanks fopr stopping by and for the link. I pray that others will also checkit out.

    Blessings always in Jesus name.


  5. Hi M’Kayla. Thanks so much for stopping by. The man who perished from a drug overdose is so tragic; and yet many around us are daily placing themselves in the same situation. An when we look around and consider the numbers of souls that are lost, it’s all but too much to bear. Indeed the laborers are few in these times.

    The quote that you mention has been in my heart ever since I first read it back at the end of June. David Meyers site has quite an extensie archive section concerning this newsletter. About three years ago, I was going through and got to wondering what he had written prior to 911. So I visited the August 2001 newsletter. Here’s a link to it:

    http://lasttrumpetnewsletter.org/2001/08_01.html

    He had visited New York and while on a boat, saw, a vision, the World trade Center burning about two months prior to the actual event. The fact that this account is buried in the archives and that, had I not actually gone to that specific issue, I would have never known about this, seems to dismiss the possibility of any disingenuousness.

    Thanks so much for stopping by. I really like your blog and pray for time to search through it more thouroughly.

    Blessings in Jesus name.


  6. Hi Cindy. You bring up an excellent point and one that I didn’t really touch on as I should have. We live a godly life because we love him. Because, while we once were lost and undone, we are now born again and filled with his Holy Spirit. I talk much about the times ahead, not to cause fearful feelings, but in hopes that it will cause the saints to draw closer to Jesus and abide in his perfect rest. A rest that will endure even when the world is spiraling into chaos.

    The day that I believed on the Lord Jesus, a remarkable thing happened. I disembarked from the hell bound train and boarded the good gospel ship. This was made possible because 2000 years ago Jesus paid for my sins, and the sins of all, on an old rugged cross. Today we love him bevause he first loved us.

    Thanks for drawing attention to this. Blessings always in Jesus name.


    • I can only reflect on my perceptions, as I know them, and am really glad to be at peace in the here and now, even amongst adversity. I can see that you know a lot about that!! keep on sailing!


  7. You are so right, Timbob, that those going to God become more like Him, and those going to perdition become more like their leader.

    I’m not sure about the rapture thing. At one point, I felt sure that the rapture was just a modern theory, but I really feel that God has been telling me otherwise–that as much as it’s been abused, it’s never-the-less true. Not a definitive word from me or anything–just a testimony of what’s been going on in my heart.

    He’s also been warning me of coming persecution. Whether the rapture is pre-mid-post-or non-existent, we are destined to suffer with Him that we may also reign with Him. This would terrify me–fearing I would be unfaithful–if it were not for the unfailing support He gives us. No, we don’t have the strength NOW. We don’t need it NOW. We need it when the time comes. I trust Him and believe that support will be there.

    Love, Cindy


  8. Hi Cindy. Thanks so much for stopping by. You bring up a “very important point.” The grace of God to sustain us in time of tribulation will be there when the need is there. I think of stephen and when his testimony was complete. He saw the heavens opened and Jesus standing at the right hand of the Father. Not to mention all of the testimonies from ages past of similar incidents.

    On the blogroll there’s a letter from Corey Ten Boom which was composed back in 1974. In one part of it, she mentions an incident from her childhood. She told her father that she feared not being ready to endure persecution. Coreys dad said to her “when you are taking the train into the city, when do I give you the fare? Three weeks before?” Corey replies “why no. You give it to me right before getting on the train.” Her dad then explains how the grace of God is the same way. Right on time and in the right measure.

    One thing that has always astonished me about this account is that a young girl would be thinking about something like this. I’m imagining that one would be hard pressed to find a sunday school class or even a christian home where the topic of enduring persecution is discussed with children. Of course we know that, years later, Corey and her sister were in a nazi concentration camp. Her sister went into eternity during this time, however Corey went on to travel the world telling about Jesus.

    Thanks so much for stopping by. Blessings always in Jesus name.


  9. Hi Timbob,

    First of all, happy birthday to you! I celebrated my birthday this month too, along with my daughter who was born on my birthday 18 years ago.

    As I was reading your post, I thought of a message I heard a few years ago at a conference. The title of it was You Have To Have A Master Passion. The jist of it was that everyone has a master passion whether it’s sports, money,drugs,pursuit of pleasure, etc. God wants to be our master passion, but if He is not, something will fill that space. The sad thing is is that all of these other “things” fall so short, cannot satisfy our souls and will never take us to heaven. If God is really our master passion, I believe we’ll be watching and waiting for His coming and striving to help others to come to know Him. I want to continue to work for Him while it’s still day. Thanks for what you shared here.

    Blessings to you and your family,
    Carol


  10. Timbob, I meant to tell you Happy Birthday yesterday, but my computer broke down and I could not use my husband’s then… Well, happy belated birthday! May the grace and peace of our Lord be multiplied to you in the knowledge of God. We are now the same age!
    You said, “MANY PROFESSING SAINTS ARE NOT EVEN REMOTELY PREPARED FOR THE HOUR OF TEMPTATION! Whether we give thought to it or not, ours is the generation that will witness the end of the age.” That bothers me terribly also. My pastor, for instance, refuses to teach anything on or even remotely touch the subject of Endtimes because he thinks it “steals our little daily joys to be thinking about such terrible times,” and so his congregation is not being prepared at all. I wonder if they will even be able to tell when the son of perdition is revealed, opr when the mark of the Beast comes. I think his view is childish and irresponsible, but he will have to give an account to God for that. My husband and I teach a little here and there whenever we have an opportunity.

