h1

AN UNCONVENTIONAL RENDEZVOUS

February 8, 2010
Judges 13:18-20 “And the angel of the LORD said unto him, Why askest thou thus after my name, seeing it is secret?
So Manoah took a kid with a meat offering, and offered it unto the LORD: and the angel did wonderously; and Manoah and his wife looked on.
For it came to pass, when the flame went up toward heaven from off the altar, that the angel of the LORD ascended in the flame of the altar. And Manoah and his wife looked on it, and fell to the ground.”
It began and concluded as a very routine outing; like so many over the past three years. In fact, it often seems as though Kalamazoo has reached a saturation point. This is more perception than reality and Burdick street has a continual influx of souls. At the northern end of the downtown region, there’s a bus/Amtrack station on the west side and the homeless shelter on the east side of the street. Beyond this point, heading north across the tracks, it heads into the more economically troubled portions of the city. Heading south from the bus station, there’s a college campus with a student body of about 5000. Beyond that, shops and restaurants line both sides of the street. At this point, Burdick street transforms into what is actually more of an outside walking mall than a street; with wide heated sidewalks and a single narrow lane for southbound traffic. At the extreme southernmost portion of the street, one finds Bronson hospital. This coming together of worlds makes Burdick street a very rich area in terms of  reaching souls; even in the dead of winter when tendancies to remain inside limit the volume of traffic.
The outing of February 4th started out very average. Following a trip around the perimeter of the bus station, I headed down Burdick street; prayerfully pondering the scene playing out ahead. While on the west side of the street; after it reduces down to a single lane of traffic, I was watching oncoming pedestrians, but I noticed an older man waiting by the curb on the east side of the street. He wore glasses, a winter cap, and a somewhat long grey winter coat. He appeared to be somewhat shorter than me. I also noticed two college students approaching the man from the south. A guy walking his bike and a lady were proceeding at a casual pace toward the KVCC campus. I noticed this, however, I was still focused on the traffic on my side of the street. The students passed the man about the same time as I did; only I was across the street. I then heard the lady say the words “No way dude” and I perceived that he had asked for finaicial assistance. (At this point I figured that he was probably staying at the shelter; although outwardly he didn’t appear as being one in need)
It struck me as stange and the ladys tone of voice was almost rude. I stopped in my tracks and determined to go over and help the guy out with a $20 (it’s all going to burn anyways) It wasn’t so much that I felt led to do this, however, the ladys response really agitated me. In the few seconds that it took for me to swing around and head across the single lane for traffic, “the old man was gone.” At first, natural reasoning switches into high gear and I began trying to figure out where he could have possible taken off to. There was no crowd to mix with. No doors in the vicinity that would facilitate such a departure. NOTHING. I looked in every direction but the old man was simply gone. The only possible way to make such a departure…..was…..”up and out?” The two students were still strolling northward; oblivious to the bewildering tranpiration behind them. I remained in this spot for a moment; taking in the scene and trying to see if I was overlooking something. I’ve heard of things like this, and fully believe that the Lord intervenes in the world in such manner, however, this was completely unexpected.
The remainder of the day proceeeded in routine fashion, except for the occasional revisiting of this incident; wondering if perhaps I had simply overlooked something. In my spirit, it was like a reassuring gesture that, despite ambient appearances, be they routine or traumatic, the Lord is in complete control and can alter a situation in a moment. It was also a reminder of how little we understand about the situations at hand. For example, I know absolutely nothing about the two college students and therefore, I really have no idea as to what all was in play. They returned to the campus; never thinking for a moment that they may well have said “no way dude” to a messenger from heaven. It’s quite possible that each of us have entertained angels unawares on more occasions than we could ever imagine. The only difference between this incident and all of the other possiblilities is that my eye caught a glimpse of something that simply didn’t add up in the natural.
Many of us have a lingering contradiction in our lives. We proclaim a supernatural gospel. We see lives transformed by the precious blood of Jesus and remember the hour in which we first believed. We know full well that the Lord can heal all manner of illnesses and moves in ways that no one can anticipate. We know that if an undoubting person says to a mountain “be thou removed, and be thou cast into the sea; it shall be done.”  Jesus explained that all things are possible to those who believe. Yet despite this understanding, we somehow expect the ambience to function according to the laws of physics. “What goes up must come down” and “for every action, there is an equal reaction.” While indeed, the vast majority of what we see transpires within the perimeters of physics, the truth is that what we see is a very tiny sliver of all that’s transpiring around us. The ongoing battles between principalities and powers continue on as the enemy strives to hang on to his captives while luring the saints into one distraction after another.
Well I must be going for now. We’re supposed to be receiving several inches of snow this week and as such, I may have time to make the rounds in the blogosphere. The urgency for getting the gospel into the streets is still high and, the first half of this year is critical. I’ve been wondering how much longer this blog will remain active; however, every time such thoughts come to mind, a flurry of posts are presented that make putting forth a concluding entery impossible. Plus this is a place of contact with a lot of saints from other venues and I really want to keep this place of contact open. One thing is for certain; each of us will have a final blog entry at some point.
Tonight on Coast to coast AM (Monday Feb 8 broadcast) George Noory will be talking with Dr. John Hall about electronic harrassment, mind control, and how CIA/NSA technology is being used to track, intimidate, and even read the thoughts of people. It may sound crazy to some, but these are very strange times and I plan to stay up for this. Here’s Dr Halls site:
A NEW BREED – SATELLITE TERRORISM IN AMERICA
Here are links to three more sites that one may want to check out when time permits; all of which are on the blogroll:
APOCALYPSE 2010
SIGNS OF THE END
END TIMES PASSOVER by JOE ORTIZ I learned of this site from a comment left at the post THE FREE RADICALS.
Blessings always in Jesus name.
6 comments

