h1

C A P T I V I T Y

April 4, 2012

I Corinthians 7:29-31 “But this I say brethren, the time is short: it remaineth, that both they that have wives be as though they had none;
And they that weep, as though they wept not; and they that rejoice, as though they rejoiced not;
And they that use this world, as not abusing it: for the fashion of this world passeth away.

It seems strange to be posting here after a fifteen month absence. (I’m prayerfully considering making this my primary outlet again as other cyber-venues have become way too distracting) Yet because this continues to receive a substantial amount of traffic despite the inactivity, It seemed necessary to share the dream here. A dream which, did two things for me. First, it was a confirmation for me of what others are seeing. Second, it allowed for a  “taste” as it were, of what it will be like to live under some very different conditions. I pray that this doesn’t foster apprehension, but will cause one to draw closer to Jesus. To lay aside all things frivillous, prepare spiritually for the times ahead, and be about the Fathers business in the time remaining.

Leonard Ravenhill once stated words to the effect of “five minutes into eternity and all of us will wish that we had prayed more, fasted more, witnessed more, and not wasted so much time on things that don’t matter.” (I don’t remember the exact quote, but that is the thrust of what he was saying)

The dream began with a new world upon us. My family and I were living in a small apartment (we will be moving soon; probably this summer) and we were under occupation by a foreign army. There was no indication as to where this army was from. As such, I’m inclined to believe that it was a multi-national force. While my family waited in the apartment, I was going around town; trying to locate my younger daughter. As I crossed a bridge, someone informed me “we have to get inside. Curfew is 6:00 pm.” This was the first indicator that life would be very different under this occupation. It was already after 6:00 but I continued. Once I found my daughter, we returned to the apartment.

This apartment was……tiny. Two rooms; one of which was larger than the other. This larger room seemed to serve as a kitchen/bedroom. It was very crowded and one had to move the table in order to get from the front half of the room to the back. After returning to the apartment, the unanswered questions began to surface. I didn’t know the identity of the new enforcers. I seemed to have no contact with other citizens; other than those of my own household. There was no news or internet. Thoughts ran through my mind. Try to resist? Find a way of escape? Escape to where? And how? I didn’t know what town we were in or what direction to take….even if we could flee. It was at this moment that I remembered a statement that I had once heard concerning the coming judgment against this land. “You have been in bondage. Now you will go into captivity.”

One thing was very clear as the dream progressed. This was the very early part of the occupation. I knew that in the days to come, things would become far more difficult and brutal.

I awakened and soon went about my daily routine, however, things were not the same. The frailty of the status quo seemed far more manifest. That “taste” of a different situation remains with me. It is a warning that this status quo is soon to be replaced by a new reality. Two more observations are necessary before closing. First, the situation in the dream (especially the apartment) reminded me of the Warsaw ghettos during World War II. This was where Jewish families were relocated by the nazis and forced to live in very crowded conditions……awaiting their eventual transit to the camps. The second observation requires a passage before delving into. This verse was on my heart for about two weeks prior to having this dream, however, I didn’t know why:

Ecclesiastes 7:10 “Say not thou, What is the cause that the former days days were better than these? for thou dost not inqire wisely concerning this.”

Following such a profound disruption of peace and safety, there will be an overwhelming urge to long for the “good-ol-days.” There will be a tendancy to look back and not forward. We must look to Jesus steadfastly; regardless of what transpires or where we may find ourselves. This life, even at its most discomforting, is very temporal and will come to pass. If we know Jesus, we know that once this life is over, we shall be forever in his presence. Our destination is a city not made with hands, where we shall dwell in the presence of the Lord, along with the great cloud of witnesses. Once we have our affections set firmly in heaven, what befalls us along the journey will not move us. As the apostle Paul stated:

Acts 20:24 “But none of these things move me, neither count I my life dear unto myself, so that I might finish my course with joy, and the ministry which I have received of the Lord Jesus, to testify the gospel of the grace of God.”

Well, I have to go for now.  May we all number our days (Psalm 90:12) and use our remaining time wisely. Blessings always in Jesus name.

10 comments

  1. Hey Timbob! I just read your first couple of lines on this post. I didn’t know that you had taken a leave from the blog world. Maybe that is because I spend very little time on it myself anymore. Until, I entered a “facebook” fast which started April 1st. I can post my blog posts there, but that’s it for the month. Now, I have time to devote to my blog as the Lord leads. Now, back to reading your post 🙂


  2. Thanks for the post brother! We know that the days are coming, may we be truly ready for when they come.
    Blessings brother to you and your family!


  3. Hi Richard. It’s so good to hear from you. And it’s good to be back in the venue where I belong. The time on facebook became ever so consuming and proved to be a huge distraction. So many links, so many threads; many of them heated, and ultimately, it was causing me to not hear from on high. After deactivating the account, it was as though I had shed an incredible burden.

    The above dream really let me know how short time is, how quickly things can unravel, and how many people in my ambience are not saved. I often wonder, “do I really understand the urgency of the hour?” Of primary importance now is to draw incredibly close to Jesus, set affairs in order, and share the gospel while the window is still open.