    I cannot understand how so many Christians can go about their daily businesses as if nothing out of the ordinary were happening, like they make long term plans as if the world was going to remain as it is for another 20 years… I personally do not believe that this is even possible, as things are moving so fast and Bible prophecy is being fulfilled with such astonishing speed. This world cannot remain the same for several years, and it will not. Soon we will see the structure for the One World Government entirely in place and it will all begin. I cannot tell how much time we have, but I guess not that long at all. I know we still have at least 7 years until the Lord returns, as the seventh week of Daniel has yet to begin. Once a peace agreement in the Middle East is signed, then we will know it has begun.
    Sorry I got carried away…


  11. Happy Birthday! It is true as the years pass each day becomes more precious. Psalm 90:12 “So teach us to number our days, That we may gain a heart of wisdom.”

    Some insightful reflections . . . one of the greatest devices of the enemy is distraction. You see it in some many forms in people’s lives – as you mentioned.

    The end is drawing ever so near – may we all heed our Lord’s warning and watch soberly. These days are separating the wheat from the tares and those who know their Lord and have cultivated intimacy with Him will follow His voice where He leads – because they’ve been listening all along. It isn’t man’s voice we follow – it is His. Many have this quite backwards.

    I agree about the Rapture. It puts people in a non-watching mode, giving them a false sense of security, which is very dangerous.

    Rachel


  12. Still getting through your links. That’s a rough vid of an abortion. 😮 But can u imagine how angry God is over it? Or how angry God is over any of these issues?


  13. Hi Carol. This was the most dificult thing to write about because the distractions of ths world are so divers and have so much control over peoples lives. It was a classic “where do we even begin to tackle this” moment and the content came out far move vague than I had desired. Yet the truth remains the same. We see it in the streets and int the markets. In the workplace and every other venue. Folks going about their business with absolutely no regard to their eternal destination.

    The message that you mentioned sounds like a realy good addressing of this. In fact and has fostered an idea for a future posting here.

    Thanks so much for stopping by. Blessings always in Jesus name.


  14. Hi KB. I can relate all too well to computer malfunctions. Ours is slow and I wonder how long before it decides to go down for the last time. (If I suddenly stop blogging, this is most likely the cause.)

    How imperative it is to keep pastors in prayer; knowing that the Lord has ways and perfect timings of alerting those who watch over the sheep. May he understand that our joy and peace is in Christ and not circumstances. I believe that he would agree to this, however, it’s all too easy to not remember this when contrary events are unfolding. It’s sad because if we’re placing confidence in anything else except Christ we open up a conduit for compromise.

    Yet folks love to have it so, as is evidenced by the number of professing saints who go about their day with little regard to the changing of the seasons, or issues of eternal significance. It makes it so clear, what the Lord meant by spewing out the lukewarm. When we encounter one who is lost, they cannot be expected to think spiritually and we strive to offer them the truth. But a lukewarm Christian who knows truth; possibly even enough scripture to run circles around us, and yet is enfatuated by the world, it literally “wears us out.” It’s like we want to say “I love you brother but I must go…and…feed my goldfish!”

    A standing prayer for such si that the Lord will grant them a revelation of himself, so profound that the former things will just drop to the ground. I often think of the man mentioned in the beginning of II Corinthians chapter 12, who saw the third heaven and wonder how he was able to function in the physical world afterward. Such a one would probably never again spend a Saturday afternoon watching football.

    Thanks so much for taking time to stop by. Blessings always in Jesus name.


  15. Hi rachel. The separating that you mention is certainly gaining momentum. It’s like in various movies where a boat is leaving a dock and two would’be passengers are running down the pier; hoping to be able to jump over the distance between the pier and the boat. With each passing second, the gulf widens and their chances diminish. It seems as though, in the spiritual realm, the boat is picking up speed.

    I keep making note of it, but here it is again. It’s so awesome to find others out here who love the Lord and have their affections on things above. There’s a profound sweetness in the fellowship between the saints as our hearts are fixed steadfastly on things above. Thanks so much for stopping by.

    Blessings always in Jesus name.


  16. Hi Code. Our computer is slow and videaos come across in bits and spurts, so I,m unable to watch too many. But the truth of abortion bringing judgment on a nation is indeed coming to pass. It’s the same as the practice mentioned in the old testament, where people would cause their children to pass through the fire. And while we have a general idea of how many abortions have been performed, the Lord knows the exact number; along the names of each one who never saw the light of day.

    Thanks so much for taking time to stop by. Blessings always in Jesus name.


  17. your second point is so where my heart has been lately. have you read anything about the copenhagen treaty that the un is voting on in december? already everything is in place for one world currency, and they’re taking the steps towards a one-world government….and the church is quietly sleeping away (and i’m chief of sinners there…getting wrapped up in my misguided priorities and losing focus that the hour is urgent). the wedding’s in half an hour, and the bride is still wandering around in her pajamas. time to wake up! bless you!


  18. Hi Chrystal. Great analogy about the bride still wandering around in pajamas. We get caught up so easily on the here that we neglect to ready ourselves for Christs appearing. All of the events unfolding today point to this single glorious event; the moment when Jesus returns for a bride, without spot and blameless, and establishes his kingdom upon the earth which shall be for a thousand years.

    We are truly heading into a time of unfathomable tribulation, but after this, we are forever with the Lord Jesus. To think of the milllenial reign is incredible. But then to consider the time after the heavens and earth flee away and are replaced by a new heavens and new earth…..WOW! And the New Jerusalem, where God himself will be the light. No dark corners and nothing that offends. The truths found in the last two chapters of Revelation are literally “out of this world.” And yet so very true.

    A lot of saints are fearful of the events before us, but if we keep our eyes on Jesus and our affections on things above, his grace will be sufficient for any circumstance.

    Thanks so much for stopping by. It’s been a real blessing to come into contact with so many saints over the past week.

    Blessings always in Jesus name



Leave a Reply