  1. What a great post! At first I was struck by the heated sidewalks – really? You can tell I’m not from around there 😉

    But seriously – I REALLY enjoyed your post. You’re right too often we limit our thoughts to the logical – when God so often and usually works outside of those parameters. Thanks for the reminder. It brings an added excitement to each day – as well as the reminder – you never know really what is going on in a situation and that it is important for “Let your gentleness be known to all men. The Lord is at hand.” Phl 4:5

    Rachel


  2. I read your story above and at first asked myself, why it seemed God doesn’t do things like this any longer. But then I thought – he does, but one has to be listening and waiting instead of rushing about. You’re right to ask the question, how many times do we entertain angels and don’t even know it b/c we are so consumed with ourselves, our daily lives. It makes me sad b/c I fall into this category more times than I’d like to admit. God has his own way of thinking. He does things that we don’t understand. I recalled two incidents that occurred that didn’t seem natural, but I knew God was in them.

    Once there was a terrible blizzard, but I was invited to a holiday party of my friend and felt led to give her some money b/c she was unemployed. Whilst driving and trying to exit the freeway, my car got stuck on the ramp. There was a huge lines of cars behind me, but I literally could not move or do anything. I prayed. When I looked in front of me (and I don’t remember if it was always in front of me), there was a white van with no windows on the sides. About 3-4 guys got out of this van dressed in white, very non-descript looking. They were not wearing coats even though it was snowing. They pushed my car up the hill. I yelled out my window thanks, but they just got in the van. I saw the van start to pull away, but then my car got stuck again and the van stopped. I was able to get the car moving and I saw the van pull off. I knew wihtout a doubt in my mind it was angels that helped me.

    I had another incident in which I was supposed to go to a hearing, but I wasn’t completely sure if it was what God wanted me to do. I got dressed and started driving to the building. I had worked on this same street (very short) where this building was, so I knew the area well. When I arrived, I had 15 minutes to find the building. I drove up and down the street and could not find the building number. I stopped and looked at every building number, but it was not there. I stopped and prayed again and looked at my directions. I drove up and down the street one more time, but could not find it. More than 20 minutes passed, and I felt led to leave.

    To this day, I do not know if God did not want me to attend that hearing and was protecting me or if he wanted to see if I would obey him and go and trust him to let me know once I got there.

    About a month later, I was in that area again. I wanted to find the building. I know it was there somewhere, but God had blinded my eyes. So I went, and I found it. What had occurred is the number on the building was hidden by shrubs that were now cut down.

    It’s crazy how God works, but we have to be there with him waiting, listening, and open to him. His closeness is amazing and I long to be that close again.

    About a month later, I was in the same area


  3. Hi Rachel. It’s interesting that while I often hear of incidents like this, I never go out looking for them. Later on during the outing, while still trying to piece together the significance of it, I was reminded that the Lord can alter a situation in a moment and that he’s always close at hand. It seemed more of a reassuring measure; one that could have very easily been missed.

    The sidewalks on Burdick street have water lines installed beneath them. Heated water from commercial boilers circulate through them; thereby keeping ice and snow from accumulating. It’s actually more cost effective than continuously removing snow.

    Thanks for stopping by. Blessings always in Jesus name.


  4. Hi Code. It’s so incredible how the Lord can work to keep us in our place of providence. I imagine that if we were aware of even a fraction of the divine interventions in our lives, we would be so amazed that words would fail us.

    The report about not being able to find a building reminded me of Dimitru Duduman. During the days of the Cecescau (I’m certain that I mispelled that)regime in Romania, there was an incident where the secret police searched their house. Dimitru and all of the family members were ordered to stand against a wall with their hands high against the wall. They remained in this position for several hours while the police searched the house.

    Amazingly, there were bibles and Christian literature hidden all over the place. The police would look right at the material they were searching for and “not see it.” It’s amazing how the physical picture that we see playing out before our eyes is not at all representative of the whole.

    Thanks so much for stopping by and sharing this. I want to e-mail you when time permits. there’s something that I recently heard about and I was wondering if you have likewise heard anything. Lord willing, I can do that after work tonight.

    Thanks so much for stopping by. Blessings always in Jesus name.


  5. Well, Timbob. I am going to say that God placed this man there to speak something and then like you say,”up and out”. That’s good enough for me. I don’t put it passed him at all. Like you, I believe we are going to see much more of the supernatural in the coming days. However, a lot of it is going to be seen only by those who are in tune with the Spirit. Those who are in and of the world are missing out big time. Most think that it going to come inside the four walls. It ain’t. The biggest move of God is coming out in the open, out in the streets. Don’t look for it at the next “conference”, it’s not there.
    Bless you bro. Keep up the good work on those streets!


  6. Hi Richard. We are definately in a time where we should not be surprised by things like this. They probably transpire all the time; only we’re not aware of them except when we’re supposed to be. And as you mention; most of what’s transpiring is doing so outside of the four walls that we often call “church.” Indeed the great commission is “go into all the world and preach the gospel” which entails travel into unfamiliar and oftentimes uncomfortable territory.

    I once heard the following statement:

    “Christianity began as a movement.
    The Greeks turned it into a Philosophy
    The Romans turned it into an institution
    The Americans turned it into an enterprise.”

    Astonishing and sad. May we all let go of everything that’s not of God and be about our Fathers business in sincerety.

    Thanks so much for taking time to stop by:

    Blessings always in Jesus name.



Leave a Reply

