h1

BUSY BODIES

January 17, 2010
Daniel 12:3-4 “And they that be wise shall shine as the brightness of the firmament; and they that turn many to righteousness as the stars for ever and ever.
But thou, O Daniel, shut up the words, and seal the book, even to the time of the end: many shall run to and fro, and knowledge shall be increased.”
This is a post that requires much carefulness in writing because if not worded correctly, erroneous impressions may be created. The past week was so filled with activity that, once again, I’m having to write during the overnight hours that lead into Sunday morning. It’s a thing by which the obligations of life consume so much time that, instead of being about the business that the Holy Spirit has placed upon our heart, we find ourselves in a perpetual cycle of errands and obligations. The tandem of work and home, combined with a steady mixture of things to be carried out at regular intervals, and the spontaneous obligations that seem to manifest without warning, can devour every moment of ones day. Almost none of these activities are actually bad, in fact many are necessary. For example, if a child has to be taken to the doctor, it’s our parental responsibility to attend to this need. And we never know when an opportunity to share Christ may emerge in the waiting room.
The problem is that our lives can become so defined by the obligations of this temporal realm that we never get around to our Fathers business. Last Monday, January 11, I was minded to go into the streets of Kalamazoo, however, events on the home front made this impossible. So I determined to go up Tuesday “NO MATTER WHAT!”  Something else came up Tuesday and so Wednesday was my next goal. The next thing I knew, it was Saturday morning and I had spent the entire week tending to a neverending procession of tasks which were necessary but lacking in eternal significance. Every Saturday is likewise consumed by a neverending list of tasks. The things which are not completed on Saturday, are reassigned to Sunday afternoon. And then the cycle begins all over again. It seems as though temporal things consume an ever-increasing portion of each 24 hour period and they work to keep ones thoughts on the things of this world.
For many, if not most, it’s not a big deal to be continuously running to and fro without end. Many (if not most) Christians, seem perfectly content with the treadmill and the carefully proportined time slots that they give unto the Lord each week. They conform to the consensus and settle into a predictable routine. But for me, it no longer works. The standard model stopped functioning about five years and ten months ago, when the Lord did two things “suddenly” in my life. First, he brought me out of a profoundly backslidden state that had lingered for a few years. Secondly, he granted me a heart for eternal matters on a level that had not been manifest in previous seasons. It was kind of like being “rebooted.” I was delivered, not only from weights and sins which had led to years of stagnation, I was also delivered from the superstructures of religion. Subsequently, much of what takes place in many churches these days seems as little more than showmanship. Fancy buildings with state of the art equipment, where programs and marketing have replaced the working of the Holy Spirit. 
I apolagize for sounding so negative. It was a frustrating week as, despite the overwhelming sense of urgency, I was hemmed in by the issues of twenty first century living. Even more astonishing is that very few seem to understand the lateness of the hour. I knew to expect an increase in obstacles, but this doesn’t make it easier to contend with. It’s an area where I have to learn patience. Every trip into the streets is a struggle to navigate past an arena of obstacles. It was laid on my heart that this struggle will become more intense as time progresses. This coming week, Lord willing, I’m minded to be in Kalamazoo on Monday and Elkhart on Tuesday. Right now, the coast is clear, but one never knows what a day may bring forth. The urgency is not waning; it’s growing stronger. The return of the Lord Jesus Christ is closer now than it was five hours ago. At some point, the final name is going to be recorded in the book of life and the door will be shut.
Well it’s about time to close. One thing that I must remember is to not allow circumstances to “get to me.” It’s very possible to become so obsessed with the way that we’re certain things should go, that we miss the opportunities that routinely emerge before us. (note to self) The Lord sees the entire picture while we observe just a fragment. We cannot possibly navigate properly in the flesh. The truth is that, if were atuned, many opportunites can become manifest when “our plans” go awry. For example, when I’m tied to the house in the afternoon because Matthew is home with an illness, it’s an awesome time for prayer. Through prayer we can literally touch the lives of millions and bring down strongholds in places that we’ll never visit in the flesh. I would contend that an anonymous elderly lady in an apartment who spends most of her day in prayer, does more for the cause of Christ than all of the worlds celebrity preachers combined.  I pray that, regardless of our circumstances, we would strive to be about our Fathers business and not become frustrated by situations.
Blessings always in Jesus name.
II Timothy 2:4 “No man that warreth entangleth himself with the affairs of this life; that he may plese him who hath called him to be a soldier.”
5 comments

