h1

“A PLACE WHERE I’M CLOSER TO GOD…”

December 25, 2009
Romans 14:5 “One man esteemeth one day above another: another esteemeth every day alike. Let every man be fully persuaded in his own mind.”
Each December seems to be more frustrating than the one previous. The focus on trappings and tradition become increasingly profound and subsequently, many invest an incredible amount of time, energy, and financial resources into manufacturing an “ambience.” Many will openly proclaim a belief that “Jesus is the reason for the season” however, their actions will clearly reveal a heart that appears beholden to the season for the seasons sake. This is not a blanket observation by any means as many observe Christmas by worshiping the Lord Jesus in spirit and in truth. (As we should do every hour of every day) For others, however, the “atmosphere” is the primary focus and they will drive themselves nutty to acquire it. This has become increasingly painful to behold and I’ve struggled to understand why I’m so disheartened. My desire for engaging in the usual festivities not only continues to diminish, my heart cries out all the more “Even so, come, Lord Jesus.”
And therein is the answer. My heart is no longer in this world. It’s not in agreement with the worlds agenda, it no longer lusts after the worlds wares and it finds no common ground with the proponents of such. As we draw closer to the Lord Jesus and begin to receive by faith “glimpses” of the age to come, anything that promotes the elements of this world will leave us cold as ice. The temporal simply cannot compete with the eternal and when our time in this world is completed, we have an eternity; a “world without end” with the Lord Jesus. When this understanding takes up residence in our heart, it will cause us to discard the former things and will fuel our desire to be about our Fathers business. A heavenly minded person will desire to busy themselves with things that have eternal significance. The traditions and rudiments of this world will simply fade away as the everlasting truths become front and center.
Yesterday, our household was a scene of unparalleled craziness as the others under this roof maintain a much more conventional view of Christmas. I went out to the truck in preparation for heading up to Three Rivers when an old mailing caught my attention. It was a monthly newsletter from Faith Mission in Elkhart, which routinely features tesitmonies from residents. On the front of the envelope there was a quote from a lady who is currently residing there, which reads “A PLACE WHERE I’M CLOSER TO GOD…” It seemed to tie in perfectly with several cogitations that have been going through my mind lately. An expensive holiday with unbridaled lusting after trappings is not the way to the heart of God; regardless of how much Christianesque marketing we employ. But to reach out to a dying world; to meet the needs of those who have “fallen through the cracks” and have reached their wits end “IS” a way to touch the heart of God.
Matthew 25:35-36 “For I was an hungered, and ye gave gave me meat: I was thirsty, and ye gave me drink: I was a stranger, and ye took me in:
Naked, and ye clothed me: I was sick, and ye visited me: I was in prison, and ye came unto me.”
It’s both staggering and disheartening to consider how much time and energy we have placed into the holidays. For me it’s a precarious balancing act as I don’t want to scatter the souls in this household and extended family away from the gospel. For example, if I were to get into a discussion with Mrs timbob over Jeremiah 10:2-5 at this juncture, the resulting damage would be profound. And so I endure much that I would prefer to forgo; so long as it doesn’t entail compromising the gospel, and keep in prayer the priceless souls who reside in the vicinity. When we encounter one who is beholden to certain elements of this world, we know that either the person is in need of salvation or, in the case of one who is born of the Spirit, there’s a need for greater revelation of the Lord. As such, I have a standard prayer request for the saints; that we would receive from on high, such a profound revelation of the Lord Jesus and the age to come that the besetments in our lives just fall away. 
Revelation 1:17-18 “And when I saw him, I fell at his feet as dead. And he laid his right hand upon me, saying unto me, Fear not; I am the first and the last: I am he that liveth, and was dead; and behold, I am alive for evermore, Amen; and have the keys of hell and of death.”
What’s interesting about this is that John was a man who walked close to Jesus. He was present on the Mount of transfiguration and literally leaned upon Jesus at the last supper. When we read his epistles, we receive much understanding about loving one another and discernment. And yet, despite Johns embodiment of understanding, when he saw Jesus on the isle of Patmos, he fell down as dead. Without a doubt, he was never the same after this encounter, wherein he not only saw the Lord as he is, he witnessed the end of this age, the millenial reign of Jesus, the little season following the millenial reign, (where Satan has one final opportunity to cause deception) the fleeing away of all that currently is, and the new creation which is not yet, but will follow the present one. It’s most likely not practical to pray that everyone around us would receive this level of revelation, (most of us couldn’t handle it) however, here’s an embodiment of understanding that all of us are in need of; especially in these final hours.
John 6:67-69 The said Jesus unto the twelve, Will ye also go away?
Then Simon Peter answered him, Lord, to whom shall we go? thou hast the words of eternal life.
And we believe and are sure that thou art that Christ, the Son of the living God.”
The level to which we understand this will not only be manifest in our daily priorities; it will determine whether or not we remain faithful in the dark days ahead; when a mark will be required to buy or sell. A theological “head knowledge” of scripture will not prepare one for the times ahead. We must be certain of our belief that Jesus is the Way, the Truth, and the Life. Any wavering in our belief of this will open the door to potential calamity without remedy. The interesting thing about the above passsage is that it followed a situation where an entire gathering had left Jesus and only the twelve remained. (This incident is worthy of a post as there was much more in play than is being commented on here)
Well I must be going for now. There’s much more that’s weighing on my heart, but it’s after 3:45 am. I pray that all of us would keep our eyes upon Jesus and not allow drifting to transpire. The coming year is certain to be one of much acceleration as the global governing body continues to consolidate power. I used to make such statements with reservation, however, things are coming together so fast now that denial is no longer possible to those with eyes to see. The global governing system is, for all practical purposes, already functioning. This understanding should cause us to, all the more, be reaching out to the priceless souls that are around us. Please check out the January edition of the Last trumpet Newsletter entitled:
ANTICHRIST SABOTAGE OF AMERICA
There is information in this newsletter that I’m desiring to comment on, but it will have to wait for another posting. Until then, blessings always in Jesus name.
2 comments

  1. There is definitely a struggle within. I find that you can want very much to “seek and worship the Lord” during the Christmas season. Yet when you display this behavior to others they project you as the one who is out of place. The feeling of being in the minority of wanting to worship Jesus can be so intense, you can find yourself questioning whose right.


  2. Hi Debra. Thanks so much for stopping by. It’s without a doubt, the hardest time of the year; at least for me. I mean, I love thinking about the Lord continuously and the virgin birth is an intregal part of the gospel. And I like getting together with family and giving presents to loved ones. But the overwhelming focus on the flesh can drive us nutty. The discouragement comes out of this focusing on stuff.

    The Lord sustained me through this season and even kept me from doing (or saying) things that would scatter the lost in this vicinity. The eternal perspective of understanding what’s at stake is imperative.

    Thanks again for taking time to comment. Blessings always in Jesus name.



Leave a Reply