    Thanks so much for stopping by. Blessings always in Jesus name.


  4. “You have been in bondage. Now you will go into captivity.” This is the message I continually receive when I turn my requests to God.

    I laugh at myself with joy. Because on April 2 I canceled my facebook account. And when I did I felt the caressing kindness of the Lord. It had become a useless venue for the Gospel. Even those who call themselves christian on there speak of a teddy bear Christ. Their words left a sickening feeling in the pit of my soul. And to argue with them became a useless waste of time.

    So now I too turn my complete attention to the things of the Living God. By His grace.

    There is a message from the Lord regarding the coming captivity and horrors to be visited on a people who willfully remain in darkness. But there is also a promise of guidance, protection, glorification, and power to all God’s people! Fear is gone now, dispite the clear message from Him. All I find myself echoing to Him is, “Bring it on.” His will is moving unrestrained, silently, relentlessly, and sure. May the will of the Father forever be done!

    Commentators debate the lies which rule this place now. And they are mystified at the destruction of what they call “the American way.” They fail to make the connection between what they see and the movement of God among them. They think they can dispell what is happening by banding together, much like the day when people tried to keep a satelite afloat by uniting their minds. Utter foolishness.

    Father, cause us to stand with great liberty born of Your Spirit!


  5. Hi hiwaychristian. It’s interesting that you cancelled your facebook account on April 2. I cancellled mine on April 4. It was becomming such a distraction. In less than 24 hours, the peace of God had returned and today, I know that I’ll never return to that mess. Even before April 4, I was noticing an exodus of people who, from their dialogue, I knew had a close walk with the Lord Jesus.

    I don’t know what tomorrow holds, but my eyes are on that which is eternal. To finish my testimony and be about the Fathers business I my primary desire. Scripture will be fulfilled. A time like none other in history lies before us and is beginning to unfold. But Jesus has promised to be with us always and when the unthinkable takes place, his grace will be sufficient.

    Thanks so much for stopping by. Blessings always in Jesus name.


  6. Hi Timbob,

    That quote(or what you could remember of it)that you shared from Leonard Ravenhill really stood out to me. Eternity will come upon us sooner than we realize. I want to be diligent to “work while it is day”. I really have been trying to concentrate more on working for the Lord in my local area. I believe my first responsibility is to endeavor to reach people in my city and local community. Frankly, when I concentrate on that, plus taking care of my family, working part time and handling responsibilities at church, I find I really don’t have much time or energy left for the blog world.

    Good to hear that you got off of Facebook. I have never been on it and will never go on it. I know so many people who have gotten into trouble through that venue and a lot of preachers that we fellowship with(including my husband)preach against it.

    I know we are living in dark times, but at the same time, I am very excited and encouraged by the things I see transpiring in our local church. God is really moving in our young people and using them to win others and help them become established in the truth. It is exciting to see young people that are really consecrating themselves to God and desiring to live in a way that pleases Him, in spite of opposition they are receiving from family members that do not serve God. That’s what it is going to take to keep living for God in this present age. I must go for now. God be with you and your family.

    Blessings in the only name under heaven, given among men, whereby we must be saved,

    Carol


    • Thank you Carol for the good report of God’s blessing on your church family. By virtue of my job I am isolated from such a blessing of fellowship. So it is sweet to hear a good report.

      God has been so very wonderfully sweet to me in this place He has allowed me to walk. And I too can reply a good report from this place in the wilderness! It is well with all who are redeemed and being redeemed.

      We send praise to Him with one voice. Regardless where we find ourselves, He is BEAUTIFUL! Strength to all of you in the name of Jesus our Lord.

      By His Grace.


  7. Hello again Timbob! I now know why I did not receive anything from you for the last 18 months – this site was on my feed aggregator, and I had not updated it.

    You’re right about the internet being a large time obligation, and Facebook does not help. I do have an account but hardly ever use it – just keep up to date with family from time to time. We have to learn to redeem the time wisely, and there is so much ‘stuff’ out there that we can easily get overloaded. Better to pare down – we managed to survive before the net, and I imagine we’ll somehow make it after the net!

    Blessings,

    Peter


  8. Hi Carol. It’s so good to hear from you. It’s also good to hear how you have a proper perspective on things. Many these days are being consumed by venues that aren’t real while souls are dying all around.

    I’m so glad to be off facebook because it was very consuming for a season. Thanks for the good report concerning things in your neck of the woods.

    Blessings always in Jesus name. *Acts 4:12-AMEN”


  9. Hi Peter. This is so good; being in contact with saints whom I’ve not heard from in a while. It sounds like you have managed to keep facebook in its place. Some can do this, however, I could not. I found myself on several groups, engaging in endless conversations, and visiting one youtube after another. It reached such a cresendo that I couldn’t even hear myself think; let alone the still small voice.

    thanks so much fos stopping by. Lord willing, I’ll stay in better contact in the days ahead. WordPress is set up in a manner that is much less distracting. I can hear again.

    Blessings always in Jesus name.



Leave a Reply