  1. Over the last few weeks, I started to ponder these same thoughts after reading your entries. How much time we spend doing fruitless things and if we become too busy, we don’t spend any time with God. It’s a tactic of Satan. None of these things we do are bad, but he’s constantly trying to keep us busy.

    I noticed it today when I thought about my time of prayer and reading. I kept thinking of other things I had to do in lieu of, and caught myself and sat down and did it. I saw it clearly.

    Electronics and new technology are supposed to make our lives easier. Instead we are more stressed out. There’s a book titled, “Margin” by Swenson that addressed these issues.


  2. Hi Code. It’s amazing how the world creeps into our time with the Lord. I already have an imagination that needs constant restraining. Add to this a continual list of things to do and it becomes wearisome.

    Your last paragraph I can really realte to. When I first started blogging, I would get stressed beyone measure. I mean I loved doing it, (and still do) but it took a lot of time. Initially I was posting every day; followed by about three hours of surfing around, reading, and commenting everywhere. Every afternoon, I would leave for work; having accomplished nothing around the house.

    It was at a critical moment when Phil McAlmond stated “You know; you don’t have to post “every single day.” I then backed off from a pace that was clearly unsustainable. Amazingly, this reduced load made blogging more enjoyable.

    Thanks so much for stopping by. Blessings always in Jesus name.


  3. Hi Timbob

    I read this quote the other day and it fits aptly into this topic.

    “Our greatest fear as individuals and as a church should not be of failure, but of succeeding at things in life that don’t really matter.” Tim Kizziar.

    May we all be alert to the enemy’s ploy to keep us busy, that we may succeed at those things which will matter eternally.

    Blessings 🙂


  4. Hi Timbob:

    Had to reply to this, as just in the last couple of weeks, the Lord has been speaking the very same thing to myself and a couple of sisters in the Lord.

    We were led specifically to Prov. 16:1,9, 19:21, Eccl 11:5-6, John 3:8, and James 4:13-16. We believe the Lord is teaching us that we must learn to put ‘our own plans’ aside (without complaint, mind you!), and be flexible in Him so that HIS plans go forward. You said: One thing that I must remember is to not allow circumstances to “get to me.” It’s very possible to become so obsessed with the way that we’re certain things should go, that we miss the opportunities that routinely emerge before us. (note to self) The Lord sees the entire picture while we observe just a fragment. We cannot possibly navigate properly in the flesh. The truth is that, if were atuned, many opportunites can become manifest when “our plans” go awry.

    This is EXACTLY what the Lord has been showing me. And since then whenever I pray and ASK Him to lead me into HIS plans for me that day (regardless of ‘my own’) and that I would ‘recognize’ His hand in these things, He always answers. Our plans(ways)….God’s plans(ways)…DIFFERENT.

    And as far as DISTRACTIONS go – that’s a whole different topic, but it is GOOD when we begin to consistently recognize them for what they are!!!

    God bless you brother.


  5. Hi bro Smith. How important it is for us to remember Romans 8:28. We can quote it in our sleep and yet, whenever the plans that we have for serving the Lord are interrupted, we become discouraged. It’s an area that I wrestle with continuously, but I’m slowly learning. It’s important to trust the one who sees the end from the beginning instead of trusting in what we are certain is the proper path.

    Thanks so much for stopping by. Blessings always in Jesus name.



Leave a Reply

