h1

AUGUST SURPRISES

August 9, 2010
Good evening. I guess that the first surprise at the moment is that I was able to bring the computer back to a basic level of functionality. It totally crashed early this morning; necessitating the need for a complete reboot. (a computer geek I am not, and it became manifest in this endeavor) At the moment, it’s not functioning as it used to, however, it’s manageable until we can make a new purchase. This should be near the end of the month or in early September.
The other surprise consisted of the truck engine blowing up and in need of extensive work. This also will have to wait until the end of the month. This has seriously curtailed my ability to get into the streets, however, this isn’t exactly a bad thing. (Even though I sometimes feel completely stuck) Last weekend, I was made aware that the month of August is to be a time of fervent prayer and seeking the will of the Lord. A time of preparation as we head into the autumn and know not what surprises may await us. And yet we know that nothing catches the Lord off guard and he has a perfect plan that will be executed.
These are just two elements of what has been a very chaotic time in this venue. One thing is for certain; nothing in this world is permanent. In all honesty, our problems are actually little more than inconveniencies that have exposed a level of attachment to the physical world that’s not healthy. We will often proclaim “take the world but give me Jesus” however, when our favorite devices fail, we tend to become out of sorts. Perhaps we are all in need of a greater understanding of what the apostle Paul meant when he stated “for I have learned that whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content.” Our time in this world is so very short in comparison to eterntiy.
Despite these, and other situations currently playing out, it’s been an awesome week and the joy of the Lord has been enhanced to a point that it cannot be contained. My affections are firmly in heavenly places and I long for the moment when we shall be in the presence of the Lord Jesus. I’ll strive to keep the blog current if it’s logistically possible. There is so much on my heart and this is one place where fragmented thoughts find continuity. I may well be the biggest beneficiary from this blog as posting allows for cogitations to be set in an order that’s understandable.
Well I’ll close for now. Thefollowing passages of scripture have been on my heart for a few days now. Both are widely familiar and yet both become increasingly fascinating with each visitation.
Genesis 15:1 “After these things the word of the LORD came unto Abram in a vision, saying, Fear not Abram: I am thy shield, and thy exceeding greatg reward.”
Psalm 73:25 “Whom have I in heaven but thee? and there is none upon the earth that I desire beside thee.”
John 6:68-69 “And Simon Peter answered him, Lord, to whom shall we go? thou hast the words of eternal life.
And we believe and are sure that thou art the Christ, the Son of the living God.”
“We believe and are sure.” When we consider the environment that this statement of faith was made in, it becomes even more fascinating. The folks who were considered “religious” and close to God rejected Jesus. As the great falling away reaches a cresendo, we must give all diligence to ensure that we “believe and are sure.”
Earlier this evening, CR and I were discussing how there will be no place to hide from that which is to come upon the earth and make war with the saints. We must overcome them by our testimony of Jesus and by loving not our lives in this world. This will not be possible for a person who doesn’t believe and is sure.
Blessings always in Jesus name.
4 comments

  1. Hi Timbob — this week I too ran into interruptions – water heater and other plumbing issues with my kitchen sink! I thought I’d share my insight from my situation with you — I learned that whether these come by spiritual warfare or God redirecting our path as this interruptions tend to do – that if we look for the gift in them instead of just trying to get through them we can be truly blessed by what we find. I know I was. All things work for the good of those who love God. It’s an incredible promise – may we all learn seek that good and what He is doing through each situation in our lives.

    Rachel


  2. Hi Timbob! It looks like my computer is up and running again too…we’ll see if it lasts, I do not put any trust in technology lol!

    Genesis 15:1 Oh! what a wonderful verse. It was like a breath of fresh air! May we continually fix our eyes on Him who is our reward! Nothing else rates mention.

    Another excellent point is the “believe and be sure”. So we must. If we are not grounded in our faith to the point that it is more real than the reality around us, we will not stand in trials. I have just come out of a month of fasting and I have discovered that we must train ourselves. We have little real difficulty in our consumerist lives and if we think we will be able to draw close to God when our flesh is genuinely suffering (something we know little about in the west) we are kidding ourselves. There has been much to think about coming out of the fast and I am sorry in a way, that it’s over.

    But…I’m glad to be able to stop in at Grace County again, you offer up much encouragement, Timbob and usually right when I need it! lol God is so good.

    Bless you!


  3. Hi Rachel. Thanks so much for stopping by. It’s amazing how much we take things as “given.” From going out to the truck and expecting it to start as it always has to the washer exploding (well not actually exploding; I’m being dramatic) things take place that reveal to us that we’re more conformed to thisd place than we would like to admit.

    This past month has been a real blessing despite all of the upheaval. I cannot say that the chaos hasn’t rattled me a little, however, it hasn’t governed me. I know a lot of people whose happiness is almost completely dependant upon favorable circumstances. The joy of the Lord transcends all goings on in this place.

    Thanks again for your input. Blessings always in Jesus name.


  4. Hi Five Peas. It’s great to hear from you again. You point out a most important truth. The truth is in fact more real than what we see. II Corinthians 4:18 offers a perfect explanation of how the “seen” is temporal but the “not seen” is eternal. This past month has been a real blessing (although I am looking forward to stability in the pyhsical, my peace isn’t dependant upon it)

    I think that the primary reason for everything going awry at the same time was that I needed some down time. While it wasn’t a month of fasting, there has been some incredible moments in the Lord. So many trains of thought have been launched that it’s a struggle to place them all in order.

    Thanks so much for stopping by. I’ll do the same when I can. Wer’re still using the old computer, but Lord willing, this should be remedied soon.

    Blessings always in Jesus name.



Leave a Reply

